Take care of your back at Christmas

Christmas gifts, purchases of family lunches and dinners ... no take care of your back at Christmas. In the Christmas holidays we carry more weight due to accumulating gifts, toys and food for family meals. Specialists advise not to load more than 5 kilos in each arm to prevent our cervical spine from suffering from excessive weight.

Despite the crisis, during the Christmas holidays we usually buy more than usual amounts with the risk of carrying more weight than we owe for the back. It is important not to let the back carry more than it can support so that, after the holidays, we do not have to face the negative consequences, because without realizing it, we can reach the end of the Christmas holidays with the injured and painful back, due to an inadequate way of carrying bags and boxes and excessive weight.


How to share the weight of Christmas shopping

According to a study conducted by the Professional College of Physiotherapists of Madrid, the recommendation to take care of your back at Christmas is not to exceed five kilos per bag. It is also very important to distribute them equally and balanced between the two arms, so that the total weight does not exceed ten kilos. Even so, they warn that each person is different and that these measures are only indicative, since many other factors come into play to produce a lesion, such as: the muscular state of each person, if any previous pathology has been suffered, age, etc. .

Tips to avoid back injuries when lifting weight

1. Flex the legs, instead of bending the back, to catch products located below our knees.


2. Avoid lifting heavy objects beyond chest height.

3. Avoid making efforts. Ask for help from the establishment's staff, or use "ladders" or platforms to reach objects that you do not have access to.

4. Do not let your guard down when putting objects in the car or when we go to place them in our home.

The size of Christmas shopping bags

Since the removal of plastic bags, as an alternative we are using cloth bags, canvas bags or other materials that are less polluting and that also are not for single use. However, we must be alert, because these bags are usually larger than usual, which causes us to overload them. This weight overload can harm our health, and cause us to suffer possible musculoskeletal injuries.


In addition, José Santos, General Secretary of the Association of Physiotherapists of Madrid, recommends that when our purchase exceeds 10 kilos we use a shopping cart, and that it is pushed with both hands instead of pulling it. This Christmas may be a good time to buy a shopping cart and avoid damaging the back with extra purchases that involve family celebrations.

Frequent injuries when carrying weight

The most frequent back injuries are muscular contractures that usually appear after overexertion, stress and, sometimes, are derived from the injury of the disc, in order to reinforce and protect the injured segment.

The most effective way to combat this situation is through the use of muscle relaxants, massage and heat application. On the other hand, it is much better to prevent than waiting for the disease to appear; To do this, we must develop and maintain a good physical shape, look for the right positions - both standing and sitting - as well as avoiding intense and prolonged efforts over time.

Queca Rodríguez-Colubi

Video: Randy Bachman and Beverley Mahood - Taking Care of Christmas


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Kümmern Sie sich zu Weihnachten um Ihren Rücken

Weihnachtsgeschenke, Einkäufe von Familienessen und Abendessen ... nein Kümmere dich um deinen Rücken zu Weihnachten. In den Weihnachtsferien haben wir mehr Gewicht, weil wir Geschenke, Spielsachen und Lebensmittel für Familienessen sammeln. Spezialisten empfehlen, nicht mehr als 5 kg in jeden Arm zu laden, um zu verhindern, dass unsere Halswirbelsäule unter übermäßigem Gewicht leidet.

Trotz der Krise kaufen wir in den Weihnachtsferien in der Regel mehr als üblich ein, mit dem Risiko, mehr Gewicht zu tragen, als wir für den Rücken schulden. Es ist wichtig, den Rücken nicht mehr tragen zu lassen, als er tragen kann, so dass wir uns nach den Ferien nicht mit den negativen Konsequenzen auseinandersetzen müssen, denn ohne es zu merken, können wir mit den Kindern das Ende der Weihnachtsferien erreichen verletzt und schmerzender Rücken aufgrund unzureichender Tragetaschen und Übergewicht.


So teilen Sie das Gewicht des Weihnachtseinkaufs

Laut einer Studie der Berufskolleg der Physiotherapeuten von MadridDie Empfehlung, sich zu Weihnachten um Ihren Rücken zu kümmern, sollte fünf Kilogramm pro Beutel nicht überschreiten. Es ist auch sehr wichtig, sie gleichmäßig und ausgewogen zwischen den beiden Armen zu verteilen, damit das Gesamtgewicht zehn Kilo nicht überschreitet. Trotzdem warnen sie, dass jede Person anders ist und dass diese Maßnahmen nur indikativ sind, da viele andere Faktoren eine Läsion hervorrufen, wie zum Beispiel: der Muskelzustand jeder Person, falls eine frühere Pathologie aufgetreten ist, Alter usw. .

Tipps zur Vermeidung von Rückenverletzungen beim Heben von Gewicht

1. Beugen Sie die Beine, anstatt den Rücken zu beugen. Produkte unter unseren Knien zu fangen.


2. Heben Sie keine schweren Gegenstände über die Brusthöhe an.

3. Vermeiden Sie Anstrengungen. Bitten Sie die Mitarbeiter der Einrichtung um Hilfe, oder verwenden Sie "Leitern" oder Plattformen, um Objekte zu erreichen, auf die Sie keinen Zugriff haben.

4. Lassen Sie Ihre Wache nicht fallen, wenn Sie Gegenstände in das Auto legen oder wenn wir sie zu uns nach Hause bringen.

Die Größe der Weihnachtseinkaufstaschen

Seit der Entnahme von Plastiktüten verwenden wir als Alternative Stoffbeutel, Segeltuchbeutel oder andere Materialien, die weniger umweltfreundlich sind und auch nicht für den einmaligen Gebrauch bestimmt sind. Wir müssen jedoch wachsam sein, da diese Taschen normalerweise größer als üblich sind, was dazu führt, dass sie überladen werden. Diese Überlastung kann unsere Gesundheit schädigen und zu möglichen Verletzungen des Bewegungsapparates führen.


Darüber hinaus empfiehlt José Santos, Generalsekretär des Verbandes der Physiotherapeuten von Madrid, dass wir, wenn unser Einkauf 10 Kilo übersteigt, einen Einkaufswagen verwenden und dass er mit beiden Händen gedrückt wird, anstatt ihn zu ziehen. Dieses Weihnachten kann eine gute Zeit sein, um einen Einkaufswagen zu kaufen und zu vermeiden, dass der Rücken durch zusätzliche Einkäufe, die Familienfeiern beinhalten, beschädigt wird.

Häufige Verletzungen beim Tragen von Gewicht

Die häufigsten Rückenverletzungen sind Muskelkontrakturen, die gewöhnlich nach Überanstrengung, Stress auftreten und manchmal aus der Verletzung der Bandscheibe stammen, um das verletzte Segment zu verstärken und zu schützen.

Der effektivste Weg, um diese Situation zu bekämpfen, ist die Verwendung von Muskelrelaxanzien, Massagen und Wärmeanwendungen. Auf der anderen Seite ist es viel besser zu verhindern, als auf das Auftreten der Krankheit zu warten; Um dies zu erreichen, müssen wir eine gute körperliche Form entwickeln und aufrechterhalten, nach den richtigen Positionen suchen - sowohl im Stehen als auch im Sitzen - sowie intensive und längere Anstrengungen vermeiden.

Queca Rodríguez-Colubi

Video: Schloss Einstein Folge 172


Interessante Artikel