Technological insomnia among adolescents increases

Checking your smartphone or tablet before bed is the routine of many children before bedtime. This custom is very harmful, if what is intended is to fall asleep since the technological devices use backlit screens and activate areas of the brain that cancel sleep. The predecessor activity to the conciliation of the dream should be calm and induce sleep.

Consequences of using the smartphone before sleep

The first consequence related to the use of the smartphone and the tablets before sleep are the disorders of conciliation and maintenance of sleep. Episodes of nightmares or parasomnia (small sleep interruptions) are also associated.


The second is poor school performance. Thus, after a night in which he has rested a little, the lack of attention, concentration, irritability and fatigue to face the day are the most immediate consequences. Hyperactivity is also associated. And is that contrary to what happens to adults, children and adolescents who do not sleep well the next day are often hyperactive, very agitated. And this means that they do not concentrate and their school performance goes down.

Several universities in the United States are already preparing studies to determine how the use of technology affects school performance, concentration and other habits, and some experts expect the results to be surprising. Neurologists agree that at least one hour before sleep is dispensed with the use of the Smartphone or tablet.


Aids to fight technological insomnia

The bedside consultations and the sleep units are beginning to register an increase in the number of minor patients, who have difficulties to fall asleep, or are revealed at midnight and do not return to sleep easily.

When children come to the sleep unit, it is necessary to determine if the problems related to insomnia are neurological or pneumological. Usually work to correct bad habits that prevent falling asleep when using the smartphone before sleep and the problem tends to disappear.

The profile of these minors is usually that of males between 14 and 16 years old, and 98 percent of them, for not ensuring that all, use technological devices in the hour prior to sleep, even in the same bed. The solution to eradicate this problem is to explain to children the scientific reasons why using mobile phones, tablets and other devices before sleep is bad.


These scientific reasons for this type of "technological insomnia" are twofold.

1. The artificial light of these devices. Technically they are called backlit light screens, it alters the production of melatonin, which is the hormone that helps regulate our circadian rhythms (our internal clock) and to get to sleep. This delay in the production of melatonin in adolescents is very important and can have serious consequences for the rest of their lives, with serious insomnia problems.

2. Activation of neurons. These devices activate the neurons and activate us, which prevents falling asleep. The advisable thing is not to use screens between one and two hours before going to sleep. It's difficult, we're all a bit hooked on WhatsApp.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: What Happens To Your Body And Brain If You Don't Get Sleep


Interesting Articles

Renault Talisman Sport Tourer: balance of qualities

Renault Talisman Sport Tourer: balance of qualities

The contribution of the French brand in the market segment is huge family cars means, 46 years ago that the Spanish market arrived on the Renault 12 family, which curiously is still seen on our...

What do the trips bring to the children?

What do the trips bring to the children?

There are many activities that can be done as a family. A catalog that varies according to the time of year, such as travels taking advantage of summer vacations. A choice that has many benefits for...

Bullying, the main concern of adolescents

Bullying, the main concern of adolescents

The bullying or bullying It is a reality and a global problem. Many efforts are made to raise awareness among young people and their parents about the harmful consequences of bullying in schools, and...

Improve self-esteem through fun

Improve self-esteem through fun

The self esteem It is a fundamental piece in the day to day of any person. Before being comfortable with other people, the first step is to enjoy the company of oneself and know how to make the most...

Die technologische Schlaflosigkeit bei Jugendlichen nimmt zu

Das Überprüfen Ihres Smartphones oder Tablets vor dem Schlafengehen ist für viele Kinder vor dem Zubettgehen eine Routine. Dieser Brauch ist sehr schädlich, wenn das Einschlafen beabsichtigt ist, da die technischen Geräte Hintergrundbeleuchtete Bildschirme verwenden und Bereiche des Gehirns aktivieren, die den Schlaf aufheben. Die Vorgängeraktivität zur Versöhnung des Traums sollte ruhig sein und den Schlaf induzieren.

Folgen der Verwendung des Smartphones vor dem Schlaf

Die erste Konsequenz, die sich aus der Verwendung des Smartphones und der Tablets vor dem Schlaf ergibt, sind Störungen des Schlichtens und der Aufrechterhaltung des Schlafs. Episoden von Albträumen oder Parasomnien (kleine Schlafunterbrechungen) sind ebenfalls assoziiert.


