Being a mother increases productivity

Reconciling work and family life It is the great challenge of many families and a problem for many companies. Although today many mothers manage to combine work and family effectively, in the workplace continues to reign the idea that working mothers are irremediably less productive than women without children.

However, now, a study carried out by the Federal Bank of Saint Louis (USA) has concluded the opposite: being a mother increases productivity.

The objective of the researchers was to understand the impact of have children in highly qualified women whose work is often difficult to assess in the workplace. To do this, they conducted questionnaires to 30,000 economists, of whom only 9,939 answered. In these surveys, productivity was measured through four different scales related to the number of academic publications made, linked to the quality of the research journals in which they were disseminated.


Parents with more children, more productive parents

The result of this study determined that, contrary to what was traditionally thought, working women with children have been more productive than women without children in almost all periods, during a 30-year career. In addition, this productivity develops exponentially: most productive women are those who have two or more children; that is, more children, more productivity. Specifically, the most significant difference occurs in the first five years of work.

Likewise, for men, having children also translates into an increase in productivity. Although those parents with one child have the same productivity as men who do not have children, however, parents with more than one child produce more throughout their working lives. Only in the last years of working life, having no more than one child (or none at all) has meant an increase in productivity for men.


Moments of higher productivity for mothers

The study points to the two moments in which women have greater productivity throughout their working lives. In this sense, it should be noted that those two moments in which the working mother achieves greater productivity occur just before giving birth or long after their children have been born.

On the contrary, at specific moments, such as when children are still small, productivity is between 15 and 17% lower than that of a woman without children, and of 5% less parents. In addition, those women who are mothers below the age of 30 see a negative effect on their work. Also for single mothers the effect of pregnancy is negative, as well as for men without a fixed position.

Profile of mothers with higher productivity

The researchers of the study themselves have pointed out several variables related to the profile of women, which must be taken into account when examining the results. The women surveyed fulfilled a series of characteristics:


- Women with high qualification. The study in people of high qualification, women with a complete academic and professional formation.

- Planned motherhood. The women surveyed who plan to have a family do so, they say, in a conscientious way.

- Stable employment. Women who plan to have more children do so when they have stable employment and a position in the academic world, making it impossible to equate women with children in an unplanned way.

This profile of surveyed mothers indicates that, fulfilling these three characteristics, women who want to have children can redirect their professional career in a way that benefits their family, and take care of their children in the way that least affects their future work.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: Increase Productivity ● Blogging Tips & Mom Hacks Series DAY 1


Interesting Articles

Family leisure: the eldest also comes

Family leisure: the eldest also comes

It is logical thatour older children Make more and more plans separately with your friends. However, as the family continues to exist, they will also have to participate in some family leisure plans....

Remedies for the colic of the nursing baby

Remedies for the colic of the nursing baby

One of the most frequent concerns that parents have in the first year of their child's life are those sudden cries, which one does not know how to calm down. His origin is as varied as unknown: he...

Strollers for the car, forward or reverse?

Strollers for the car, forward or reverse?

To travel quietly in the car with our children we have to know how to best place the approved seats and avoid shocks. In this way we will live great experiences and we can be assured that nothing...

Mutter sein erhöht die Produktivität

Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie Es ist die große Herausforderung vieler Familien und ein Problem für viele Unternehmen. Obwohl es heute vielen Müttern gelingt, Beruf und Familie effektiv zu vereinen, herrscht am Arbeitsplatz weiterhin die Vorstellung, dass berufstätige Mütter unersetzlich weniger produktiv sind als Frauen ohne Kinder.

Eine Studie der Federal Bank of Saint Louis (USA) hat nun jedoch das Gegenteil festgestellt: Mutter zu sein erhöht die Produktivität.

Ziel der Forscher war es, die Auswirkungen von zu verstehen Kinder haben in hochqualifizierten Frauen deren Arbeit am Arbeitsplatz oft schwer einzuschätzen ist. Dazu führten sie Fragebögen an 30.000 Ökonomen durch, von denen nur 9.939 antworteten. In diesen Umfragen wurde die Produktivität anhand von vier verschiedenen Skalen gemessen, die sich auf die Anzahl der veröffentlichten wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen bezogen auf die Qualität der Forschungszeitschriften beziehen, in denen sie verbreitet wurden.


