Empathy, a gift or a skill?

Do we recognize the feelings of other people? Do we understand why others feel the way they feel? Empathy is the ability to feel with others, to experience the emotions of others as if they were their own. Empathy is a gift or a skill? It is a quality, an educational value, that we can develop from childhood and empower in our personal relationships.

How many times have we been worried or anguished about something and have we met someone who simply with a glance, with a gesture or a timely word, has made us feel better? In this case, the empathic capacity of this person is what has contributed to our improvement.


What is empathy, a gift or a skill?

It is not easy to find a definition that describes thoroughly and comprehensively what empathy is. However, we can distinguish three notorious qualities that identify empathy and that must be taken into account when understanding it:
- The ability to understand others, put yourself in the place of the other.
- Being able to reproduce an affective state that is in tune with that felt by others.
- Execute the appropriate behaviors to solve the other person's problem.

It is not necessary to go through the same experiences and experiences to better understand those around us, but to be able to capture the verbal and non-verbal messages that the other person wants to convey to us, and make them feel understood in a unique and special way.


Empathy, educating in values

Empathy occurs in all people to a greater or lesser degree. Empathy is not only a special gift with which we are born, but it is a quality that we can develop and strengthen. For example, fostering attitudes such as: listening with an open mind and without prejudice; pay attention and show interest in what they are telling us; Do not interrupt while you are talking to us and avoid becoming experts who are dedicated to giving advice instead of trying to feel what the other feels.

Ways to express empathy

1. Ask open questions. Questions that help to continue the conversation and make you see the other person, a friend for example, who are interested in what you are telling us.

2. Try to move slowly in the dialogue, in this way we are helping the other person to take perspective of what is happening to him, let the thoughts and feelings go in unison and give us time to assimilate and reflect on the subject.


3. Wait to have enough information, before giving our opinion, that is, making sure that the other person has told us everything they wanted and that we have correctly heard and interpreted the essentials of their message. Sometimes, others do not need our opinion and advice, but to know that we are understanding them and feeling what they want to convey to us.

When we have to give our opinion about what they are telling us, it is very important to do it constructively, be sincere and try not to hurt with our comments. For this you have to be respectful of the other person's feelings and thoughts and openly accept what you are telling us.

Barriers to empathy

There are a series of barriers that usually prevent this approach. Among the errors that we usually commit more often when it comes to relating with others are:

- The tendency to downplay what worries the other and try to ridicule their feelings.
- Listen with prejudice and let our ideas and beliefs influence when interpreting what happens to them.
- Judge and go to phrases like "what you've done is wrong", "this way you're not going to get anything", "you never do anything right" ...
- Be an example for having gone through the same experiences.
- Try to encourage without further ado, with phrases like "encouragement in this life everything is overcome".
- Give the reason and follow the current ...

All this, all it does is block communication and prevent a good empathic relationship from occurring.

Advantages and disadvantages of empathy

1. Be a highly empathetic person It can have its disadvantages, because these people are very aware of a complex universe of emotional information, sometimes painful and intolerable, that others do not perceive.
2. Young people who have empathy they are much more adapted to the subtle social cues that indicate what others need or want. This makes them better in certain professions that involve a social relationship.
3. People who are overly self-aware they have more difficulty thinking about others and putting themselves in their place.
4. People who develop this skill little They tend to have problems because they easily arouse the discomfort of others. And precisely because of their inability to recognize the feelings of others, they fail to understand well why others are upset.
5. Empathy is a decisive capacity for life, because it affects a wide spectrum of vital needs: the good progress of a relationship, teamwork, exercising authority, having friends, in short, for almost everything.
6. Being empathetic does not mean agreeing with the other, nor does it imply leaving aside our own decisions to assume those of others. That is, we can be in complete disagreement with someone, but we should try to respect their position; and, above all, above the ideas we respect the person and we are interested in their problems.

