How blood groups work

exist 4 types of blood groups A, B, AB and O and these in turn can be positive or negative. This range opens up to the wide combinations that we all know, which in turn give rise to possible and impossible compatibilities. Why is the 0- known as a universal donor and can only receive blood from your group? And why can the AB + group get blood from any group?

The answer to these questions is to know how antigens work, which are proteins that are found on the surface of red blood cells or blood cells and that give rise to blood groups, and in knowing what is the function of antibodies, which they react according to the antigens and give rise to Rh positive or negative.


Why is not blood always compatible?

The identification of blood groups was a very important fact, both for its contribution to genetics and the importance of transfusions. It was the German pathologist Karl Landsteiner who in the year 1900 discovered that blood groups are substances that are attached to the membrane of red blood cells or also called red blood cells. The presence of these substances determines the blood group and the compatibility when carrying out blood transfusions.

When we talk colloquially about performing a blood transfusion, it is not the blood as such that is transferred but each component of it, separately, that is to say the red blood cells or the red blood cells, the plasma and / or the platelets. It is the compatibility of some and other elements that is analyzed before carrying out a transfusion.


The components of blood

- Red blood cells They are discs that contain hemoglobin, a substance rich in iron whose function is to transport oxygen to all the cells of the organism.

- The plasma it is the liquid component that is responsible for moving the blood cells.

- Platelets They are responsible for grouping in the wounds causing a contraction of the blood vessel and forming a clot that stops the bleeding.

What are the blood groups?

The two most important are the ABO group and the Rh group.

1. The AB0 Group
In the case of Group AB0, the substance that determines the different blood groups are the sugar residues that are on the proteins, and according to their composition we find four groups: A, B, AB and 0.

A person from the AB group is a universal recipient to receive red blood cells or red blood cells from any other person; while a person from group 0 is a universal donor, because he can donate red blood cells to any other person.


On the other hand, AB people can donate plasma to anyone; and in turn, people of group O are universal recipients of plasma (they can receive plasma from any donor).

2. The Rh group
People who have the Rh protein are Rh positive; and those that do not have it, are Rh negative. Blood or RBC-positive red blood cells can usually be transfused to patients with a Rh-negative group; except in the cases of women of childbearing age or patients who have previously received Rh positive red blood cells, and have developed antibodies against Rh proteins. (Anti-D antibodies).

How blood group identification is performed

The identification of the blood group of patients by means of an identification plate is something that is never taken into account, not even in emergency situations in order to avoid false interpretations, since it may be the case that a person has exchanged the bracelet with a family member or friend ...

Routinely, an identification of the blood group of each patient is made before being transfused in all cases. In addition to having the blood group, other tests are required to ensure that the transfusion is safe. These are the "irregular antibody" tests and cross-match test.

In case of extreme urgency, group 0 negative blood cells (universal donor) are given, and a blood sample is sent to identify the patient's group, and then continue to be transfused with the same group of the patient.

Dr. José Luis Bueno. Specialist in Hematology and Hemotherapy of La Milagrosa Hospital

Video: Blood Type Diet: Does It Work? | UCLA Center for Human Nutrition


Interesting Articles

When my son is not bad enough to stay at home

When my son is not bad enough to stay at home

Not all diseases require a child to stay at home. In some cases, prevention is only required to prevent the spread of the disease to others. Knowing something about how some diseases spread and...

The brain and the body development of children

The brain and the body development of children

At four years old we are still helpless creatures compared to other species, even those closest to us. Why is our childhood so long? One of the reasons why the childhood of humans is so long compared...

EduCaixa implements Big Data in schools

EduCaixa implements Big Data in schools

Digital data are present in our day to day and children must learn from childhood to use them with conscience. For this reason, EduCaixa has launched the first educational intelligence program of...

Wie arbeiten Blutgruppen?

Es gibt 4 Arten von Blutgruppen A, B, AB und O und diese können wiederum positiv oder negativ sein. Dieser Bereich öffnet sich für die breiten Kombinationen, die wir alle kennen, und führt zu möglichen und unmöglichen Kompatibilitäten. Warum ist die 0 als Universalspender bekannt und kann nur Blut von Ihrer Gruppe erhalten? Und warum kann die AB + -Gruppe aus jeder Gruppe Blut bekommen?

Die Antwort auf diese Fragen ist, zu wissen, wie Antigene wirken, dh Proteine, die sich auf der Oberfläche roter Blutkörperchen oder Blutzellen befinden und Blutgruppen bilden, und zu wissen, welche Funktion Antikörper haben Sie reagieren entsprechend den Antigenen und führen zu einem positiven oder negativen Rh-Wert.


Warum ist Blut nicht immer kompatibel?

