How to prevent addiction to video games in summer

Summer and free time are synonymous. After many days of study, school work and dedication to academic work, students face the summer with a great leisure offer to occupy these hours. Among all this catalog are the video game, an option that can trigger a dependence on them and that is even considered a mental illness by the World Health Organization, WHO.

Given so many free hours, young people can end up generating this dependency on video game. Hours and hours in front of the screen can make students neglect other areas of their lives. In order to avoid this addiction, the Catalan Association of Social Addictions, ACENCAS, gives several tips to parents so that their children can enjoy the summer without these problems.


Avoid excessive use

While ACENCAS recognizes that video games can become a form of training for the mind, "its excessive use, can generate serious health problems"This offer of digital leisure contains elements with the capacity to generate a dependency on the youngest children, causing young people to lose track of time and dedicate too many hours.

Among the reasons that cause this dependency to be generated, ACENCAS highlights the search for evasion of problems in young people, whether of a family nature or of a social nature. The attempt to achieve positive emotions through digital leisure makes many hours are dedicated to video games and less those associated with activities such as sports or interpersonal relationships.


"They are constantly in front of the screen, a quick meal without dialogue with the rest of the family, it is the solution they apply, so as not to stop playing," he explains. Francesc Perendreu, president of ACENCAS. Among the risks associated with this dependence are heart diseases, hypertension, high cholesterol levels and obesity, associated with sedentary lifestyle, which may lead to myocardial infarction in young adulthood.

Similarly, cases of addiction can cause sleep disturbances and a state of constant nervousness for the exaggerated use of consoles. At the same time, excessive use of video games can cause children to face greater social isolation. Anxiety, irritability and anger are other symptoms that cause dependence, as well as a high percentage of school failure.


Advice for parents

The increase of free time in summer makes it more possible for children to develop an addiction to video games by using these products as a formula to remedy the feeling of boredom. Therefore, from ACENCAS, these tips are offered so that parents can to prevent this situation their homes:

- Help children choose appropriate games with which they can also have fun. Know the characteristics of the product and the possible effects on the child.

- Talk with them about the content of the games, so they can understand the difference between imagination and reality. The digital world is not the real one and that is not where they should solve their problems.

- Set aside the solitary game. If you can play in the company of a friend or relative, much better, this way a social activity will develop.

- Monitor the obsessive game and set a time limit to use video games and days a week. If you notice an abuse of these technologies, better cut at the root.

- Share games with other physical and social activities.

Damián Montero

Video: 10 Addicting Games That Are Impossible To Stop Playing


Interesting Articles

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Have you been a mother and a worker? Did you continue with your full-time job while you were pregnant? This question has been asked in the United States, finding that thes women who work during...

September exams will be in June

September exams will be in June

Are we going to say goodbye to the September exams? The Education Departments of the different Autonomous Communities are now preparing the school calendar for the next academic year, 2016-2017. One...

How to become a leader

How to become a leader

In today's society, there are many situations that require people willing to decide, to set guidelines and to commit to some objectives. Definitely, leaders are needed. Society also needs people who...

How to teach them to accept their failures?

How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than...

So verhindern Sie die Abhängigkeit von Videospielen im Sommer

Sommer und Freizeit sind gleichbedeutend. Nach vielen Tagen des Studiums, der Schularbeit und dem Engagement für die akademische Arbeit stehen den Schülern der Sommer mit einem großartigen Freizeitangebot zur Verfügung, das diese Stunden beanspruchen kann. Unter all diesem Katalog sind die VideospieleEine Option, die eine Abhängigkeit von ihnen auslösen kann und von der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) sogar als psychische Erkrankung angesehen wird.

Bei so vielen freien Stunden können junge Menschen diese Abhängigkeit generieren Videospiele. Stunden und Stunden vor dem Bildschirm können dazu führen, dass die Schüler andere Bereiche ihres Lebens vernachlässigen. Um diese Sucht zu vermeiden, hat die Catalan Association of Social Addictions ACENCASgibt den Eltern mehrere Tipps, damit ihre Kinder den Sommer ohne diese Probleme genießen können.


