Smartphone and children, at what age?

Smartphones are the star gift for children today, everyone wants one and all parents wonder if they should buy it from their children. On the one hand, they can be a tool for leisure and learning, however, they also involve a series of dangers. Therefore, it is necessary to know what age is appropriate for children to have their first Smartphone.

Smartphone at 10 years old, the age of onset

The age at which children have their first Smartphone has advanced significantly in recent years, to be able to establish that age of onset in 10 years. Thus, the latest data collected indicate in this regard that 3 out of 10 children Ten-year-old Spaniards already have a mobile phone in their hands.


This figure, according to data from the National Institute of Statistics (INE), which assesses the use of new technologies by children under 10 to 15 years, increases even more when children reach 12 years. At this age, practically 70 percent of children, digital natives, they have this tool. Likewise, at 14 we can see again how the number of children who have a Smartphone grows (83%).

Smartphone at 12 years old, the most common age

The passage from Primary to Secondary, at age twelve, implies a new demand for mobile phones by children, already at the beginning of adolescence. At that moment, not having a mobile phone can translate into a cause of social rejection. The way these preadolescents have to communicate is based on the Smartphone: WhatsApp is the most used instant messaging service at these ages. Therefore, not having a mobile means being unable to be part of the WhatsApp groups or different social networks, and not being connected to the rest of your peer group.


The risks of having a Smartphone for children

However, although at age twelve any child sees a social need to have a mobile phone, on the other hand, the risks involved in having it cause parents to consider if the time is right. Many times, at this age they do not yet know how to make responsible use of the mobile, usually falling into the usual problems:

- Insufficient rest. Children, when they have a Smartphone, do not know how to set limits and some use it even at night, taking hours off.

- Breach of obligations. A mobile is also a great distraction. Being doing homework with the next device is often translated into a careless study and any other daily activity.

- Neglect of privacy. An irresponsible use of the telephone: posting compromised images on social networks or contacting strangers can lead minors to neglect their privacy.


- Poor communication in the family. The mobile can be an effective form of communication, however, sometimes it can have the opposite effect. Those children who use the Smartphone continuously, without restrictions during meals or family time, will contribute to making communication at home more and more deficient.

Smartphone at 14-15 years, the recommended age

All these reasons are what have led the experts to delay the use of the mobile everything you can, setting an ideal age to which, they believe, children are already prepared to make responsible use of a Smartphone, as long as the parents show it to them.

That age appropriate for children to have their first mobile is from 14-15 years old. Experts say that, from this age, children are able to use it more wisely and with greater maturity. In general: they have adapted to the institute, have a more defined group of friends and an established environment.

4 rules that parents should teach their children about smartphones

1. Turn it off at night. It is necessary that they learn that when the time comes to go to bed the mobile phone must be turned off. At night, it is important that the children rest and leave the messages or anything else pending for the next day. Being waiting for the phone to ring can generate anxiety, so it is best to disconnect completely.

2. Teach by example. Likewise, when parents arrive home they must leave the phone in the background. They are no longer at work, now is a time to share as a family. Giving a good example will be crucial for children to learn when and how to use the mobile.

3. Take care of privacy. It is important that, once the children have a mobile phone, they know the most appropriate ways to protect their privacy. Sharing photos, contacts or locations will put your private information at risk, so it is important that you learn to use the Smartphone responsibly.

4. Mobile only on the weekend. The best time for children, at least at the beginning, to use the Smartphone is on weekends. Thus, it will not be an element of distraction when it comes to studying, or at the time of sleep and, equally, it will not be an impediment to parent-child communication.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: Setting up your child's smartphone Medical ID


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Smartphone und Kinder, in welchem ​​Alter?

Smartphones sind heute das Star-Geschenk für Kinder. Alle wollen eins und alle Eltern fragen sich, ob sie es von ihren Kindern kaufen sollen. Einerseits können sie ein Werkzeug für Freizeit und Lernen sein, sie bergen jedoch auch eine Reihe von Gefahren. Daher ist es notwendig zu wissen, welches Alter für Kinder geeignet ist, um ihr erstes Smartphone zu haben.

Smartphone im Alter von 10 Jahren

Das Alter, in dem Kinder ihr erstes Smartphone haben, hat sich in den letzten Jahren erheblich weiterentwickelt, um dieses Alter in 10 Jahren feststellen zu können. Die jüngsten gesammelten Daten zeigen daher diesbezüglich 3 von 10 Kindern Zehn Jahre alte Spanier haben bereits ein Mobiltelefon in der Hand.


Laut Angaben des Nationalen Instituts für Statistik (INE), das den Einsatz neuer Technologien bei Kindern unter 10 bis 15 Jahren bewertet, steigt diese Zahl mit 12 Jahren noch stärker an. In diesem Alter praktisch 70 Prozent der Kinder, Digital Natives, Sie haben dieses Werkzeug. Bei 14 können wir wieder sehen, wie die Anzahl der Kinder, die ein Smartphone haben, wächst (83%).

Smartphone mit 12 Jahren, das häufigste Alter

Der Übergang von der Primär- zur Sekundarstufe im Alter von zwölf Jahren impliziert bereits zu Beginn der Adoleszenz eine neue Nachfrage von Kindern nach Mobiltelefonen. In diesem Moment kann das Fehlen eines Mobiltelefons zur Ursache sozialer Ablehnung werden. Die Art und Weise, wie diese Voralter miteinander kommunizieren müssen, basiert auf dem Smartphone: WhatsApp ist in diesen Zeitaltern der meistgenutzte Instant Messaging-Dienst. Wenn Sie kein Mobiltelefon haben, bedeutet dies, dass Sie nicht Teil der WhatsApp-Gruppe oder anderer sozialer Netzwerke sein können und nicht mit dem Rest Ihrer Vergleichsgruppe verbunden sind.


