Paternity leave generates fear in 30% of parents

Paternity has evolved in recent years, involving new figures in the care of the baby. The role of the father has grown, however, the paternity leave still generates fear of employment discrimination in 30 percent of parents, according to the study The evolution of motherhood in Spain in the last 30 years, conducted by the consultancy Conecta and Philip Avent.

The role of the father in current families

The role of the father has increased with the normalization of certain aspects such as, for example, paternity leave. 30 years ago, practically no man, although he had been given all the facilities, would have requested this permission. In a certain way, the normalization of this parental leave is due to the fact that, to this day, there is a certain agreement among the parents who understand that it does not have to be the mother who sacrifices her profession.


However, currently, 30 percent of parents consider that men who enjoy paternity leave can be marginalized in their jobs, and in practice there are not many parents who request it when they have a child.

The feeling of being parents

The father and the mother face the birth of a child differently. In fact, the feeling of being mothers and fathers manifests itself in different moments of pregnancy for some and others. While many mothers (40%) feel that sensation when they learn that they are going to be mothers, 36 percent of the parents do it when the child is born and they see him for the first time. However, although the way to face the birth of a child is different for fathers and mothers, the role of one and another after childbirth has been distributed in recent years between the two figures.


The division of tasks at home

The mother is still the main figure for baby care. Thus, tasks such as nutrition, general care, education, medical check-ups and diapering are functions that the mother continues to perform. However, currently has more allies than mothers 30 years ago.

In recent years, the father figure It has become relevant, although it remains in the background with respect to the mother. Now they play an important role in terms of cleaning work: 27 percent of parents say they always take care of the moment of the bath and 18 percent of the change of diapers. Thus, although parents recognize that mothers are still the main figure involved in the care of the baby, they consider that they perform more tasks than mothers attribute to them.


In addition to the cleaning tasks, the activities in which, according to the parents, most participate are: to play (99%), go out to take a walk with the child or take him to the park (92%). However, regarding the feeding of their children, parents consider that their role is much greater than that indicated by mothers. The same happens at the time of wear to children: 81 percent of parents say they always take charge, or at least, on a regular basis, against the opinion of mothers (54%).

The role of grandparents

Grandparents continue to occupy the position of first support requested by the parents to attend to the children when they can not do so. Although little by little there are more couples who do not have any support person to care for their children (23%), there are still many mothers (64%) who turn to grandparents when they need help with the little ones.

Just like grandparents are the support figure par excellence, The pediatric It is still a reference that has gained special relevance in recent years. Currently, 80 percent of mothers turn to the pediatrician, much more than the mothers of 30 years ago (2%), to consult problems such as fever or any other symptom that they prefer not to pass without consulting a professional.

A new ally, technology

The Internet, although it is not the main source of information, has become a habitual tool for consultation (57% affirm that although it is not their source of information, they usually consult it regularly) for mothers they did not have access to 30 years ago. 60 percent of mothers say they use the Internet as a way to share tips and experiences, in addition to using it to find items or toys for the baby. However, it is not a means used to consult about health problems, for which the mother, as previously mentioned, usually consults the pediatrician.

In addition, there are instruments that technology has given us and that make life much easier for today's mothers, such as babies (91%), breast pump (87%) or sterilizers (83%), which now mothers use on a regular basis.

Breastfeeding and the bottle

Another aspect that has also changed is the mothers' vision of breastfeeding and bottle feeding.According to the study, current mothers continue to recognize the importance of breastfeeding. More than half of Spanish mothers (60%) consider it fundamental for the development of the baby and 85 percent of them have chosen breastfeeding as their first option. However, it is not always easy to maintain as long as they consider advisable. Currently, the average breastfeeding period is about 12 months, while the ideal for most mothers (70%) would be able to breastfeed until 18 months.

From this difficulty of extending the period of breastfeeding to what is desirable, an ally emerges for mothers: the Babby bottle. The majority of mothers (73%) consider that the bottle is the best choiceto feed the baby, and the only one when they must return to work (62%). In addition, it is a function that can also play the father, and in which the majority of mothers (73%), try to make him a participant, although in practice few parents do.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: Turning Fear into Power: Understanding and managing anxiety - Longwood Seminar


Interesting Articles

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

The dyslexia it is one of the disorders that can most affect the children's equation. Those who go through these situations present a greater difficulty to read and therefore to understand those...

