Egg allergy is already overcome with immunotherapy

The egg is the food that causes the most allergy in children Spanish, with an incidence of 2.5% in the first 2 years of life. At 76% of the cases appear before 5 years, in 12% between 5 and 10 years and in another 12% between 10 and 15 years, according to data from a report presented by the Spanish Society of Clinical Immunology, Allergology and Pediatric Asthma (SEICAP).

Allergy to food in general is one of the diseases that has the greatest social impact, especially in the family, as the burden of prevention of food allergy in children falls directly on parents and caregivers. In addition, in the case of the egg, prevention is not only to avoid the food itself, but in many products is camouflaged and often it is not evident that they have been made with eggs.


The increase of food allergies

Allergy pediatricians have seen an increase in the number of food allergies in children in recent years, even in some countries it has doubled. "It is possible that this is due to the change in eating and lifestyle habits that have developed in the western world," says Dr. Elena Alonso, president of the organizing committee of the SEICAP congress. If this "we join the contamination and relative changes in hygiene, we found that the development of the immune system of the child is affected and is weaker in the face of the emergence of allergies," he adds.

What is immunotherapy? So you can overcome the egg allergy

Immunotherapy is a desensitization treatment to the food that consists of guiding doses of egg in small quantities to overcome the allergy. In this sense, a great scientific advance is the fact that egg allergy is already overcome with immunotherapy.


Dr. Mª Flora Martín-Muñoz, specialist of the Allergy Service of the Children's Hospital La Paz, in Madrid, has led a clinical trial of oral immunotherapy with egg to analyze the efficacy and safety of this treatment. This is a multicentre, national, randomized and controlled study in which different hospitals from all over Spain have collaborated (Children's Hospital La Paz, Gregório Marañón and Hospital Severo Ochoa, of the Community of Madrid; San Juan de Dios Hospital, Vall D'Hebron, Althaia San Juan de Dios de Manresa, Barcelona, ​​Carlos Haya Hospital, Malaga, General Hospital of Valencia and Hospital de Cruces, Vizcaya).

The study involved 101 children (46 boys and 55 girls) between 6 and 9 years of age, diagnosed with persistent egg allergy. 85% of those who followed the oral immunotherapy treatment reached egg tolerance. In addition, this tolerance persisted in all those who continued to consume eggs according to a normal diet, 6 months after stopping treatment.


Advantages of oral immunotherapy with food

The current and usual treatment for a child with food allergy is the diet of exclusion or avoidance of the food in question. However, warns Dr. Antonio Martorell, of the Allergy Unit of the General University Hospital of Valencia, "it is not easy to put it into practice with foods such as eggs and cow's milk that are present in a large amount of processed foods, in addition of the difficulty added by the presence of traces in many industrial food products ".

Thus, the dietary restrictions imposed by the diet, together with the potentially serious adverse reactions due to inadvertent ingestion, "produce a significant alteration in the quality of life of the child and his family, which has prompted the search for alternatives such as immunotherapy oral, "he says.

The oral immunotherapy with food has demonstrated its efficacy and safety in the establishment of tolerance of the same, especially milk and egg, "thus, children can improve their diet, and freely consume the food or at least a sufficient amount to prevent a reaction to small accidental shots, "says this doctor.

In any case, pediatricians allergists warn about the importance of performing these treatments under the supervision of the specialist and with a programmed and personalized protocol to each child, "since you have to assess the possible reactions that may suffer and even if that tolerance is or non-transitory, "he concludes.

Marisol New

You may also like:

- Children with milk allergy

- Food allergies can not be prevented

- Allergy to food or intolerance

- Food allergies in the baby

 

Video: Allergy | Egg Allergy | StreamingWell.com


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

Die Eiallergie ist bereits mit der Immuntherapie überwunden

Die Ei ist das Nahrungsmittel, das bei Kindern die meisten Allergien verursacht Spanisch, mit einer Inzidenz von 2,5% in den ersten 2 Lebensjahren. In der 76% der Fälle treten vor 5 Jahren auflaut Angaben eines Berichts der Spanischen Gesellschaft für klinische Immunologie, Allergologie und pädiatrisches Asthma (SEICAP) in 12% zwischen 5 und 10 Jahren und in weiteren 12% zwischen 10 und 15 Jahren.

Die Nahrungsmittelallergie ist im Allgemeinen eine der Krankheiten, die die größte soziale Auswirkung hat, insbesondere in der Familie, da die Last der Prävention von Nahrungsmittelallergien bei Kindern direkt bei Eltern und Betreuern liegt. Im Fall des Eies ist Prävention nicht nur die Vermeidung der Nahrung selbst, sondern wird in vielen Produkten getarnt, und oft ist es nicht offensichtlich, dass sie mit Eiern hergestellt wurden.


