Ultrafast broadband reaches schools

The Government has presented today the project of extending access to ultrafast broadband of the Spanish educational centers, which is endowed with a budget of 330 million euros and which will be articulated through a framework agreement between the Ministries of Education, Culture and Sports; of Industry, Energy and Tourism and Economy and Competitiveness.

This measure will benefit more than 6.5 million students and all of the more than 16,500 Spanish public non-university teaching centers and those supported by public funds. The project will provide Internet connectivity through ultrafast broadband networks (100 Megabits per second) to schools and institutes and will pay special attention to those who, due to their location, find it more difficult to access these new connectivity services. It will also be possible to equip educational centers with internal communication networks (Wi-Fi), as well as equipment (routers, antennas, network management systems ...).


What is ultrafast broadband

It is a speed connection equal to or greater than 100 Megabits per second, which is established through fiber optic connections or through 4.5 G radio links (LTE-Advance). Use the 4.5G technologies used in mobile networks

Why this ultrafast network is needed in schools

Spain is one of the European countries with the lowest availability of ultrafast broadband in schools. Studies show that medium-sized centers (between 100 and 500 students, 60% of centers) need speeds between 20 and 60 Mbps so that students and teachers can simultaneously access the Internet. Centers between 500 and 1,000 students need between 90 and 120 Mbps.


What allows connectivity between schools

1. High quality connection through the internal network of the center to guarantee the access of each teacher and each student in each classroom and in each desk.
2. Connection of high quality with the network and educational services of the respective CCAA.
3. Connection of high quality with the network and educational services of other Autonomous Regions and the State.
4. High quality connection with Internet.

High-speed connectivity is a necessary element for the effective implementation of ICT in the classroom and in any activity of the centers. It will allow teachers and students to access the services and digital educational content of the Autonomous Communities, the State, and those available through the Internet. In addition, it will facilitate the transformation of the teaching methodology and guarantee equity in the access to technologies by the students.


An ambitious project for public centers

The project is aimed at all public Primary and Secondary education centers, that is, a total of 16,647 centers and 6,588,526 students. The 330 million euros that has been allocated to this project will be co-financed through the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), charged to the Plurirregional Operational Program for Smart Growth.

The works will be executed through public tenders so that the different operators can offer their best technical and economic solutions in concurrency, which will also have the effect of extending the availability of state-of-the-art digital infrastructures to the entire population, and especially to the most isolated

This project that complements those that may be developing the Autonomous Communities, will be carried out by signing this year of specific agreements with each of those who decide to join. They will set the commitments of the parties, the specific actions to be carried out in each territory and the implementation schedule so that schools can use ultrafast broadband connections from 2016.

Marisol New

You may also like:

- New technologies at school

- How to get the school right

Video: How schools are forced to close as rural populations dwindle


Interesting Articles

How to get a soccer scholarship to study in the US

How to get a soccer scholarship to study in the US

The AGM Foundation and the Laureus Foundation are going to make possible the American dream of many young Spaniards: to educate themselves in the United States thanks to sports with a scholarship...

Ultraschnelles Breitband erreicht Schulen

Die Regierung hat heute das Projekt der Erweiterung des Zugangs zu vorgestellt ultraschnelles Breitband der spanischen Bildungszentren, die mit einem Budget von 330 Millionen Euro ausgestattet sind und durch eine Rahmenvereinbarung zwischen den Ministerien für Bildung, Kultur und Sport artikuliert werden; von Industrie, Energie und Tourismus sowie Wirtschaft und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit.

Diese Maßnahme wird mehr als 6,5 Millionen Studierenden und allen mehr als 16.500 öffentlichen außeruniversitären Lehrzentren in Spanien sowie den aus öffentlichen Mitteln unterstützten Personen zugute kommen. Das Projekt wird Internetkonnektivität über ultraschnelle Breitbandnetze (100 Megabit pro Sekunde) für Schulen und Institute bereitstellen und besonderes Augenmerk auf diejenigen richten, die aufgrund ihres Standorts Schwierigkeiten haben, auf diese neuen Verbindungsdienste zuzugreifen. Bildungszentren können auch mit internen Kommunikationsnetzen (Wi-Fi) sowie Geräten (Routern, Antennen, Netzwerkmanagementsystemen ...) ausgestattet werden.


