Why teenagers stop reading

Instilling children with the habit of reading is essential so that they fall in love with books and do not stop reading later. However, studies and surveys on the reading habits of Spaniards that are published periodically, indicate that around 40% do not read or do very little.

Reading has benefits to encourage imagination, memory and promote concentration. It also reduces school failure because with the practice of reading, children better understand what they read which contributes to progress in the class.

To improve this situation, public institutions launch campaigns to promote reading aimed primarily at children, through contests with prizes on websites and other channels, which calls for the participation of schools and young readers.


Why do teenagers stop reading?

- The use of screens and different digital devices Where images dominate over words is one of the main reasons. Many adolescents are seduced by this type of information and communication, which displaces written messages, although writing and reading continue to be essential.

- From 8 to 10 years old, there are many children who stop reading on paper and switch to digital devices. Therefore, we must "banish" the idea that they do not read, but that many continue to do so, but otherwise through digital devices.

- Many young people comment that they are saturated with compulsory school readings. Reading is an individual and complex activity, which requires effort and must be exercised so that you like it.


- At this age, social relations are prioritized with friends so if they were good readers before, now they abandon the love of reading due to environmental pressure.

How to prevent teenagers from moving away from reading

Ideas for teenagers to like to read.

- It is essential to give them resources according to their reading interests. In the last years of primary school and the first ones of the ESO, they have a predilection for characters more or less of their age, for themes of adventure, terror, science fiction, etc. As connoisseurs of new technologies, they also like interactive books that combine the part written on paper with graphic material, videos, chats and soundtracks through the network.

- A basic idea is to see us read. Our example is important because from a very young age children learn by imitating us.


- In order to "talk about books" with them, It is important that we know some of the novelties that are published, in order to be able to give opinions and help them to choose new titles of a collection or genre that interests them.

- Take advantage of anniversaries or some holiday to give them books.

- Have the membership card of a library in order to choose books and comics and participate in Reading Clubs and share their opinions with other people of similar age. Many comment their favorite readings to their friends through social networks.

- The availability of library books It helps us to refute being told that buying books is expensive.

- Although parents are not great readers, It is interesting that books are present in our home.

Mercedes Corbella. Psychologist and diploma in Social Work.

Video: Promoting Love Of Reading For Teens


Interesting Articles

5 tricks for a perfect snack

5 tricks for a perfect snack

There is a misconception about the need to distribute the meals in five takes to guarantee energy for the whole day. However, this distribution has other benefits, such as avoiding chopping between...

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

The Postpartum girdles are, like the 'normal' strips, products that They serve to stylize the figure of women, in this case after the changes produced in your belly after delivery. Beyond the pros...

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

Most young people would like to have a magical recipe or a crystal ball to ver the future and be able to decide what career to study after finishing Baccalaureate. And we would like to provide it to...

Why you should not use baby walker

Why you should not use baby walker

When the babies they start to walk Many parents may consider the need for cBuy a walker. That object that many will have had when they were children and that allowed children to "walk" while...

Warum Teenager aufhören zu lesen

Kindern die Gewohnheit des Lesens zu vermitteln, ist wichtig, damit sie sich in Bücher verlieben und später nicht aufhören zu lesen. Studien und Umfragen zu den regelmäßig veröffentlichten Lesegewohnheiten von Spaniern weisen jedoch darauf hin, dass rund 40% nicht lesen oder sehr wenig tun.

Lesen hat Vorteile, um die Vorstellungskraft, das Gedächtnis und die Konzentration zu fördern. Es reduziert auch Schulversagen, weil Kinder durch das Lesen besser verstehen, was sie lesen, was zum Fortschritt in der Klasse beiträgt.

Um diese Situation zu verbessern, starten öffentliche Einrichtungen Kampagnen zur Leseförderung, die sich in erster Linie an Kinder richten, und zwar durch Wettbewerbe mit Preisen auf Websites und anderen Kanälen, bei denen Schulen und junge Leser mitwirken.


