How to protect the eyes in winter

The ocular dryness, which occurs due to the effect of heating, and the lack of protection against ultraviolet rays, especially when practicing winter sports in snowy areas, are the main dangers to maintain good visual health in winter. For this reason, it is essential to know a series of tips to prevent these eye problems.

How to combat dry eyes

The heating, the air conditioning and the permanence in closed air-conditioned places cause the ocular dryness, a characteristic problem of the winter months.

The discomfort that the Dry Eye It is characterized by notching or burning, as if something had got into the eye. Blink frequently is the best natural way to hydrate the eyes, as the blinking produces the tear, but when the problem persists or becomes chronic it is convenient to use artificial tears, drops or moisturizing eye drops. Eduardo Ladrón de Guevara, president of Federópticos, highlights that "this problem is more common in users of contact lenses, so it's important to properly lubricate the lens and the eyes. "There are contact lenses that release moisturizers during use or that have a greater ability to retain water.


In any case, it is highly recommended to use humidifiers or, simply, to place in the room a container with water near the heat source, which reduces the dryness in the environment.

Sunglasses, essential to avoid eye injuries in winter

We know that on the beach it is necessary to wear sunglasses, but it is even more important to wear them in winter, especially when we go to the snow and practice winter sports. Various studies have revealed that on the beach the eyes can receive between a 10 and 25 percent of the sun's rays when they bounce off the sand or the sea, but this percentage rises to 80 percent when in winter sunlight bounces on the snow.


In addition, the same happens on cloudy days. Although it is not sunny, 90 percent of the ultraviolet rays pass through the low density clouds and reach the ground, causing the same rebound effect as direct light, which can damage our vision. This problem is higher to higher compared to sea levelFor this reason, wearing sunglasses in the snow is even more necessary. Finally, in winter the position of the earth changes with respect to the sun, which is lower, which facilitates the sun's rays hitting the eye directly.

Eduardo Ladrón de Guevara, president of Federópticos, states that "in winter there are two main dangers for our eyes, too dry environments that can cause dry eyes and ultraviolet rays, to which we open the door and lower our guard when there is no sun, but they are. "

Therefore, in winter it is essential to continue eye care. Eduardo Ladrón de Guevara recalls that "it is important to use Sunglasses approved also in winter, because they reduce the reflection and protect from other harmful agents, such as the very cold wind ".


Damages caused by ultraviolet radiation in the eyes

Direct exposure to unprotected ultraviolet rays can cause burns to the cornea, which are known as keratitis. In the long term, it must be borne in mind that the damage caused by solar radiation is cumulative, which can lead to important pathologies such as waterfalls or macular degeneration, among others.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice: Eduardo Ladrón de Guevara, optometrist and president of Federópticos

Video: Top 5 Winter Eyes Problems and Solution || Dry Eyes,Redness in Eyes


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

Wie man die Augen im Winter schützt

Die Augentrockenheit, die aufgrund von Erwärmungseffekten auftreten, und der mangelnde Schutz vor ultravioletten Strahlen, insbesondere beim Wintersport in schneereichen Gebieten, sind die Hauptgefahren, um eine gute visuelle Gesundheit im Winter aufrechtzuerhalten. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, eine Reihe von Tipps zu kennen, um diese Augenprobleme zu vermeiden.

Wie bekämpft man trockene Augen?

Die Heizung, die Klimatisierung und die Beständigkeit in geschlossenen, klimatisierten Räumen verursachen die Augentrockenheit, ein charakteristisches Problem der Wintermonate.

Das Unbehagen, dass die trockenes Auge Es zeichnet sich durch Kerben oder Brennen aus, als ob etwas ins Auge geraten wäre. Blinzeln ist häufig die beste natürliche Methode, um die Augen mit Feuchtigkeit zu versorgen, da das Blinzeln den Riss erzeugt, aber wenn das Problem bestehen bleibt oder chronisch wird, ist es bequemer zu verwenden künstliche Tränen, Tropfen oder feuchtigkeitsspendende Augentropfen. Eduardo Ladrón de Guevara, Präsident von Federópticos, betont, dass "dieses Problem häufiger bei Nutzern von KontaktlinsenDaher ist es wichtig, die Linse und die Augen gut zu schmieren. “Es gibt Kontaktlinsen, die während des Gebrauchs Feuchtigkeitscremes freisetzen oder Wasser besser halten können.


In jedem Fall wird dringend empfohlen, Luftbefeuchter zu verwenden oder einfach einen Behälter mit Wasser in der Nähe der Wärmequelle in den Raum zu stellen, wodurch die Trockenheit in der Umgebung verringert wird.

Sonnenbrillen, um Augenverletzungen im Winter zu vermeiden

Wir wissen, dass man am Strand Sonnenbrillen tragen muss. Noch wichtiger ist es, sie im Winter zu tragen, vor allem wenn wir in den Schnee gehen und Wintersport betreiben. Verschiedene Studien haben gezeigt, dass am Strand die Augen zwischen a 10 und 25 Prozent der Sonnenstrahlen wenn sie vom Sand oder vom Meer abprallen, steigt dieser Prozentsatz jedoch auf 80 Prozent im Winterlicht springt auf den Schnee.


Das Gleiche passiert an bewölkten Tagen. Obwohl es nicht sonnig ist, dringen 90 Prozent der ultravioletten Strahlen durch die Wolken niedriger Dichte und erreichen den Boden. Dies bewirkt den gleichen Rückpralleffekt wie direktes Licht, das unsere Sicht schädigen kann. Dieses Problem ist höher zu höher im Vergleich zum MeeresspiegelAus diesem Grund ist das Tragen von Sonnenbrillen im Schnee noch wichtiger. Im Winter ändert sich schließlich die Position der Erde in Bezug auf die tiefere Sonne, wodurch die Sonnenstrahlen direkt auf das Auge treffen.

Eduardo Ladrón de Guevara, Präsident von Federópticos, erklärt: "Im Winter gibt es zwei Hauptgefahren für unsere Augen, zu trockene Umgebungen, die trockene Augen und ultraviolette Strahlen verursachen können. Dazu öffnen wir die Tür und senken unsere Vorsicht, wenn es keine gibt Sonne, aber sie sind. "

Daher ist es im Winter unerlässlich, die Augenpflege fortzusetzen. Eduardo Ladrón de Guevara erinnert daran, dass "es wichtig ist, es zu verwenden Sonnenbrillen auch im Winter zugelassen, weil sie die Reflexion vermindern und vor anderen schädlichen Stoffen wie dem sehr kalten Wind schützen. "


Schäden durch ultraviolette Strahlung in den Augen

Direkter Kontakt mit ungeschützten ultravioletten Strahlen kann zu Hornhautverbrennungen führen, die als Keratitis bekannt sind. Langfristig ist zu berücksichtigen, dass die durch Sonneneinstrahlung verursachten Schäden kumulativ sind, was zu wichtigen Pathologien wie z Katarakte oder Makuladegeneration, unter anderem.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis: Eduardo Ladrón de Guevara, Optiker und Präsident von Federópticos

Video: Die Skibrille schützt deine Augen - Empfehlung bei Schnee und Winter


Interessante Artikel

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Die dritte Generation des Touran beträgt 13 Zentimeter länger als die vorherige Version, hat sieben Sitze Serie und hat eine Größerer Kofferraum Es stellt sich heraus a Familienauto Dies muss für...