Fear of going to the doctor, how to face it

When the time comes for the children to make a visit to the doctor fear appears irremediably. The white coat, the pain or simply the fear of the unknown make that, when the time comes, they do not want to go to the pediatrician or face it with tears and tantrums.

Thus, the adults themselves, who sometimes also showfear of going to the doctor, they must at least try that the visit to the doctor is not, for the smallest ones, an uncomfortable experience that they associate with the negative.

Initiative to lose fear of the doctor

The Association of Medical Students of the Complutense University of Madrid (IFMSA) has carried out an original project with the objective that children lose the fear of going to the doctor. Under the name The bear hospital, this project seeks to involve the little ones and make them lose their fear by bringing together groups of children of four and five years old to visit the Faculty of Medicine of the UCM. There they will "cure" their stuffed toys and "sick" toys and understand what the doctors are trying to do with them when they come to the clinic. In addition, twice a year, at the Doce de Octubre hospital, they teach sick children these same healing techniques.


Tips to help children lose their fear of going to the doctor

For this they must know that fear, which usually appears between six and ten years, can be addressed following a series of guidelines:

1. Notify the child in advance. If a child observes with surprise that his usual routine changes and that change is to go to the doctor, to the confusion will be added the difficulty to assume such unexpected and unwanted visit. Therefore, it is important for parents to notify children before going to the doctor and above all, never to deceive them under another excuse.

2. Identify the cause of the fear of going to the doctor. The first step to help a child face the time to go to the doctor is to identify the cause of their fear (pain, the doctor, tests, etc.) and show tolerance trying to understand, respect and thus help you overcome it .


3. Show the medicine through the game. Taking advantage of the fact that nowadays new technologies offer us a multitude of possibilities, parents must use this advantage so that, through interactive games on the Tablet or on the computer, the children know the medical instruments, the diseases and the different tests that a doctor can perform and thus reduce their uncertainty.

4. Keep calm. The children face the visit to the doctor with nerves. If they also observe that the adult who accompanies them shows a certain concern, they will immediately think that their fears are well founded and that something "bad" awaits them behind the door of the pediatrician's office. Therefore, it is important that the parents or adults accompanying them be the first to show tranquility, being able to transmit that peace of mind to the children.

5. Solve the doubts and concerns of the children. To eliminate the fear that children feel to be alone with the doctor, it is necessary to transmit closeness. Likewise, in order to face the fear of pain, parents must, above all, escape the lie, which will only work the first time and will make the child withdraw their trust. Finally, in the face of fear of the unknown, it will be beneficial to inform you beforehand of everything that is going to be done in a language appropriate to your age.


6. Transmit a positive image of the doctor. As happens when the father speaks badly of a teacher in front of a child, speaking against the doctor in front of the smallest will only worsen his disposition. Thus, the father must teach the child that the doctor's job is to cure and that thanks to him, that problem or that pain he has, will disappear. Likewise, it is important that parents never associate the doctor with a punishment.

7. Let the children talk. The conversation between a child and his pediatrician pursues the goal of creating a bond of trust by allowing the child to express himself and feel heard. However, it is often the parents themselves who make this task difficult, anticipating their children and answering for them. This habit, which is not very beneficial, should disappear so that, even if the doctor then consults the parents, it is the child in the first instance who speaks with his doctor and does so with total confidence.

8. Explain the role of doctors. As we have pointed out earlier, fear of the unknown is one of the problems that the child faces when he goes to the doctor's office. Therefore, teaching him what his work really consists of, explaining the tests he does and how they are done and the use of the instruments he uses, will make the child familiar and that, when he comes to the consultation, nothing is unknown or can not be generated, therefore, distrust.

9. Facing fear gradually. Trying to make fear disappear quickly as if it were a magic trick is a mistake. The most appropriate is to face it in a gradual and playful way, understanding that it is a process that depends on each child and may take more or less time depending on the personality of each one.