Eltern mit mehr Kindern, produktivere Eltern

Das Ergebnis dieser Studie hat gezeigt, dass berufstätige Frauen mit Kindern im Gegensatz zu den traditionellen Annahmen in fast allen Perioden während einer 30-jährigen Karriere produktiver waren als Frauen ohne Kinder. Darüber hinaus entwickelt sich diese Produktivität exponentiell: die produktivsten Frauen sind diejenigen, die zwei oder mehr Kinder haben; das heißt, mehr Kinder, mehr Produktivität. Der signifikanteste Unterschied tritt insbesondere in den ersten fünf Jahren der Arbeit auf.

Ebenso bedeutet für Männer, Kinder zu haben, auch eine Produktivitätssteigerung. Obwohl Eltern mit einem Kind die gleiche Produktivität wie Männer haben, die keine Kinder haben, produzieren Eltern mit mehr als einem Kind im Laufe ihres Berufslebens mehr. Nur in den letzten Jahren des Arbeitslebens bedeutete die Erhöhung der Produktivität der Männer, wenn sie nur ein Kind (oder überhaupt kein Kind) hatte.


Momente höherer Produktivität für Mütter

Die Studie weist auf die zwei Momente hin, in denen Frauen während ihres gesamten Arbeitslebens eine höhere Produktivität aufweisen. In diesem Sinne sei darauf hingewiesen, dass diese beiden Momente, in denen die berufstätige Mutter eine höhere Produktivität erzielt, unmittelbar vor der Geburt oder lange nach der Geburt ihrer Kinder auftreten.

Im Gegenteil, zu bestimmten Zeitpunkten, beispielsweise wenn Kinder noch klein sind, ist die Produktivität zwischen 15 und 17% niedriger als die einer Frau ohne Kinder und um 5% weniger Eltern. Darüber hinaus sehen Frauen, die Mütter unter 30 Jahren sind, einen negativen Einfluss auf ihre Arbeit. Auch für alleinerziehende Mütter ist die Wirkung der Schwangerschaft negativ, ebenso für Männer ohne feste Position.

Mütterprofil mit höherer Produktivität

Die Forscher der Studie selbst haben auf einige Variablen hingewiesen, die sich auf das Profil von Frauen beziehen, die bei der Untersuchung der Ergebnisse berücksichtigt werden müssen. Die befragten Frauen erfüllten eine Reihe von Eigenschaften:


- Frauen mit hoher Qualifikation. Das Studium an hochqualifizierten Personen, Frauen mit einer vollständigen akademischen und beruflichen Ausbildung.

- Geplante Mutterschaft. Die befragten Frauen, die eine Familie planen, tun dies gewissenhaft, sagen sie.

- Stabile Beschäftigung. Frauen, die planen, mehr Kinder zu haben, tun dies, wenn sie eine feste Beschäftigung haben und eine Position in der akademischen Welt haben, was es unmöglich macht, Frauen auf ungeplante Weise mit Kindern gleichzusetzen.

Dieses Profil der befragten Mütter zeigt, dass Frauen, die Kinder haben wollen, ihre beruflichen Laufbahnen auf eine Art und Weise umstellen können, die für ihre Familie von Vorteil ist, und sie für ihre Kinder so sorgen, dass sie ihre zukünftige Arbeit am wenigsten beeinträchtigen.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: 069 Nootropika - Hirndoping ohne Nebenwirkungen für mehr Konzentration und Produktivität:...


Interessante Artikel

Tipps, um der perfekte Gast zu sein

Tipps, um der perfekte Gast zu sein

Haben Sie sich jemals gefragt, ob Sie den Einladungen, die Sie erhalten, gut entsprechen? Sei der perfekte Gast Es ist eine weitere Facette unserer sozialen Beziehungen, die unseren Cache auf...

4 Konsequenzen der Arbeit 6 Stunden am Tag sitzen

4 Konsequenzen der Arbeit 6 Stunden am Tag sitzen

SITZEN SECHS STUNDEN EIN TAG, GROSSES RISIKO FÜR DIE GESUNDHEITOder, um es klarer zu sagen: Wenn Sie sechs oder mehr Stunden am Tag sitzen bleiben, werden Sie Ihrer Gesundheit genauso schaden, als...