Nervous tics in children: how to correct them

In some children, tics They seem to be part of his personality and do not pose any interference in the everyday. However, these physical movements or involuntary linguistic interference they can, in other cases, become a real burden for the quality of life of those who suffer them.

According to Carmen Ferrer, clinical psychologist and vice president of the clinical section of the Psychologists College of Catalonia, these tics they have a great significance and an unconscious cause, they are derived from the relationship with a person with whom there is an important bond of affection and are usually the result of a functioning or rejected behavior that requires satisfaction.


Between 1% and 6% of children may develop a tic, although in many cases it is transient and does not need a specific treatment. Muscular tics occur to a large extent in childhood in a benign and temporary way and only their chronification and the existence of serious difficulties in the normal development of the child advise to consult.

In many cases, those affected by a nervous tic, whether they are minors or adults, they go to the specialist due to other aspects of their mental health such as anxiety, depression or learning disorders. In adults, tic may be associated with situations of anxiety or stress, but also traumas, for example, that occurred during childhood.


These tics should not be confused with those that have a physical basis and that are symptoms of neurological disorders, a group of patients that, in addition, is much more reduced and that usually follow a pharmacological treatment derived from the disease.

Between the most common types of tics, Ferrer points out involuntary movements of eyes, head or shoulders, echolalia (repeat what the other says), coprolalia (say words that are vulgar or associated with eschatology in an impulsive way), compulsively scratching or repetitive coughing.

How to act to correct nervous tics

- Do not blame the child and above all not forbidding him to perform the tic, since it is something that they can not control and repression, rather than helping him, can aggravate the situation.

- It is convenient to reassure him and explain that it is something benign, transient and with solution. In addition, you have to give a lot of support so you can overcome the possible ridicule of other children at school. When the child is accompanied by anxiety, stress or a decrease in school performance is necessary to go to the specialist as soon as possible.


- Talk with the child and ask what is happening. Sometimes children have a theory that explains the tic and that can be the key to eradicating it. In addition, we must pay attention to the moment in which it began and examine the situations in which it is repeated.

- Regarding drugs, although they can improve the development of the tic, they do not heal and they also have secondary effects, which makes it necessary to assess the convenience or not of their use. Before using medications, it must be considered that tics sometimes disappear spontaneously or by treatment with psychotherapy.

- Rage situations, fear or rejection can lead to these tics in children where they exist deficiencies in the family environment.

- We must bear in mind that the tick actually it's not a wake-up call directed to others, but rather an involuntary own behavior whose only recipient is oneself.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Tic Disorders in Children - Mayo Clinic


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Nerventics bei Kindern: wie man sie korrigiert

Bei einigen Kindern tics Sie scheinen Teil seiner Persönlichkeit zu sein und wirken sich im Alltag nicht aus. Diese jedoch körperliche Bewegungen o unwillkürliche sprachliche Einmischung In anderen Fällen können sie zu einer echten Belastung für die Lebensqualität derer werden, die darunter leiden.

Laut Carmen Ferrer, klinischer Psychologe und Vizepräsident der klinischen Abteilung des Psychologists College of Catalonia, diese tics Sie haben eine große Bedeutung und eine unbewusste Ursache. Sie sind aus der Beziehung zu einer Person abgeleitet, mit der ein wichtiges Bindungsverhältnis besteht, und sind in der Regel das Ergebnis eines funktionierenden oder abgelehnten Verhaltens, das Befriedigung erfordert.


Zwischen 1% und 6% der Kinder entwickeln möglicherweise einen Ticobwohl es in vielen Fällen ist vorübergehend und bedarf keiner spezifischen Behandlung. Muskeltics treten in der Kindheit auf eine gutartige und temporäre Art und Weise auf, und nur ihre Chronifizierung und das Vorhandensein ernsthafter Schwierigkeiten bei der normalen Entwicklung des Kindes werden beraten.

In vielen Fällen sind die Betroffenen von a nervöser TrottelEgal, ob sie minderjährig oder erwachsen sind, sie gehen aufgrund anderer Aspekte ihrer psychischen Gesundheit zum Arzt Angstzustände, Depressionen oder Lernstörungen. Bei Erwachsenen kann der Tic mit Angst- oder Stresssituationen verbunden sein, aber auch mit Traumata, die beispielsweise in der Kindheit aufgetreten sind.


Diese Tics sollten nicht mit denjenigen verwechselt werden, die eine physische Basis haben und Symptome einer neurologischen Erkrankung sind, einer Gruppe von Patienten, die darüber hinaus viel geringer ist und normalerweise auf eine pharmakologische Behandlung folgt, die von der Krankheit herrührt.

Unter den die häufigsten Arten von Tics, Ferrer weist auf unwillkürliche Bewegungen von Augen, Kopf oder Schultern, Echolalie (wiederholen Sie, was der andere sagt), Koprolalie (sagen Sie Worte, die vulgär sind oder mit der Eschatologie impulsiv verbunden sind), zwanghaftes Kratzen oder wiederholtes Husten.

Wie man nervöse Tics korrigiert

- Beschuldige das Kind nicht und vor allem, es nicht zu verbieten, das Tic auszuführen, da es etwas ist, was sie nicht kontrollieren und unterdrücken können, anstatt ihm zu helfen, kann die Situation verschlimmern.

- Es ist bequem, ihn zu beruhigen und zu erklären, dass es etwas Gutartiges, Transientes und eine Lösung ist. Darüber hinaus müssen Sie viel Unterstützung geben, damit Sie den möglichen Spott anderer Kinder in der Schule überwinden können. Wenn das Kind von Angstzuständen begleitet wird, ist Stress oder eine Verringerung der Schulleistung erforderlich, um so schnell wie möglich zum Facharzt zu gehen.


- Sprechen Sie mit dem Kind und fragen Sie, was passiert. Manchmal haben Kinder eine Theorie, die den Tic erklärt und der Schlüssel zu deren Beseitigung sein kann. Außerdem müssen wir auf den Moment achten, in dem es begann, und die Situationen untersuchen, in denen es sich wiederholt.

- In Bezug auf Drogen, obwohl sie die Entwicklung des Tics verbessern können, sie heilen nicht und sie haben auch sekundäre Wirkungen, die es erforderlich machen, die Bequemlichkeit oder nicht ihre Verwendung zu beurteilen. Vor der Verwendung von Medikamenten muss berücksichtigt werden, dass Tics manchmal spontan oder durch Behandlung mit Psychotherapie verschwinden.

- Wut Situationen, Angst oder Ablehnung können bei Kindern, wo sie existieren, zu diesen Tics führen Mängel im familiären Umfeld.

- Wir müssen daran denken, dass die Zecke eigentlich Es ist kein Weckruf an andere gerichtet, sondern eher ein unwillkürliches eigenes Verhalten, dessen einziger Empfänger sich selbst ist.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Interessante Artikel

Toledo mit Kindern: die 10 wichtigsten Orte

Toledo mit Kindern: die 10 wichtigsten Orte

Jede Jahreszeit ist ideal für eine PauseUnd die Wahrheit ist, dass Spanien voll von idealen Reisezielen für Paare und Freunde und natürlich Familien ist. Diesmal reisen wir nach Toledo, um Ihnen die...