10. Try to always go to the same pediatrician. Once the child has managed to associate the pediatrician with someone they know and trust, it will be advisable to continue attending it, since the child will have gradually become familiar with it and it is important not to break that progress.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: 3 ways to manage a fear of needles


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Angst davor, zum Arzt zu gehen, wie man es sieht

Wenn es für die Kinder an der Zeit ist, einen Arztbesuch zu machen, erscheint die Angst unaufhaltsam. Das weiße Fell, der Schmerz oder einfach nur die Angst vor dem Unbekannten machen, dass sie, wenn die Zeit kommt, nicht zum Kinderarzt gehen wollen oder mit Tränen und Wutausbrüchen davor stehen.

So die Erwachsenen selbst, die manchmal auch zeigenAngst, zum Arzt zu gehenSie müssen zumindest versuchen, dass der Arztbesuch für die Kleinsten keine unbequeme Erfahrung ist, die sie mit dem Negativen verbinden.

Initiative, um die Angst vor dem Arzt zu verlieren

Die Vereinigung der Medizinstudenten der Complutense-Universität von Madrid (IFMSA) hat ein originelles Projekt mit dem Ziel durchgeführt, dass Kinder daran arbeiten verliere die Angst, zum Arzt zu gehen. Unter dem Namen Das BärenkrankenhausZiel dieses Projekts ist es, die Kleinen einzubeziehen und ihre Angst zu verlieren, indem sie Gruppen von Kindern von vier und fünf Jahren zusammenbringen, um die Medizinische Fakultät der UCM zu besuchen. Dort werden sie ihre Stofftiere und "kranken" Spielsachen "heilen" und verstehen, was die Ärzte mit ihnen zu tun versuchen, wenn sie in die Klinik kommen. Außerdem lehren sie zweimal im Jahr im Krankenhaus Doce de Octubre kranken Kindern diese gleichen Heiltechniken.


Tipps, die Kindern helfen, die Angst zu verlieren, zum Arzt zu gehen

Dazu müssen sie wissen, dass die Angst, die normalerweise zwischen sechs und zehn Jahren auftritt, anhand einer Reihe von Richtlinien angegangen werden kann:

1. Benachrichtigen Sie das Kind im Voraus. Wenn ein Kind mit Erstaunen bemerkt, dass sich seine gewohnte Routine ändert und der Arzt zum Arzt gehen muss, wird die Verwirrung um die Schwierigkeit erweitert, einen unerwarteten und unerwünschten Besuch anzunehmen. Daher ist es für Eltern wichtig, Kinder vor dem Arztbesuch zu benachrichtigen und sie vor allem niemals unter einer anderen Entschuldigung zu täuschen.

2. Ermitteln Sie die Ursache der Angst, zum Arzt zu gehen. Der erste Schritt, um einem Kind zu helfen, sich die Zeit zu nehmen, um zum Arzt zu gehen, besteht darin, die Ursache seiner Angst (Schmerzen, Arzt, Tests usw.) zu ermitteln und Toleranz zu zeigen, die versucht zu verstehen, zu respektieren und Ihnen dabei zu helfen, sie zu überwinden .


3. Zeigen Sie das Medikament durch das Spiel. Um die Tatsache zu nutzen, dass neue Technologien uns heute eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten bieten, müssen die Eltern diesen Vorteil nutzen, damit die Kinder durch interaktive Spiele auf dem Tablet oder dem Computer die medizinischen Instrumente, die Krankheiten und die verschiedenen Tests kennen ein arzt kann leisten und somit seine unsicherheit reduzieren.

4. Bleib ruhig. Die Kinder sehen den Besuch beim Arzt mit Nerven. Wenn sie auch bemerken, dass der Erwachsene, der sie begleitet, eine gewisse Besorgnis zeigt, werden sie sofort denken, dass ihre Ängste begründet sind und dass etwas "Schlimmes" hinter der Tür des Kinderarztamtes auf sie wartet. Daher ist es wichtig, dass die Eltern oder Erwachsenen, die sie begleiten, die ersten sein, die Ruhe zeigen und diesen Frieden den Kindern vermitteln können.