Übermäßigen Gebrauch vermeiden

Während ACENCAS erkennt, dass Videospiele zu einer Form des Trainings für den Geist werden können, kann sein übermäßiger Gebrauch ernsthaft sein gesundheitliche Probleme"Dieses Angebot an digitaler Freizeit beinhaltet Elemente, die in der Lage sind, eine Abhängigkeit von den jüngsten Kindern zu erzeugen, wodurch junge Menschen den Überblick verlieren und zu viele Stunden investieren.

ACENCAS hebt die Suche nach den Ursachen hervor, die dazu führen, dass diese Abhängigkeit erzeugt wird Vermeidung von Problemen bei jungen Menschen, ob familiärer oder sozialer Natur. Der Versuch, durch digitale Freizeit positive Emotionen zu erreichen, führt dazu, dass viele Stunden den Videospielen gewidmet sind und weniger mit Aktivitäten wie Sport oder zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen.


"Sie sind ständig vor dem Bildschirm, eine schnelle Mahlzeit ohne Dialog mit dem Rest der Familie, es ist die Lösung, die sie anwenden, um nicht mit dem Spielen aufzuhören", erklärt er. Francesc Perendreu, Präsident von ACENCAS. Zu den Risiken, die mit dieser Abhängigkeit verbunden sind, gehören Herzkrankheiten, Bluthochdruck, hohe Cholesterinspiegel und Fettleibigkeit, die mit einer sitzenden Lebensweise einhergehen, die im jungen Erwachsenenalter zu einem Herzinfarkt führen können.

In ähnlicher Weise können Suchtfälle Schlafstörungen und einen Zustand von verursachen ständige Nervosität für die übertriebene Verwendung von Konsolen. Gleichzeitig kann der übermäßige Einsatz von Videospielen dazu führen, dass Kinder stärker sozial isoliert werden. Angst, Reizbarkeit und Ärger sind weitere Symptome, die zu Abhängigkeit führen, sowie einen hohen Prozentsatz von Schulversagen.


Ratschläge für Eltern

Die Zunahme der Freizeit im Sommer macht es Kindern leichter, eine Sucht nach Videospielen zu entwickeln, indem sie diese Produkte als Formel verwenden, um das Gefühl der Langeweile zu beseitigen. Daher werden diese Tipps von ACENCAS angeboten, damit Eltern dies tun können verhindern diese Situation ihre Häuser:

- Helfen Sie Kindern, geeignete Spiele auszuwählen, mit denen sie auch Spaß haben können. Kennen Sie die Eigenschaften des Produkts und die möglichen Auswirkungen auf das Kind.

- Sprechen Sie mit ihnen über den Inhalt der Spiele, damit sie den Unterschied zwischen Vorstellungskraft und Realität verstehen können. Die digitale Welt ist nicht die wirkliche, und dort sollten sie ihre Probleme nicht lösen.

- Lege das einsame Spiel beiseite. Wenn Sie in der Gesellschaft eines Freundes oder Verwandten spielen können, viel besser, wird sich auf diese Weise eine soziale Aktivität entwickeln.

- Überwachen Sie das obsessive Spiel und setzen Sie ein Zeitlimit für Videospiele und Tage pro Woche. Wenn Sie einen Missbrauch dieser Technologien bemerken, schneiden Sie besser an der Wurzel.

- Teile Spiele mit anderen körperlichen und sozialen Aktivitäten.

Damián Montero

Video: Erwin Pelzig: Was ist Wahrheit? Was ist Lüge? Was ist verlogen? Unsere Lebenslüge bricht zusammen!


Interessante Artikel

8 Kinderspiele, mit denen Sie lernen

8 Kinderspiele, mit denen Sie lernen

Das Spiel ist nicht nur eine Form der Unterhaltung. Für ein Kind ist das Spielen lebenswichtig. In der Tat ist es grundlegend für seine ordnungsgemäße Entwicklung. Je mehr er spielt, desto mehr...

Fettes Gerede: Unsicherheit vor dem Spiegel

Fettes Gerede: Unsicherheit vor dem Spiegel

Wenn Sie gerade in einem Gespräch mit mehreren Frauen anwesend wären, würde es nicht lange dauern, bis Sie von vornherein unschuldig Kommentare dazu bekommen, wie viele Kilo mehr sie glauben zu...