Teresa Pereda

Video: Master your Empathic abilities using the one empowering technique


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Empathie, ein Geschenk oder eine Fähigkeit?

Erkennen wir die Gefühle anderer Menschen? Verstehen wir, warum andere so fühlen, wie sie sich fühlen? Empathie ist die Fähigkeit, mit anderen zu fühlen, die Gefühle anderer zu erleben, als wären sie ihre eigenen. Empathie ist ein Geschenk oder eine Fähigkeit? Es ist eine Qualität, ein Bildungswert, den wir aus der Kindheit heraus entwickeln und in unseren persönlichen Beziehungen stärken können.

Wie oft haben wir uns über etwas Sorgen gemacht oder sind besorgt gewesen, und haben wir jemanden getroffen, der uns mit einem Blick, einer Geste oder einem richtigen Wort dazu gebracht hat, uns besser zu fühlen? In diesem Fall hat die empathische Fähigkeit dieser Person zu unserer Verbesserung beigetragen.


Was ist Empathie, ein Geschenk oder eine Fähigkeit?

Es ist nicht leicht, eine Definition zu finden, die gründlich und umfassend beschreibt, was Empathie ist. Wir können jedoch drei notorische Qualitäten unterscheiden, die Empathie kennzeichnen und die bei ihrem Verständnis berücksichtigt werden müssen:
- Die Fähigkeit, andere zu verstehen, sich an die Stelle des anderen zu setzen.
- in der Lage sein, einen affektiven Zustand zu reproduzieren, der mit dem von anderen empfunden ist.
- Führen Sie die entsprechenden Verhaltensweisen aus, um das Problem der anderen Person zu lösen.

Es ist nicht notwendig, dieselben Erlebnisse und Erfahrungen zu durchlaufen, um die Menschen in unserer Umgebung besser zu verstehen, sondern um die verbalen und nonverbalen Botschaften, die die andere Person uns vermitteln möchte, einzufangen und sie auf einzigartige und besondere Weise verstanden zu fühlen.


Empathie, Werte erziehen

Empathie tritt bei allen Menschen mehr oder weniger stark auf. Empathie ist nicht nur ein besonderes Geschenk, mit dem wir geboren werden, sondern auch eine Eigenschaft, die wir entwickeln und stärken können. Zum Beispiel die Förderung von Einstellungen wie: Hören Sie offen und ohne Vorurteile zu; Seien Sie aufmerksam und zeigen Sie Interesse an dem, was sie uns erzählen. Unterbrechen Sie nicht, während Sie mit uns sprechen, und vermeiden Sie es, Experten zu werden, die sich mit Ratschlägen befassen, anstatt zu versuchen, zu fühlen, was der andere fühlt.

Wege, um Empathie auszudrücken

1. Offene Fragen stellen. Fragen, die helfen, das Gespräch fortzusetzen und Sie dazu bringen, die andere Person, beispielsweise einen Freund, zu sehen, die sich für das interessiert, was Sie uns erzählen.

2. Versuchen Sie, sich im Dialog langsam zu bewegenAuf diese Weise helfen wir der anderen Person, die Perspektive auf das, was mit ihm passiert, zu betrachten, die Gedanken und Gefühle in Einklang zu bringen und uns Zeit zu lassen, sich mit dem Thema zu assimilieren und zu reflektieren.


3. Warten Sie, bis Sie genügend Informationen habenBevor wir unsere Meinung abgeben, müssen wir sicherstellen, dass die andere Person uns alles erzählt hat, was sie wollte, und dass wir das Wesentliche ihrer Botschaft richtig gehört und interpretiert haben. Manchmal brauchen andere nicht unsere Meinung und Ratschläge, sondern um zu wissen, dass wir sie verstehen und fühlen, was sie uns vermitteln wollen.

