One in five mothers give birth through cesarean

Childbirth is a complicated process. While being in the hands of a team of professionals avoids many problems. However, all these undesirable situations can not always be avoided and an unforeseen situation can arise when someone least expects it. At this point the Caesarean section it may be the solution that prevents the context from becoming even worse.

An intervention that in recent years has increased among mothers around the world, and especially in first world countries. A situation that the experts relate, in part, to the late maternity that occurs in these countries and that increases the possibility that a birth of this type happens.

More than necessary

According to the study published in the journal The Lancet, 21% of pregnancies in the world end in childbirth Caesarean section. That is, one in five women has their child through this procedure. A percentage that is above what the World Health Organization, WHO, considers as "necessary". This organism indicates that only between 10 and 15% of the cases this intervention is justified.


If you look at the different areas of the world, you can see how it is in more developed countries where these practices predominate. In North America, the cesarean section rate is 32%, same percentage as in Oceania, while in Europe it is 27%. However, in Africa this number is 10%, a figure that is consistent with that recommended by the WHO.

More specifically, in Spain, the cesarean rate is of 24%, figure that is above the WHO recommendation and that exceeds the world average. A symptom of how in later developed countries late motherhood is leading to an increase in these numbers since having a child at more advanced ages increases this risk.


Cesarean sections according to WHO

Do not forget that cesareans are a surgical intervention not without problems. For this reason, and given the importance for the future of the mother and son, the WHO has launched the following statement where they value this procedure:

- Cesarean sections are effective to save the lives of mothers and neonates only when they are necessary for medical reasons.

- At the population level, cesarean rates above 10% are not associated with a reduction in maternal and neonatal mortality rates.

- Caesarean sections can cause significant complications and disabilities, sometimes permanent or even death, especially in places that lack facilities or ability to perform surgeries safely, and to treat surgical complications. Ideally, cesareans should be performed only when they are necessary for medical reasons.


- Everything possible should be done to perform caesarean sections for all women who need it, instead of trying to reach a certain rate.

- The effects of cesarean rates on other outcomes such as stillbirth, maternal and perinatal morbidity, pediatric outcomes and psychological or social well-being are not clear. Additional research is needed to understand the health effects of caesarean sections on some immediate and future outcomes.

Damián Montero

Video: Gentle Cesarean Section Video - Brigham and Women's Hospital


Interesting Articles

Fruit juices and soft drinks: consumption limitations

Fruit juices and soft drinks: consumption limitations

Given the insistent recommendation to include in the daily diet, both children and adults, a greater amount of fruits and vegetables, many people do not notice the difference that may be in consuming...

Increase in toy sales in Spain

Increase in toy sales in Spain

Many times, fashion movies also become the trend in a wide range of sectors, especially the 'merchandasing', with toys as the maximum exponent. This has happened in Spain, where the movie Star Wars...

The use of digital tablets for learning

The use of digital tablets for learning

Although the use ofDigital tablets may present certain disadvantages for children, to carry out activities in the school improves the learning of the students, according to the 87% of the teachers...

How to act in front of a couple discussion

How to act in front of a couple discussion

"I've been trying to explain for many years that there are attitudes towards life and ways of behaving that I do not like and that make me suffer. I'm tired, it does not seem to know and it does...

Jede fünfte Mutter bringt ein Kaiserschnitt zur Welt

Geburt ist ein komplizierter Prozess. Während Sie in den Händen eines professionellen Teams sind, werden viele Probleme vermieden. All diese unerwünschten Situationen können jedoch nicht immer vermieden werden, und es kann eine unvorhergesehene Situation eintreten, wenn jemand es am wenigsten erwartet. An diesem Punkt der Kaiserschnitt Es kann die Lösung sein, die verhindert, dass der Kontext noch schlimmer wird.

Eine Intervention, die in den letzten Jahren bei Müttern auf der ganzen Welt und insbesondere in Ländern der ersten Welt zugenommen hat. Eine Situation, in der sich die Experten zum Teil auf die späte Mutterschaft beziehen, die in diesen Ländern auftritt und die die Situation steigert Möglichkeit dass eine Geburt dieser Art geschieht.

