Emotional self-regulation

Some studies consider that adults with self-regulation difficulties since childhood present a high risk of social maladjustment. The process of acquiring the self-regulation emotional It begins in the first months of life and lasts until adulthood.

To achieve emotional maturity each child follows his own course: what some get quickly, others achieve it with more effort. The fundamental thing is to persevere and help them.

The ability to handle emotions and feelings

The emotional self-regulation it is the capacity to experience emotions (positive or negative) in a moderate and flexible way, as well as the ability to handle them. Owning it implies that the person is aware of their own emotions, expresses them adequately and knows how to control them when they are no longer necessary. It is one of the most important components of emotional intelligence.


This quality is acquired through internal and external factors, which will determine the impact of our emotional reactions on ourselves. Temperament is one of the main internal factors and refers, on the one hand, to our sensitivity to experience emotions and, on the other, to the intensity with which we react to them.

Emotional self-regulation is mainly characterized by neurophysiological elements and has an important hereditary component. Temperament is a determining factor when regulating emotions during the first months of life in children. Thus, there will be babies with greater sensitivity and intensity to emotions -such as discomfort- that will be more difficult to calm, while other babies, under the same circumstances, will react more moderately and will calm down more easily.


External factors of emotional self-regulation

1. LearningThe most important has to do with educational aspects and refers to the role of parents as guides to facilitate the acquisition of self-regulation in children.

As the child grows, he tries to harmonize both groups of factors through learning, experience, the environment that surrounds him, and the models of self-regulation that he observes in his attachment figures. The emotional maturity will be the result of this exciting task, beginning in the first months of life and lasting until adulthood.

2. Tolerance to frustration. Emotional self-regulation is receiving increasing attention from clinical psychology due to the high demand for children and adolescents (including adults) with problems in this area. These are patients who can not tolerate a no response, act through tantrums difficult to contain, use aggression as the only resource to manage anger and frustration and have serious problems in daily coexistence. One of the most disabling consequences, the result of this lack, is the difficulty they have to set goals that imply tolerating some discomfort along the way. "Over-react" to the frustration in such a way that they end up overflowing, refusing to make future beneficial decisions because it generates emotional costs.


3. Social adaptation. Some studies consider that adults with self-regulation difficulties since childhood present a high risk of social maladjustment. This is manifested through greater couple conflicts, incompetence in the education of children in emotional aspects or problems in the workplace and social relations. On the contrary, emotional maturity is a protective factor against mental disorders such as anxiety and depression.

4. The character. Positive psychology has also been greatly interested in this quality. So much so that it has been included as one of the twenty-four character strengths of the human being. Along with three other strengths (ability to forgive, humility and prudence) are part of the virtue of moderation.

Evolutionary aspects in childhood

The process of acquisition of emotional self-regulation begins in the first months of life and lasts until adulthood. The emergence of different strategies for the self-control of the child is parallel to its evolutionary development.

1. During the first months of life, Babies base their self-regulation with passive strategies and still very little elaborated. Of all of them, the most important is based on the search for its source of security (its figure of attachment). When the baby suffers from discomfort, in addition to needing to cover his basic needs, he asks for the warmth and safety of his parents until he becomes calm.

Contrary to what some currents say, it is discouraging to take a baby too much in his arms, because if ... it is "badly accustomed", the reality is that a baby needs to develop an external regulation first - the one provided by the parents grabbing him, caressing him, etc. - to subsequently initiate an internal regulation.Without the first, the subsequent acquisition of autonomous strategies of self-regulation would not be possible. Already classic studies demonstrate a clear relationship between the prolonged absence of an affective bond of the baby with an attachment figure and a type of depression called anaclitic depression, which, in its most severe form, can lead to marasmus and death of the baby.

2. A second evolutionary change occurs after the child acquires greater psychomotor skills (pick up objects, crawl, direct the gaze, etc.). From then on, new more complex and complex emotional regulation strategies emerge, such as approaching the object that causes the emotional alteration, rejecting it (for example with the hands), fleeing from this source (with the crawling), refocusing the attention in another place or the use of distraction with the help of other objects (in addition to maintaining the parents' search for protection).

