Professional qualification: the doctorate

Obtaining a doctorate means obtaining the highest degree officially recognized in the Spanish university system. The objective of these studies is to achieve the specialization of students in a scientific, technical or artistic field after having passed a degree, an engineering or architecture.

Like the rest of the Spanish educational system, the doctorate was affected by the implementation of the Bologna Plan in 2010, the new program established throughout the European Union to unify the education system. This plan involved the modification of the conception, requirements and curricula of the doctorate. The main advantage that this educational program has brought is that has allowed therecognition and the revaluation of the university degree.


Types of doctorate

The granting of a doctorate implies the recognition of the candidate by the faculty of the university in which he has studied. The types of doctorates that can be granted by a university are the following:

1. Doctorate in research. It is necessary to defend a thesis based on an original investigation, which usually develops in a period of between three and six years.

2. Higher doctorate. They are the calls honoris cause. The degree is awarded as a recognized personal distinction when the university in which the student is a doctor wishes to recognize achievements and contributions.

3. Professional doctorateThey are granted when the investigation has been carried out by an individual of a specific profession and on an aspect of it.


Concept and characters of the doctorate

The doctorate is a university degree that constitutes the third postgraduate cycle, being the first, the degree or university career and the second, the master. In the European Higher Education Area and in most of the Western countries, it is a prerequisite to pass a master's degree in advance. Their duration varies according to the type of doctorate, but as a general rule they do not usually fall below 4 years. The Bologna Plan was a great transformation for the doctorate system because it allows the recognition of certain studies that until now were only considered as own titles and access to a higher degree distinguishing, for example, between technical engineers and superiors.

Modifications of the doctorate by the Bologna Plan

At present, the doctorate is governed by the credit system, which mark the education system throughout the European Union. To be able to access the first phase of the doctorate, the research phase, it is necessary to have 300 credits, of which 240 are contributed by the university career. The rest can be acquired with additional master's studies once the race is over.


The most notable difference compared to the previous system is that the master's degrees that are taken to get the doctoratethey do not necessarily have to be focused on it, which gives greater freedom to the students to choose the direction of the studies. Once the 300 credits have been acquired, the students begin the research phase to prepare their doctoral thesis, which will be supervised by a director. Another innovation of the Bologna Plan is thatthe defense of the thesis will be carried out in two phases, one for memory and another for public reading, while before it was summarized in one phase.

Finally, the new PhD model also allowsthe recognition of the title European Doctor for that student who collaborates with different European institutions. To achieve this, it is necessary to stay at a higher education institution in another European country for at least three months, and submit part of the thesis in one of the official languages ​​of the European Union other than those used in the European Union. Spain.

Ana Vázquez Recio

It may interest you:

- Which careers have more professional opportunities

- What university career to study

- Almost 80% of young people in high school do not know what career to study

- The 10 best Spanish universities

Video: Professional Doctorate at GCU


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Berufsqualifikation: die Promotion

Die Promotion bedeutet, den höchsten akademischen Grad zu erreichen, der offiziell im spanischen Universitätssystem anerkannt ist. Ziel dieser Studien ist es, die Studierenden nach Abschluss eines Studiums, eines Ingenieurwesens oder einer Architektur auf ein wissenschaftliches, technisches oder künstlerisches Gebiet zu spezialisieren.

Wie der Rest des spanischen Bildungssystems war auch die Promotion von der Umsetzung des Bologna-Plans im Jahr 2010 betroffen, dem neuen Programm, das in der gesamten Europäischen Union zur Vereinheitlichung des Bildungssystems eingeführt wurde. Dieser Plan beinhaltete die Änderung der Konzeption, der Anforderungen und der Lehrpläne der Promotion. Der Hauptvorteil, den dieses Bildungsprogramm gebracht hat, ist der hat das erlaubtAnerkennung und die Neubewertung des Hochschulabschlusses.


