Maternal depression and its effects on pregnancy

Pregnancy, although it is a unique and wonderful stage, can become for some women in a time of anguish and difficulty, what is commonly known as maternal depression. Studies show that at least 10% of pregnant women suffer from depression between weeks 6 and 10 of the last trimester.

In addition, at least 50% of women who suffer from depression during pregnancy will also suffer postpartum depression.

Causes and symptoms of maternal depression

Between the Main causes of maternal depression, is the hormonal change that is experienced in this stage, which affects the neurotransmitters of the brain that regulate mood.


Other times, Depression is due more to external factors such as problems with the couple or stressful situations such as work problems, the loss of a loved one, a move or other stress situation.

The loss of previous pregnancies, the submission to a fertility treatment or complications during pregnancy can also place you on the verge of depression.

These factors cause a state in pregnant women known as maternal depression, which It is reflected by means of the following symptoms:

- Persistent sadness
- Sudden changes of mood
- Lack of concentration
- Anxiety
- Irritability
- Problems sleeping
- Exhausted
- Desires to eat at all times or not eat anything


Maternal depression affects the language of the baby

Besides effects that the state of depression has on pregnant women, a study conducted by the University of British Columbia University (UBC), Harvard University and the Children's Hospital of British Columbia has shown that maternal depression it influences the development of their babies' language.

The study followed three groups of mothers: one received treatment for depression with IRS, in another group mothers had depression but did not take antidepressants, and a third group without symptoms of depression. By measuring the changes in heart rate and movement of babies' eyes to sounds and video images of native and non-native languages, the researchers calculated the language development of babies in the womb, when they had been 36 weeks of pregnancy.


The extracted conclusions of this study were the following: the babies of pregnant women who suffered from depression and who were receiving treatment with serotonin inhibitors (IRS) were more able to tune in with the sounds and with the mother tongue, which translates into a greater ease for the future development of language. On the other hand, those of mothers with depression who were not receiving treatment may have more difficulties, so the period of language adjustment will be longer.

Ana Vázquez Recio

Video: Coping with Anxiety and Depression During Pregnancy


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

Mütterliche Depression und ihre Auswirkungen auf die Schwangerschaft

Die Schwangerschaft, obwohl es eine einzigartige und wunderbare Phase ist, kann für einige Frauen in einer Zeit der Angst und Schwierigkeiten werden. was allgemein als mütterliche Depression bekannt ist. Studien zeigen, dass mindestens 10% der schwangeren Frauen in den Wochen 6 bis 10 des letzten Trimesters an Depressionen leiden.

Darüber hinaus leiden mindestens 50% der Frauen, die während der Schwangerschaft unter Depressionen leiden, ebenfalls Postpartum Depression

Ursachen und Symptome einer Depression der Mutter

Unter den Hauptursachen für mütterliche Depressionist die hormonelle Veränderung, die in diesem Stadium erlebt wird, die die Neurotransmitter des Gehirns beeinflusst, die die Stimmung regulieren.


Andere Zeiten Depressionen sind mehr auf externe Faktoren zurückzuführen B. Probleme mit dem Paar oder Stresssituationen wie Arbeitsprobleme, der Verlust eines geliebten Menschen, eine Bewegung oder eine andere Stresssituation.

Der Verlust früherer Schwangerschaften, die Unterwerfung mit einer Fruchtbarkeitsbehandlung oder Komplikationen während der Schwangerschaft können Sie auch an eine Depression bringen.

Diese Faktoren verursachen einen Zustand bei schwangeren Frauen, der als mütterliche Depression bekannt ist Es wird durch folgende Symptome reflektiert:

- Anhaltende Traurigkeit
Plötzliche Stimmungsschwankungen
- mangelnde Konzentration
- Angst
- Reizbarkeit
- Probleme beim Schlafen
- extreme Müdigkeit
- Wünsche, immer zu essen oder nichts zu essen


Mütterliche Depressionen beeinflussen die Sprache des Babys

Neben dem Auswirkungen, die der Zustand der Depression auf schwangere Frauen hat, eine Studie, die von der University of British Columbia (UBC), der Harvard University und dem Children's Hospital von British Columbia durchgeführt wurde, hat gezeigt, dass Depressionen bei Müttern auftreten es beeinflusst die Sprachentwicklung ihrer Babys.

Die Studie folgte drei Gruppen von Müttern: Einer erhielt eine Behandlung gegen Depressionen mit IRS, in einer anderen Gruppe hatten Mütter eine Depression, nahmen jedoch keine Antidepressiva ein und eine dritte Gruppe ohne Depressionssymptome. Durch Messung der Veränderungen der Herzfrequenz und der Bewegung der Augen von Babys in Töne und Videobilder von Muttersprachen und nicht-Muttersprachen berechneten die Forscher die Sprachentwicklung von Babys im Mutterleib, als sie 36 Wochen alt waren der Schwangerschaft.


Die Schlussfolgerungen gezogen dieser Studie waren folgende: Die Babys schwangerer Frauen, die an Depressionen litten und die Behandlung mit Serotonininhibitoren (IRS) erhielten, waren besser in der Lage, sich mit den Geräuschen und der Muttersprache abzustimmen mehr Leichtigkeit für die zukünftige Entwicklung der Sprache. Auf der anderen Seite können Mütter mit Depressionen, die keine Behandlung erhalten haben, mehr Schwierigkeiten haben, so dass die Sprachanpassung länger dauert.

Ana Vázquez Recio

Video: Wohlbefinden in der Schwangerschaft – Interview mit Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Ladwig


Interessante Artikel

Was ist das Wissenschaftssache?

Was ist das Wissenschaftssache?

Von Emilio López-Barajas. UniversitätsprofessorDie wissenschaftliche Methode Angewendet, um Wissen zu erlangen, erlaubt es nicht immer eine vollständige Erfassung der Realität. Derjenige, der in der...

Kinder und Fette: finden Sie den Mittelpunkt

Kinder und Fette: finden Sie den Mittelpunkt

Es ist bewiesen: zu Kinder sie lieben das "fettige" Mahlzeiten. Nuggets, Hamburger, Hot Dogs, Chips usw. Die Fetteinfach so Proteine, die Hydrate oder die Vitamineist für seine Entwicklung...