Die Identifizierung von Blutgruppen war sowohl für ihren Beitrag zur Genetik als auch für die Bedeutung von Transfusionen eine sehr wichtige Tatsache. Der deutsche Pathologe Karl Landsteiner entdeckte im Jahr 1900, dass Blutgruppen Substanzen sind, die an der Membran von roten Blutkörperchen anhaften oder auch rote Blutkörperchen genannt werden. Das Vorhandensein dieser Substanzen bestimmt die Blutgruppe und die Verträglichkeit bei Bluttransfusionen.

Wenn wir umgangssprachlich über die Durchführung einer Bluttransfusion sprechen, wird nicht das Blut als solches übertragen, sondern jeder Bestandteil davon, d. H. Die roten Blutkörperchen oder die roten Blutkörperchen, das Plasma und / oder die Blutplättchen. Es ist die Kompatibilität einiger und anderer Elemente, die vor der Durchführung einer Transfusion analysiert werden.


Die Bestandteile von Blut

- rote Blutkörperchen Sie sind Scheiben, die Hämoglobin enthalten, eine eisenreiche Substanz, deren Funktion darin besteht, Sauerstoff in alle Zellen des Organismus zu transportieren.

- das Plasma Es ist die flüssige Komponente, die für die Bewegung der Blutzellen verantwortlich ist.

- Thrombozyten Sie sind für die Gruppierung in den Wunden verantwortlich, was zu einer Kontraktion des Blutgefäßes führt und ein Blutgerinnsel bildet, das die Blutung stoppt.

Was sind die Blutgruppen?

Die zwei wichtigsten sind die ABO-Gruppe und die Rh-Gruppe.

1. Die AB0-Gruppe
Im Fall der Gruppe AB0 sind die Zuckerreste, die sich auf den Proteinen befinden, die Substanz, die die verschiedenen Blutgruppen bestimmt, und je nach ihrer Zusammensetzung finden wir vier Gruppen: A, B, AB und 0.

Eine Person aus der AB-Gruppe ist ein universeller Empfänger, der rote oder andere rote Blutkörperchen von einer anderen Person erhalten kann. während eine Person aus Gruppe 0 ein Universalspender ist, weil er rote Blutkörperchen an andere Personen spenden kann.


Auf der anderen Seite können AB-Leute Plasma an alle Personen spenden; Menschen der Gruppe O sind wiederum universelle Empfänger von Plasma (sie können Plasma von jedem Spender erhalten).

2. Die Rh-Gruppe
Menschen, die das Rh-Protein haben, sind Rh-positiv; und diejenigen, die es nicht haben, sind Rh-negativ. Patienten mit einer Rh-negativen Gruppe können in der Regel Blut oder RBC-positive rote Blutkörperchen übertragen. ausgenommen in Fällen von Frauen im gebärfähigen Alter oder Patienten, die zuvor Rh-positive rote Blutkörperchen erhalten und Antikörper gegen Rh-Proteine ​​entwickelt haben. (Anti-D-Antikörper).

Wie wird die Blutgruppenidentifikation durchgeführt?

Die Identifizierung der Blutgruppe der Patienten mittels eines Kennzeichnungsschildes wird niemals berücksichtigt, auch nicht in Notfallsituationen, um falsche Interpretationen zu vermeiden, da eine Person das Armband möglicherweise ausgetauscht hat ein Familienmitglied oder ein Freund ...

Routinemäßig wird in jedem Fall eine Identifizierung der Blutgruppe jedes Patienten vor der Transfusion vorgenommen. Neben der Blutgruppe sind weitere Tests erforderlich, um sicherzustellen, dass die Transfusion sicher ist. Dies sind die "unregelmäßigen Antikörper" -Tests und der Kreuzvergleichstest.

Bei äußerster Dringlichkeit werden negative Blutzellen der Gruppe 0 (Universalspender) verabreicht, und eine Blutprobe wird zur Identifizierung der Patientengruppe gesendet. Anschließend werden sie weiterhin mit derselben Patientengruppe transfundiert.

Dr. José Luis Bueno. Facharzt für Hämatologie und Hämotherapie des Krankenhauses La Milagrosa

Video: So funktioniert Bluttransfusion - Blut-Special 5 ● Gehe auf SIMPLECLUB.DE/GO & werde #EinserSchüler


Interessante Artikel

Spanien, am Ende Europas in Muttermilchbanken

Spanien, am Ende Europas in Muttermilchbanken

Spanien ist eines der europäischen Länder mit weniger Muttermilchbanken, da es nur sechs hat, eine Zahl deutlich unter Frankreich, dem Vereinigten Königreich oder den nordischen Ländern, die die...