Wenn wir unsere Meinung darüber abgeben müssen, was sie uns sagen, ist es sehr wichtig, es konstruktiv zu tun, aufrichtig zu sein und zu versuchen, mit unseren Kommentaren nicht zu schaden. Dafür müssen Sie die Gefühle und Gedanken der anderen Person respektieren und offen akzeptieren, was Sie uns erzählen.

Hindernisse für Empathie

Es gibt eine Reihe von Hindernissen, die diesen Ansatz normalerweise verhindern. Zu den Fehlern, die wir normalerweise häufiger begehen, wenn es um Beziehungen zu anderen geht, sind:

- Die Tendenz, herunterzuspielen, was den anderen beunruhigt und versuchen, ihre Gefühle zu verspotten.
- Hören Sie mit Vorurteilen und lassen Sie unsere Ideen und Überzeugungen bei der Interpretation beeinflussen, was mit ihnen geschieht.
- Richter und gehen Sie zu Ausdrücken wie "Was Sie getan haben, ist falsch", "auf diese Weise werden Sie nichts bekommen", "Sie machen nie etwas richtig" ...
- Sei ein Beispiel für die gleichen Erfahrungen gemacht.
- Versuchen Sie, ohne weiteres zu ermutigenMit Ausdrücken wie "Ermutigung in diesem Leben ist alles überwunden".
- Gib den Grund an und folge dem Strom ...

Alles, was es tut, ist die Kommunikation zu blockieren und eine gute, einfühlsame Beziehung zu verhindern.

Vor- und Nachteile von Empathie

1. Seien Sie eine sehr einfühlsame Person Es kann Nachteile haben, da diese Menschen sich eines komplexen Universums emotionaler Informationen bewusst sind, das manchmal schmerzhaft und unerträglich ist und von anderen nicht wahrgenommen wird.
2. Junge Menschen, die Empathie haben Sie sind viel mehr an die subtilen sozialen Hinweise angepasst, die angeben, was andere brauchen oder wollen. Dies macht sie in bestimmten Berufen, in denen eine soziale Beziehung besteht, besser.
3. Menschen, die übermäßig selbstbewusst sind Sie haben mehr Schwierigkeiten, über andere nachzudenken und sich an ihre Stelle zu setzen.
4. Menschen, die diese Fähigkeit wenig entwickeln Sie neigen zu Problemen, weil sie leicht das Unbehagen anderer hervorrufen. Und gerade weil sie nicht in der Lage sind, die Gefühle anderer zu erkennen, verstehen sie nicht gut, warum andere aufgeregt sind.
5. Empathie ist eine entscheidende Fähigkeit zum Leben, weil es ein breites Spektrum lebenswichtiger Bedürfnisse betrifft: den guten Fortschritt einer Beziehung, Teamarbeit, Ausübung von Autorität, Freunde haben, kurz gesagt, für fast alles.
6. Empathisch sein bedeutet nicht, mit dem anderen übereinzustimmenEs bedeutet auch nicht, dass wir unsere eigenen Entscheidungen beiseite lassen, um die von anderen zu übernehmen. Das heißt, wir können mit jemandem völlig uneinig sein, aber wir sollten versuchen, ihre Position zu respektieren. und vor allen Dingen respektieren wir die Person und interessieren uns für ihre Probleme.

Teresa Pereda

Video: Zeugen Jehovas - "Aufsteigen" bedeutet die Fähigkeit zu Liebe und Empathie


Interessante Artikel

Neue App zum Stillen

Neue App zum Stillen

Wenn es während der Schwangerschaft viele Zweifel gibt, die sich für Mütter ergeben, insbesondere für Erstmütter, wird das Stillen nicht geringer sein. Neue Technologien sind dabei eine große Hilfe:...

Woche 8. Woche für Woche

Woche 8. Woche für Woche

Körperliche und psychische Veränderungen von schwangeren FrauenSie sind seit zwei Monaten schwanger, befinden sich in der achten Schwangerschaftswoche, und obwohl Sie seit ein paar Wochen normale...