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

The changes that are observed in children from 10 to 12 years old are many and varied, not only because this age is precisely that of change from childhood to preadolescence, but also because they...

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

The pathological It is a very serious problem that has increased in recent times as a result of the expansion of new technologies. Smartphones with an internet connection allow you to place bets...

Vaterschaftsurlaub verursacht Angst bei 30% der Eltern

Die Vaterschaft hat sich in den letzten Jahren weiterentwickelt und beinhaltet neue Zahlen in der Betreuung des Babys. Die Rolle des Vaters hat jedoch die gewachsen Vaterschaftsurlaub Nach wie vor erzeugt 30 Prozent der Eltern Angst vor Diskriminierung am Arbeitsplatz Die Entwicklung der Mutterschaft in Spanien in den letzten 30 Jahrendurchgeführt von der Beratungsfirma Conecta und Philip Avent.

Die Rolle des Vaters in aktuellen Familien

Die Rolle des Vaters hat mit der Normalisierung bestimmter Aspekte zugenommen, wie zum Beispiel Vaterschaftsurlaub. Vor fast 30 Jahren hätte so gut wie kein Mann, obwohl er alle Einrichtungen erhalten hatte, diese Erlaubnis beantragt. In gewisser Weise ist die Normalisierung dieses Elternurlaubs darauf zurückzuführen, dass es bis heute eine gewisse Übereinstimmung zwischen den Eltern gibt, die verstehen, dass es nicht die Mutter sein muss, die ihren Beruf opfert.


Derzeit halten jedoch 30 Prozent der Eltern für Männer, die einen Vaterschaftsurlaub in Anspruch nehmen können marginalisiert In ihrer Arbeit und in der Praxis gibt es nicht viele Eltern, die dies beantragen, wenn sie ein Kind haben.

Das Gefühl, Eltern zu sein

Der Vater und die Mutter sehen die Geburt eines Kindes anders. Tatsächlich manifestiert sich das Gefühl, Mütter und Väter zu sein verschiedene Momente der Schwangerschaft für einige und andere. Während viele Mütter (40%) dieses Gefühl empfinden, wenn sie erfahren, dass sie Mütter sein werden, tun dies 36 Prozent der Eltern, wenn das Kind geboren wird und sie zum ersten Mal sehen. Obwohl die Geburt eines Kindes für Väter und Mütter unterschiedlich ist, wurde die Rolle der einen und der anderen nach der Geburt in den letzten Jahren zwischen den beiden Figuren aufgeteilt.


Die Aufgabenteilung zu Hause

Die Mutter ist noch immer die hauptfigur für die Babypflege. Aufgaben wie Ernährung, allgemeine Pflege, Aufklärung, Vorsorgeuntersuchungen und Windeln sind also Aufgaben, die die Mutter weiterhin wahrnimmt. Allerdings hat derzeit mehr Verbündete als Mütter vor 30 Jahren.

In den letzten Jahren die Vaterfigur Es ist relevant geworden, bleibt jedoch in Bezug auf die Mutter im Hintergrund. Jetzt spielen sie eine wichtige Rolle in Bezug auf Reinigungsarbeit: 27 Prozent der Eltern geben an, dass sie sich immer um den Moment des Bades kümmern und 18 Prozent um den Windelwechsel. Obwohl Eltern erkennen, dass Mütter immer noch die Hauptfigur in der Betreuung des Babys sind, gehen sie davon aus, dass sie mehr Aufgaben erfüllen, als ihnen Mütter zuschreiben.


Neben den Reinigungsaufgaben sind folgende Aktivitäten, an denen sich die Eltern nach Ansicht der Eltern am meisten beteiligen, spielen (99%), geh raus spazieren gehen mit dem Kind oder mit in den Park (92%). Jedoch in Bezug auf die Fütterung Eltern meinen, dass ihre Rolle viel größer ist als die von Müttern angegebene. Das gleiche passiert zum Zeitpunkt kleiden für Kinder: 81 Prozent der Eltern geben an, dass sie sich immer oder zumindest regelmäßig gegen die Meinung von Müttern verantworten (54%).

