School failure due to ADHD

In Spain, it is estimated that one in 20 children (between 5 and 7%) suffer from a disorder due to Attention deficit and hyperactivity (ADHD), a disease that affects the social and educational development of those who suffer from it to the point that it is behind the 25 percent of cases of school failure what's in Spain

This is what the authors of the first one have alertedEuropean White Paper'about this disorder, elaborated by doctors, patient associations and families In order to offer recommendations to improve early diagnosis and treatment and give support to those affected.

ADHD affects school failure

As acknowledged by the head of the Psychiatry Service of Infanta Leonor University Hospital in Madrid, Javier Quintero, who suffer from it, can combine symptoms derived from the attention difficulties and concentration, of a excess of motor activity and from a bad or under impulse control.


This increases the risk of fail school and having behavior problems and, in adolescence, of consume drugs more precociously.

"If the child is not able to pay attention in the classroom, their ability to continue learning progressively is increasingly complicated, which makes it more difficult to keep pace and be able to pass," acknowledges this expert.

In fact, a study in the United States suggests that these children have an eight times greater risk of not finishing high school.

In addition, Quintero added, they are also children who have more risk of bullying what to produce it. "They are more vulnerable, because they have difficulties interacting with their peers," he warns.


Therefore, from the Spanish Federation of Associations of Help to ADHD (FEAADAH) have asked parliamentary groups that during the processing of the draft Organic Law for the Improvement of Educational Quality (LOMCE) can be modified to incorporate the consideration of these minors as schoolchildren with specific needs for educational support "for their learning difficulties".

"In the schools the disorder is not recognized, and it generates a very worrisome situation for the 350,000 children who have attended school with this disorder," acknowledged the president of FEAADAH, Fulgencio Madrid, who points out that only Murcia, Navarra, the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands consider to these patients as school children with specific needs.

In fact, in his opinion "it would be a way to guarantee the equality of these minors, regardless of the community where they are enrolled", he added.


Cheaper treatments for ADHD

Also, from this entity are also in discussions with political groups to try that the pharmacological treatment of this disorder can be considered as reduced contribution medicine, which would cheapen its price, says Madrid.

"With this consideration we would pay 4 euros per month, and not 40 or 50 as we are doing now, "said the president of FEAADAH, which in fact has recognized that there are children who are stopping being treated "Because they can not pay it."

The 'White Paper' also stresses the importance of improving the diagnosis of the disease, since currently only 1 percent of patients are correctly diagnosed.

At this point, Dr. Quintero has recognized that although the diagnosis is currently only clinical (depending on certain symptoms), research on this disorder could make it possible in the future to be detected through genetics and brain imaging techniques. .

He has also denied that this disorder is now being overdiagnosed or that it could be related to a bad education of the minor. "It's as if we pretend to reprimand a lame child for limping," he said.

In addition, the experts defend that a multidisciplinary approach to the disease and a correct treatment, combining the use of drugs with other therapies, allows improving the response of these minors and avoids the risk of the disease persisting in adulthood, something that happens in half of the cases.

Video: Updates on ADHD Diagnosis & Management


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Schulversagen aufgrund von ADHS

In Spanien leiden schätzungsweise eines von 20 Kindern (zwischen 5 und 7%) an einer Störung aufgrund von Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit und Hyperaktivität (ADHS), eine Krankheit, die die soziale und schulische Entwicklung der Betroffenen so beeinflusst, dass sie hinter der Krankheit liegt 25 Prozent der Fälle von Schulversagen was ist in Spanien

Dies ist, was die Autoren des ersten alarmiert habenEuropäisches Weißbuch'über diese Störung, die von Ärzte, Patientenverbände und Familien Um Empfehlungen zur Verbesserung der frühzeitigen Diagnose und Behandlung zu geben und die Betroffenen zu unterstützen.

ADHS beeinflusst Schulversagen

Wie der Leiter des Psychiatriedienstes des Infanta Leonor Universitätskrankenhauses in Madrid anerkennt, kann Javier Quintero, der darunter leidet, die Symptome kombinieren Aufmerksamkeitsschwierigkeiten und Konzentration von a übermäßige motorische Aktivität und von einem schlechten oder unter Impulskontrolle.


