4 out of 10 children die from chronic malnutrition

Chronic malnutrition is a key factor in the spread of infectious diseases due to the deficiency of nutrients in the body and the consequent weakening of the immune system. Now, on the occasion of III World Congress of Nutrition and Public Health, the risks involved, the possible solutions and the importance of their prevention have been exposed.

The latest data on chronic malnutrition indicate that, among the 35 and 40 percent of the cases of death before the age of five they are the cause of chronic malnutrition. This in turn has been the main cause of infectious diseases in developing countries have grown significantly in recent years.


Malnutrition, the cause of infectious diseases

When malnutrition becomes a chronic malnutrition, the immune system is totally unprotected due to the chronic deficit of calories and proteins. In this way, the body will not have enough defenses to deal with some infectious diseases such as Ebola, malaria, AIDS or influenza, or other diseases such as tuberculosis, diarrhea and various respiratory diseases.

The main consequence is that the organism, totally defenseless, of people suffering from chronic malnutrition has a greater risk of suffering complications that can lead to death. In addition, the effectiveness of vaccines in them decreases markedly, which makes the application of any treatment even more difficult.


Less mortality thanks to community nutrition

The immune system is greatly affected by the adverse effects of malnutrition. In addition to changing size and weight, people suffering from malnutrition have a deficit of nutrients, calories and proteins that weaken their immune system. The most serious consequence of these acute levels of malnutrition is the increased risk of another series of diseases such as: respiratory, intestinal and tuberculosis diseases, among others.

Now, on the occasion of III World Congress of Nutrition and Public Health, a group of experts tries to raise society's awareness of the risks of chronic malnutrition and tries to find solutions that, in the short and long term, manage to reduce these malnutrition rates and with that, the infectious diseases that they entail. Thus, community nutrition appears as an important solution to face the problem and provide the population with a series of tools with which to reduce mortality rates.


The prevention of malnutrition, the great objective

The health and economic improvements in some developing countries have resulted in a decrease in mortality due to malnutrition. In the last twenty years, these figures have been reduced from 53 to 40 percent. However, these figures are still very high and, in the current crisis context, could grow again reaching higher levels. The social, health and economic setbacks that some countries are suffering in these last years of crisis can also lead to a setback as people suffering from malnutrition and its devastating effects on society.

Therefore, in the current context, improvements in hygiene or vaccination programs, although they are still important to prevent the spread of diseases and the increase in deaths, have ceased to be the main objective of prevention projects. Now, the search for solutions for diseases such as obesity, malnutrition, cardiovascular diseases, cognitive deterioration or sedentary lifestyle are the priority.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: Malnourished children get help at feeding centre


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

4 von 10 Kindern sterben an chronischer Unterernährung

Chronische Unterernährung ist ein Schlüsselfaktor für die Ausbreitung von Infektionskrankheiten aufgrund des Nährstoffmangels im Körper und der daraus folgenden Schwächung des Immunsystems. Nun bei der Gelegenheit III. Weltkongress für Ernährung und öffentliche Gesundheitwurden die damit verbundenen Risiken, die möglichen Lösungen und die Bedeutung ihrer Prävention aufgezeigt.

Die neuesten Daten zur chronischen Unterernährung deuten darauf hin, dass unter den 35 und 40 Prozent der Todesfälle vor dem fünften Lebensjahr Sie sind die Ursache chronischer Unterernährung. Dies war wiederum die Hauptursache für Infektionskrankheiten in Entwicklungsländern, die in den letzten Jahren erheblich zugenommen haben.


Unterernährung, die Ursache von Infektionskrankheiten

Wenn Unterernährung zu einer chronischen Unterernährung wird, ist das Immunsystem aufgrund des chronischen Defizits an Kalorien und Proteinen völlig ungeschützt. Auf diese Weise hat der Körper nicht genügend Abwehrkräfte, um mit einigen Infektionskrankheiten wie z Ebola, Malaria, AIDS oder Influenzaoder andere Krankheiten wie Tuberkulose, Durchfall und verschiedene Atemwegserkrankungen.

Die wichtigste Folge ist, dass der völlig wehrlose Organismus von Menschen, die an chronischer Unterernährung leiden, ein höheres Risiko hat, an Komplikationen zu leiden, die zum Tod führen können. Darüber hinaus nimmt die Wirksamkeit von Impfstoffen in ihnen merklich ab, was die Anwendung jeder Behandlung noch schwieriger macht.


Weniger Sterblichkeit dank Gemeinschaftsernährung

Das Immunsystem wird stark von den negativen Folgen von Unterernährung beeinflusst. Zusätzlich zu Größe und Gewicht haben Menschen, die an Unterernährung leiden, ein Defizit an Nährstoffen, Kalorien und Proteinen, die das Immunsystem schwächen. Die schwerwiegendste Folge dieser akuten Mangelernährung ist das erhöhte Risiko einer weiteren Reihe von Krankheiten, darunter Atemwegserkrankungen, Darm- und Tuberkuloseerkrankungen.

Nun bei der Gelegenheit III. Weltkongress für Ernährung und öffentliche Gesundheit, eine Gruppe von Experten versucht, das Bewusstsein der Gesellschaft für die Risiken chronischer Unterernährung zu schärfen, und versucht Lösungen zu finden, die es kurz- und langfristig schaffen, diese Unterernährungsraten und damit die Infektionskrankheiten, die sie verursachen, zu senken. Community-Ernährung scheint daher eine wichtige Lösung zu sein, um das Problem anzugehen und der Bevölkerung eine Reihe von Instrumenten zur Verfügung zu stellen, mit denen die Sterblichkeitsrate gesenkt werden kann.


Die Vorbeugung von Unterernährung ist das große Ziel

Die gesundheitlichen und wirtschaftlichen Verbesserungen in einigen Entwicklungsländern haben zu einem Rückgang der Sterblichkeit aufgrund von Unterernährung geführt. In den letzten zwanzig Jahren wurden diese Zahlen von 53 auf 40 Prozent gesenkt. Diese Zahlen sind jedoch immer noch sehr hoch und könnten im aktuellen Krisenkontext wieder auf ein höheres Niveau steigen. Die sozialen, gesundheitlichen und wirtschaftlichen Rückschläge, die einige Länder in den letzten Krisenjahren erleiden, können auch zu einem Rückschlag führen, da Menschen an Unterernährung leiden und die verheerenden Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft haben.

Daher sind im derzeitigen Kontext Verbesserungen der Hygiene- oder Impfprogramme, obwohl sie immer noch wichtig sind, um die Verbreitung von Krankheiten und die Zunahme von Todesfällen zu verhindern, das Hauptziel von Präventionsprojekten. Die Suche nach Lösungen für Krankheiten wie Übergewicht, Unterernährung, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, kognitive Verschlechterung oder eine sitzende Lebensweise hat jetzt Priorität.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: MANGELERNÄHRUNG IN DEUTSCHEN KLINIKEN


Interessante Artikel

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Es gibt neue oder unbekannte Begriffe innerhalb der Cyberabhängigkeit und das hat mit der mobilen Sucht zu tun Wissen wir was es ist Nomophobie und Mobilfia? Die Nomophobie ist die Angst vor Angst,...