Parabenes, a danger to health?

"Without parabens, dyes or mineral oils". Many companies boast of this label in their products boasting of being healthier and not harmful to health. But, what is true in this? New studies have revealed that the use of parabens in healthy skins does not generate any harm in people.

What are parabens?

Dr. Ana M Giménez-Arnau, dermatologist at the Hospital del Mar and the Institut Mar d'Investigacions Mediques in Barcelona, ​​explains what they are and how they act.
Parabens or parabens belong to a group of chemical preservatives that They are used to preserve a large number of products in the food, cosmetic and pharmaceutical industry. This group of preservatives has been used for more than 60 years and includes the methyl-, ethyl-, propyl-, and butylparaben- forms. Also, the expert reminds us that current European legislation authorizes its use under certain concentrations. In general, parabens are used so that the products that contain them do not lose their properties and end up being damaged. In addition, they help eliminate bacteria and fungi.


Are parabens safe?

- Hormonal activity. Several reports have shown that the use of parabens is safe. Yes it is true that there is some hormonal activity caused by parabens, but experts emphasize that this activity is millions of times weaker than those caused by natural hormones.

- Effects on the skin. As long as our skin is well it will not suffer any damage caused by parabens. Although, in the case of suffering from chronic dermatitis, clinical experience has shown that affected patients may have a higher risk of becoming sensitized to parabens.

- Against dermatitis. The ability of parabens to create allergic contact dermatitis is discussed. But it has now been demonstrated, by means of a standardized cutaneous provocation study, that the rate of positive reactions of dermatitis is less than 1 percent.


Types of parabens

There are several types of parabens but not all are allowed to be used for consumer products.

- Safe parabenes. In the case of ethyl- and methyl-propyl- and butyl- forms, their use is considered safe under the concentration permitted by law.

- Parebenes prohibited. Forms such as benyl-, pentyl-, isopropyl-, isobutyl- and phenylparaben are parabenes detrimental to health and are prohibited. In the case of benizilpareben, its use is not allowed since its capacity to cause cancer has been demonstrated.

Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: ARE PARABENS SAFE? DANGEROUS? Should I use paraben-free products? Science of parabens | LvL


Interesting Articles

Renault Talisman Sport Tourer: balance of qualities

Renault Talisman Sport Tourer: balance of qualities

The contribution of the French brand in the market segment is huge family cars means, 46 years ago that the Spanish market arrived on the Renault 12 family, which curiously is still seen on our...

What do the trips bring to the children?

What do the trips bring to the children?

There are many activities that can be done as a family. A catalog that varies according to the time of year, such as travels taking advantage of summer vacations. A choice that has many benefits for...

Bullying, the main concern of adolescents

Bullying, the main concern of adolescents

The bullying or bullying It is a reality and a global problem. Many efforts are made to raise awareness among young people and their parents about the harmful consequences of bullying in schools, and...

Improve self-esteem through fun

Improve self-esteem through fun

The self esteem It is a fundamental piece in the day to day of any person. Before being comfortable with other people, the first step is to enjoy the company of oneself and know how to make the most...

Parabene, eine Gefahr für die Gesundheit?

"Ohne Parabene, Farbstoffe oder Mineralöle". Viele Unternehmen haben dieses Label in ihren Produkten und sind gesünder und nicht gesundheitsschädlich. Aber was ist wahr? Neue Studien haben gezeigt, dass die Verwendung von Parabenen in gesunden Häuten bei Menschen keinen Schaden verursacht.

Was sind Parabene?

Dr. Ana M. Giménez-Arnau, Dermatologin am Hospital del Mar und am Institut Mar d'Investigacions Mediques in Barcelona, ​​erklärt, was sie sind und wie sie sich verhalten.
Parabene oder Parabene gehören zu einer Gruppe von chemischen Konservierungsmitteln Sie dienen zur Konservierung einer Vielzahl von Produkten in der Lebensmittel-, Kosmetik- und Pharmaindustrie. Diese Gruppe von Konservierungsmitteln wird seit über 60 Jahren verwendet und umfasst die Methyl-, Ethyl-, Propyl- und Butylparabenformen. Der Sachverständige erinnert uns auch daran, dass die geltenden europäischen Rechtsvorschriften seine Verwendung in bestimmten Konzentrationen zulassen. Im Allgemeinen werden Parabene verwendet, damit die Produkte, die sie enthalten, ihre Eigenschaften nicht verlieren und am Ende beschädigt werden. Darüber hinaus helfen sie, Bakterien und Pilze zu beseitigen.


Sind Parabene sicher?

- Hormonelle Aktivität. Mehrere Berichte haben gezeigt, dass die Verwendung von Parabenen sicher ist. Es stimmt, dass es einige hormonelle Aktivitäten gibt, die durch Parabene verursacht werden, aber Experten betonen, dass diese Aktivität millionenfach schwächer ist als die durch natürliche Hormone verursachten.

- Auswirkungen auf die Haut. Solange unsere Haut gesund ist, erleidet sie keine durch Parabene verursachten Schäden. Bei chronischer Dermatitis hat die klinische Erfahrung gezeigt, dass betroffene Patienten ein erhöhtes Risiko haben, durch Parabene sensibilisiert zu werden.

- Gegen Dermatitis. Die Fähigkeit von Parabenen, allergische Kontaktdermatitis hervorzurufen, wird diskutiert. Durch eine standardisierte kutane Provokationsstudie konnte nun gezeigt werden, dass die Rate der positiven Reaktionen bei Dermatitis weniger als 1 Prozent beträgt.


Arten von Parabenen

Es gibt verschiedene Arten von Parabenen, aber nicht alle dürfen für Konsumgüter verwendet werden.

- Sichere Parabene. Im Falle von Ethyl- und Methylpropyl- und -butylformen gilt ihre Verwendung unter der gesetzlich zulässigen Konzentration als sicher.

- Parebenes verboten. Formen wie Benyl-, Pentyl-, Isopropyl-, Isobutyl- und Phenylparaben sind gesundheitsschädliche Parabene und sind verboten. Im Fall von benizilpareben, seine Verwendung ist nicht erlaubt, da seine Fähigkeit, Krebs zu verursachen, nachgewiesen wurde.

Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: Make-up Risiko: Parabene in unserer Kosmetik


Interessante Artikel

Hausaufgaben für was sind sie?

Hausaufgaben für was sind sie?

Neben der offenen Debatte darüber, ob es für unsere Schüler angemessen ist, mit beladenen Rucksäcken nach Hause zu kommen, ist es für uns Eltern schwierig, zu wissen, welche Rolle wir übernehmen...

Wie man eine Beziehung wieder aufbaut

Wie man eine Beziehung wieder aufbaut

Liebe ist ein universelles Gefühl und ein komplexer Mechanismus, der in jedem von uns auf unterschiedliche Weise wirkt. Die Paare, die in der Zeit überleben, haben es geschafft, eine Verbindung zu...

Alle Ermäßigungen für eine große Familie

Alle Ermäßigungen für eine große Familie

Eine große Familie in Spanien zu sein, kann viele Vorteile haben. Staatliche und regionale Institutionen bieten eine Reihe von Zuschüssen und Abzügen für viele Aspekte des Familienlebens an, z. B....

86 Prozent der 13-Jährigen haben ein Mobiltelefon

86 Prozent der 13-Jährigen haben ein Mobiltelefon

Drei von vier zwölfjährigen Kindern in Spanien haben bereits eine Mobiltelefon. Diese Zahl steigt nach 13 Jahren an, da der Prozentsatz der Minderjährigen, die eine Smartphone In diesem Alter sind es...