Abnormalities in the feet of children

The feet must be strong and resistant to get a good propulsion and also, flexible enough to adapt to the ground they tread. Hence the importance that they are in good health and that there are no anomalies in the feet of children. The most common anomalies that children usually present in their first years of life are flat feet, valgus foot and clubfoot.

Detecting these anomalies in children's feet on time is essential for children to learn to walk properly and wear a suitable type of footwear that does not cause injuries.

Types of abnormalities in babies' feet

At the time of birth, the pediatric examination can easily detect three types of anomalies in the feet of congenital children: feet talovalgos, metatarsovaros and equinovaros or zambos feet.


- The talovalgo it manifests as an exaggerated laxity of the foot joint with the leg that allows hyperflexion (with the fingers it is possible to touch the anterior part of the leg) and a lateralization of the heel outward, in valgus. It does not need treatment but there is the possibility that it will develop flatfoot later.

- The metatarsus varus (Placement of the anterior part of the foot inwards) are corrected with manual maneuvers, although in rebellious cases corrective splints must be used.

- The equinovar feet (zambos feet) require early treatment.

- More or less fingers. A malformation that, due to the possibility of causing problems with the footwear, should be solved before our baby begins to walk, is polydactyly (presence of one extra finger). Syndactyly (joined fingers) only causes a problem of aesthetics.


The clubfoot of children

The equinovar feet or clubfoot is an anomaly in the feet of children that constitutes one of the most frequent congenital skeletal deformities, in proportion of 1 to 2 per 1,000 births. They appear with double presence in children than in girls. In 50 percent of cases it is bilateral.

It is a malposition very easy to detect. The foot is turned inward, with the plant also facing inward. The treatment must be very early, with mobilizations the first week of life in which manual reduction is possible. At 10-15 days should be applied, or a corrective splints to be worn 24 hours a day or corrective plasters.

The treatment should continue for months and observation for years due to the tendency to relapse. In cases where treatment has been initiated too late or in very difficult cases, surgical interventions are necessary.


The flat foot of children

The flat feet they constitute the anomaly in the feet of children acquired more frequent. In it the foot loses its central curve, the bridge, and the heel is inclined in valgus, that is, it falls towards its inner edge. This defect prevents the weight of the body from falling on a heel well implanted in the floor and is the main cause of pain when walking.

During the first 4 years of life, flat feet can be considered non-abnormal, without requiring treatment. Only when the heel appears with an accentuated valgus will it be indicated to place an internal wedge in the heel of the shoes to get the back of the foot to rest vertically. After 4 years, if there is no improvement, a template will be indicated. Upon reaching puberty, most infant flat feet have normalized. Only in exceptional cases is a surgical intervention indicated.

Watch the children's posture

1. It is also important to monitor the way you sleep and sit on the floor. Sleeping upside down, (position nowadays forbidden by the Spanish Association of Pediatricians because of the danger of sudden infant death) was the cause, depending on whether the feet were placed in internal rotation or external rotation, that during the walk they also appeared those vicious habits. The best way to sleep is on the side.

2. Sitting badly can also condition the position of the feet. Sitting with the thighs rotated inwards and the legs bent at the knees, separated on either side of the body (M-shaped) leads to the rotatory perpetuation of the feet. Therefore, it is advisable to correct these forms from the first moment the baby can sit. A good posture is in the shape of an "Indian" (with crossed feet), a posture that keeps the back straight.

Teresa Pereda
Adviser: Dr. Joseph Mª Casasa, Pediatric surgeon

- Baby shoes, five fun models to learn to walk

Video: Baby feet and legs...what to expect as kids progress to walking


Interesting Articles

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

12 ideas that help you educate children

12 ideas that help you educate children

Education is a science and an art. An art because there are no fixed rules and each case is different, each circumstance is unique, because people are unrepeatable. But, in turn, it is a science and...

Abnormalitäten in den Füßen von Kindern

Die Füße müssen stark und widerstandsfähig sein, um einen guten Vortrieb zu erzielen, und auch so flexibel, dass sie sich an den Boden anpassen, auf dem sie sich bewegen. Daher ist es wichtig, dass sie gesund sind und dass es keine Anomalien in den Füßen von Kindern gibt. Die häufigsten Anomalien, die Kinder normalerweise in ihren ersten Lebensjahren aufweisen, sind Plattfüße, Valgusfuß und Klumpffuß.

Das rechtzeitige Erkennen dieser Anomalien in den Füßen von Kindern ist wichtig, damit Kinder richtig laufen lernen und geeignete Schuhe tragen, die keine Verletzungen verursachen.

Arten von Abnormalitäten in Babys Füßen

Zum Zeitpunkt der Geburt kann die pädiatrische Untersuchung drei Arten von Anomalien in den Füßen angeborener Kinder leicht feststellen: Füße talovalgos, metatarsovaros und equinovaros oder zambos.


- Der Talovalgo es äußert sich in übertriebener Nachgiebigkeit des Fußgelenks mit dem Bein, was eine Hyperflexion ermöglicht (mit den Fingern kann der vordere Teil des Beines berührt werden) und eine Lateralisierung der Ferse nach außen in Valgus. Es bedarf keiner Behandlung, aber es besteht die Möglichkeit, dass sich der Plattfuß später entwickelt.

