How to use child safety seats correctly

The child restraint systems are devices manufactured for cars in the form of chairs or elevators that ensure the safety of children on the road. The advances experienced in this field in recent years have been remarkable, so that it has been achieved that at least 95 percent of parents in Spain use these protective seats in cars for children.

This high figure is due in part to the influences that the Swedish model, a leading country in child restraint systems SRI for the successful results of their devices, have had in the rest of European countries. In the convention carried out by the Pons and Aesleme Foundation, the characteristics of this model, its differences with respect to those of other countries and a series of techniques that must be taken into account when using SRIs were discussed. How are the following:


Basic advice for the correct use of the SRI

1. Consult the manual. To correctly install the SRI device and ensure its effectiveness, it is essential to consult the vehicle's user manual and the SRI's, as some systems are incompatible.

2. Deactivate the passenger airbag. When SRIs or child safety seats are used in the opposite direction to walking as advised by the Swedish model for children under four years old, it is very important to deactivate the airbag since the objective of going against the march is to prevent the The child will be thrown to the point of impact, but the effect of the airbag would push him towards the chair. The side and roof airbags do not affect the SRI.


3. Respect the weight and / or height of the chairs. Children under four years of age who travel in car seats installed in the opposite direction to the march must respect the limits of weight and height of the same, and in the case that the growth of the child exceeds them, the device must be changed.

4. Use SRI up to 1.50 cm. Although children under 12 years of age with a height equal to or greater than 135 cm are allowed to use the vehicle's safety belts, the use of SRI is recommended until children have reached 150 cm.

5. Change the device. When the child's head protrudes over the backrest of the car safety seat, it will be necessary to change it and move on to a higher group of devices.

6. Place the SRI in the central square of the vehicle. The risk of direct impact on the head is minimized by 90% since in case of accident the child will be retained by the car seat and by the safety belt without colliding with the front seats as would occur if we place the restraint system infant on the sides.


7. Avoid bulky clothing. The heavy and bulky jackets make it difficult to adjust the harness or seatbelt correctly. The perfect adjustment of these also depends on that they are not twisted or bent.

8. When using booster seats or cushions, the horizontal band should rest on the lower part of the hip or the upper part of the thighs. The diagonal band should rest on the clavicle, halfway between the neck and the shoulder.

9. Change the SRI to 10 years of use. The materials and components of the child safety seat lose their properties over time and do not guarantee occupant safety.

Ana Vázquez Recio

Advice: Cristina Barroso, Consultant of Child Retention Systems SRI

Video: How to Correctly use Booster Seats


Interesting Articles

How to help an introverted child make friends

How to help an introverted child make friends

If our son is introvertIf you find it difficult to open up, express yourself and relate to others, we have to ensure that you do not end up being excluded from society. And we can help you get closer...

Master English: bet on linguistic immersion

Master English: bet on linguistic immersion

Learning a language in the earliest childhood is a guarantee of success. The brain is prepared, not only for the acquisition of new words in the mother tongue and in different languages, but above...

So verwenden Sie Kindersitze richtig

Bei den Rückhaltesystemen für Kinder handelt es sich um Vorrichtungen, die für Autos in Form von Stühlen oder Aufzügen hergestellt werden und die Sicherheit von Kindern auf der Straße gewährleisten. Die in den letzten Jahren auf diesem Gebiet erlebten Fortschritte waren bemerkenswert, So wurde erreicht, dass mindestens 95 Prozent der Eltern in Spanien diese Schutzsitze in Autos für Kinder verwenden.

Diese hohe Zahl ist zum Teil auf die Einflüsse zurückzuführen das schwedische Modell, ein führendes Land bei Kinderrückhaltesystemen SRI für die erfolgreichen Ergebnisse ihrer Geräte hatten in den übrigen europäischen Ländern. In der von der Pons and Aesleme Foundation durchgeführten Konvention wurden die Merkmale dieses Modells, seine Unterschiede zu anderen Ländern und eine Reihe von Techniken, die bei der Verwendung von SRIs berücksichtigt werden müssen, erörtert. Wie ist das folgende:


Grundlegende Hinweise für die korrekte Verwendung des SRI

1. Konsultieren Sie das Handbuch. Um das SRI-Gerät korrekt zu installieren und seine Wirksamkeit sicherzustellen, sollten Sie die Bedienungsanleitung des Fahrzeugs und die SRI-Geräte beachten, da einige Systeme nicht kompatibel sind.

2. Deaktivieren Sie den Beifahrerairbag. Wenn SRI oder Kindersitze entgegen dem Gehen verwendet werden, wie dies vom schwedischen Modell für Kinder unter vier Jahren empfohlen wird, ist es sehr wichtig, den Airbag zu deaktivieren, da das Ziel, gegen den Marsch zu gehen, die Verhinderung des Anpralls ist Das Kind wird bis zum Aufprall geworfen, aber die Wirkung des Airbags würde ihn in Richtung des Stuhls drücken. Die Seiten- und Dachairbags beeinflussen den SRI nicht.


3. Respektieren Sie das Gewicht und / oder die Höhe der Stühle. Kinder unter vier Jahren, die in entgegengesetzten Richtungen zum Kindersitz reisen, müssen die Gewichts- und Körpergrenzen einhalten. Falls das Wachstum des Kindes sie übersteigt, muss das Gerät gewechselt werden.

4. Verwenden Sie SRI bis zu 1,50 cm. Obwohl Kinder unter 12 Jahren mit einer Höhe von mindestens 135 cm die Sicherheitsgurte des Fahrzeugs verwenden dürfen, wird die Verwendung von SRI empfohlen, bis Kinder 150 cm erreicht haben.

5. Ändern Sie das Gerät. Wenn der Kopf des Kindes über die Rückenlehne des Autositzes hinausragt, muss er geändert und eine höhere Gruppe von Geräten verwendet werden.

6. Platzieren Sie den SRI auf dem zentralen Platz des Fahrzeugs. Das Risiko eines direkten Aufpralls auf den Kopf wird um 90% minimiert, da das Kind im Falle eines Unfalls vom Autositz und vom Sicherheitsgurt zurückgehalten wird, ohne mit den Vordersitzen zu kollidieren, wie dies beim Platzieren des Rückhaltesystems der Fall wäre Säugling an den Seiten.


7. Vermeiden Sie sperrige Kleidung. Die schweren und sperrigen Jacken machen es schwierig, den Gurt oder den Sicherheitsgurt richtig einzustellen. Die perfekte Einstellung dieser hängt auch davon ab, dass sie nicht verdreht oder verbogen werden.

8. Bei Verwendung von Kindersitzen oder KissenDas horizontale Band sollte auf dem unteren Teil der Hüfte oder dem oberen Teil der Oberschenkel aufliegen. Das Diagonalband sollte auf dem Schlüsselbein auf halbem Weg zwischen Hals und Schulter aufliegen.

9. Ändern Sie den SRI auf 10 Jahre Nutzung. Die Materialien und Komponenten des Kindersitzes verlieren mit der Zeit ihre Eigenschaften und gewährleisten keine Sicherheit der Insassen.

Ana Vázquez Recio

Hinweis: Cristina Barroso, Berater von Child Retention Systems SRI

Interessante Artikel

Dekalog, um mit dem Training zu beginnen

Dekalog, um mit dem Training zu beginnen

Zu den guten Zwecken, die wir alle vor allem in Bezug auf Gesundheit haben, gibt es eine von Übung. Das Tragen von Schuhen und Sportbekleidung ist im Prinzip nicht einfach, aber sicherlich ist es am...