Children fainting, how to act in the face of syncopes

Like adults, children may also feel weak on occasion, momentarily losing consciousness, but these childhood fainting or fading should not worry parents too much, because the causes are usually not serious.

These fainting, are known in medical terms as syncopes, they are rare in children under 10 years old and more common among teenagers, mainly in girls. In general, fainting occurs in specific and temporary situations.

Childhood faints or fainting are produced by an alteration of the nervous or circulatory system, with a temporary decrease in blood flow to the brain and, therefore, lack of oxygen. The heart contracts more strongly than usual due to emotions of stress, heat or exercise, for example, which causes the nervous system to overreact. Then, the main blood vessels, including those that irrigate the brain, narrow and reduce the passage of blood.


What causes child fainting or syncopation?

- Emotion, excessive effort, hunger or heat of a poorly ventilated stay are usually the main causes of the loss of knowledge in children and young people.

- Stress and anguish, For example, hearing a shocking news or seeing a scary scene from a movie can also trigger a faint in children and adolescents.

- A coughing attack or getting up quickly after sitting for a long time they are among the main reasons for a fading.

Symptoms of children fainting or syncopes of children

Faced with this type of situation, the body reacts to try to defend itself at first: it increases the respiratory rate and the heartbeat to elevate blood flow and oxygen, before arriving, ultimately, at syncope as a definitive solution to recover the blood flow.
Hence, the first symptoms prior to the loss of consciousness are:
- dizziness
- palpitations
- paleness
- weakness
- sweating
- blurry vision
- loss of strength


How to act in the face of childhood faints

- Rest position. At the first sign of weakness of the child, you have to lie on your back, with your feet raised above your chest. If it is not possible because of the place where you are, another option is to sit with your head between your knees.

- Comfort. To facilitate a good oxygenation, you have to loosen the clothes that are tight and check that you breathe freely.

- Remove obstacles. If you have food in your mouth, you have to lie on your side with your face to the ground so that it does not choke and expel whatever it may contain in your mouth at that time.

- Let him come to himself. Do not try to awaken him, but it is convenient to recover consciousness by himself. Generally, the child regains consciousness within a short time.

- Go to the doctor. It is advisable to inform the pediatrician of what happened, especially if the causes are unknown or the child suffers more from fainting. In addition, it is possible that there are other triggers that are negative, such as anemia, dehydration, low blood sugar in diabetic children or even a heart disorder.


Prevention and treatment of childhood faints

1. Teach simple resuscitation techniques. In the case of children or adolescents who suffer from syncopes frequently or on more than one occasion, their parents must learn to recognize the first signs of fainting and pass it on to the children since the final outcome can be avoided with simple techniques such as placing the head of the child. lower between the knees or lay him down.

2. Run away from the heat. A good recommendation is to reduce the time of exposure to the heat of the midday sun, baths and very hot showers, and avoid saunas and whirlpools altogether.

3. Avoid being a long time standing or sitting. Parents should teach children that they will stand for a long time to move the weight from one leg to another and flex the muscles of the legs to maintain active circulation. On the contrary, in the case of children who spend a lot of time sitting, it is very useful to lean forward with your hands on your knees or bring your knees to your chest.

4. Eat well and in a healthy way. Many times, fainting in adolescents is related to poor diet, so a good treatment is to ensure that they are on a proper diet, with the right amount of salt and water. Although a diet with excess sodium can cause hypertension, the lack of this mineral is not healthy either. The recommended dose is 8 glasses of water and other liquids a day.

Dr. Paloma Nacher. Neonatologist and Head of the Pediatric Emergency Service of La Milagrosa Hospital

You may also like:

- Shade against dizziness of children in the car

- The brain and the body development of children

Video: How to Help Someone Who Has Fainted | First Aid Training


Interesting Articles

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Get a good lactation in the first days after the birth of the baby is the basis of good nutrition. In addition, breastfeeding also creates a very special bond between mothers and children. These two...

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

The large number of different products that exist for babies they force us to be very alert not to make mistakes and regret later. If you are thinking about getting a Changer for your little one, the...

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

When you talk about how important it is eat fruit and vegetables, all nutritionists advise especially take those that are seasonal. However, today in supermarkets you can find practically everything...

Kinder, die in Ohnmacht fallen, wie man sich angesichts von Synkopen verhält

Wie Erwachsene können sich Kinder gelegentlich schwach fühlen und vorübergehend das Bewusstsein verlieren, aber diese Ohnmacht oder das Verblassen der Kinder sollten die Eltern nicht zu sehr beunruhigen, da die Ursachen normalerweise nicht ernst sind.

Diese Ohnmacht sind medizinisch als Synkope bekanntSie sind selten bei Kindern unter 10 Jahren und häufiger bei Teenagern, hauptsächlich bei Mädchen. Im Allgemeinen tritt Ohnmacht in bestimmten und vorübergehenden Situationen auf.

Ohnmachtsanfälle in der Kindheit oder Ohnmacht werden durch eine Veränderung des Nerven- oder Kreislaufsystems hervorgerufen, wobei der Blutfluss zum Gehirn vorübergehend abnimmt und daher Sauerstoffmangel herrscht. Das Herz zieht sich stärker zusammen als gewöhnlich, z. B. aufgrund von Emotionen wie Stress, Hitze oder Bewegung, die eine Überreaktion des Nervensystems verursachen. Dann verengen und reduzieren die Hauptblutgefäße, einschließlich derjenigen, die das Gehirn spülen, den Blutdurchgang.