The fact that a child uses a certain type of strategy in these ages is influenced by the temperament and by the quality of the interaction he has with his caregivers. At this stage, the child can begin to regulate autonomously in a more effective way, even if it is still immature. It is not necessary to always go to the arms of the parents, because sometimes he is able to calm down with his own resources. It is important, however, to pay attention to the individuality of each child. Some will be more reactive and intense and will still need more external support (parents), than those that take longer to alter and do so with less intensity.

Video: Developing Emotion Self-Regulation


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

Emotionale Selbstregulierung

Einige Studien gehen davon aus, dass Erwachsene mit Schwierigkeiten bei der Selbstregulierung seit ihrer Kindheit ein hohes Risiko für soziale Fehlanpassungen aufweisen. Der Prozess des Erwerbs der Selbstregulierung emotional Es beginnt in den ersten Lebensmonaten und dauert bis zum Erwachsenenalter.

Um emotionale Reife zu erreichen, folgt jedes Kind seinem eigenen Weg: Was manche schnell bekommen, andere schaffen es mit mehr Anstrengung. Die grundlegende Sache ist, durchzuhalten und ihnen zu helfen.

Die Fähigkeit, mit Emotionen und Gefühlen umzugehen

Die emotionale Selbstregulierung Es ist die Fähigkeit, Emotionen (positiv oder negativ) moderat und flexibel zu erleben sowie mit ihnen umzugehen. Ihr Besitz bedeutet, dass die Person sich ihrer eigenen Emotionen bewusst ist, sie angemessen ausdrückt und sie zu beherrschen weiß, wenn sie nicht mehr benötigt werden. Es ist eine der wichtigsten Komponenten der emotionalen Intelligenz.


Diese Qualität wird durch interne und externe Faktoren erworben, die den Einfluss unserer emotionalen Reaktionen auf uns selbst bestimmen. Temperament ist einer der wichtigsten inneren Faktoren und bezieht sich zum einen auf unsere Sensibilität, Emotionen zu erleben, und zum anderen auf die Intensität, mit der wir auf sie reagieren.

Die emotionale Selbstregulation ist hauptsächlich durch neurophysiologische Elemente gekennzeichnet und hat eine wichtige erbliche Komponente. Das Temperament ist ein entscheidender Faktor bei der Regulierung von Emotionen in den ersten Lebensmonaten von Kindern. So wird es Babys geben, die empfindlicher und intensiver auf Emotionen reagieren - wie etwa Unbehagen -, die schwieriger zu beruhigen sind, während andere Babys unter den gleichen Umständen mäßiger reagieren und sich leichter beruhigen werden.


Äußere Faktoren der emotionalen Selbstregulation

1. lernenDas wichtigste bezieht sich auf pädagogische Aspekte und verweist auf die Rolle der Eltern als Orientierungshilfe, um den Erwerb von Selbstregulierung bei Kindern zu erleichtern.

Wenn das Kind wächst, versucht es, beide Faktorengruppen durch Lernen, Erleben, die Umgebung, die es umgibt, und die Modelle der Selbstregulierung, die er in seinen Bindungsfiguren beobachtet, miteinander in Einklang zu bringen. Die emotionale Reife wird das Ergebnis dieser aufregenden Aufgabe sein, beginnend in den ersten Lebensmonaten und bis zum Erwachsenenalter.

2. Toleranz gegenüber Frustration. Die emotionale Selbstregulierung findet in der klinischen Psychologie aufgrund der hohen Nachfrage nach Kindern und Jugendlichen (einschließlich Erwachsenen) mit Problemen in diesem Bereich zunehmend Beachtung. Dies sind Patienten, die ein Nein nicht tolerieren können, durch Wutanfälle handeln, die nur schwer einzudämmen sind, Aggression als einzige Ressource zur Bewältigung von Ärger und Frustration verwenden und schwerwiegende Probleme im täglichen Zusammenleben haben. Eine der schwerwiegendsten Konsequenzen, das Ergebnis dieses Mangels, ist die Schwierigkeit, sich Ziele zu setzen, die auf dem Weg einige Unannehmlichkeiten zulassen. Auf die Frustration "überreagieren", so dass sie überlaufen und sich weigern, zukünftige Entscheidungen zu treffen, da dies emotionale Kosten verursacht.


