Having a television in the bedroom can increase the risk of obesity in children

Having a television in the bedroom can increase the Risk of obesity in children, as evidenced by a study by the Pennington Biomedical Research Center in Baton Rouge, Los Angeles (United States), which has been published in the American Journal of Medicine.

In particular, the main author of this work, Dr. Peter T. Katzmarzyk, hypothesizes that "the high levels of television viewing and the presence of a television in the bedroom are associated with a specific deposit of adiposity and risk cardiometabolic ".

For him, the association established between television and obesity was based on body mass index, however, the association between television and fat mass "is less known". For it, and after concluding the study, indicates that "more than two hours of television a day significantly increase the size of the waist of children."


However, American children between 8 and 18 years old spend an average of 4.5 hours in front of the television, he explains. Of them, "seventy percent have a television in the bedroom and about a third of those between 6 and 19 are obese," he says.

ALSO RELATES TO ELEVATED CHOLESTEROL IN THE ADULT STAGE

In addition, as evidenced by previous work, the time of watching television during childhood and adolescence continues into adulthood, "which translates into excess weight and high cholesterol," he says. Therefore, it was decided to evaluate 369 children between five and 18 years old between 2010 and 2011.

These children had a high body mass index because of "the circumference of their waist, their resting blood pressure, their fasting triglycerides, their high cholesterol and glucose density lipoproteins, their fat mass and their stomach fat", points out Of all the participants, who claimed to have a television in their room had "more fat and subcutaneous adipose tissue mass, as well as a larger waist circumference", observes Katzmarzyk.


Therefore, it follows that children with a television set in their bedroom and watching television for more than two hours a day "are up to 2.5 more likely to have high levels of fat mass," he says. However, owning a television in the room is not only related to obesity, it can also cause "less sleep".

This is explained by the co-author of the study, Dr. Amanda Staiano, who concludes that a television in a child's bedroom "can create additional disturbances to healthy habits."

Video: Weighing the Facts of Obesity


Interesting Articles

Sexting and bullying, better prevent than cure

Sexting and bullying, better prevent than cure

The vocabulary that new technologies have brought is huge. We must mention many terms that previously did not exist, words that unfortunately also define undesirable concepts. An example is the...

Reptiles and amphibians, rare and dangerous pets

Reptiles and amphibians, rare and dangerous pets

"Mom, dad, I want a pet"This phrase, which is so common in homes, is the beginning of a responsibility, not only because this new animal companion requires certain care to ensure its well-being,...

Ein Fernseher im Schlafzimmer kann das Risiko für Fettleibigkeit bei Kindern erhöhen

Einen Fernseher im Schlafzimmer zu haben, kann das erhöhen Gefahr von Fettleibigkeit bei KindernDies belegt eine Studie des Pennington Biomedical Research Center in Baton Rouge, Los Angeles (Vereinigte Staaten), die im American Journal of Medicine veröffentlicht wurde.

Der Hauptautor dieser Arbeit, Dr. Peter T. Katzmarzyk, vermutet insbesondere, dass "das hohe Maß an Fernsehen und das Vorhandensein eines Fernsehers im Schlafzimmer mit einer bestimmten Hinterlegung von Adipositas und Risiko verbunden sind kardiometabolisch ".

Für ihn basierte der Zusammenhang zwischen Fernsehen und Fettleibigkeit auf dem Body-Mass-Index, jedoch ist der Zusammenhang zwischen Fernsehen und Fettmasse "weniger bekannt". Für sie, und nach Abschluss der Studie, heißt es, dass "mehr als zwei Stunden Fernsehen pro Tag die Taille der Kinder signifikant vergrößern".


Amerikanische Kinder zwischen 8 und 18 Jahren verbringen durchschnittlich 4,5 Stunden vor dem Fernseher, erklärt er. "70 Prozent haben einen Fernseher im Schlafzimmer und etwa ein Drittel der Personen zwischen 6 und 19 Jahren sind fettleibig", sagt er.

BEZIEHT SICH AUCH IN DER ERWACHSENEN STUFE MIT ELEVATED CHOLESTEROL

Wie bereits aus früheren Arbeiten hervorgeht, setzt sich die Zeit des Fernsehens während der Kindheit und Jugend bis ins Erwachsenenalter fort, "was sich in übermäßigem Gewicht und hohem Cholesterinwert niederschlägt", sagt er. Daher wurde beschlossen, 369 Kinder zwischen fünf und 18 Jahren zwischen 2010 und 2011 zu bewerten.

Diese Kinder hatten einen hohen Body-Mass-Index wegen "des Umfangs ihrer Taille, ihres ruhenden Blutdrucks, ihrer Fastentriglyceride, ihrer Lipoproteine ​​mit hoher Cholesterin- und Glucosedichte, ihrer Fettmasse und ihres Bauchfetts", weist darauf hin Von allen Teilnehmern, die behaupteten, einen Fernseher in ihrem Zimmer zu haben, hätten "mehr Fett und subkutanes Fettgewebe sowie ein größerer Taillenumfang", beobachtet Katzmarzyk.


Daraus folgt, dass Kinder, die einen Fernseher in ihrem Schlafzimmer haben und länger als zwei Stunden am Tag fernsehen, "bis zu 2,5% häufiger eine hohe Fettmasse haben", sagt er. Der Besitz eines Fernsehers im Raum hängt jedoch nicht nur von Fettleibigkeit ab, sondern kann auch zu "weniger Schlaf" führen.

Dies erklärt der Mitautor der Studie, Dr. Amanda Staiano, die zu dem Schluss kommt, dass ein Fernseher im Kinderzimmer "die gesunden Gewohnheiten zusätzlich stören kann".

Video: 10 Expertentipps zur Bekämpfung von Gichtanfällen


Interessante Artikel

Anaphylaxie bei Kindern, Dekalog der Wirkung der AEP

Anaphylaxie bei Kindern, Dekalog der Wirkung der AEP

Die Gesundheit der Kleinen ist eines der größten Anliegen, das die Eltern jeden Tag durchmachen. Die Integrität Minderjähriger ist nicht immer versichert und es gibt Zeiten, in denen er gefährdet...