Today's adolescents prefer digital communication to interpersonal communication

What doubt is that the new technologies have changed the lives of all? Adults, children, the elderly, all of them have seen how their day to day has been altered with the arrival of these devices and the expansion of the internet. Of course, the teenagers nor have they been oblivious to this new direction taken by today's society, a new paradigm that is even changing the way we communicate.

Social networks are gaining ground to the classic forms of communication. This is demonstrated by the study Social networks, social life: adolescents reveal their experiences, prepared by Common Sense Media. A work that highlights that young people prefer digital ways to interpersonal formulas when maintaining their relationships with other people.


Emotional Support

In this update of the study conducted in 2012 It was found that the number of young people who had a smartphone had grown obviously. If 6 years ago the number of teenagers with one of these terminals was 41%, today the percentage rises to 89%. It has also become evident how social networks have occupied a very important place in their day to day.

An example is the percentage of young people among 13 and 17 years who thinks that these platforms are very important in their day to day. Few teenagers believe that these websites have a negative influence on their lives. 25% admit that the feeling of loneliness is lower thanks to these online services and only 3% acknowledge feeling isolated.


18% admit that they feel comfortable with themselves for a 4% that recognizes the opposite. Finally, 16% say that social networks helps them to have a better state of mind and 3% indicates the opposite, that these platforms make them feel more depressed.

The best example How the paradigm of communication among young people has changed is the fact that at present only one third of this sector of the population prefers interpersonal interaction to messaging services in new technologies. However, it is paradoxical how more than half of young people recognize that social networks isolate them from the real people around them.

Advice for parents

What can parents do with this change in paradigm? The authors of this study also offer a series of solutions to certain problems related to social networks, such as the fact that 70% of respondents use these platforms more than once a day. The mission of parents is to make their children see how much time they spend on these websites and that they could reinvest in other matters.


From meeting with your friends to perform various activities They range from a movie session in your company or a snack. The authors of this research also recommend that parents make their children see the importance of feeling good about themselves without having to resort to these digital platforms. To be able to use your close circle instead of these websites to vent.

Finally, it is recommended to parents lead by example and in family events such as meals or meetings in relatives' homes, as well as in daily routines where all the members of the household coincide. In these cases, the mobile must be oblivious to these situations and bet on the communication between all those present.

Dami√°n Montero

Video: How social media makes us unsocial | Allison Graham | TEDxSMU


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Jugendliche bevorzugen die digitale Kommunikation der zwischenmenschlichen Kommunikation

Welcher Zweifel ist, dass die neuen Technologien das Leben aller verändert haben? Erwachsene, Kinder und ältere Menschen haben alle gesehen, wie sich ihr täglicher Alltag durch die Einführung dieser Geräte und die Erweiterung des Internets verändert hat. Natürlich die Teenager Sie haben sich dieser neuen Richtung der heutigen Gesellschaft nicht bewusst, einem neuen Paradigma, das sogar die Art und Weise verändert, in der wir kommunizieren.

Soziale Netzwerke gewinnen an Boden zu den klassischen Formen von Kommunikation. Dies zeigt die Studie Soziale Netzwerke, soziales Leben: Jugendliche offenbaren ihre Erfahrungen, die von Common Sense Media vorbereitet wurden. Eine Arbeit, die hervorhebt, dass Jugendliche digitale Beziehungen gegenüber zwischenmenschlichen Formeln bevorzugen, wenn sie ihre Beziehungen zu anderen Menschen pflegen.


Emotionale Unterstützung

In diesem Update der Studie durchgeführt in 2012 Es wurde festgestellt, dass die Zahl der jungen Leute, die ein Smartphone besaßen, offensichtlich zugenommen hatte. Wenn vor 6 Jahren die Anzahl der Teenager mit einem dieser Terminals 41% betrug, steigt der Prozentsatz heute auf 89%. Es hat sich auch gezeigt, dass soziale Netzwerke in ihrem Alltag einen sehr wichtigen Platz einnehmen.

Ein Beispiel ist der Prozentsatz junger Menschen unter 13 und 17 Jahre Wer glaubt, dass diese Plattformen im Alltag sehr wichtig sind. Nur wenige Jugendliche glauben, dass diese Websites ihr Leben negativ beeinflussen. 25% geben zu, dass das Gefühl der Einsamkeit dank dieser Online-Dienste geringer ist, und nur 3% geben an, isoliert zu sein.


18% geben zu, dass sie sich wohl fühlen mit einem 4% das erkennt das Gegenteil. Schließlich sagen 16%, dass soziale Netzwerke ihnen helfen, einen besseren Geisteszustand zu erreichen, und 3% zeigen das Gegenteil an, dass diese Plattformen sie depressiver machen.

Die bestes Beispiel Wie sich das Paradigma der Kommunikation zwischen Jugendlichen verändert hat, ist die Tatsache, dass derzeit nur ein Drittel dieses Bevölkerungssektors die interpersonale Interaktion den Messaging-Diensten in neuen Technologien vorziehen. Es ist jedoch paradox, dass mehr als die Hälfte der Jugendlichen erkennt, dass soziale Netzwerke sie von den realen Menschen um sie herum isolieren.

Ratschläge für Eltern

Was können Eltern mit dieser Veränderung tun? Paradigma? Die Autoren dieser Studie bieten auch eine Reihe von Lösungen für bestimmte Probleme im Zusammenhang mit sozialen Netzwerken an, beispielsweise die Tatsache, dass 70% der Befragten diese Plattformen mehr als einmal täglich verwenden. Die Aufgabe der Eltern besteht darin, ihren Kindern zu zeigen, wie viel Zeit sie auf diesen Websites verbringen und dass sie in andere Angelegenheiten investieren können.


Vom Treffen mit deinen Freunden bis hin zu verschiedenen Aktivitäten Sie reichen von einer Filmsitzung in Ihrer Firma oder einem Snack. Die Autoren dieser Studie empfehlen auch, dass Eltern ihren Kindern zeigen, wie wichtig es ist, sich gut zu fühlen, ohne auf diese digitalen Plattformen zurückgreifen zu müssen. Um in der Lage zu sein, Ihren engen Kreis anstelle dieser Websites zu nutzen.

Schließlich wird es Eltern empfohlen Predige mit dem Beispiel und bei Familienanlässen wie Mahlzeiten oder Zusammenkünfte bei Verwandten zu Hause sowie im Tagesablauf, bei dem alle Haushaltsmitglieder zusammenfallen. In diesen Fällen muss das Mobiltelefon sich dieser Situationen nicht bewusst sein und auf die Kommunikation zwischen allen Anwesenden setzen.

Damián Montero

Video: 5. Jugend-Medien-Studie 2017: Droht dem klassischen Fernsehen das Aus?


Interessante Artikel

9 Schlüssel, um Familiengeschichten zu genießen

9 Schlüssel, um Familiengeschichten zu genießen

Die Ankunft der Feiertage ist eine gute Zeit, um dem Jüngsten des Hauses die Gewohnheit vorzulesen, Geschichten zu lesen oder zu erzählen. Heutzutage ist es möglich, ein breites Spektrum zu finden,...

Neue App zum Stillen

Neue App zum Stillen

Wenn es während der Schwangerschaft viele Zweifel gibt, die sich für Mütter ergeben, insbesondere für Erstmütter, wird das Stillen nicht geringer sein. Neue Technologien sind dabei eine große Hilfe:...

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Die Depression Es ist eine der schlimmsten Situationen, die eine Person durchmachen kann. Ein ständiges Gefühl der Traurigkeit, das scheinbar kein Ende zu haben scheint und diejenigen, die diese...