Mehr als nötig

Laut der in der Zeitschrift The Lancet veröffentlichten Studie enden 21% der Schwangerschaften weltweit mit der Geburt Kaiserschnitt. Das heißt, jede fünfte Frau hat ihr Kind durch dieses Verfahren. Ein Prozentsatz, der über dem liegt, was die Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO für "notwendig" hält. Dieser Organismus weist darauf hin, dass nur 10 bis 15% der Fälle dieser Intervention gerechtfertigt sind.


Wenn Sie die verschiedenen Regionen der Welt betrachten, können Sie sehen, wie es in weiter entwickelten Ländern ist, in denen diese Praktiken überwiegen. In NordamerikaDer Anteil des Kaiserschnittes beträgt 32%, genau wie in Ozeanien, während er in Europa 27% beträgt. In Afrika liegt diese Zahl jedoch bei 10%. Dies entspricht der von der WHO empfohlenen Zahl.

Insbesondere in Spanien ist der Kaiserschnitt von 24%, eine Zahl, die über der WHO-Empfehlung liegt und die den Weltdurchschnitt übersteigt. Ein Symptom, wie die spätere Mutterschaft in später entwickelten Ländern zu einem Anstieg dieser Zahlen führt, da ein Kind im fortgeschrittenen Alter dieses Risiko erhöht.


Kaiserschnitt nach WHO

Vergessen Sie nicht, dass Kaiserschnitte ein nicht unproblematischer Eingriff sind. Aus diesem Grund und angesichts der Bedeutung für die Zukunft der Mutter und Sohnhat die WHO die folgende Erklärung abgegeben, in der sie dieses Verfahren schätzen:

- Kaiserschnitte können das Leben von Müttern und Neugeborenen nur dann retten, wenn sie aus medizinischen Gründen erforderlich sind.

- Auf der Bevölkerungsebene ist die Rate von Kaiserschnitt über 10% nicht mit einer Senkung der Sterblichkeitsraten von Müttern und Neugeborenen verbunden.

- Kaiserschnitte können zu erheblichen Komplikationen und Behinderungen führen, manchmal dauerhaft oder sogar zum Tod, insbesondere an Orten, an denen es an Einrichtungen oder Möglichkeiten zur sicheren Durchführung von Operationen und zur Behandlung chirurgischer Komplikationen fehlt. Im Idealfall sollten Kaiserschnitte nur dann durchgeführt werden, wenn sie aus medizinischen Gründen erforderlich sind.


- Es sollte alles Mögliche getan werden, um für alle Frauen, die es brauchen, Kaiserschnitte durchzuführen, anstatt zu versuchen, eine bestimmte Rate zu erreichen.

- Die Auswirkungen der Kaiserschnitte auf andere Endpunkte wie Totgeburten, Morbidität bei Müttern und Perinatalen, pädiatrische Endpunkte und psychisches oder soziales Wohlbefinden sind nicht klar. Zusätzliche Forschung ist erforderlich, um die gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen von Kaiserschnitten auf einige unmittelbare und zukünftige Ergebnisse zu verstehen.

Damián Montero

Video: 10 Mütter - Die so wirklich existieren!


Interessante Artikel

In Spanien wird eines von 13 Babys vorzeitig geboren

In Spanien wird eines von 13 Babys vorzeitig geboren

Die Geburt verfrüht es ist ein problem, das mütter immer mehr beunruhigt. Spanien hat zwar führende Einheiten in der Betreuung von verfrüht und die ausgezeichnete Betreuung, die sie erhalten,...

Fragen und Antworten zum Zika-Virus in Spanien

Fragen und Antworten zum Zika-Virus in Spanien

In letzter Zeit erfahren immer mehr Menschen von dem Zika-Virus, das sich weltweit rasch ausbreitet. Seit 2015, als Fälle in Brasilien aufgedeckt wurden, nimmt die Liste der Orte mit den betroffenen...