Babies should not sleep with light

Most parents tend to always leave a little light for fear that our children will be afraid of the dark. For this reason, it is common to find in the home of many families the light of the corridor lit or some device in the socket that offers a dim light in the baby's room. This custom has become a unnecessary and harmful habit for children, according to experts.

The baby from birth is accustomed to everything we teach him. Therefore, if we leave a light on, you will get used to it and, if you can not find it in the middle of the night, you may end up in a tantrum. It is recommended that babies sleep in a quiet and dark environment since they are born, without any light.


If the baby wakes up in the middle of the night because he is hungry or thirsty, it is best not to turn on the lights inside the baby's room. Let the tranquility and darkness remain in your room.

In the dark, we secrete the hormone melatonin, which helps us regulate the wakefulness of sleep. The more light in the room, the lower the production of melatonin, so it will be more difficult to fall asleep.

Light and myopia in children

A study published in the magazine Nature and made by the Medical Center of the University of Pennsylvania and the Childens Hospital of Philadelphia indicates that a 55 percent of children between 2 and 16 years who have slept with a lamp or light bulb in adulthood had problems with myopia in their vision, five times more than among the children who had slept in the dark during their first years of life.


The study also determined the following results:

- 10 percent of children aged between 2 and 16 years who had slept in the dark until 2 years of age had myopia.

- Up to 34 percent of children of the same age group who slept with light during their first two years of life, also had myopia, the difference is quite obvious, night-light affected 24 percent more children.

The authors want to emphasize that light is not the direct cause of myopia because it is an epidemiological analysis. But they affirm that the absence of darkness in the nocturnal sleep is an important risk factor for the future picture of myopia, since, around the first years of life the eye develops, therefore, it is more vulnerable to the light.

Definitely, We must avoid the use of light as a tool to calm and facilitate sleep. Children should sleep in the dark from birth, this will ensure the health of their eyes and prevent them from suffering from myopia.


Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: Classical Music to Help Baby Sleep * BLACK SCREEN, NO LIGHT


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Babys sollten nicht mit Licht schlafen

Die meisten Eltern neigen dazu, immer etwas Licht zu lassen, um zu befürchten, dass unsere Kinder Angst vor der Dunkelheit haben. Aus diesem Grund ist es üblich, im Haus vieler Familien das Licht des Flurs oder ein Gerät in der Steckdose zu finden, das ein schwaches Licht im Kinderzimmer bietet. Dieser Brauch ist zu einem geworden unnötige und schädliche Gewohnheit für Kinderden Experten zufolge.

Das Baby von Geburt an ist an alles gewöhnt, was wir ihm beibringen. Wenn wir also ein Licht anlassen, werden Sie sich daran gewöhnen, und wenn Sie es mitten in der Nacht nicht finden, können Sie in einem Wutanfall enden. Es wird empfohlen, dass Babys in einer ruhigen und dunklen Umgebung schlafen, da sie ohne Licht geboren werden.


Wenn das Baby mitten in der Nacht aufwacht, weil es hungrig oder durstig ist, ist es am besten, das Licht im Zimmer des Babys nicht einzuschalten. Lassen Sie die Ruhe und Dunkelheit in Ihrem Zimmer liegen.

Im Dunkeln wir scheiden das Hormon Melatonin aus, was uns hilft, die Wachheit des Schlafes zu regulieren. Je mehr Licht im Raum ist, desto geringer ist die Produktion von Melatonin, so dass das Einschlafen schwieriger wird.

Licht und Myopie bei Kindern

Eine in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichte Studie Natur und gemacht von der Medizinisches Zentrum der University of Pennsylvania und die Childens Hospital von Philadelphia zeigt an, dass a 55 Prozent der Kinder zwischen 2 und 16 Jahren, die im Erwachsenenalter mit einer Lampe oder Glühbirne geschlafen haben, hatten Probleme mit ihrer Kurzsichtigkeitfünfmal mehr als bei den Kindern, die in den ersten Lebensjahren im Dunkeln geschlafen hatten.


Die Studie hat auch die folgenden Ergebnisse ermittelt:

- 10 Prozent der Kinder zwischen 2 und 16 Jahren, die bis zum Alter von 2 Jahren im Dunkeln geschlafen hatten, hatten Kurzsichtigkeit.

- Bis zu 34 Prozent der Kinder der gleichen Altersgruppe, die in ihren ersten zwei Lebensjahren mit Licht geschlafen hatten, hatten auch Kurzsichtigkeit. Der Unterschied ist offensichtlich, das Nachtlicht war um 24 Prozent stärker.

Die Autoren möchten betonen, dass Licht nicht die direkte Ursache von Myopie ist, da es sich um eine epidemiologische Analyse handelt. Sie behaupten jedoch, dass das Fehlen von Dunkelheit im nächtlichen Schlaf ein wichtiger Risikofaktor für das zukünftige Bild der Kurzsichtigkeit ist, da sich das Auge um die ersten Lebensjahre herum entwickelt, und daher ist es anfälliger für die Licht

Kurz gesagt, Wir müssen den Gebrauch von Licht vermeiden, um den Schlaf zu beruhigen und zu erleichtern. Kinder sollten von Geburt an im Dunkeln schlafen. Dies sichert die Gesundheit ihrer Augen und verhindert, dass sie an Kurzsichtigkeit leiden.


Noelia de Santiago Monteserín

Video: Kind will nicht ohne Licht schlafen


Interessante Artikel

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Das An- und Ausziehen Ihres Babys ist eine Aufgabe, die Sie fast mit geschlossenen Augen erledigen müssen. Zu Beginn kann es jedoch kompliziert sein, vor allem wenn Sie ein neues Elternteil sind. Die...