When your children's grades are not as expected

Each year on these dates, when the school year ends, students receive their grades. It is a time when family conflicts can arise when the grades are not good or the child's academic progress does not show the expected evolution. As Ana Arechavaleta, a psychologist at Vithas Nisa Rey Hospital Don Jaime, explains, "it is not a trivial matter, since the way in which parents react to the qualifications of their children can affect their motivation, self-esteem, sense of control over their learning and evolution and attitude before the study ".
The specialist recommends, as a basic rule, to react with empathy: "It is not always easy, but when we show empathy with our children we are really telling them that we understand them and that we respect their needs". In this way it helps to strengthen their self-esteem and motivation and confidence in their environment. In this sense, as Arechavaleta clarifies, empathizing does not mean consenting or giving in to whims, but taking into consideration their feelings and difficulties when it comes to helping them. "The focus is on trying to understand what our child needs, instead of putting it on what we think it needs."
It is common that before receiving the notes there are previous indications that put the parents on notice. Children can express signals, even non-verbally, about how they are feeling or what they are having problems with. It is essential to pay attention to their behavior, to ask them directly how they feel, what is happening to them and what they need. "Giving them the opportunity to express themselves makes them active participants in their own development and learning," says Arechavaleta.
In addition, the most important thing, in the words of the specialist, is that expectations are always subject to the particularity of each individual, taking into account their difficulties, their strengths, their needs. Based on this, objectives and an adequate plan can be established to achieve them, always working together with the child and the tutor. The Vithas Nisa Rey Don Jaime Hospital belongs to the Vithas health group, which has 19 hospitals and 27 medical centers in Spain.
Reactions to bad ones and good grades
In case the grades are not good, instead of reacting instantaneously and abruptly, Arechavaleta recommends keeping calm and postponing the answer so that it is calm and balanced. An example of this would be: "I need time to think what I want to tell you, we'll talk about this tomorrow."
When the results are positive, the specialist advises avoiding comments like "I knew if you tried harder you would improve!". "That 'try harder' may not be the main variable of their evolution, especially if they are children with learning or attention difficulties," he says. Instead, comments of the type would be more appropriate: "Very good! It seems that using new strategies has allowed you to obtain good results". It should be remembered that, on many occasions, grades are not the average of progress, but can be effort or attitude.
Another point to keep in mind is that, as children grow, learning expectations change and it may be more difficult to achieve them in some subjects. In this case, Ana Arechavaleta advises to talk with our children about the differences between subjects and the changes that could help and make an appointment with the tutor or, if the child is old enough, suggest that they talk to their teacher about strategies that could contribute to their improvement. .
"In general, parents must learn to manage the frustration, disappointment or disappointment that this type of situation can provoke and not pass it to action through unthought-of punishments and exaggerated actions," says Arechavaleta, who advocates Change in the attitude towards the study progressively.
Mónica Ramirez
Counseling: Nisa Hospitals

Video: Not Expected


Interesting Articles

The shyness in adolescence, how to overcome it?

The shyness in adolescence, how to overcome it?

The shy teenagers They tend to worry too much about what they will say and fear a negative criticism. All this causes an anxiety that prevents them from carrying out some activities normally and...

The first domestic tasks that help to make family

The first domestic tasks that help to make family

From the moment in which the children walk with ease, the children can have assigned tasks in the house, which consist not only in ordering their room, but above all helping the other members of the...

Motivation guide for children with high abilities

Motivation guide for children with high abilities

The children with high abilities they are divided between gifted, talented and intellectually precocious. Although they have always been called gifted students, the more than 12,000 Spanish children...

