Reasons for the collapse of parental authority in our society

Scenes of children who ignore their parents, disobey their rules or disregard their advice are repeated frequently. Adolescence is used to justify this rebellious character, although this behavior begins every time before. Young children already impose their preferences at the table or choose the television channel they want to watch while parents obey without resistance. This disappearance of the family hierarchy is what the psychiatrist Leonard Sax raises in his book The collapse of authority. How not to abdicate before the dictatorship of networks and social pressure

His experience in dealing with children, adolescents and families helps Sax to make a portrait of American youth, although many characteristics and behaviors are similar in other countries. However, the most important of all and the origin of the other problems is the lack of parental authority.


The parents of the 21st century invest in education more than in any other stage. Everyone is clear that they want the best school for their children, with the aim of one day going to college and get a recognized and well-paid job. Thus, they do not forget language training and extracurricular activities of any discipline, whether artistic or sports, or both if possible. However, from doors to inside, and also in public, something fails.

Sax recognizes in The collapse of authority that parents have transferred power to their children and they no longer value their opinions or their experience and are guided by what their peers dictate. This lack of authority from their superiors not only generates despair in the elderly but causes problems in the child.


Lack of authority and problems in children

For Leonard Sax, the lack of authority is reflected in the relationship of children with food, activity and sleep, with its consequent impact on their day to day and their future.

- Obese children: The "little dictators" no longer want to eat vegetables. Now their menu is made up of fried foods, batters, prefabricated food, industrial pastries and sugary drinks. A diet loaded with fats, dyes and sugar tolerated by parents. Sax explains that parents have gone from ordering their children to eat what is on the plate, because it is the only option, to ask for it as a favor in exchange for something they like. In addition, hyperconnectivity has made children forget street games and opt for any activity that does not require leaving home, so that physical activity is reduced. Nor should we forget the lack of hours of sleep, as a result of sleepless nights in front of the mobile, the computer or any other device.


- Medicated children: For Sax, the increase in children taking medication to control their character or cope with their problems is due to parents seeking a quick solution. In his opinion, many times these alterations would be solved through the teaching of self-control. Self-control when eating, self-control when interacting with others or self-control in the hours of play and rest. According to the author of The collapse of authority, parents expect a medical diagnosis that can be solved by pills and chemical treatments, because they prefer to think that their children have a disease to recognize their part of guilt in the education they are given. Sax gives two tips to parents to reduce their children's medication or even withdraw it: give them orders and dine with them, with the express prohibition of mobiles at the table.

- Children left behind at school: At this point, the psychiatrist focuses more on the cultural problems of the United States and qualifies that in each country there are different cultural conditions that influence. In the case of the United States, the delay of children in school is the result of overinvestment in technology, excessive sports and lack of selection in the faculties of teaching.

- Fragile children: This fragility of which Sax speaks is not that of his physique, but that of his self-esteem. The weakness of the relationship between parents and children due to the lack of authority is due to the breakdown of the bond between them and the construction of relationships between equals. These, far from helping development, undermine their security, while family relationships are what bring confidence and determination, according to Sax.

These scenarios saturate parents, who do not know how to react and wonder if their children will have a remedy. Sax's answer in The collapse of authority Yes, there is a solution, but it goes through the teaching of self-control and diligence.

"Self-control in childhood predicts success in adulthood," says Sax, adding that a "consistent imposition of the rules" must be carried out. Also, remind parents that diligence is not innate, but you have to "teach by example".

Solutions to recover authority

- Teach in humility: This quality is the key to avoiding frustration when something is not achieved. For this, it is necessary to teach the children to be satisfied with what they have, because "the culture of humility leads to gratitude, appreciation and satisfaction." The first step to cultivating humility is to start with small assignments.

- Teach to enjoy: It is not just that children enjoy each other or with activities for them, but to enjoy as a family, all together of the same leisure time. Sometimes, these plans arise spontaneously, but Sax recommends planning them, so that they do not fall in the last place on the parents' agendas.

- Teach the meaning of life: Teaching the meaning of life is nothing other than teaching the sense of effort and what it entails. The effort sometimes gets a reward, but sometimes not, and it is important that children know it from childhood. Sax speaks in the collapse of the authority of the "metaphor Flashdance", in allusion to the movie of the 80s and the continuous struggle to achieve dreams, because the opposite would be failure. In the opinion of Sax, this is a dangerous vision and prefers to focus the meaning of life on effort, gratitude, humility and diligence.

Noelia Fernández Aceituno

More information in the book The collapse of authority, by Leonard Sax. Editorial Word.

Video: Why Marriage and the Family in America Is in Decline: Analysis (1998)


Interesting Articles

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

The dyslexia it is one of the disorders that can most affect the children's equation. Those who go through these situations present a greater difficulty to read and therefore to understand those...