Was ist ultraschnelles Breitband

Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Geschwindigkeitsverbindung von mindestens 100 Megabit pro Sekunde, die über Glasfaserverbindungen oder über 4,5-G-Funkverbindungen (LTE-Advance) hergestellt wird. Verwenden Sie die in Mobilfunknetzen verwendeten 4.5G-Technologien

Warum dieses ultraschnelle Netzwerk in Schulen benötigt wird

Spanien ist eines der europäischen Länder mit der geringsten Verfügbarkeit von ultraschnellem Breitband in Schulen. Studien belegen, dass mittlere Zentren (zwischen 100 und 500 Studenten, 60% der Zentren) Geschwindigkeiten zwischen 20 und 60 Mbps benötigen, damit Schüler und Lehrer gleichzeitig auf das Internet zugreifen können. Zentren zwischen 500 und 1.000 Studenten benötigen zwischen 90 und 120 Mbps.


Was ermöglicht Konnektivität zwischen Schulen

1. Hochwertige Verbindung über das interne Netzwerk des Zentrums, um den Zugang jedes Lehrers und jedes Schülers in jedem Klassenzimmer und an jedem Schreibtisch zu gewährleisten.
2. Verbindung von hoher Qualität mit den Netzwerk- und Bildungsangeboten der jeweiligen CCAA.
3. Verbindung von hoher Qualität mit dem Netzwerk und den Bildungsangeboten anderer autonomer Regionen und des Staates.
4. Hochwertige Verbindung mit Internet.

Hochgeschwindigkeits-Konnektivität ist ein notwendiges Element für die effektive Implementierung von IKT im Klassenzimmer und bei allen Aktivitäten der Zentren. Lehrer und Schüler erhalten so Zugang zu den Diensten und digitalen Bildungsinhalten der Autonomen Gemeinschaften, dem Staat und den über das Internet verfügbaren Diensten. Darüber hinaus wird es die Umgestaltung der Lehrmethode erleichtern und die Gleichberechtigung der Studierenden für den Zugang zu Technologien gewährleisten.


Ein ehrgeiziges Projekt für öffentliche Zentren

Das Projekt richtet sich an alle öffentlichen Primar- und Sekundarschulen, dh insgesamt 16.647 Zentren und 6.588.526 Studenten. Die 330 Millionen Euro, die für dieses Projekt bereitgestellt wurden, werden aus dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) kofinanziert, der dem plurirregionalen operationellen Programm für intelligentes Wachstum in Rechnung gestellt wird.

Die Arbeiten werden im Rahmen öffentlicher Ausschreibungen durchgeführt, damit die verschiedenen Betreiber ihre besten technischen und wirtschaftlichen Lösungen nebeneinander anbieten können, was auch dazu führt, dass die Verfügbarkeit moderner digitaler Infrastrukturen auf die gesamte Bevölkerung und insbesondere auf die meisten Einwohner ausgedehnt wird isoliert

Dieses Projekt, das die Entwicklung der Autonomen Gemeinschaften ergänzt, wird durchgeführt, indem in diesem Jahr spezielle Vereinbarungen mit denjenigen unterzeichnet werden, die sich für einen Beitritt entscheiden. Sie werden die Verpflichtungen der Parteien, die spezifischen Maßnahmen, die in jedem Gebiet durchgeführt werden sollen, und den Zeitplan für die Umsetzung festlegen, damit die Schulen ab 2016 ultraschnelle Breitbandverbindungen nutzen können.

Marisol Neu

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- Neue Technologien in der Schule

- Wie komme ich zur Schule?

Video: Regierungserklärung - 08.03.2016 - 66. Plenarsitzung


Interessante Artikel

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Es gibt neue oder unbekannte Begriffe innerhalb der Cyberabhängigkeit und das hat mit der mobilen Sucht zu tun Wissen wir was es ist Nomophobie und Mobilfia? Die Nomophobie ist die Angst vor Angst,...