How to avoid accidents due to cold and hypothermia in winter sports

The low temperatures can trigger some health problems, if we do not take the necessary precautions. Pediatricians of Primary Care of the Spanish Association of Pediatrics (SEPEAP) have established important recommendations that we must not overlook if we want to avoid accidents due to cold and hypothermia when outdoors or doing sports of winter.

Most common causes of hypothermia

Young children lose body temperature more easily than adults, and are more susceptible to freezing and hypothermia, as they have a large evaporation surface, an immature control of body temperature regulation and a production capacity of reduced heat.


Hypothermia occurs when the body temperature drops below 35 degrees. Typical signs are tremor, lethargy, and in severe cases, neurological disorders and coma. Hypothermia can occur in any season of the year by accident, but in winter, there is more risk of this happening. The most common causes of hypothermia are:

- Wear little clothesor that it is not suitable for low temperatures.
- Wet or submerge in cold waters.
- Be in wet clothes when it's cold or windy for a long time.
- Make extreme efforts without eating enough food or drink in cold climates.
If confusion or mental disorders appear, call the emergency number immediately, in Spain on 112.


Advice to act in case of hypothermia

- Protect the victim from the cold. Take the child or adult to an interior area where the temperature is warm and wrap it in blankets and coats. If we must remain outdoors, try to find an area isolated from the wind, the cold and the ground. It is very important to cover the head and neck as they are areas where a lot of heat is lost. If you can get the victim covered, you must replace your wet clothes with dry clothes.
- Try to warm the person. In case the victim is conscious and awake, and can swallow easily, it is advisable to drink sweet and hot liquids, without alcohol.
- Stay with the person until the medical support arrives.

How to avoid accidents practicing winter sports

1. The helmet is essential to prevent injuries in case of fall when practicing any snow sport.
2. Protects the eyes and skin from the sun. The reflection of the sun in the snow multiplies the risk of sunburn on both the skin and the eyes. Always use high protection sunscreen and approved sunglasses to avoid injury.
3. Wear waterproof clothing and shoes. Snow monkeys and waterproof boots are essential to prevent children from getting wet after falling. It is recommended that children wear warm clothes of their size and that they dress like an onion, that is, with several thin layers that can be easily put on and removed. Children should wear an extra layer of clothing that an adult would wear with the same weather conditions. It is recommended preferably outer windproof clothing.
4. Teach children to rest. If they are having a good time, the children do not recognize some symptoms such as cold and fatigue. It is necessary to stop are tired or wet to drink liquid, take nuts that will provide energy and put on dry clothes.
5. Stretching and heating the joints It is necessary before starting any sport activity, especially for cold sports.
6. Take advantage of the hours of light. From very early in the morning to early afternoon, when it begins to dusk as the cold begins to be more intense.
7. A good breakfast very consistent It is essential to start the day and practice any winter sport.


Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: How To Prevent Common Winter Injuries


Interesting Articles

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Get a good lactation in the first days after the birth of the baby is the basis of good nutrition. In addition, breastfeeding also creates a very special bond between mothers and children. These two...

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

The large number of different products that exist for babies they force us to be very alert not to make mistakes and regret later. If you are thinking about getting a Changer for your little one, the...

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

When you talk about how important it is eat fruit and vegetables, all nutritionists advise especially take those that are seasonal. However, today in supermarkets you can find practically everything...

So vermeiden Sie Unfälle durch Kälte und Unterkühlung im Wintersport

Die niedrigen Temperaturen können zu gesundheitlichen Problemen führen, wenn wir nicht die notwendigen Vorsichtsmaßnahmen treffen. Kinderärzte der Grundversorgung der spanischen Vereinigung für Pädiatrie (SEPEAP) haben wichtige Empfehlungen aufgestellt, die wir nicht übersehen dürfen, wenn wir dies vermeiden wollen Unfälle durch Kälte und Unterkühlung im Freien oder beim Sport vom Winter.