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

The changes that are observed in children from 10 to 12 years old are many and varied, not only because this age is precisely that of change from childhood to preadolescence, but also because they...

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

The pathological It is a very serious problem that has increased in recent times as a result of the expansion of new technologies. Smartphones with an internet connection allow you to place bets...

Gründe für den Zusammenbruch der elterlichen Gewalt in unserer Gesellschaft

Szenen von Kindern, die ihre Eltern ignorieren, ihre Regeln nicht befolgen oder ihren Rat missachten, werden häufig wiederholt. Die Adoleszenz wird verwendet, um diesen rebellischen Charakter zu rechtfertigen, obwohl dieses Verhalten jedes Mal von vorn beginnt. Junge Kinder legen bereits am Tisch ihre Vorlieben fest oder wählen den Fernsehkanal, den sie sehen wollen, während die Eltern ohne Widerstand gehorchen. Dieses Verschwinden der Familienhierarchie bringt der Psychiater Leonard Sax in seinem Buch auf Der Zusammenbruch der Autorität. Wie kann man nicht vor der Diktatur von Netzwerken und sozialem Druck abdanken?

Seine Erfahrung im Umgang mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Familien hilft Sax dabei, ein Porträt amerikanischer Jugendlicher zu machen, obwohl viele Merkmale und Verhaltensweisen in anderen Ländern ähnlich sind. Das wichtigste von allen und der Ursprung der anderen Probleme ist jedoch der Mangel an elterlicher Gewalt.


Die Eltern des 21. Jahrhunderts investieren mehr als in andere Stadien in Bildung. Jeder ist sich klar, dass er die beste Schule für seine Kinder will, mit dem Ziel, eines Tages aufs College zu gehen und einen anerkannten und gut bezahlten Job zu bekommen. Daher vergessen sie nicht das Sprachtraining und außerschulische Aktivitäten jeglicher Disziplin, ob künstlerisch oder sportlich oder beides, wenn möglich. Von der Tür nach innen und auch in der Öffentlichkeit scheitert jedoch etwas.

Sax erkennt in Der Zusammenbruch der Autorität dass Eltern ihren Kindern die Macht übertragen haben und dass sie ihre Meinungen oder Erfahrungen nicht mehr wertschätzen und sich nach dem richten, was ihre Altersgenossen diktieren. Dieser Mangel an Autorität von ihren Vorgesetzten erzeugt nicht nur Verzweiflung bei älteren Menschen, sondern führt auch zu Problemen bei dem Kind.


Mangel an Autorität und Problemen bei Kindern

Für Leonard Sax spiegelt sich der Mangel an Autorität in der Beziehung der Kinder zu Essen, Aktivität und Schlaf wider, was sich auf ihren Alltag und ihre Zukunft auswirkt.

- Übergewichtige Kinder: Die "kleinen Diktatoren" wollen kein Gemüse mehr essen. Ihr Menü besteht jetzt aus frittierten Speisen, Teigwaren, Fertiggerichten, industriellem Gebäck und zuckerhaltigen Getränken. Eine Diät mit Fetten, Farbstoffen und Zucker, die von den Eltern toleriert werden. Sax erklärt, dass Eltern nicht mehr von ihren Kindern befohlen haben, das zu essen, was auf dem Teller steht, weil es die einzige Möglichkeit ist, als Gegenleistung dafür etwas zu verlangen, was ihnen gefällt. Darüber hinaus hat die Hyperkonnektivität dazu geführt, dass Kinder die Straßenspiele vergessen und sich für alle Aktivitäten entscheiden, bei denen das Haus nicht verlassen werden muss, sodass die körperliche Aktivität reduziert wird. Wir sollten auch nicht vergessen, dass es keine Schlafstunden gibt, die durch schlaflose Nächte vor dem Handy, dem Computer oder einem anderen Gerät verursacht werden.


- Medizinische Kinder: Für Sax ist es der Grund, dass Kinder vermehrt Medikamente einnehmen, um ihren Charakter zu kontrollieren oder mit ihren Problemen fertig zu werden, weil die Eltern eine schnelle Lösung suchen. Seiner Meinung nach würden diese Veränderungen oft durch die Lehre der Selbstkontrolle gelöst werden. Selbstkontrolle beim Essen, Selbstkontrolle im Umgang mit anderen oder Selbstkontrolle während der Spiel- und Ruhezeiten. Laut dem Autor von Der Zusammenbruch der Autorität Eltern erwarten eine medizinische Diagnose, die durch Pillen und chemische Behandlungen gelöst werden kann, da sie lieber glauben, dass ihre Kinder an einer Krankheit leiden, um ihren Teil der Schuld in der Ausbildung zu erkennen. Sax gibt den Eltern zwei Tipps, um die Medikation ihrer Kinder zu reduzieren oder sogar zurückzuziehen: Geben Sie ihnen Anweisungen und essen Sie mit ihnen, mit dem ausdrücklichen Verbot von Handys am Tisch.

