Boys and girls equally skilled in mathematics

Culture often reinforces the belief that mathematics is a boy's thing and this germinates in the creation of a stereotype threat. So, the girls to feel that being good in math it is a masculine attribute, unconsciously they yield less in this science. Under these conditions, the fear of confirming the negative bias degenerates into a lower return than the real one.

Boys and girls equally skilled at mathematics

Numerous studies have not found differences according to gender in math skills. Boys and girls are equally good at math and the differences in results are subsequently influenced in life due to the effects of socialization of parents, teachers and the media. Therefore, it is important to know about the existence of this bias and want to do something about it.


Women stuck in the scientific career

The "White Paper on the Status of Women in Spanish Science" shows that 80 percent of students are women in areas such as Education, Health and Humanities. There is also a majority of women, but this is not so overwhelming, in the areas of Social Sciences and Social Services, however the presence of women in Minority in Science and Mathematics and especially in Engineering and Architecture, where women do not reach even 30% of all the students.

In the highest echelons of the scientific and business career, the number of women is practically stagnant and does not reflect at all the available list of prepared women, with sufficient seniority and merit to access those positions.


The National Academy of Science and Engineering of the United States points out in this sense that "a greater presence of women in the scientific and technological world is an indispensable condition for scientific excellence and, also, for the economic development of the country". Along the same lines, the Strategic Vision of the European Research Area sets a clear objective for the year 2030, at which time "half of all scientists, half of all those responsible for scientific policy, in all disciplines, and in all levels, will be women. "

How to cultivate interest in science?

There are different methods studied that are effective in cultivating the interest and success of women in the field of mathematics. Some are:

1. Make known the successes of different women in the field of mathematics It is a good method already demonstrated by various studies. The threat of stereotyping is reduced if both girls and boys are made aware of the success of women in this field. It would also be useful to expose the growing number of women engaged in mathematics. Disclosing this type of information limits the belief that men are better in this area.


2. Promulgate teachers to know the effect of the threat of stereotypes and how it affects women versus mathematics. Part of the solution is to keep education free from bias so that this gender threat does not occur. Dr. Martinot published an article in 2011 that investigated the effect of an environment of equality in mathematical skills according to gender. This environment of favoring both genders compared to mathematics made it possible to see an improvement in the reputation of women with respect to mathematics.

3. Help girls recognize relevant skills to be successful in the mathematical field. This is achieved by teaching how to interpret success in mathematics at school, as an indication of having the necessary skills to be successful in a broad field of professions.

4. Encourage girls to choose the Bachelor of Science if they have that concern. Those who study more advanced mathematics and / or physics, biology and chemistry at school are three times more likely to pursue a scientific or engineering career in the future.

Do your daughters know about science professions?

A longitudinal study carried out by Dr. Eisenhart revealed 13-year-old girls about what engineers, mathematicians and scientists are dedicated to, the different alternatives in these fields and methods of study and how they contribute to society. At the beginning of the study the girls did not know much about the details of these careers and as of today, of the 66 girls who participate in the study, 80% are seriously considering dedicating themselves to these fields.

Maite Balda Aspiazu. Psychologist and Master in Cognitive Neurosciences

You may also like:

- Study math with origami

- Smartick, the funniest way to learn math

- Units ladder. Mathematics with origami

- The Singapore method for learning mathematics triumphs in the PISA tests

Video: You're Not Bad At Math, You're Just Lazy


Interesting Articles

Sexting and bullying, better prevent than cure

Sexting and bullying, better prevent than cure

The vocabulary that new technologies have brought is huge. We must mention many terms that previously did not exist, words that unfortunately also define undesirable concepts. An example is the...

Reptiles and amphibians, rare and dangerous pets

Reptiles and amphibians, rare and dangerous pets

"Mom, dad, I want a pet"This phrase, which is so common in homes, is the beginning of a responsibility, not only because this new animal companion requires certain care to ensure its well-being,...

Jungen und Mädchen, die gleichermaßen Mathematik beherrschen

Kultur verstärkt oft die Überzeugung, dass Mathematik eine Sache des Jungen ist, und dies entstehe in der Entstehung einer Stereotypbedrohung. So fühlen sich die Mädchen so gut in Mathe Es ist ein männliches Attribut, unbewusst geben sie in dieser Wissenschaft weniger nach. Unter diesen Bedingungen degeneriert die Angst, die negative Tendenz zu bestätigen, in eine geringere Rendite als die tatsächliche.

Jungen und Mädchen, die gleichermaßen Mathematik beherrschen

Zahlreiche Studien haben in Bezug auf die mathematischen Fähigkeiten keine geschlechtsspezifischen Unterschiede festgestellt. Jungen und Mädchen sind in Mathe gleichermaßen gut Die Unterschiede in den Ergebnissen werden anschließend durch die Auswirkungen der Sozialisierung von Eltern, Lehrern und Medien beeinflusst. Daher ist es wichtig, über die Existenz dieser Voreingenommenheit Bescheid zu wissen und etwas dagegen unternehmen zu wollen.