Wenn die Noten Ihrer Kinder nicht wie erwartet sind

An diesen Terminen erhalten die Schüler jedes Jahr, wenn das Schuljahr endet, ihre Noten. Es ist eine Zeit, in der familiäre Konflikte auftreten können, wenn die Noten nicht gut sind oder der akademische Fortschritt des Kindes nicht die erwartete Entwicklung zeigt. Wie Ana Arechavaleta, eine Psychologin des Vithas Nisa Rey Krankenhauses Don Jaime, erklärt: "Es ist keine triviale Angelegenheit, da die Art und Weise, wie Eltern auf die Qualifikationen ihrer Kinder reagieren, ihre Motivation, ihr Selbstwertgefühl und das Gefühl der Kontrolle über das Lernen beeinflussen kann und Entwicklung und Einstellung vor der Studie ".
Der Spezialist empfiehlt grundsätzlich mit Empathie zu reagieren: "Es ist nicht immer einfach, aber wenn wir unseren Kindern Empathie zeigen, sagen wir ihnen wirklich, dass wir sie verstehen und ihre Bedürfnisse respektieren". Auf diese Weise wird das Selbstwertgefühl, die Motivation und das Vertrauen in die Umwelt gestärkt. In diesem Sinne, wie Arechavaleta klarstellt, bedeutet Empathie nicht, den Launen zuzustimmen oder nachzugeben, sondern ihre Gefühle und Schwierigkeiten zu berücksichtigen, wenn es darum geht, ihnen zu helfen. "Der Fokus liegt auf dem Versuch zu verstehen, was unser Kind braucht, anstatt es auf das zu setzen, was wir für nötig halten."
Es ist üblich, dass es vor dem Erhalt der Notizen frühere Hinweise gibt, die die Eltern benachrichtigen. Kinder können auch nonverbal Signale darüber ausdrücken, wie sie sich fühlen oder mit welchen Problemen sie konfrontiert sind. Es ist wichtig, auf ihr Verhalten zu achten und sie direkt zu fragen, wie sie sich fühlen, was mit ihnen geschieht und was sie brauchen. "Wenn man ihnen die Möglichkeit gibt, sich auszudrücken, werden sie zu aktiven Teilnehmern an ihrer eigenen Entwicklung und ihrem Lernen", sagt Arechavaleta.
Darüber hinaus ist es in den Worten des Spezialisten am wichtigsten, dass die Erwartungen immer von der Besonderheit jedes Einzelnen abhängig sind, wobei seine Schwierigkeiten, Stärken und Bedürfnisse zu berücksichtigen sind. Darauf aufbauend können Ziele und ein adäquater Plan festgelegt werden, um sie zu erreichen, wobei stets mit dem Kind und dem Betreuer zusammengearbeitet wird. Das Don Jaime Hospital von Vithas Nisa Rey gehört zur Vithas-Gesundheitsgruppe mit 19 Krankenhäusern und 27 medizinischen Zentren in Spanien.
Reaktionen auf schlechte und gute Noten
Falls die Noten nicht gut sind, anstatt sofort und abrupt zu reagieren, empfiehlt Arechavaleta, ruhig zu bleiben und die Antwort zu verschieben, damit sie ruhig und ausgeglichen ist. Ein Beispiel dafür wäre: "Ich brauche Zeit, um darüber nachzudenken, was ich Ihnen sagen möchte, wir werden morgen darüber sprechen."
Wenn die Ergebnisse positiv sind, rät der Spezialist, Kommentare wie "Ich wusste, wenn Sie sich mehr Mühe gaben, zu verbessern!" "Das" Versuchen Sie es stärker "ist möglicherweise nicht die Hauptvariable ihrer Entwicklung, insbesondere wenn es sich um Kinder mit Lern- oder Aufmerksamkeitsschwierigkeiten handelt", sagt er. Stattdessen wären Kommentare des Typs angemessener: "Sehr gut! Es scheint, dass die Verwendung neuer Strategien zu guten Ergebnissen geführt hat". Es sei daran erinnert, dass die Noten bei vielen Gelegenheiten nicht der Durchschnitt des Fortschritts sind, sondern Anstrengung oder Haltung sein können.
Ein weiterer wichtiger Punkt ist, dass sich die Lernerwartungen mit zunehmendem Wachstum der Kinder ändern und dass es in manchen Fächern schwieriger sein kann, sie zu erreichen. In diesem Fall empfiehlt Ana Arechavaleta, mit unseren Kindern über die Unterschiede zwischen den Fächern und den Änderungen zu sprechen, die hilfreich sein könnten, um einen Termin mit dem Betreuer zu vereinbaren oder, falls das Kind alt genug ist, anzurufen, dass sie mit ihrem Lehrer über Strategien sprechen, die zu ihrer Verbesserung beitragen können. .
"Im Allgemeinen müssen Eltern lernen, mit der Frustration, Enttäuschung oder Enttäuschung umzugehen, die diese Art von Situation hervorrufen kann, und sie nicht durch unbedachte Strafen und übertriebene Handlungen in die Tat umsetzen", sagt Arechavaleta, der sich dafür einsetzt Ändern Sie die Einstellung zur Studie schrittweise.
Mónica Ramirez
Beratung: Nisa Krankenhäuser

Video: Mein Kind hört nicht auf mich. - Survival Guide


Interessante Artikel

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

So funktionieren die Gehirne von Kindern mit ADHS

Sicherlich hatten Sie während Ihrer Schulzeit einen Partner, der immer Hausaufgaben verließ, keine unterschriebenen Prüfungen mitbrachte, Bücher verlor, im Unterricht redete oder oft in den...