Arten der Promotion

Die Erteilung des Doktorats setzt voraus, dass der Kandidat von der Fakultät der Universität, an der er studiert hat, anerkannt wird. Folgende Arten von Promotionen können von einer Universität vergeben werden:

1. Promotion in der Forschung. Es ist notwendig, eine These zu verteidigen, die auf einer ursprünglichen Untersuchung basiert, die sich normalerweise in einem Zeitraum von drei bis sechs Jahren entwickelt.

2. Höheres Doktorat. Sie sind die Anrufe honoris Sache. Der Abschluss wird als anerkannte persönliche Auszeichnung verliehen, wenn die Universität, an der der Student studiert, Leistungen und Beiträge anerkennen möchte.

3. Professionelle PromotionSie werden gewährt, wenn die Untersuchung von einer Einzelperson eines bestimmten Berufs und zu einem bestimmten Aspekt durchgeführt wurde.


Konzept und Charaktere der Promotion

Die Promotion ist a Universitätsabschluss, der den dritten postgradualen Zyklus bildetDer erste ist der Abschluss oder Universitätslaufbahn und der zweite der Master. Im europäischen Hochschulraum und in den meisten westlichen Ländern ist ein Master-Abschluss Voraussetzung. Ihre Dauer variiert je nach Art der Promotion, in der Regel jedoch nicht unter 4 Jahre. Der Bologna-Plan war eine große Umstellung für das Promotionssystem, da bestimmte Studien anerkannt werden können, die bisher nur als eigene Titel angesehen wurden, und der Zugang zu einem höheren Grad, der beispielsweise zwischen technischen Ingenieuren und Vorgesetzten unterscheidet.

Änderungen der Promotion durch den Bologna-Plan

Derzeit Die Promotion erfolgt nach dem Kreditsystem, die das Bildungssystem in der gesamten Europäischen Union kennzeichnen. Um an der ersten Phase der Promotion, der Forschungsphase, teilnehmen zu können, sind 300 Credits erforderlich, von denen 240 durch die Universitätslaufbahn eingebracht werden. Den Rest können Sie nach Abschluss des Rennens mit zusätzlichen Master-Studien erwerben.


Der bemerkenswerteste Unterschied zum vorherigen System besteht darin, dass die Master-Abschlüsse gemacht werden, um die Promotion zu erhaltenSie müssen sich nicht unbedingt darauf konzentrieren, was den Studierenden größere Freiheit gibt, die Richtung des Studiums zu wählen. Sobald die 300 Credits erworben wurden, beginnen die Studenten die Forschungsphase, um ihre Doktorarbeit vorzubereiten, die von einem Direktor betreut wird. Eine weitere Neuerung des Bologna-Plans ist dasDie Verteidigung der Arbeit wird in zwei Phasen durchgeführteine für die Erinnerung und eine für das öffentliche Lesen, während es zuvor in einer Phase zusammengefasst wurde.

Schließlich erlaubt das neue PhD-Modell auchdie Anerkennung des Titels Europäischer Doktor für den Studenten, der mit verschiedenen europäischen Institutionen zusammenarbeitet. Um dies zu erreichen, müssen Sie sich mindestens drei Monate an einer Hochschule in einem anderen europäischen Land aufhalten und einen Teil der Arbeit in einer der Amtssprachen der Europäischen Union einreichen, die nicht in der Europäischen Union verwendet wird. Spanien

Ana Vázquez Recio

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Welche Karrieren haben mehr berufliche Möglichkeiten?

- Was für eine Universitätskarriere zu studieren

- Fast 80% der Jugendlichen in der High School wissen nicht, welche Karriere sie studieren sollen

- Die 10 besten spanischen Universitäten

Video: "Was tut die Kammer für mich?" - Teil 29: Anerkennung ausländischer Berufsqualifikation


Interessante Artikel

Spanien, am Ende Europas in Muttermilchbanken

Spanien, am Ende Europas in Muttermilchbanken

Spanien ist eines der europäischen Länder mit weniger Muttermilchbanken, da es nur sechs hat, eine Zahl deutlich unter Frankreich, dem Vereinigten Königreich oder den nordischen Ländern, die die...