- Der Mittelfuß-Varus (Platzierung des vorderen Teils des Fußes nach innen) werden mit manuellen Manövern korrigiert, obwohl in rebellischen Fällen Korrekturschienen verwendet werden müssen.

- Die equinovaren Füße (Zambosfüße) erfordern eine frühzeitige Behandlung.

- Mehr oder weniger Finger. Eine Fehlbildung, die aufgrund der Möglichkeit, Probleme mit dem Schuhwerk zu verursachen, behoben werden sollte, bevor unser Baby zu laufen beginnt, ist Polydaktylie (Anwesenheit eines zusätzlichen Fingers). Syndactyly (verbundene Finger) verursacht nur ein ästhetisches Problem.


Der Klumpfuß von Kindern

Die Equinovar Füße oder Klumpffuß ist eine Anomalie in den Füßen von Kindern, die eine der häufigsten angeborenen Skelettverformungen darstellt, im Verhältnis von 1 zu 2 pro 1.000 Geburten. Sie treten bei Kindern doppelt auf als bei Mädchen. In 50 Prozent der Fälle ist es bilateral.

Es ist eine Fehlstellung, die sehr leicht zu erkennen ist. Der Fuß ist nach innen gedreht, wobei die Pflanze ebenfalls nach innen zeigt. Die Behandlung muss sehr früh erfolgen, mit Mobilisierungen in der ersten Lebenswoche, in der eine manuelle Reduktion möglich ist. Bei 10-15 Tagen sollte 24 Stunden am Tag eine Korrekturschiene oder Korrekturpflaster getragen werden.

Die Behandlung sollte aufgrund der Tendenz zum Rückfall über Monate hinweg fortgesetzt und über Jahre beobachtet werden. In Fällen, in denen die Behandlung zu spät eingeleitet wurde oder in sehr schwierigen Fällen, sind chirurgische Eingriffe erforderlich.


Der flache Fuß der Kinder

Die flache Füße Sie bilden die Anomalie in den Füßen von Kindern, die häufiger erworben werden. In ihm verliert der Fuß seine zentrale Krümmung, die Brücke, und die Ferse ist in Valgus geneigt, dh sie fällt zu ihrem inneren Rand hin ab. Dieser Defekt verhindert, dass das Gewicht des Körpers auf eine gut im Boden implantierte Ferse fällt und ist die Hauptursache für Schmerzen beim Gehen.

In den ersten vier Lebensjahren können Plattfüße als nicht anormal angesehen werden, ohne dass eine Behandlung erforderlich ist. Erst wenn die Ferse mit einem betonten Valgus erscheint, wird angezeigt, einen inneren Keil in die Ferse der Schuhe zu legen, um den Fußrücken senkrecht zur Ruhe zu bringen. Wenn nach 4 Jahren keine Verbesserung eintritt, wird eine Vorlage angezeigt. Bei Erreichen der Pubertät haben sich die meisten flachen Füße des Kindes normalisiert. Nur in Ausnahmefällen ist ein operativer Eingriff angezeigt.

Passen Sie die Haltung der Kinder auf

1. Es ist auch wichtig zu überwachen, wie Sie schlafen und auf dem Boden sitzen. Auf dem Kopf stehend zu schlafen (Position, die heutzutage vom spanischen Verband der Kinderärzte wegen der Gefahr des plötzlichen Kindstodes verboten wird) war die Ursache, je nachdem, ob die Füße in Innenrotation oder Außenrotation versetzt wurden, dass sie während des Spaziergangs auch erschienen diese bösartigen Gewohnheiten. Der beste Weg zum Schlafen ist auf der Seite.

2. Schlechtes Sitzen kann auch die Position der Füße beeinflussen. Das Sitzen mit nach innen gedrehten Oberschenkeln und gebeugten Beinen an den Knien auf beiden Seiten des Körpers (M-förmig) führt zu einer Rotation der Füße. Daher ist es ratsam, diese Formen vom ersten Moment an zu korrigieren, an dem das Baby sitzen kann. Eine gute Haltung hat die Form eines "Indianers" (mit gekreuzten Füßen), eine Haltung, die den Rücken gerade hält.

Teresa Pereda
Berater: Dr. Joseph Mª CasasaKinderchirurg

- Babyschuhe, fünf lustige Modelle zum Laufen lernen

Video: 9 Menschen mit zusätzlichen Körperteilen!


Interessante Artikel

Die Rolle des Vaters während der Schwangerschaft

Die Rolle des Vaters während der Schwangerschaft

Während der Schwangerschaft und in den ersten Lebensmonaten hat das Kind meist Kontakt mit seiner Mutter, lebt aber nicht isoliert davon, sondern befindet sich in einem sozialen Kontext, der den...

Besuche im Lager, die Regeln sollten klar sein

Besuche im Lager, die Regeln sollten klar sein

Wie viele Dinge können Sie im Sommer unternehmen? Wenn Sie wissen, wie Sie mit den Zeiten umgehen, bleibt im Sommer die Langeweile vom Kind fern. Von einem Familienausflug über einen Poolbesuch bis...