5. Lösen Sie die Zweifel und Sorgen der Kinder. Um die Angst zu beseitigen, dass Kinder sich alleine mit dem Arzt fühlen, ist es notwendig, Nähe zu vermitteln. Um der Schmerzangst zu begegnen, müssen die Eltern vor allem der Lüge entkommen, die nur beim ersten Mal funktioniert und das Kind dazu bringt, sein Vertrauen zu entziehen. Schließlich, angesichts der Angst vor dem Unbekannten, ist es von Vorteil, Sie vorher über alles zu informieren, was in einer Ihrem Alter entsprechenden Sprache getan wird.


6. Übertragen Sie ein positives Bild des Arztes. Wie wenn der Vater schlecht von einem Lehrer vor einem Kind spricht, wird das Sprechen gegen den Arzt vor dem Kleinsten seine Einstellung nur verschlechtern. Daher muss der Vater dem Kind beibringen, dass es die Aufgabe des Arztes ist, zu heilen und dass dank ihm das Problem oder der Schmerz, den er hat, verschwinden wird. Ebenso ist es wichtig, dass Eltern den Arzt niemals mit einer Bestrafung in Verbindung bringen.

7. Lass die Kinder reden. Das Gespräch zwischen einem Kind und seinem Kinderarzt verfolgt das Ziel, ein Vertrauensverhältnis zu schaffen, indem es dem Kind ermöglicht wird, sich auszudrücken und sich als Gehör zu fühlen. Oft machen es jedoch die Eltern selbst schwierig, die ihre Kinder antizipieren und für sie antworten. Diese Gewohnheit, die nicht sehr vorteilhaft ist, sollte verschwinden, so dass selbst wenn der Arzt die Eltern befragt, das Kind zuerst mit seinem Arzt spricht und dies mit vollem Vertrauen tut.

8. Erläutern Sie die Rolle der Ärzte. Wie bereits erwähnt, ist die Angst vor dem Unbekannten eines der Probleme, mit denen das Kind konfrontiert ist, wenn es zum Arzt geht. Wenn Sie ihm also beibringen, woraus seine Arbeit wirklich besteht, indem Sie erklären, welche Tests er durchführt und wie sie durchgeführt werden und welche Instrumente er verwendet, wird das Kind vertraut, und wenn es zur Konsultation kommt, ist nichts unbekannt oder kann nicht erzeugt werden. daher misstrauen.

9. Der Angst allmählich begegnen. Es ist ein Fehler, Angst schnell wie ein Zaubertrick verschwinden zu lassen. Am besten ist es, sich schrittweise und spielerisch zu stellen und zu verstehen, dass dies ein Prozess ist, der von jedem Kind abhängt und je nach Persönlichkeit eines jeden mehr oder weniger dauern kann.

10. Versuchen Sie immer, zum selben Kinderarzt zu gehen. Wenn es dem Kind erst einmal gelungen ist, den Kinderarzt mit jemandem in Verbindung zu bringen, den es kennt und dem es vertraut, wird es ratsam sein, es weiter zu besuchen, da sich das Kind allmählich mit ihm vertraut gemacht hat und es wichtig ist, diesen Fortschritt nicht zu brechen.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: 16-Jährige schämt sich für Körper: Peinliches Problem beim Frauenarzt | Klinik am Südring | SAT.1 TV


Interessante Artikel

Fünf ideale Aktivitäten für hyperaktive Kinder

Fünf ideale Aktivitäten für hyperaktive Kinder

Zu den häufigsten Merkmalen von Kindern mit Hyperaktivität gehören die ständigen Bewegungen der Füße und Hände, das häufige Aufstehen oder ständige Gespräche und ein impulsives Verhalten. Bei diesen...