From smoking parents, smoking children

The more time a child is exposed to tobacco smoking in a father smoker, more likely to be interested in cigarettes during his youth and become a heavy smoker, according to a team of researchers from the Lombardi Integral Oncology Center.

His work, published in the digital edition of 'Pediatrics', is one of the first to adopt an intergenerational prospective vision on the impact of a parent's behavior on the risk of smoking from their parents. teenage children. The results suggest that it is essential that parents quit smoking early in their children's lives. prevent smoking in the next generation, since the habit of smoking is transmitted from generation to generation, that is, of smoking parents, smoking children.


Dependence on nicotine

"It is difficult to dissuade children from smoking if one or both parents are very dependent on cigarettes," the study's researchers point out. "It is also important that parents who smoke know that their children can imitate the behavior, especially if one of the parents is very dependent on nicotine," they warn.

The nicotine dependence It is characterized by strong cravings for smoking, with the need to ingest more nicotine to feel the same effects and, on the contrary, be bad if you stop smoking. According to experts, pediatric clinics should be alert about the smoking habits of patients and their parents.


"The findings that exposure to parental nicotine dependence is a factor that influences the intergenerational transmission of habit of smoking they are surprising and worrisome, but they indicate a direction to follow to reduce that risk ".

The study involved more than 400 parents and their adolescent children from 12 to 17 years old. Thus it was found that the more years a child was exposed to smoking by parents dependent on nicotine, the greater the risk that adolescents start smoking or try the cigarettes.

Isabel Martínez

Video: Smoking Parents and Effects on Kids


Interesting Articles

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Von rauchenden Eltern, rauchende Kinder

Je mehr Zeit ein Kind in einem Tabakrauchen ausgesetzt ist Vater RaucherNach Ansicht eines Forscherteams des Lombardi Integral Oncology Center ist es wahrscheinlicher, dass er sich in seiner Jugend für Zigaretten interessierte und ein starker Raucher wurde.

Seine in der digitalen Ausgabe von 'Pediatrics' veröffentlichte Arbeit ist eine der ersten, die eine generationsübergreifende Perspektive auf die Auswirkungen des Verhaltens eines Elternteils auf das Rauchrisiko seiner Eltern sieht. Teenager Kinder. Die Ergebnisse legen nahe, dass es wichtig ist, dass Eltern früh im Leben ihrer Kinder mit dem Rauchen aufhören. das Rauchen verhindern in der nächsten Generation, da die Gewohnheit des Rauchens von Generation zu Generation übertragen wird, dh rauchende Eltern, rauchende Kinder.


Abhängigkeit von Nikotin

"Es ist schwierig, Kinder vom Rauchen abzubringen, wenn einer oder beide Elternteile stark von Zigaretten abhängig sind", weisen die Forscher der Studie darauf hin. "Es ist auch wichtig, dass rauchende Eltern wissen, dass ihre Kinder das Verhalten imitieren können, insbesondere wenn einer der Eltern stark auf Nikotin angewiesen ist", warnen sie.

Die Nikotinabhängigkeit Es zeichnet sich durch ein starkes Verlangen nach Rauchen aus, mit der Notwendigkeit, mehr Nikotin zu sich zu nehmen, um die gleichen Wirkungen zu spüren und im Gegenteil schlecht zu sein, wenn Sie mit dem Rauchen aufhören. Experten zufolge sollten pädiatrische Kliniken über die Rauchgewohnheiten der Patienten und ihrer Eltern informiert sein.


"Die Feststellung, dass die Exposition gegenüber einer Eltern-Nikotinabhängigkeit ein Faktor ist, der die Übertragung von Generation zu Generation beeinflusst Gewohnheit des Rauchens Sie sind überraschend und besorgniserregend, aber sie weisen auf eine Richtung hin, um dieses Risiko zu verringern. "

An der Studie nahmen mehr als 400 Eltern und deren Kinder zwischen 12 und 17 Jahren teil. So wurde festgestellt, dass das Risiko für Jugendliche umso höher ist, je länger ein Kind von nikotinabhängigen Eltern geraucht wurde fange an zu rauchen oder probieren Sie die Zigaretten.

Isabel Martínez

Video: Rauchende Kinder in Indonesien


Interessante Artikel

Muttermilch: Die Vorteile des Stillens Ihres Babys

Muttermilch: Die Vorteile des Stillens Ihres Babys

Die Geburt unseres Sohnes wird uns mit Freude erfüllen, aber auch Zweifel daran, ob es günstiger ist, zu stillen oder zu trinken. Die unbestreitbaren Vorteile des Stillens lassen jedoch keinen...