Wodurch werden Kinder in Ohnmacht geraten oder Synkopen haben?

- Emotion, übermäßige Anstrengung, Hunger oder Hitze eines schlecht belüfteten Aufenthaltes sind in der Regel die Hauptursachen für den Wissensverlust bei Kindern und Jugendlichen.

- Stress und Angst Wenn Sie beispielsweise schockierende Nachrichten hören oder eine unheimliche Szene aus einem Film sehen, kann dies auch bei Kindern und Jugendlichen zu einer Ohnmacht führen.

- Ein Hustenanfall oder schnelles Aufstehen nach langem Sitzen gehören sie zu den Hauptursachen für ein Verblassen.

Symptome von Ohnmachten bei Kindern oder Synkope von Kindern

Angesichts dieser Situation reagiert der Körper auf den Versuch, sich zunächst zu verteidigen: Er erhöht die Atemfrequenz und den Herzschlag, um den Blutfluss und den Sauerstoff zu erhöhen, bevor er schließlich als endgültige Lösung zur Genesung an Synkope gelangt der Blutfluss.
Daher sind die ersten Symptome vor dem Bewusstseinsverlust:
- Schwindel
- Herzklopfen
- Blässe
- Schwäche
- schwitzen
- verschwommenes Sehen
- Verlust der Kraft


Wie man sich angesichts von Kindheitsmustern verhält

- Ruheposition. Beim ersten Anzeichen von Schwäche des Kindes müssen Sie sich mit den Füßen über der Brust auf den Rücken legen. Wenn dies aufgrund des Ortes, an dem Sie sich befinden, nicht möglich ist, können Sie auch mit dem Kopf zwischen den Knien sitzen.

- Komfort. Um eine gute Sauerstoffversorgung zu ermöglichen, müssen Sie die festsitzende Kleidung lockern und prüfen, ob Sie frei atmen können.

- Hindernisse entfernen. Wenn Sie Essen im Mund haben, müssen Sie sich mit dem Gesicht zu Boden auf die Seite legen, damit es nicht verschluckt und das, was es zu diesem Zeitpunkt in Ihrem Mund enthält, nicht vertrieben wird.

- Lass ihn zu sich kommen. Versuchen Sie nicht, ihn zu wecken, aber es ist bequem, das Bewusstsein selbst wiederzuerlangen. Im Allgemeinen gewinnt das Kind innerhalb kurzer Zeit wieder an Bewusstsein.

- Gehen Sie zum Arzt. Es ist ratsam, den Kinderarzt über das Geschehene zu informieren, insbesondere wenn die Ursachen unbekannt sind oder das Kind mehr unter Ohnmacht leidet. Darüber hinaus ist es möglich, dass es andere Auslöser gibt, die negativ sind, wie Anämie, Dehydratation, niedriger Blutzucker bei diabetischen Kindern oder sogar eine Herzerkrankung.


Prävention und Behandlung von Ohnmachten in der Kindheit

1. Lehren Sie einfache Wiederbelebungstechniken. Bei Kindern oder Jugendlichen, die häufig oder mehrmals an Synkopen leiden, müssen ihre Eltern lernen, die ersten Anzeichen von Ohnmacht zu erkennen und an die Kinder weiterzugeben, da das Endergebnis mit einfachen Techniken wie dem Setzen des Kopfes des Kindes vermieden werden kann. niedriger zwischen den Knien oder legen Sie ihn hin.

2. Laufen Sie vor der Hitze davon. Eine gute Empfehlung ist, die Zeit der Mittagssonne, Bäder und sehr heißen Duschen zu reduzieren und Saunen und Whirlpools insgesamt zu vermeiden.

3. Vermeiden Sie langes Stehen oder Sitzen. Eltern sollten Kindern beibringen, dass sie lange stehen bleiben, um das Gewicht von einem Bein zu einem anderen zu bewegen und die Muskeln der Beine zu bewegen, um die aktive Zirkulation aufrechtzuerhalten. Im Gegenteil, bei Kindern, die viel Zeit im Sitzen verbringen, ist es sehr nützlich, sich mit den Händen auf den Knien nach vorne zu beugen oder die Knie an die Brust zu bringen.

4. Essen Sie gesund und gesund. Oftmals ist Ohnmacht bei Jugendlichen mit einer schlechten Ernährung verbunden. Daher ist es eine gute Behandlung, sicherzustellen, dass sie auf eine richtige Ernährung mit der richtigen Menge an Salz und Wasser achten. Obwohl eine Diät mit übermäßigem Natrium zu Bluthochdruck führen kann, ist der Mangel an diesem Mineral ebenfalls nicht gesund. Die empfohlene Dosis beträgt 8 Gläser Wasser und andere Flüssigkeiten pro Tag.

Dr. Paloma Nacher. Neonatologe und Leiter des Pädiatrischen Notfalldienstes des Krankenhauses La Milagrosa

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- Schutz vor Schwindel von Kindern im Auto

- Die Gehirn- und Körperentwicklung von Kindern

Video: In Ohnmacht gefallen


Interessante Artikel

3 wichtige Buchten auf Ibiza für Kinder

3 wichtige Buchten auf Ibiza für Kinder

Wenn wir Eltern sind, werden wir anspruchsvoller und vorsichtiger bei der Wahl eines Urlaubsziels und lernen unser Urlaubsziel kennen InselnNatürlich ist es eine der besten Möglichkeiten. Und zwar...