Der zweite ist schlechte Schulleistung. Nach einer Nacht, in der er sich etwas ausgeruht hat, sind der Mangel an Aufmerksamkeit, die Konzentration, die Reizbarkeit und die Ermüdung des Tages die unmittelbarsten Konsequenzen. Hyperaktivität ist auch verbunden. Und ist das im Gegensatz zu dem, was mit Erwachsenen passiert, sind Kinder und Jugendliche, die am nächsten Tag nicht gut schlafen, oft hyperaktiv und sehr aufgeregt. Und das bedeutet, dass sie sich nicht konzentrieren und ihre Schulleistungen nachlassen.

Mehrere Universitäten in den Vereinigten Staaten bereiten bereits Studien vor, um festzustellen, wie der Einsatz von Technologie die Schulleistung, Konzentration und andere Gewohnheiten beeinflusst, und einige Experten erwarten, dass die Ergebnisse überraschend sind. Neurologen sind sich einig, dass mindestens eine Stunde vor dem Einschlafen auf die Verwendung des Smartphones oder Tablets verzichtet wird.


Hilfsmittel zur Bekämpfung von technologischer Schlaflosigkeit

Die Konsultationen am Krankenbett und die Schlafeinheiten beginnen zu verzeichnen, dass die Zahl der kleineren Patienten steigt, die Schwierigkeiten beim Einschlafen haben oder um Mitternacht aufgedeckt werden und nicht so schnell wieder einschlafen.

Wenn Kinder zur Schlafabteilung kommen, muss festgestellt werden, ob die mit Schlaflosigkeit zusammenhängenden Probleme neurologisch oder pneumologisch sind. Normalerweise sollten Sie schlechte Gewohnheiten korrigieren, die verhindern, dass Sie einschlafen, wenn Sie das Smartphone vor dem Schlaf verwenden, und das Problem verschwindet.

Das Profil dieser Minderjährigen ist in der Regel das der Männer zwischen 14 und 16 Jahren, und 98 Prozent von ihnen, da nicht sichergestellt ist, dass alle technologischen Geräte in der Stunde vor dem Schlafengehen verwenden, selbst im selben Bett. Die Lösung zur Beseitigung dieses Problems besteht darin, Kindern die wissenschaftlichen Gründe zu erklären, warum die Verwendung von Mobiltelefonen, Tablets und anderen Geräten vor dem Schlaf schlecht ist.


Diese wissenschaftlichen Gründe für diese Art von "technologischer Schlaflosigkeit" gibt es zwei Gründe.

1. Das künstliche Licht dieser Geräte. Technisch werden sie als hinterleuchtete Lichtschirme bezeichnet. Sie verändern die Produktion von Melatonin, dem Hormon, das dabei hilft, unsere zirkadianen Rhythmen (unsere innere Uhr) zu regulieren und einzuschlafen. Diese Verzögerung bei der Produktion von Melatonin bei Jugendlichen ist sehr wichtig und kann für den Rest ihres Lebens schwerwiegende Folgen haben, was zu schweren Schlafstörungen führen kann.

2. Aktivierung von Neuronen. Diese Geräte aktivieren die Neuronen und aktivieren uns, wodurch das Einschlafen verhindert wird. Es wird empfohlen, Bildschirme vor dem Einschlafen nicht ein bis zwei Stunden zu verwenden. Es ist schwierig, wir sind alle ein bisschen von WhatsApp begeistert.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: 15. AZK: Hyperaktivität und ADS. Warum Ritalin keine Lösung ist. | 13.09.18 | kla.tv


Interessante Artikel

Verkehrserziehung, Beratung für Grundschulkinder

Verkehrserziehung, Beratung für Grundschulkinder

Die meisten Unfälle als Fußgänger in städtischen Gebieten haben Kinder zwischen fünf und vierzehn Jahren. Hinter diesen Verkehrsunfällen gibt es wenig Informationen über die Straßenerziehung über die...

6 Tipps zum Umgang mit der Krankheit eines Verwandten

6 Tipps zum Umgang mit der Krankheit eines Verwandten

Betreuung eines Familienmitglieds mit chronischer Krankheit Es setzt eine emotionale Abnutzung voraus in Bezugspersonen enorm wichtig. Bei allem, was wir oben haben, wird die Belastung durch Stress...