Dies erhöht das Risiko von scheitern in der Schule und mit Verhaltensprobleme und in der Jugend von konsumieren drogen vorzeitig.

"Wenn das Kind im Unterricht nicht aufpassen kann, wird es zunehmend komplizierter, fortlaufend zu lernen. Dies macht es schwieriger, Schritt zu halten und passieren zu können", räumt der Experte ein.

Tatsächlich deutet eine Studie in den Vereinigten Staaten darauf hin, dass diese Kinder ein achtmal höheres Risiko haben, die High School nicht zu beenden.

Außerdem, so Quintero, seien auch Kinder dabei mehr Mobbingrisiko was soll ich produzieren? "Sie sind anfälliger, weil sie Schwierigkeiten haben, mit ihren Kollegen in Kontakt zu treten", warnt er.


Daher hat der spanische Verband der Hilfsorganisationen für ADHS (FEAADAH) die Fraktionen gebeten, bei der Ausarbeitung des Entwurfs des Organgesetzes zur Verbesserung der Bildungsqualität (LOMCE) die Berücksichtigung dieser Überlegungen zu ändern diese minderjährigen als schulkinder mit spezifische Bedürfnisse für die pädagogische Unterstützung "für ihre Lernschwierigkeiten".

"In den Schulen wird die Störung nicht erkannt und es entsteht eine sehr besorgniserregende Situation für die 350.000 Kinder, die die Schule mit dieser Störung besucht haben", erklärte der Präsident von FEAADAH, Fulgencio Madrid, der feststellt, dass nur Murcia, Navarra, die Balearen und die Kanarischen Inseln in Betracht ziehen für diese Patienten als Schulkinder mit besonderen Bedürfnissen.

Nach seiner Meinung "wäre dies eine Möglichkeit, die Gleichstellung dieser Minderjährigen unabhängig von der Gemeinschaft, in der sie eingeschrieben sind, zu gewährleisten", fügte er hinzu.


Billigere Behandlungen für ADHS

Von dieser Entität sollen auch in Gesprächen mit Fraktionen versucht werden, dass die pharmakologische Behandlung dieser Störung als in Betracht gezogen werden kann reduzierter beitrag medizin, was seinen Preis verbilligen würde, sagt Madrid.

"Mit dieser Gegenleistung würden wir bezahlen 4 Euro pro Monatund nicht 40 oder 50, wie wir es jetzt tun ", sagte der Präsident von FEAADAH, der das tatsächlich anerkannt hat Es gibt Kinder, die aufhören, behandelt zu werden "Weil sie es nicht bezahlen können."

In dem „White Paper“ wird auch betont, wie wichtig es ist, die Diagnose der Krankheit zu verbessern, da derzeit nur 1 Prozent der Patienten richtig diagnostiziert wird.

An diesem Punkt hat Dr. Quintero erkannt, dass, obwohl die Diagnose derzeit nur klinisch ist (abhängig von bestimmten Symptomen), die Erforschung dieser Erkrankung es in Zukunft ermöglichen könnte, durch Genetik und Bildgebungsverfahren des Gehirns entdeckt zu werden. .

Er hat auch geleugnet, dass diese Störung jetzt überdiagnostiziert wird oder auf eine Störung zurückzuführen ist schlechte Erziehung des Minderjährigen. "Es ist, als ob wir so tun würden, als würden wir ein lahmeres Kind für das Hinken tadeln", sagte er.

Darüber hinaus verteidigen die Experten, dass ein multidisziplinärer Ansatz für die Krankheit und ein richtige BehandlungDie Kombination von Medikamenten mit anderen Therapien ermöglicht die Verbesserung der Reaktion dieser Minderjährigen und vermeidet das Risiko, dass die Krankheit im Erwachsenenalter anhält, was in der Hälfte der Fälle der Fall ist.

Video: Der Alltag an einem Hochbegabten-Internat | Galileo | ProSieben


Interessante Artikel

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Die dritte Generation des Touran beträgt 13 Zentimeter länger als die vorherige Version, hat sieben Sitze Serie und hat eine Größerer Kofferraum Es stellt sich heraus a Familienauto Dies muss für...