Childhood obesity also causes short-term health problems

->

A study by the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), in the United States, has revealed that, beyond the long-term effects, the childhood obesity It can also have immediate consequences for children's health, such as double the risk of suffering more medical, mental and developmental problems.

In addition, and according to soon publish the magazine 'Academic Pediatrics', children with overweight have a 1.3 times higher risk of suffering from these problems, after having compared a group of children with overweight and obesity with another who had no weight problem .

"The results should serve as a wake-up call for doctors, parents and teachers, who should be better informed about the risk of other health problems associated with childhood obesity," said Neal Halfon, director of the Center for Healthier. Children, Families and Communities of UCLA and author of the study.


Childhood obesity is responsible for other pathologies

The progressive increase of childhood obesity in the last two decades has already led to a parallel increase in other pathologies, such as attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), asthma and learning problems.

UCLA's new research, based on the US child population, offers the first complete national profile of associations between weight and a wide range of associated health conditions or comorbidities that children suffer during childhood.

In general, the team found that obese children were more likely than those who were overweight to have worse health, more disability, a greater tendency to suffer emotional and behavioral problems, higher school failure rates, ADHD, conduct disorder, depression , learning problems, delayed development, bone, joint and muscle problems, asthma, allergies, headaches, and ear infections.


To verify this, they used the 2007 National Survey of Children's Health, analyzing the data of almost 43,300 children between 10 and 17 years old. The association between weight and 21 indicators of general health, psychosocial functioning and specific health disorders was evaluated to adjust the sociodemographic factors.

Of the children who participated in the study, 15 percent were overweight (body mass index, BMI, between the 85th and 95th percentiles), and 16 percent were obese (with a BMI at the 95th percentile or higher).

The UCLA researchers suggest that the continuous change in childhood conditions may end up modifying some chronic conditions of childhood, probably related to decades of appreciated changes in the social and physical environment in which children live, learn and play.

Therefore, they propose that efforts to prevent obesity be directed to these social and environmental influences, and that children be evaluated and managed by comorbid conditions.


.

Video: The Effects of Childhood Obesity


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Fettleibigkeit bei Kindern verursacht auch kurzfristige Gesundheitsprobleme

->

Eine Studie der University of California in Los Angeles (UCLA) in den Vereinigten Staaten hat gezeigt, dass über die langfristigen Auswirkungen hinaus Fettleibigkeit in der Kindheit Dies kann auch unmittelbare Folgen für die Gesundheit von Kindern haben, z. B. das Risiko, mehr medizinische, psychische und Entwicklungsprobleme zu erleiden.

Außerdem, und demnächst dem Magazin "Academic Pediatrics" zufolge, haben Kinder mit Übergewicht das 1,3-fache Risiko, an diesen Problemen zu leiden, nachdem sie eine Gruppe von Kindern mit Übergewicht und Fettleibigkeit mit einem anderen verglichen haben, der kein Gewichtsproblem hatte .

"Die Ergebnisse sollten als Weckruf für Ärzte, Eltern und Lehrer dienen, die besser über das Risiko anderer Gesundheitsprobleme in Verbindung mit Fettleibigkeit bei Kindern informiert werden sollten", sagte Neal Halfon, Direktor des Center for Healthier. Kinder, Familien und Gemeinschaften der UCLA und Autor der Studie.


Fettleibigkeit bei Kindern ist für andere Pathologien verantwortlich

Die fortschreitende Zunahme der Fettleibigkeit bei Kindern in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat bereits zu einer parallelen Zunahme anderer Pathologien geführt, beispielsweise der Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-Hyperaktivitätsstörung (ADHS), Asthma und Lernproblemen.

Die neue Studie der UCLA, die auf der US-amerikanischen Bevölkerung basiert, bietet das erste vollständige nationale Profil von Assoziationen zwischen Gewicht und einer Vielzahl von damit verbundenen Gesundheitszuständen oder Begleiterkrankungen, die Kinder in der Kindheit erleiden.

Im Allgemeinen stellte das Team fest, dass fettleibige Kinder mit höherer Wahrscheinlichkeit eine schlechtere Gesundheit, mehr Behinderung, eine stärkere Neigung zu emotionalen und Verhaltensauffälligkeiten, höhere Schulversagen, ADHS, Verhaltensstörungen, Depressionen als Übergewichtige hatten , Lernprobleme, verzögerte Entwicklung, Knochen-, Gelenks- und Muskelprobleme, Asthma, Allergien, Kopfschmerzen und Ohrinfektionen.


Um dies zu überprüfen, verwendeten sie die nationale Erhebung über Kindergesundheit von 2007 und analysierten die Daten von fast 43.300 Kindern zwischen 10 und 17 Jahren. Der Zusammenhang zwischen Gewicht und 21 Indikatoren für allgemeine Gesundheit, psychosoziale Funktion und spezifische Gesundheitsstörungen wurde bewertet, um die soziodemographischen Faktoren anzupassen.

Von den Kindern, die an der Studie teilnahmen, waren 15 Prozent übergewichtig (Body-Mass-Index, BMI zwischen dem 85. und 95. Perzentil) und 16 Prozent waren fettleibig (mit einem BMI von 95. Perzentil oder höher).

Die UCLA-Forscher vermuten, dass die ständige Veränderung der kindlichen Zustände möglicherweise einige chronische Zustände der Kindheit modifiziert, was wahrscheinlich auf jahrzehntelange Veränderungen in der sozialen und physischen Umgebung zurückzuführen ist, in der Kinder leben, lernen und spielen.

Daher schlagen sie vor, die Bekämpfung der Fettleibigkeit auf diese sozialen und Umwelteinflüsse zu richten und die Kinder unter Begleitumständen zu bewerten und zu managen.


.

Video: Plant Based Symposium: Dr. Michael Greger (with German subtitles)


Interessante Artikel

Soziale Netzwerke, jeder dritte Freund ist unbekannt

Soziale Netzwerke, jeder dritte Freund ist unbekannt

Soziale Netzwerke sind zu einem neuen Instrument der Sozialisierung geworden, das es Jugendlichen ermöglicht, den Kontakt außerhalb der Schule, zu Gleichaltrigen oder zu Menschen aufrechtzuerhalten,...

Kindheit Autismus, Typen und Symptome

Kindheit Autismus, Typen und Symptome

Autismus ist eine Reihe von Erkrankungen, die als Autismus-Spektrum-Störungen bekannt sind. Diese werden als Asperger-Syndrom, Rett-Syndrom, Kinderdesintegrationsstörung und generalisierte...