Self-control and emotional intelligence, child thing?

Emotional regulation is a faculty that we can teach our children from three years, to grow up as healthy and happy adults. The self-control of emotions can be trained through positive strategies such as the identification and expression of emotions, in order to develop emotional intelligence.

Regulating emotions: a slow but possible process

Emotional intelligence is an aptitude on which the healthy development of our children depends. And, self-control is one of its characteristics. Normally, we relate this trait as something that belongs to adults, but the regulation and management of emotions can begin to train in children from three years, as Begoña Ibarrola, a psychologist and expert in Emotional Education, points out.


Self-control is a skill that depends on the prefrontal cortex of the brain. Usually, it ends up maturing when people are in their twenties. But, its development can begin to be enhanced from childhood, from the moment when children control their sphincters. It is possible, then, to train our children in the channeling and emotion management, in order that they develop their emotional intelligence and grow as healthy and happy adults.

However, we can not expect our children to be masters of emotional intelligence. "We can not demand that they control themselves and know how to behave at all times," Ibarrola states. Do not forget that their brains are in the process of maturation, so we must go little by little. Here are some tips for you to start educating your children in self-control, so that in the future they can be experts in emotional regulation.


Legitimize emotions and identify them

It is very important to legitimize emotion, to teach children to identify what they feel and to make them understand that emotions are not something negative. "Children are much smarter than we think, they know perfectly well that emotion is not an indefinite state, but a place of passage, a changing element," says Ibarrola.

Express emotions with words

Second, we should encourage our children to express emotions with words. "One of the most explosive is anger," says the psychologist. Children often kick, cry, bite, etc. as a way to let people know what they feel. It is good to remind them that although it is normal to get angry, it is much better and more productive to express it through words.

We can use example sentences so that they can imitate them, such as: "I am angry because ...". We can also make use of games for our children to practice expressing their emotions, using toys and story characters to interpret scenes in which words must be used to express what they feel.


In fact, Ibarrola thinks that the stories are a first-rate resource in the development of emotional intelligence. "Through a symbolic and metaphorical language, children understand many processes that are sometimes complex to explain with words.The story is like an emotional trainer, because the child identifies with the characters and their experiences, but with a distance of security, which allows you to anticipate situations that he is not living in his day to day, but the characters in the story do. "

A positive strategy to educate

Another way to educate emotional regulation, Ibarrola tells us, is to follow a positive strategy. That is, focus on offering and teaching what can be done to an emotion, instead of highlighting what should be avoided. We usually emphasize what the child should not do: "do not get angry", "do not scream"; but you have to suggest to them what they can do when, for example, they get angry.

We must also apply this when it comes to solving behavioral problems. Instead of just establishing punishments and prohibitions, we should try to find a positive alternative. For example, if a child presents an aggressive attitude every time a game starts because he / she wants to always be the first to participate, we can make a list in which is written who will have the first turn each day. Thus, unnecessary battles will be avoided.

A lot of patience to get self-control of emotions

Finally, it is essential to be patient. The brain structure responsible for the self-control of our children will be in development until they are in their twenties. For this reason, we will have to repeat the rules and advice over and over again, calmly, so that our children can develop their emotional intelligence.

Self-control is a thing of children. As parents, we aim for our children to grow up to become healthy and happy people, and to begin to train them in emotional regulation is possible from a very young age.Thus, children can understand what emotions are and learn to express them in the best possible way, through words, stories and games. A positive teaching strategy will serve as training so that they can develop the self-control that will be so useful in their adult life.

Isabel López Vasquez
Advice: Begoña Ibarrola, psychologist specializing in Emotional Intelligence.

Video: Why Do We Lose Control of Our Emotions?


Interesting Articles

How to get children to eat vegetables

How to get children to eat vegetables

One of the oldest battles between parents and children is one in which the former want the latter to eat vegetables. A necessary confrontation since these foods have to be very present in the diet of...

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Keys to bring culture and art to children

Knowing, understanding, valuing and appreciating the different manifestations of art is an invaluable source of enjoyment and personal enrichment. For this, parents can accustom their children from...