Warum hören Teenager auf zu lesen?

- Die Verwendung von Bildschirmen und verschiedenen digitalen Geräten Wo Bilder über Wörter dominieren, ist einer der Hauptgründe. Viele Jugendliche werden von dieser Art von Information und Kommunikation verführt, wodurch geschriebene Botschaften verdrängt werden, obwohl Schreiben und Lesen nach wie vor unerlässlich sind.

- Im Alter von 8 bis 10 Jahren hören viele Kinder auf Papier zu lesen und wechseln zu digitalen Geräten. Daher müssen wir die Idee "verbannen", dass sie nicht lesen, aber viele dies weiterhin tun, aber sonst durch digitale Geräte.

- Viele junge Leute sagen, dass sie mit Pflichtschullesungen gesättigt sind. Lesen ist eine individuelle und komplexe Tätigkeit, die Anstrengung erfordert und ausgeführt werden muss, damit Sie es mögen.


- In diesem Alter haben die sozialen Beziehungen Priorität Mit Freunden also, wenn sie zuvor gute Leser waren, geben sie jetzt die Liebe zum Lesen aufgrund von Umweltdruck auf.

Wie kann man Jugendliche davon abhalten, sich vom Lesen zu entfernen?

Ideen für Teenager zum Lesen.

- Es ist wichtig, ihnen Ressourcen entsprechend ihren Lesinteressen zu geben. In den letzten Jahren der Grundschule und den ersten der ESO haben sie eine Vorliebe für Charaktere, die mehr oder weniger ihres Alters sind, für Themen wie Abenteuer, Terror, Science Fiction usw. Als Kenner neuer Technologien mögen sie auch interaktive Bücher, die den auf Papier geschriebenen Teil mit Grafikmaterial, Videos, Chats und Soundtracks durch das Netzwerk verbinden.

- Eine Grundidee ist, uns lesen zu sehen. Unser Beispiel ist wichtig, weil Kinder von klein auf lernen, indem sie uns nachahmen.


- Um mit ihnen "über Bücher zu sprechen", Es ist wichtig, dass wir einige der Neuerungen kennen, die veröffentlicht werden, um Meinungen abgeben zu können und ihnen zu helfen, neue Titel einer Sammlung oder eines Genres auszuwählen, die sie interessieren.

- Nutzen Sie Jubiläen oder einen Urlaub, um ihnen Bücher zu geben.

- Besitzen Sie die Mitgliedskarte einer Bibliothek Um Bücher und Comics auszuwählen und an Leseclubs teilzunehmen, teilen Sie ihre Meinung mit Gleichaltrigen. Viele kommentieren ihre Lieblingslesungen über soziale Netzwerke zu ihren Freunden.

- Die Verfügbarkeit von Bibliotheksbüchern Dies hilft uns zu widerlegen, wenn man sagt, dass der Kauf von Büchern teuer ist.

- Obwohl Eltern keine großen Leser sind, Es ist interessant, dass Bücher in unserem Haus vorhanden sind.

Mercedes Corbella. Psychologe und Diplom in Sozialarbeit.

Video: 12 Partyspiele für Erwachsene, die du noch nie gespielt hast


Interessante Artikel

Die Vorteile von Lachen beim Lernen von Kindern

Die Vorteile von Lachen beim Lernen von Kindern

Lachen Es ist eine Aktivität, die sich aus verschiedenen Gründen lohnt: Sie löst Stress, schafft unauslöschliche Erinnerungen, lässt uns Spaß haben und Kinder lernen schneller. Zu diesem Schluss...

Cannabis: 36% der neuen Verbraucher sind Teenager

Cannabis: 36% der neuen Verbraucher sind Teenager

Cannabis ist die am meisten konsumierte Droge von Minderjährigen, wenn sie beginnen, toxische Substanzen zu verbrauchen und sogar Tabak zu übertreffen. Dies ist eine der Schlussfolgerungen, die sich...