Häufigste Ursachen für Unterkühlung

Kleinkinder verlieren die Körpertemperatur leichter als Erwachsene und sind anfälliger für Einfrieren und Unterkühlung, da sie eine große Verdampfungsoberfläche, eine unreife Kontrolle der Körpertemperatur und eine Produktionskapazität von haben reduzierte Hitze


Hypothermie tritt auf, wenn die Körpertemperatur unter 35 Grad fällt. Typische Anzeichen sind Tremor, Lethargie und in schweren Fällen neurologische Störungen und Koma. Hypothermie kann zu jeder Jahreszeit durch Zufall auftreten, im Winter besteht jedoch ein höheres Risiko. Die häufigsten Ursachen für Unterkühlung sind:

- Tragen Sie kleine Kleideroder dass es nicht für niedrige Temperaturen geeignet ist.
- Nass oder eintauchen in kaltem Wasser.
- Sei in nasser Kleidung wenn es lange kalt oder windig ist.
- Mache extreme Anstrengungen, ohne genug zu essen oder in kaltem Klima trinken.
Wenn Verwirrung oder psychische Störungen auftreten, rufen Sie sofort die Notrufnummer an, in Spanien unter der Nummer 112.


Handlungsempfehlung bei Unterkühlung

- Schützen Sie das Opfer vor Kälte. Bringen Sie das Kind oder den Erwachsenen in einen warmen Innenbereich und wickeln Sie ihn in Decken und Mäntel ein. Wenn wir uns im Freien aufhalten müssen, versuchen Sie, ein Gebiet zu finden, das von Wind, Kälte und Boden isoliert ist. Es ist sehr wichtig, Kopf und Hals zu bedecken, da es sich um Bereiche handelt, in denen viel Wärme verloren geht. Wenn Sie das Opfer abdecken können, müssen Sie Ihre nassen Kleidungsstücke durch trockene Kleidungsstücke ersetzen.
- Versuchen Sie, die Person zu wärmen. Wenn das Opfer bei Bewusstsein ist und wach ist und leicht schlucken kann, ist es ratsam, süße und heiße Flüssigkeiten ohne Alkohol zu trinken.
- Bleib bei der Person bis die medizinische Unterstützung eintrifft.

So vermeiden Sie Unfälle beim Wintersport

1. Der Helm ist unerlässlich um Verletzungen im Fall eines Sturzes beim Schneesport zu vermeiden.
2. Schützt die Augen und die Haut vor der Sonne. Die Reflexion der Sonne im Schnee erhöht die Gefahr von Sonnenbrand sowohl auf der Haut als auch auf den Augen. Verwenden Sie stets Sonnenschutzmittel mit hohem Schutz und zugelassene Sonnenbrillen, um Verletzungen zu vermeiden.
3. Tragen Sie wasserdichte Kleidung und Schuhe. Schneeaffen und wasserdichte Stiefel sind wichtig, um zu verhindern, dass Kinder nach dem Sturz nass werden. Es wird empfohlen, dass Kinder warme Kleidung ihrer Größe tragen und sich wie eine Zwiebel kleiden, dh mit mehreren dünnen Schichten, die leicht an- und ausgezogen werden können. Kinder sollten eine zusätzliche Schicht Kleidung tragen, die ein Erwachsener bei den gleichen Wetterbedingungen tragen würde. Es wird empfohlen, vorzugsweise winddichtere Kleidung zu tragen.
4. Lehre die Kinder, sich auszuruhen. Wenn es ihnen gut geht, erkennen die Kinder einige Symptome wie Erkältung und Müdigkeit nicht. Man muss aufhören, müde oder nass zu sein, um Flüssigkeit zu trinken, Nüsse zu nehmen, die für Energie sorgen, und trockene Kleidung anziehen.
5. Dehnen und Erwärmen der Gelenke Es ist vor Beginn einer sportlichen Aktivität erforderlich, insbesondere bei kalten Sportarten.
6. Nutzen Sie die Stunden des Lichts. Vom frühen Morgen bis zum frühen Nachmittag, wenn die Dämmerung beginnt und die Kälte intensiver wird.
7. Ein gutes Frühstück sehr beständig Es ist wichtig, den Tag zu beginnen und Wintersport auszuüben.


Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Things Mr. Welch is No Longer Allowed to do in a RPG #1-2450 Reading Compilation


Interessante Artikel

Fußpilz im Sommer: Plantarpapillom

Fußpilz im Sommer: Plantarpapillom

Das plantare Papillom, welches Es ist eine der häufigsten Fußinfektionenist im Sommer noch mehr präsent, besonders bei Kindern. Der Kontakt des nackten Fußes an heißen und feuchten Orten wie...