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Happiness in the couple, an indecipherable mystery

Years ago I wrote a book about marriage that I dedicated To my wife, that charming and eternal mystery. We had just celebrated the silver jubilee and thought I could string together some ideas that...

Selbstkontrolle und emotionale Intelligenz, Kindensache?

Emotionale Regulierung ist eine Fähigkeit, die wir unseren Kindern ab drei Jahren beibringen können, als gesunde und glückliche Erwachsene aufzuwachsen. Die Selbstkontrolle von Emotionen kann durch positive Strategien wie Identifikation und Ausdruck von Emotionen trainiert werden, um emotionale Intelligenz zu entwickeln.

Emotionen regulieren: ein langsamer, aber möglicher Prozess

Emotionale Intelligenz ist eine Fähigkeit, von der die gesunde Entwicklung unserer Kinder abhängt. Selbstkontrolle ist eines ihrer Merkmale. Normalerweise beziehen wir dieses Merkmal auf etwas, das Erwachsenen gehört, aber das Die Regulierung und das Management von Emotionen können bei Kindern ab drei Jahren beginnenWie Begoña Ibarrola, ein Psychologe und Experte für emotionale Bildung, betont.


Selbstkontrolle ist eine Fähigkeit, die vom präfrontalen Kortex des Gehirns abhängt. Normalerweise reift es ab, wenn die Leute in den Zwanzigern sind. Aber die Entwicklung kann schon in der Kindheit gesteigert werden, ab dem Moment, in dem Kinder ihre Schließmuskeln kontrollieren. Es ist also möglich, unsere Kinder im Channeling zu trainieren Emotionsmanagement, damit sie ihre emotionale Intelligenz entwickeln und als gesunde und glückliche Erwachsene wachsen.

Wir können jedoch nicht erwarten, dass unsere Kinder Meister emotionaler Intelligenz sind. "Wir können nicht verlangen, dass sie sich selbst kontrollieren und wissen, wie sie sich jederzeit verhalten sollen", erklärt Ibarrola. Vergessen Sie nicht, dass sich ihr Gehirn in einem Reifungsprozess befindet. Wir müssen also Schritt für Schritt vorgehen. Hier sind einige Tipps für Sie, wie Sie Ihre Kinder in Selbstkontrolle ausbilden können, damit sie in Zukunft Experten für emotionale Regulierung sein können.


Emotionen legitimieren und identifizieren

Es ist sehr wichtig, Emotionen zu legitimieren, Kindern beizubringen, was sie fühlen, und ihnen klar zu machen, dass Emotionen nichts Negatives sind. "Kinder sind viel klüger als wir denken, sie wissen genau, dass Emotion kein unbestimmter Zustand ist, sondern ein Durchgangspunkt, ein sich veränderndes Element", sagt Ibarrola.

Emotionen mit Worten ausdrücken

Zweitens sollten wir unsere Kinder dazu ermutigen, Emotionen mit Worten auszudrücken. "Einer der explosivsten ist Wut", sagt der Psychologe. Kinder treten häufig auf, weinen, beißen usw. als eine Möglichkeit, die Menschen wissen zu lassen, was sie fühlen. Es ist gut, sie daran zu erinnern, dass es zwar normal ist, sich zu ärgern, aber es ist viel besser und produktiver, es durch Worte auszudrücken.

Wir können Beispielsätze verwenden, um sie nachahmen zu können, beispielsweise: "Ich bin wütend, weil ...". Wir können auch Spiele nutzen, mit denen unsere Kinder ihre Gefühle ausdrücken können, indem sie mit Spielzeug und Story-Figuren Szenen interpretieren, in denen Wörter verwendet werden müssen, um auszudrücken, was sie fühlen.


