The educational level of Spain has doubled in 50 years

To what extent does education contribute to the development of a country? This has been the objective of a study carried out by the BBVA Reseach and the Foundation for Applied Economics Studies (FEDEA), which analyzed the evolution between 1960 and 2011 of the educational level of the population over 25 years old in 22 of the 34 OECD countries, including Spain and its autonomous communities.

The important advance of Spain in Education

Spain has advanced a lot in years of schooling, since in 50 years the educational level of the population has doubled. While in 1960, the average number of years of schooling of the adult population it did not reach five years, in990 went up to 6.7 years and in 2000 it was something more than eight years. In 2011, with the latest data available, it reached 9.79 years. In short, it is a very positive fact to have achieved a doubling of the educational level in half a century. In addition, illiteracy has practically disappeared, while the fraction of the population with higher education continues to increase very significantly in Spain.


However, despite the effort made, we can not catch up with other OECD countries, since our neighbors have also improved. In comparison with them and during the last five decades we have not left the last positions. So, in general, the adult Spanish population has remained in school almost 10 years of their life, on average, compared to the nearly 12 years that have passed the inhabitants of other OECD countries, which places us penultimate in a list of 22 countries, only ahead of Portugal. This work has been carried out mainly from census data and counts the period of training between Primary and University.


A greater education, greater wealth

Researchers have calculated that each year of additional schooling increases average productivity by 10%, which represents approximately 30% more income per capita and represents six points less in the unemployment rate. The scarce formation that the Spanish adults have is, according to the researchers of the study, the main obstacle with which Spain has been loading for decades and that suppose a brake to our economy.

And is that the influence of educational level in the economy is the second major conclusion of the study. Thus, the regions with the highest educational level are also the most productive and those that "show the lowest unemployment rates". "The educational differences explain a good part of the differences in productivity, occupation and, therefore, income between regions," the study adds. "The accumulation of human capital has been one of the great engines of income growth."


Having work is also associated with a greater number of education and a higher standard of living.
And is that despite the destruction of employment that has occurred during the crisis, the employment of people with university studies has increased during this time.

Madrid, the community with the highest educational level

The study also records a third major conclusion internally. The Community of Madrid has almost 11 years of average training among its inhabitants, the Basque Country reaches 10.30 years of training, Navarre at 10.18 years and Catalonia at 9.96. These are the Autonomous Communities that obtain the best results. In the tail are Extremadura with 8.60 years of training, Castilla-La Mancha with 8.85 years, Murcia with 9.12 years and Andalusia with 9.15. The north and Madrid, in short, are above the average educational level or their environment, while the south and the Levant do below the national average.

Marisol New

Video: Human Population Growth - Crash Course Ecology #3


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Das Bildungsniveau in Spanien hat sich in 50 Jahren verdoppelt

Inwieweit trägt Bildung zur Entwicklung eines Landes bei? Dies war das Ziel einer Studie der BBVA-Forschung und die Stiftung für angewandte Volkswirtschaftslehre (FEDEA), das die Entwicklung des Bildungsniveaus der über 25-jährigen Bevölkerung in 22 der 34 OECD-Länder, einschließlich Spaniens und seiner autonomen Gemeinschaften, zwischen 1960 und 2011 analysierte.

Der wichtige Fortschritt Spaniens im Bildungsbereich

Spanien hat in den Schuljahren viel erreicht, da sich das Bildungsniveau der Bevölkerung in 50 Jahren verdoppelt hat. Während in 1960die durchschnittliche Anzahl der Schuljahre der erwachsenen Bevölkerung es hat nicht fünf Jahre erreichtin990 stieg auf 6,7 Jahre und im Jahr 2000 es war etwas mehr als acht Jahre Im Jahr 2011mit den neuesten verfügbaren Daten erreicht 9,79 Jahre. Es ist also eine sehr positive Tatsache, dass sich das Bildungsniveau in einem halben Jahrhundert verdoppelt hat. Außerdem ist der Analphabetismus praktisch verschwunden, während der Anteil der Bevölkerung mit höherer Bildung in Spanien weiterhin sehr stark ansteigt.


