Delayed growth of the baby

During the first years of life, Babies and children grow faster that during the rest of their lives, although sometimes these do not develop properly. It is what is known as stunted growth.Children with stunting are those who do not gain weight as they should, which is also accompanied by a short increase in height.

Most diagnoses are made during the first three years of life, a key period for physical and mental development.

Babies usually double their birth weight at 4 months, and triple it at one year, parameters not met by a child with a delay in growth. This anomaly can cause children to lose interest in their environment, become irritable or not get to speak or walk at the usual ages.


The growth and development of the baby

The increase is the proper development of our body, that depends on factors such as an adequate supply of nutrients with a complete and balanced diet, the correct functioning of our systems so that these nutrients get to the cells, the functioning of these cells through hormones and the psycho-affective environment. Growth is a dynamic effect but it is not constant, it also depends on some occasional diseases.

To measure growth, we use the percentiles that are used to measure the proper development of children. They are growth curves that reflect the expected rates for a child depending on age and sex.


The percentiles measure height, weight, cranial perimeter, subcutaneous folds, and the brachial perimeter. The measure that is most related to growth is size, but wrongly the parents give more weight importance.

Causes of delayed growth of the baby

There are two types of causes of growth retardation: organic and non-organic.

1. They are organic causes inadequate intake of food, anorexia, defective digestion, excessive loss of nutrients or abnormal caloric requirements due to chronic diseases such as heart disease, kidney disease, etc.

2. They are non-organic causes those caused by an adverse psychosocial environment, because they are sick children or with sleep disorders, disorder of the food situation, stress or poverty, exposure to tobacco, drugs or alcohol during pregnancy, as a premature child or due to delay in intrauterine growth.


Advice against the stunting of children

To alleviate the delay in growth or failure of medro as it is also called, we present the following tips:

- If it is due to lack of calories, feed the child when he asks for it.

- Prepare the milk according to the instructions.

- Consult the pediatrician or the nutritionist.

- Apply a vitamin supplement according to the medical prescription.

- Try to make your child's diet the best complete and healthy possible and make sure you eat properly.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Teeth & Dentistry : Causes of Delayed Tooth Development in Toddlers


Interesting Articles

Educate from the tranquility

Educate from the tranquility

Being a parent is not an easy task, nobody has taught us educate from the tranquility and the day to day does not make the task easy, from the alarm clock until we go back to bed we have done a lot...

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

As they get older, our children will have to assume new roles at home. Around 9 or 10 years old, these are some of the daily Homeworks that they should be able to do for themselves.8 skills that...

Reasons to encourage running in the family

Reasons to encourage running in the family

The sport is necessary. Go for a run or to do 'Running' It can be a very good option to exercise and, in addition, it is fashionable. But why not practice it in family? The truth is that, although...

Verzögertes Wachstum des Babys

In den ersten Lebensjahren Babys und Kinder wachsen schneller das während ihres restlichen Lebens, obwohl sich diese manchmal nicht richtig entwickeln. Es ist, was als bekannt ist Verzögerung im Wachstum.Kinder mit Stunting sind diejenigen, die nicht so zunehmen, wie sie sollten, was auch von einer kurzen Erhöhung der Körpergröße begleitet wird.

Die meisten Diagnosen werden in den ersten drei Lebensjahren gestellt. a Schlüsselphase für körperliche und geistige Entwicklung.

Babys verdoppeln normalerweise ihr Geburtsgewicht nach 4 Monaten und verdreifachen es nach einem Jahr, Parameter, die ein Kind mit einer Wachstumsverzögerung nicht erfüllt. Diese Anomalie kann dazu führen, dass Kinder das Interesse an ihrer Umgebung verlieren, reizbar werden oder im üblichen Alter nicht sprechen oder gehen können.


Das Wachstum und die Entwicklung des Babys

Die Wachstum ist die richtige Entwicklung unseres Körpers, Dies hängt von Faktoren ab, wie z. B. einer ausreichenden Versorgung mit Nährstoffen bei einer vollständigen und ausgewogenen Ernährung, der korrekten Funktionsweise unserer Systeme, damit diese Nährstoffe in die Zellen gelangen, die Funktion dieser Zellen durch Hormone und die psychoaffektive Umgebung. Wachstum ist ein dynamischer Effekt, aber nicht konstanthängt auch von einigen gelegentlichen Krankheiten ab.

Wachstum messenverwenden wir die Perzentile, die verwendet werden, um die korrekte Entwicklung von Kindern zu messen. Dies sind Wachstumskurven, die die erwarteten Raten für ein Kind in Abhängigkeit von Alter und Geschlecht widerspiegeln.


Die Perzentile messen Höhe, Gewicht, Schädelumfang, subkutane Falten und Brachialumfang. Das Maß, das am stärksten mit dem Wachstum zusammenhängt, ist die Größe, aber die Eltern geben falscherweise mehr Gewicht.

Ursachen für verzögertes Wachstum des Babys

Es gibt zwei Arten von Ursachen für die Wachstumsverzögerung: organisch und nicht organisch.

1. Sie sind organische Ursachen Unzureichende Nahrungszufuhr, Anorexie, Verdauungsstörung, übermäßiger Nährstoffverlust oder anormaler Kalorienbedarf aufgrund chronischer Erkrankungen wie Herzerkrankungen, Nierenerkrankungen usw.

2. Sie sind nicht-organische Ursachen solche, die durch ein ungünstiges psychosoziales Umfeld verursacht werden, weil sie kranke Kinder sind oder an Schlafstörungen leiden, Störungen der Ernährungssituation, Stress oder Armut, Tabak -, Drogen - oder Alkoholexposition während der Schwangerschaft, als Frühgeborene oder aufgrund einer Verzögerung des intrauterines Wachstum.


Beratung gegen das Stunting von Kindern

Um die Verzögerung beim Wachstum oder Misserfolg von Medro, wie es auch genannt wird, zu mildern, geben wir die folgenden Tipps:

- Wenn es an Kalorienmangel liegt, füttere das Kind, wenn es danach fragt.

- Bereiten Sie das vor Milch gemäß den Anweisungen.

- Fragen Sie den Kinderarzt oder den Ernährungsberater.

- Tragen Sie ein Vitaminpräparat gemäß der ärztlichen Verordnung auf.

- Versuchen Sie, die Ernährung Ihres Kindes optimal zu gestalten vollständig und gesund möglich und stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie richtig essen.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Die Entwicklung eines Babys in der Schwangerschaft bis zur Geburt erleben


Interessante Artikel