Die Rolle der Großeltern

Großeltern nehmen weiterhin die Position von ein erste unterstützung von den Eltern gebeten, sich um die Kinder zu kümmern, wenn sie dies nicht können. Nach und nach gibt es mehr Paare, die keine Betreuungsperson für ihre Kinder haben (23%), aber es gibt immer noch viele Mütter (64%), die sich an die Großeltern wenden, wenn sie Hilfe bei den Kleinen brauchen.

So wie die Großeltern die Unterstützungsfigur par excellence sind, der Kinderarzt Es ist immer noch eine Referenz, die in den letzten Jahren eine besondere Relevanz erlangt hat. Derzeit wenden sich 80% der Mütter an den Kinderarzt, viel mehr als vor 30 Jahren (2%), um Probleme wie Fieber oder andere Symptome zu behandeln, die sie lieber nicht konsultieren möchten.

Ein neuer Verbündeter, Technologie

Das Internet ist zwar nicht die Hauptinformationsquelle, hat sich jedoch zu einem gewohnheitsmäßigen Instrument der Konsultation entwickelt (57% geben an, dass es sich zwar nicht um ihre Informationsquelle handelt, sie jedoch regelmäßig konsultieren) für Mütter, zu denen sie vor 30 Jahren keinen Zugang hatten. 60 Prozent der Mütter geben an, das Internet als Weg zu nutzen tauschen Sie Tipps und Erfahrungen ausAußerdem können Sie damit Gegenstände oder Spielzeug für das Baby finden. Es ist jedoch kein Mittel zur Konsultation über Gesundheitsprobleme, bei denen die Mutter, wie bereits erwähnt, normalerweise den Kinderarzt konsultiert.

Darüber hinaus gibt es Instrumente diese Technologie hat uns gegeben und das macht das Leben für heutige Mütter, wie Babys (91%), Milchpumpen (87%) oder Sterilisatoren (83%), die jetzt das Leben erleichtern Mütter verwenden regelmäßig.

Stillen und die Flasche

Ein anderer Aspekt, der sich ebenfalls geändert hat, ist die Vision der Mütter vom Stillen und von der Flaschenfütterung.Laut der Studie erkennen die derzeitigen Mütter weiterhin die Bedeutung des Stillens. Mehr als die Hälfte der spanischen Mütter (60%) hält es für richtig grundlegend 85 Prozent von ihnen haben sich für die Entwicklung des Babys als erste Wahl für das Stillen entschieden. Es ist jedoch nicht immer einfach zu warten, solange sie für ratsam gehalten werden. Derzeit liegt die durchschnittliche Stillzeit bei etwa 12 Monaten, während das Ideal für die meisten Mütter (70%) bis 18 Monate stillen könnte.

Aus dieser Schwierigkeit, die Stillzeit auf das Wünschenswerte auszudehnen, ergibt sich für Mütter ein Verbündeter: die Flasche. Die Mehrheit der Mütter (73%) hält die Flasche für die beste Optiondas Baby zu füttern, und das einzige, wenn es wieder zur Arbeit muss (62%). Darüber hinaus ist es eine Funktion, die auch den Vater spielen kann, und bei der die Mehrheit der Mütter (73%) versucht, ihn zu einer Teilnehmerin zu machen, obwohl dies in der Praxis nur wenige Eltern tun.

Patricia Núñez de Arenas

Video: Erst die Kinder, dann ich! (2018) Alleinerziehende am Limit


Interessante Artikel

Große Familien zahlen 2016 keinen Pass oder Ausweis

Große Familien zahlen 2016 keinen Pass oder Ausweis

Kinder haben immer Kosten. Auszahlungen, die sich mit der Geburt von Kindern multiplizieren, für die es viele Hilfsmittel gibt. Die Große Familien Sie haben viele Rabatte, zu denen in Kürze...