Trotz der Bemühungen, Mit anderen OECD-Ländern können wir nicht aufholen, da sich auch unsere Nachbarn verbessert haben. Im Vergleich zu ihnen und in den letzten fünf Jahrzehnten haben wir die letzten Positionen nicht verlassen. Im Allgemeinen ist die spanische Bevölkerung von Erwachsenen im Durchschnitt fast zehn Jahre ihres Lebens in der Schule geblieben, im Vergleich zu den fast zwölf Jahren, die die Bewohner anderer OECD-Länder hinter sich gelassen haben Vorletzter in einer Liste von 22 Ländern, nur vor Portugal. Diese Arbeit wurde hauptsächlich aus Volkszählungsdaten durchgeführt und zählt die Ausbildungsdauer zwischen Grundschule und Universität.


Eine größere Bildung, mehr Wohlstand

Die Forscher haben berechnet, dass jedes Jahr der zusätzlichen Schulausbildung die durchschnittliche Produktivität um 10% erhöht, was etwa 30% mehr Einkommen pro Kopf bedeutet und sechs Punkte weniger bei der Arbeitslosenquote ausmacht. Die knappe Formation der spanischen Erwachsenen ist laut den Forschern der Studie das Haupthindernis, mit dem Spanien seit Jahrzehnten belastet wird und das eine Behinderung unserer Wirtschaft voraussetzt.

Und ist der, dass der Einfluss des Bildungsniveaus in der Wirtschaft die zweite wichtige Schlussfolgerung der Studie ist. Daher sind die Regionen mit dem höchsten Bildungsniveau auch die produktivsten und "die niedrigsten Arbeitslosenquoten". "Die Bildungsunterschiede erklären einen großen Teil der Unterschiede bei Produktivität, Beschäftigung und damit Einkommen zwischen den Regionen", fügt die Studie hinzu. "Die Anhäufung von Humankapital war einer der großen Motoren für das Einkommenswachstum."


Arbeit zu haben ist auch mit einer höheren Zahl von Bildung und einem höheren Lebensstandard verbunden.
Und zwar ist es so, dass trotz der Zerstörung von Arbeitsplätzen während der Krise die Beschäftigung von Hochschulabsolventen in dieser Zeit zugenommen hat.

Madrid, die Gemeinde mit dem höchsten Bildungsniveau

Die Studie zeichnet auch intern eine dritte wichtige Schlussfolgerung auf. Die Autonome Gemeinschaft Madrid verfügt über fast 11 Jahre Ausbildung im Durchschnitt der Einwohner, das Baskenland erreicht 10,30 Jahre, Navarra 10,18 Jahre und Katalonien 9,96. Dies sind die Autonomen Gemeinschaften, die die besten Ergebnisse erzielen. Im Heck sind Extremadura mit 8,60 Jahren Ausbildung, Castilla-La Mancha mit 8,85 Jahren, Murcia mit 9,12 Jahren und Andalusien mit 9,15. Kurz gesagt, der Norden und Madrid liegen über dem durchschnittlichen Bildungsniveau oder ihrem Umfeld, während der Süden und die Levante unter dem nationalen Durchschnitt liegen.

Marisol Neu

Video: General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) and North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)


Interessante Artikel

So funktioniert das Gehirn Ihres Babys

So funktioniert das Gehirn Ihres Babys

Die frühes Lernen Es ist keine Laune von Pädagogen und Lehrern. Es ist eine greifbare und effektive Realität, von dem Moment an, in dem die Baby Gehirn, seine enormen Möglichkeiten und seine...

Für einen Spaziergang mit dem Baby

Für einen Spaziergang mit dem Baby

Beenden mit dem Baby gehen Es ist eine sehr nützliche Routine. In diesen kleinen Momenten können Sie nicht nur alles wissen, was Sie umgibt, sondern auch Ihren Horizont erweitern und sich körperlich,...