3. Soziale Anpassung Einige Studien gehen davon aus, dass Erwachsene mit Schwierigkeiten bei der Selbstregulierung seit ihrer Kindheit ein hohes Risiko für soziale Fehlanpassungen aufweisen. Dies äußert sich in größeren Paarkonflikten, Inkompetenz bei der Erziehung von Kindern in emotionalen Aspekten oder Problemen am Arbeitsplatz und in sozialen Beziehungen. Im Gegenteil, die emotionale Reife ist ein Schutzfaktor gegen psychische Störungen wie Angstzustände und Depressionen.

4. Der Charakter Die positive Psychologie war auch sehr an dieser Qualität interessiert. So sehr, dass es als eine der vierundzwanzig Charakterstärken des Menschen aufgenommen wurde. Neben drei anderen Stärken (Verzeihungsfähigkeit, Demut und Klugheit) gehört dies zur Tugend der Mäßigung.

Evolutionäre Aspekte in der Kindheit

Der Prozess des Erwerbs der emotionalen Selbstregulation beginnt in den ersten Lebensmonaten und dauert bis zum Erwachsenenalter. Die Entstehung verschiedener Strategien zur Selbstkontrolle des Kindes verläuft parallel zu seiner evolutionären Entwicklung.

1. Während der ersten Lebensmonate Babys stützen ihre Selbstregulierung mit passiven Strategien und sind noch wenig entwickelt. Die wichtigste davon ist die Suche nach ihrer Sicherheitsquelle (ihrer Bindungsfigur). Wenn das Baby unter Beschwerden leidet und nicht nur seine Grundbedürfnisse decken muss, bittet es um die Wärme und Sicherheit seiner Eltern, bis es sich beruhigt.

Im Gegensatz zu dem, was manche Strömungen sagen, ist es entmutigend, ein Baby zu viel in die Arme zu nehmen, denn wenn ... es "schlecht gewöhnt" ist, ist die Realität, dass ein Baby zuerst eine externe Regulierung entwickeln muss - die von der Eltern packten ihn, streichelten ihn usw. - um anschließend eine interne Regelung einzuleiten.Ohne den ersten wäre die spätere Erlangung autonomer Strategien der Selbstregulierung nicht möglich. Bereits klassische Studien belegen einen eindeutigen Zusammenhang zwischen dem anhaltenden Fehlen einer affektiven Bindung des Babys mit einer Anhaftungsfigur und einer als anaklitische Depression bezeichneten Depression, die in ihrer schwersten Form zu Marasmus und Tod des Babys führen kann.

2. Eine zweite evolutionäre Veränderung tritt ein, nachdem das Kind größere psychomotorische Fähigkeiten erworben hat (Gegenstände aufheben, krabbeln, den Blick richten usw.). Von da an entstehen neue, komplexere und komplexere emotionale Regulierungsstrategien, z. B. Annäherung an das Objekt, das die emotionale Veränderung verursacht, Ablehnung (z. B. mit den Händen), Flucht aus dieser Quelle (beim Krabbeln), Neuorientierung der Aufmerksamkeit an anderer Stelle oder die Verwendung von Ablenkung mit Hilfe anderer Objekte (zusätzlich zur Aufrechterhaltung der Suche der Eltern nach Schutz).

Die Tatsache, dass ein Kind in diesen Zeiten eine bestimmte Strategie anwendet, wird durch das Temperament und die Qualität der Interaktion mit seinen Betreuern beeinflusst. In diesem Stadium kann das Kind auf eine effektivere Weise autonom regeln, auch wenn es noch unreif ist. Es ist nicht notwendig, sich immer in die Arme der Eltern zu begeben, da er sich manchmal mit eigenen Mitteln beruhigen kann. Es ist jedoch wichtig, auf die Individualität jedes Kindes zu achten. Einige werden reaktiver und intensiver sein und benötigen immer noch mehr externe Unterstützung (Eltern) als diejenigen, die länger brauchen und sich mit geringerer Intensität verändern.

Video: Selbstregulation bei Kindern


Interessante Artikel

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Sei ein Anführer Es bedeutet, über eine Reihe von Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten zu verfügen, die es ermöglichen, eine Gruppe von Personen auf organisierte Weise zu führen ein gemeinsames Ziel...

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Unbeholfen, langsam, problematisch ... sind nur einige der Begriffe, mit denen Kinder definiert werden, die an bestimmten Lernproblemen leiden. Sie sind nicht in der Lage, mit der gleichen...