- Kinder in der Schule zurückgelassenAn dieser Stelle konzentriert sich der Psychiater stärker auf die kulturellen Probleme der Vereinigten Staaten und qualifiziert, dass in jedem Land unterschiedliche kulturelle Bedingungen bestehen, die Einfluss haben. In den Vereinigten Staaten ist die Verspätung von Kindern in der Schule das Ergebnis von übermäßigen Investitionen in Technologie, übermäßigem Sport und mangelnder Auswahl in den Fakultäten für den Unterricht.

- Zerbrechliche Kinder: Diese Zerbrechlichkeit, von der Sax spricht, ist nicht die seines Körpers, sondern die seines Selbstwertgefühls. Die Schwäche der Beziehung zwischen Eltern und Kindern aufgrund mangelnder Autorität ist auf den Zusammenbruch der Bindung zwischen ihnen und den Aufbau von Beziehungen zwischen Gleichgestellten zurückzuführen. Diese sind weit davon entfernt, der Entwicklung zu helfen, ihre Sicherheit zu untergraben, während familiäre Beziehungen Vertrauen und Entschlossenheit bringen, so Sax.

Diese Szenarien versauen Eltern, die nicht wissen, wie sie reagieren sollen, und fragen sich, ob ihre Kinder Abhilfe schaffen. Sax Antwort Der Zusammenbruch der Autorität Ja, es gibt eine Lösung, aber es geht um die Lehre von Selbstkontrolle und Fleiß.

"Die Selbstkontrolle in der Kindheit sagt den Erfolg im Erwachsenenalter voraus", sagt Sax. Er fügt hinzu, dass eine "konsequente Auferlegung der Regeln" durchgeführt werden muss. Erinnern Sie die Eltern auch daran, dass Fleiß nicht angeboren ist, aber Sie müssen "durch Beispiel lehren".

Lösungen zur Wiedererlangung der Autorität

- Lehren Sie in Demut: Diese Qualität ist der Schlüssel zur Vermeidung von Frustration, wenn etwas nicht erreicht wird. Dazu ist es notwendig, den Kindern beizubringen, mit dem, was sie haben, zufrieden zu sein, denn "die Kultur der Demut führt zu Dankbarkeit, Wertschätzung und Zufriedenheit." Der erste Schritt zur Kultivierung der Demut ist, mit kleinen Aufgaben zu beginnen.

- Lehren, um zu genießen: Es ist nicht nur so, dass Kinder sich untereinander oder mit Aktivitäten für sie amüsieren, sondern als Familie zusammen Spaß haben. Manchmal entstehen diese Pläne spontan, aber Sax empfiehlt, sie so zu planen, dass sie nicht in letzter Instanz auf die Tagesordnung der Eltern fallen.

- Lehren Sie den Sinn des Lebens: Den Sinn des Lebens zu lehren, ist nichts anderes als das Gefühl der Anstrengung und das, was damit verbunden ist. Die Anstrengung wird manchmal belohnt, manchmal aber auch nicht, und es ist wichtig, dass Kinder es von Kindheit an kennen. Sax spricht im Zusammenbruch der Autorität der "Metapher Flashdance", in Anspielung auf den Film der 80er Jahre und den ständigen Kampf um Träume, denn das Gegenteil wäre ein Scheitern. Nach Ansicht von Sax ist dies eine gefährliche Vision und zieht es vor, die Bedeutung des Lebens auf Anstrengung, Dankbarkeit, Demut und Fleiß zu fokussieren.

Noelia Fernández Aceituno

Weitere Informationen im Buch Der Zusammenbruch der Autoritätvon Leonard Sax. Redaktionelles Wort.

Video: What is Consciousness? What is Its Purpose?


Interessante Artikel

Genießen Sie alle Vorteile des Tabakentzugs

Genießen Sie alle Vorteile des Tabakentzugs

Rauchen ist in den Industrieländern die häufigste Todesursache, und doch sind ungefähr 33% der Weltbevölkerung ein gewöhnlicher Tabakkonsument. Aufhören mit dem Rauchen ist vorteilhaft für die kurz-...

7 Tipps, um die Sicht während des Lesens zu beachten

7 Tipps, um die Sicht während des Lesens zu beachten

Ob zur Arbeit oder zum Vergnügen, wir verbringen jedes Mal mehr Zeit mit dem Lesen. Fortschritte haben das klassische Format in die Rolle von Büchern verwandelt, und obwohl es immer noch der Favorit...

Stadtpläne mit Kindern gegen die Hitze

Stadtpläne mit Kindern gegen die Hitze

Urlaub und Freizeit zu genießen, ist das Ziel vieler Familien mit Kindern im Sommer. Zur Bekämpfung der Hitze gibt es nichts Besseres, als über Wasseraktivitäten nachzudenken, damit Kinder Spaß haben...