Frauen stecken in der wissenschaftlichen Karriere

Das "Weißbuch zum Status der Frau in der spanischen Wissenschaft" zeigt, dass 80 Prozent der Studierenden Frauen in Bereichen wie Bildung, Gesundheit und Geisteswissenschaften sind. Es gibt auch eine Mehrheit von Frauen, aber dies ist nicht so überwältigend, in den Bereichen Sozialwissenschaften und Sozialdienste, jedoch die Präsenz von Frauen in Minderheiten in Wissenschaft und Mathematik und insbesondere in Ingenieurwissenschaften und Architektur, wo Frauen nicht einmal 30% aller Frauen erreichen die Schüler

In den höchsten Bereichen der wissenschaftlichen und geschäftlichen Laufbahn ist die Anzahl der Frauen praktisch stagnierend und spiegelt in keiner Weise die verfügbare Liste vorbereiteter Frauen wider, die über ein ausreichendes Dienstalter und Verdienst für den Zugang zu diesen Positionen verfügt.


Die National Academy of Science and Engineering der Vereinigten Staaten weist in diesem Sinne darauf hin, dass "eine größere Präsenz von Frauen in der wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Welt eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung für wissenschaftliche Exzellenz und auch für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Landes ist". In ähnlicher Weise setzt die strategische Vision des Europäischen Forschungsraums ein klares Ziel für das Jahr 2030, zu diesem Zeitpunkt "die Hälfte aller Wissenschaftler, die Hälfte aller für die Wissenschaftspolitik Verantwortlichen in allen Disziplinen und in Europa" alle Ebenen werden Frauen sein. "

Wie kann man Interesse an der Wissenschaft wecken?

Es wurden verschiedene Methoden untersucht, die das Interesse und den Erfolg von Frauen auf dem Gebiet der Mathematik kultivieren. Einige sind:

1. Machen Sie die Erfolge verschiedener Frauen auf dem Gebiet der Mathematik bekannt Es ist eine gute Methode, die bereits durch verschiedene Studien belegt wurde. Die Gefahr von Stereotypen wird verringert, wenn Mädchen und Jungen auf den Erfolg von Frauen in diesem Bereich aufmerksam gemacht werden. Es wäre auch nützlich, die wachsende Zahl von Frauen, die sich mit Mathematik beschäftigen, aufzudecken. Die Offenlegung dieser Art von Informationen schränkt den Glauben ein, dass Männer in diesem Bereich besser sind.


2. Promulgate-Lehrer sollen die Auswirkungen der Gefahr von Stereotypen kennenlernen und wie es Frauen gegen Mathematik beeinflusst. Ein Teil der Lösung besteht darin, die Bildung frei von Vorurteilen zu halten, damit diese Geschlechtsbedrohung nicht auftritt. Dr. Martinot veröffentlichte 2011 einen Artikel, in dem die Auswirkungen eines Gleichheitsumfelds in mathematischen Fähigkeiten nach Geschlecht untersucht wurden. Dieses Umfeld der Bevorzugung beider Geschlechter im Vergleich zur Mathematik ermöglichte eine Verbesserung des Ansehens von Frauen in Bezug auf Mathematik.

3. Mädchen helfen, relevante Fähigkeiten zu erkennen im mathematischen Bereich erfolgreich sein. Dies wird erreicht, indem man lehrt, wie man den Erfolg in der Mathematik in der Schule interpretieren kann, um zu zeigen, dass man über die notwendigen Fähigkeiten verfügt, um in einem breiten Berufsfeld erfolgreich sein zu können.

4. Ermutigen Sie Mädchen, sich für den Bachelor of Science zu entscheiden wenn sie diese Sorge haben. Diejenigen, die in der Schule fortgeschrittene Mathematik und / oder Physik, Biologie und Chemie studieren, sind dreimal häufiger in der Zukunft eine wissenschaftliche oder technische Laufbahn.

Wissen Ihre Töchter über wissenschaftliche Berufe?

Eine von Dr. Eisenhart durchgeführte Längsschnittstudie enthüllte 13-jährigen Mädchen, was Ingenieuren, Mathematikern und Wissenschaftlern gewidmet ist, welche unterschiedlichen Alternativen in diesen Bereichen und Studienmethoden und wie sie zur Gesellschaft beitragen. Zu Beginn der Studie wussten die Mädchen nicht viel über die Details dieser Karrieren. Bis heute haben von den 66 Mädchen, die an der Studie teilnehmen, 80% ernsthaft erwogen, sich diesen Bereichen zu widmen.

Maite Balda Aspiazu. Psychologe und Master in kognitiven Neurowissenschaften

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- Mathematik mit Origami lernen

- Smartick, der lustigste Weg, um Mathematik zu lernen

- Leiter der Einheiten. Mathematik mit Origami

- Die Singapur-Methode zum Erlernen der Mathematik siegt bei den PISA-Tests

Video: Die Wahrheit: Ende der Illusion - Hörbuch (Stefan Molyneux) - Das Buch das DEIN LEBEN verändert


Interessante Artikel

Acht Pläne für die Verfassungsbrücke

Acht Pläne für die Verfassungsbrücke

Die 6. DezemberSpanien erinnert an die Genehmigung seiner Verfassung, etwas, das an jenem Tag des Jahres 1978 erreicht wurde. Ein wichtiges Datum, das wir mit einer Brücke, dh einem Feiertag, feiern....