In der Tat denkt Ibarrola, dass die Geschichten sind eine erstklassige Ressource für die Entwicklung emotionaler Intelligenz. "Durch eine symbolische und metaphorische Sprache verstehen Kinder viele Prozesse, die manchmal mit Wörtern komplex zu erklären sind. Die Geschichte ist wie ein emotionaler Trainer, weil sich das Kind mit den Charakteren und ihren Erfahrungen identifiziert, jedoch mit einem Abstand von Sicherheit, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, Situationen vorwegzunehmen, die er nicht täglich erlebt, aber die Charaktere in der Geschichte. "

Eine positive Bildungsstrategie

Ibarrola erzählt uns, dass es eine andere Möglichkeit ist, die emotionale Regulation aufzuklären, indem man eine positive Strategie verfolgt. Das heißt, sich darauf konzentrieren, zu bieten und zu lehren, was einer Emotion angetan werden kann, anstatt hervorzuheben, was vermieden werden sollte. Wir betonen normalerweise, was das Kind nicht tun sollte: "ärgern Sie sich nicht", "schreien Sie nicht"; Sie müssen ihnen jedoch vorschlagen, was sie tun können, wenn sie zum Beispiel wütend werden.

Wir müssen dies auch anwenden, wenn es um die Lösung von Verhaltensproblemen geht. Anstatt nur Strafen und Verbote festzulegen, sollten wir versuchen, eine positive Alternative zu finden. Wenn zum Beispiel ein Kind jedes Mal, wenn ein Spiel beginnt, eine aggressive Haltung einnimmt, weil es immer als erster teilnehmen möchte, können wir eine Liste erstellen, in der geschrieben wird, wer jeden Tag den ersten Zug hat. Somit werden unnötige Schlachten vermieden.

Viel Geduld, um die Emotionen selbst zu kontrollieren

Schließlich ist es wichtig, geduldig zu sein. Die Gehirnstruktur, die für die Selbstkontrolle unserer Kinder verantwortlich ist, wird sich in Entwicklung befinden, bis sie zwanzig Jahre alt sind. Aus diesem Grund müssen wir die Regeln und Ratschläge immer wieder ruhig wiederholen, damit unsere Kinder ihre emotionale Intelligenz entwickeln können.

Selbstkontrolle ist eine Sache von Kindern. Als Eltern möchten wir, dass unsere Kinder erwachsen werden, um gesunde und glückliche Menschen zu werden, und ihre Ausbildung in emotionaler Regulierung zu beginnen, ist schon in jungen Jahren möglich.So können Kinder verstehen, was Emotionen sind, und sie lernen, sie durch Worte, Geschichten und Spiele bestmöglich auszudrücken. Eine positive Unterrichtsstrategie wird als Training dienen, damit sie die Selbstkontrolle entwickeln können, die in ihrem Erwachsenenleben so nützlich ist.

Isabel López Vasquez
Hinweis: Begoña IbarrolaPsychologin, spezialisiert auf emotionale Intelligenz.

Video: Selbstkontrolle: Emotionale Ausgeglichenheit & innere Ruhe


Interessante Artikel

Methoden, um Ihrem Baby den Schlaf beizubringen

Methoden, um Ihrem Baby den Schlaf beizubringen

Das Einschlafen in jungen Jahren hat wichtige Auswirkungen auf die ganzheitliche Entwicklung des Kindes. Es gibt verschiedene Methoden, die von Spezialisten entwickelt wurden, um eine gute...

Ehebrüche nehmen in Spanien zu

Ehebrüche nehmen in Spanien zu

Anfragen für Die Eheschließungen in Spanien sind 2014 um fast sieben Prozent gestiegenankommen bei 133.441 insgesamt im Vergleich zu 124.797 des Vorjahres. Auf diese Weise beträgt der nationale...

Hirnverletzungen bei Kindern nehmen im Sommer zu

Hirnverletzungen bei Kindern nehmen im Sommer zu

Gute Notizen zu Hause? Toll, spiele feiern und hab Spaß im Sommer. Nichts zu Hause zu bleiben, die Außenwelt hat Jung und Alt viel zu bieten, die während der Sommermonate eine tolle Freizeitwette...