Die Zunahme von Nahrungsmittelallergien

Allergiker haben in den letzten Jahren eine Zunahme der Nahrungsmittelallergien bei Kindern zu verzeichnen, die sich sogar in einigen Ländern verdoppelt hat. "Es ist möglich, dass dies auf die veränderten Ess- und Lebensgewohnheiten in der westlichen Welt zurückzuführen ist", sagt Dr. Elena Alonso, Präsidentin des Organisationskomitees des SEICAP-Kongresses. "Wenn wir uns der Verschmutzung und den relativen Hygieneveränderungen anschließen, stellen wir fest, dass die Entwicklung des Immunsystems des Kindes beeinträchtigt ist und angesichts der Entstehung von Allergien schwächer ist", fügt er hinzu.

Was ist Immuntherapie? So können Sie die Eiallergie überwinden

Die Immuntherapie ist eine Desensibilisierungsbehandlung des Lebensmittels, die darin besteht, Dosen von Eiern in kleinen Mengen zu leiten, um die Allergie zu überwinden. In diesem Sinne ist ein großer wissenschaftlicher Fortschritt die Tatsache, dass die Eiallergie bereits mit der Immuntherapie überwunden ist.


Dr. Mª Flora Martín-Muñoz, Spezialistin des Allergiedienstes des Kinderkrankenhauses La Paz in Madrid, hat eine klinische Studie zur oralen Immuntherapie mit Ei durchgeführt, um die Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit dieser Behandlung zu untersuchen. Dies ist eine multizentrische, nationale, randomisierte und kontrollierte Studie, an der verschiedene Krankenhäuser aus ganz Spanien zusammengearbeitet haben (Kinderkrankenhaus La Paz, Gregório Marañón und Krankenhaus Severo Ochoa der Gemeinschaft Madrid, San Juan de Dios Krankenhaus, Vall D'Hebron, Althaia San Juan de Dios de Manresa, Barcelona, ​​Krankenhaus Carlos Haya, Malaga, Allgemeines Krankenhaus von Valencia und Hospital de Cruces, Vizcaya.

Die Studie umfasste 101 Kinder (46 Jungen und 55 Mädchen) im Alter von 6 bis 9 Jahren, bei denen eine persistierende Eiallergie diagnostiziert wurde. 85% derjenigen, die die orale Immuntherapie erhielten, erreichten die Eiertoleranz. Darüber hinaus bestand diese Verträglichkeit bei allen Personen, die 6 Monate nach Beendigung der Behandlung weiterhin Eier gemäß normaler Ernährung verzehrten.


Vorteile der oralen Immuntherapie mit Lebensmitteln

Die derzeitige und übliche Behandlung für ein Kind mit einer Nahrungsmittelallergie ist die Diät des Ausschlusses oder der Vermeidung der betreffenden Nahrung. Dr. Antonio Martorell von der Allergie-Abteilung des Allgemeinen Universitätskrankenhauses von Valencia warnt jedoch: "Es ist nicht einfach, es mit Lebensmitteln wie Eiern und Kuhmilch, die in einer großen Menge verarbeiteter Lebensmittel enthalten sind, in die Praxis umzusetzen der Schwierigkeit, die durch das Vorhandensein von Spuren in vielen industriellen Lebensmittelprodukten hinzugefügt wird ".

Daher führen die durch die Diät auferlegten diätetischen Einschränkungen zusammen mit den potenziell schwerwiegenden Nebenwirkungen aufgrund einer versehentlichen Einnahme zu einer erheblichen Veränderung der Lebensqualität des Kindes und seiner Familie, was die Suche nach Alternativen wie der Immuntherapie veranlasst mündlich ", sagt er.

Die orale Immuntherapie mit Lebensmitteln hat ihre Wirksamkeit und Unbedenklichkeit bei der Etablierung der Verträglichkeit desselben, insbesondere von Milch und Eiern, bewiesen. "So können Kinder ihre Ernährung verbessern und die Nahrung frei konsumieren oder zumindest in ausreichendem Maße verhindern, dass dies verhindert wird eine Reaktion auf kleine versehentliche Schüsse ", sagt der Arzt.

In jedem Fall warnen Kinderärzte für Allergiker, dass es wichtig ist, diese Behandlungen unter Aufsicht des Spezialisten und mit einem programmierten und personalisierten Protokoll für jedes Kind durchzuführen, da "Sie die möglichen Reaktionen, die möglicherweise auftreten, abschätzen müssen, auch wenn diese Toleranz besteht oder nicht vorübergehend ", schließt er.

Marisol Neu

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- Kinder mit Milchallergie

- Nahrungsmittelallergien können nicht verhindert werden

- Allergie gegen Nahrungsmittel oder Intoleranz

- Nahrungsmittelallergien beim Baby

 

Video: Was ist eine Allergie?


Interessante Artikel

Die großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern

Die großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern

Bevor Sie einen Besuch in den großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern organisieren, sollten Sie am besten die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten aufzeigen, mit denen Sie dem Besuch begegnen können. Eine...