Die Risiken eines Smartphone für Kinder

Obwohl jedes Kind im Alter von zwölf Jahren ein soziales Bedürfnis nach einem Mobiltelefon sieht, sind die Risiken, die damit verbunden sind, dazu geführt, dass die Eltern überlegen, ob der Zeitpunkt stimmt. In diesem Alter wissen sie oft noch nicht, wie sie das Mobiltelefon verantwortungsbewusst nutzen können, wobei sie normalerweise in die üblichen Probleme geraten:

- Unzureichende Ruhe. Kinder, die über ein Smartphone verfügen, wissen nicht, wie sie Grenzen setzen, und manche nutzen sie auch nachts und nehmen dabei Stunden frei.

- Pflichtverletzung. Ein Handy ist auch eine tolle Ablenkung. Hausaufgaben mit dem nächsten Gerät zu machen, wird oft in eine unvorsichtige Studie und in jede andere tägliche Tätigkeit umgesetzt.

- Vernachlässigung der Privatsphäre. Unverantwortlicher Gebrauch des Telefons: Das Posten von gefährdeten Bildern in sozialen Netzwerken oder das Kontaktieren von Fremden kann dazu führen, dass Minderjährige ihre Privatsphäre missachten.


- schlechte Kommunikation in der Familie. Das Mobiltelefon kann eine effektive Kommunikationsform sein, manchmal kann es jedoch auch den gegenteiligen Effekt haben. Kinder, die das Smartphone ohne Einschränkungen während des Essens oder der Familienzeit nutzen, tragen dazu bei, dass die Kommunikation zu Hause immer unzulänglicher wird.

Smartphone mit 14-15 Jahren das empfohlene Alter

Alle diese Gründe haben die Experten dazu gebracht die Nutzung des Mobiltelefons verzögern Alles, was Sie können, ein ideales Alter festlegen, bis zu dem Kinder ihrer Ansicht nach bereit sind, ein Smartphone verantwortungsvoll einzusetzen, solange die Eltern es ihnen zeigen.

Das Alter ist für Kinder geeignet, um ihr erstes Handy zu haben von 14-15 Jahre alt. Experten sagen, dass Kinder es von diesem Alter an weiser und reifer gebrauchen können. Im Allgemeinen: Sie haben sich an das Institut angepasst, eine definierte Gruppe von Freunden und ein etabliertes Umfeld.

4 Regeln, die Eltern ihren Kindern über Smartphones beibringen sollten

1. Schalten Sie es nachts aus. Es ist notwendig, dass sie erfahren, dass das Mobiltelefon ausgeschaltet werden muss, wenn es Zeit ist, ins Bett zu gehen. Nachts ist es wichtig, dass sich die Kinder ausruhen und die Nachrichten oder etwas anderes für den nächsten Tag ausstehen. Wenn Sie auf das Klingeln des Telefons warten, kann dies zu Angstzuständen führen. Daher ist es am besten, die Verbindung vollständig zu trennen.

2. Lehren Sie mit gutem Beispiel. Wenn Eltern zu Hause ankommen, müssen sie das Telefon ebenfalls im Hintergrund lassen. Sie sind nicht mehr am Arbeitsplatz, jetzt ist es Zeit, sich als Familie zu teilen. Ein gutes Beispiel ist wichtig, damit Kinder lernen können, wann und wie sie das Mobiltelefon nutzen.

3. Achten Sie auf die Privatsphäre. Es ist wichtig, dass die Kinder, sobald sie ein Mobiltelefon besitzen, die am besten geeigneten Möglichkeiten kennen, um ihre Privatsphäre zu schützen. Durch das Freigeben von Fotos, Kontakten oder Standorten werden Ihre privaten Daten gefährdet. Sie müssen daher lernen, das Smartphone verantwortungsbewusst zu verwenden.

4. Mobil nur am Wochenende. Die beste Zeit für Kinder, zumindest zu Beginn, um das Smartphone zu benutzen, ist am Wochenende. Daher ist es kein Ablenkungselement beim Lernen oder zum Zeitpunkt des Schlafens, und ebenso wenig wird es die Kommunikation zwischen Eltern und Kindern nicht behindern.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: Ein Handy für Kinder sinnvoll? ???? Tipps zu Alter und Umgang | Ratgeber ???? Smartphone & Kind


Interessante Artikel

Kalte Medikamente bei Kindern, sind sie gefährlich?

Kalte Medikamente bei Kindern, sind sie gefährlich?

Achus! Oh, jeder Vater fürchtet den Moment des Sehr häufige (und fast unvermeidliche) Erkältungen. Einige Viren, die nicht gefährlich sind, aber den Kindern und ihren Betreuern mehr als nur...

Zucker, der Hauptfeind der Gesundheit von Kindern

Zucker, der Hauptfeind der Gesundheit von Kindern

Die Aufnahme von Lebensmitteln und Getränken, die reich an freien Zuckern sind, schadet der Gesundheit der Kleinen und erhöht das Übergewichtrisiko in diesen frühen Jahren. Ein WHO-Bericht schätzte...