Separate the students in the classrooms

Throughout history, governments, ministries and schools have come up with different methods to improve the education system, revolving around a central question: How should children be grouped in schools? From here came the response to comprehensive school, which occurs in our country to this day.

The comprehensive school was imposed in Great Britain and promoted by Anthony Crosland, secretary of state for education of the Labor government. Crosland, through the creation of this new method of education, ended the tripartite system, based on separating children through a test at the age of 11 years and redirecting them to three types of schools based on their performance. It was the model of several European countries that focused their education on the comprehensive school.


Separation for academic performance

The Spanish system is still dominated by the comprehensive school, whose implementation was the commitment of the LOGSE, but the model is changing in other ways, since there are many centers, regardless of what the law dictates, which separate students according to their academic performance.

30 percent of the institutes separate their students by knowledge, dividing them into those with more or less competences. While, another third, keeps their students in differentiated groups only for some subjects. By separating students, the knowledge gap between the two is accentuated and school failure triples, especially in those young people who come from families with a low socioeconomic level or environments in which they do not pay too much attention to the education of their children.


"Our system has gone on the hunt for the student who is not doing well, and has been referred to differentiated groups. It is a reality in daily practice, which tends to be constituted from the fifth or sixth grade of primary school, when the classrooms are separated according to the performance of the students. It is a separation that takes place with the explicit knowledge of the cloisters and, sometimes, of the families, "says Juan Manuel Escudero, professor of didactics and school organization at the University of Murcia.

In an educational center, where it is grouped homogeneously, many children are left unattended. Not much is expected from groups of students who perform less and lower expectations. For this reason, it ends up fulfilling the prophecy: the teachers' expectations condition the students, who, faced with the low stimulus, fulfill the behaviors that the teachers expected.


Repeaters increase failure in the classroom

If segregate by levels is negative, it is no less the accumulation of repeaters in the classroom. It has been shown that the groups that have more students who are repeating the course tend to have worse academic results. The sociocultural and economic level of the families of the students is another factor. Students who come from a family with a high sociocultural level and more resources are more likely to escape school failure.

What is the use of education in society?

In the classroom you have to learn to live with other people, creating conditions similar to what real life will mean. The great challenge for a school is to fulfill the role of social integration and cohesion. The school must be a reflection of the type of society we want to form. After all, to find an educational system that really serves the enrichment of children, we should ask ourselves, How do we want the citizen of the future to be?

Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: TYPES OF STUDENTS


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Trennen Sie die Schüler in den Klassenräumen

Im Laufe der Geschichte haben Regierungen, Ministerien und Schulen verschiedene Methoden entwickelt, um das Bildungssystem zu verbessern. Dabei geht es um eine zentrale Frage: Wie sollen Kinder in Schulen gruppiert werden? Von hier kam die Antwort auf Gesamtschule, was in unserem Land bis heute vorkommt.

Die Gesamtschule wurde in Großbritannien durchgesetzt und von Anthony Crosland, Staatssekretär für Bildung der Labour-Regierung, gefördert. Crosland beendete das dreigliedrige System durch die Schaffung dieser neuen Erziehungsmethode, das darauf abzielte, Kinder im Alter von 11 Jahren durch einen Test zu trennen und sie je nach Leistung auf drei Schularten umzuleiten. Es war das Modell mehrerer europäischer Länder, das sich auf die Gesamtschule konzentrierte.


Trennung für akademische Leistungen

Das spanische System wird immer noch von der Gesamtschule dominiert, deren Implementierung das Engagement des LOGSE war, aber das Modell ändert sich seitdem auf andere Weise Es gibt viele Zentren, unabhängig von den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen, die die Studierenden nach ihrer akademischen Leistung trennen.

30 Prozent der Institute trennen ihre Schüler durch Wissen und teilen sie in mehr oder weniger kompetente Personen auf. Ein weiteres Drittel hält die Schüler in differenzierten Gruppen nur für einige Fächer. Durch die Trennung der Schüler wird die Wissenslücke zwischen den beiden akzentuiert und das Schulversagen verdreifachtDies gilt insbesondere für junge Menschen, die aus Familien mit niedrigem sozioökonomischem Niveau stammen oder in Umgebungen leben, in denen sie der Bildung ihrer Kinder nicht zu viel Aufmerksamkeit schenken.


"Unser System ist auf die Jagd nach dem Studenten gegangen, der es nicht gut geht, und wurde an differenzierte Gruppen verwiesen. Es ist eine Realität in der täglichen Praxis, die in der Regel aus der fünften oder sechsten Klasse der Grundschule besteht, wenn die Klassenzimmer nach der Leistung der Schüler getrennt sind. Es ist eine Trennung, die mit dem expliziten Wissen der Klöster und manchmal der Familien stattfindet ", sagt Juan Manuel Escudero, Professor für Didaktik und Schulorganisation an der Universität von Murcia.

In einem Bildungszentrum, in dem es homogen gruppiert ist, bleiben viele Kinder unbeaufsichtigt. Es wird nicht viel von Gruppen von Studenten erwartet, die weniger und niedrigere Erwartungen erfüllen. Aus diesem Grund erfüllt es die Prophezeiung: die erwartungen der lehrer bedingen die schüler, die angesichts des geringen stimulierens die Verhaltensweisen erfüllen, die die lehrer erwarteten.


Repeater erhöhen den Ausfall im Klassenzimmer

Wenn die Aufteilung nach Ebenen negativ ist, ist dies auch die Anhäufung von Repeatern im Klassenzimmer. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass Gruppen mit mehr Studenten, die den Kurs wiederholen, tendenziell schlechtere akademische Ergebnisse erzielen. Ein weiterer Faktor ist das soziokulturelle und wirtschaftliche Niveau der Familien der Studierenden. Schüler, die aus einer Familie mit hohem soziokulturellem Niveau und mehr Ressourcen stammen, entgehen eher dem Schulversagen.

Was ist der Gebrauch von Bildung in der Gesellschaft?

Im Klassenzimmer muss man lernen, mit anderen Menschen zu leben und Bedingungen zu schaffen, die denen des wirklichen Lebens entsprechen. Die große Herausforderung für eine Schule besteht darin, die Rolle der sozialen Integration und des Zusammenhalts zu erfüllen. Die Schule muss ein Spiegelbild der Art von Gesellschaft sein, die wir bilden wollen. Um ein Bildungssystem zu finden, das wirklich der Bereicherung von Kindern dient, sollten wir uns fragen: Wie wollen wir den Bürger der Zukunft?

Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: Deutschkurs für Türken - Ladykracher


Interessante Artikel

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Sei ein Anführer Es bedeutet, über eine Reihe von Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten zu verfügen, die es ermöglichen, eine Gruppe von Personen auf organisierte Weise zu führen ein gemeinsames Ziel...

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Unbeholfen, langsam, problematisch ... sind nur einige der Begriffe, mit denen Kinder definiert werden, die an bestimmten Lernproblemen leiden. Sie sind nicht in der Lage, mit der gleichen...