Children play about 15 hours per week to video games on holidays

A new McAfee report reveals that 95 percent of parents worry about the risks their children can take when they play online video games. But what can these risks be? First, it highlights the exposure to violent or sexual content or inappropriate users.

Another worrying fact is that 62 percent of children who play video games online interacts directly with other players, which significantly increases the risk of being attacked with inappropriate content or sharing confidential information.

The attitude of parents against online video games

However, the study reveals that 92 percent of parents allow their children to play video games at least one hour a day, while 8 percent say they let their children play more than five hours a day. In addition, the report reveals that children play on average about two hours a day, or what is the same, They spend about 15 hours a week on video games on vacation.


In this line, it seems that 89 percent of parents are aware of the dangers to which their children are exposed; thus, 71 percent are especially concerned that their children may share confidential information or be exposed to inappropriate content such as violence (71 percent), sexual images (77 percent) or drugs (63 percent).

While it is true that many parents monitor what their children play, 9 percent admit they do not monitor at all, while 6 percent say they do not talk to them about what is appropriate behavior or not. Moreover, 44 percent of parents allow their children to play video games when they are younger than the age recommended for that game.


Online video games, the new fashion

This means that children under 12 can play games that have been classified for an adult audience, and that include violent content, sexual themes, drugs or gambling.

"In recent years, video games have markedly increased their popularity, becoming a daily habit for many people, especially children," said Gary Davis, chief consumer security at McAfee. "Playing video games has great advantages and can be a great tool for parents during the summer months, where they need to keep their children entertained while managing the rest of their tasks, but it is essential that parents understand the risks in cybersecurity. to those who expose their children while playing these games, and it is essential that parents know how to offer appropriate guidance to their children that allows them to keep them safe when they are connected, "he says.


Tips to protect children when playing video games online

1. Avoid dangerous links. If your children search online for advice on games or new video games to download, there are tools that can help them avoid dangerous websites and links and warn them if they click on malicious sites.

2. Use comprehensive security. Regardless of what any member of the family does when connected, the ideal is to use comprehensive security solutions such as McAfee Total Protection. This type of solutions keeps your connected devices safe from malware. Also, be sure to keep your security software updated with the latest version.

3. Control how much time your children play. Use the parental control software to set time limits on the use of your children's devices. This will help minimize exposure to potentially dangerous or inappropriate websites.

Ana Torres and Pablo Valencia
Advice: Gary Davis, chief consumer security at McAfee

Video: What Happens To Your Body When You Play Video Games For Hours


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

In den Ferien spielen Kinder etwa 15 Stunden pro Woche für Videospiele

Aus einem neuen McAfee-Bericht geht hervor, dass 95 Prozent der Eltern sich Sorgen um die Risiken machen, die ihre Kinder eingehen können Online-Videospiele spielen. Aber was können diese Risiken sein? Erstens wird auf die Gefährdung durch gewalttätige oder sexuelle Inhalte oder unangemessene Benutzer hingewiesen.

Eine weitere beunruhigende Tatsache ist, dass 62 Prozent der Kinder spielen Videospiele online interagiert direkt mit anderen Spielern, was das Risiko erhöht, mit unangemessenen Inhalten angegriffen zu werden oder vertrauliche Informationen zu teilen.

Die Haltung der Eltern gegenüber Online-Videospielen

Die Studie zeigt jedoch, dass 92 Prozent der Eltern ihren Kindern mindestens eine Stunde am Tag Videospiele geben, während 8 Prozent sagen, dass sie ihre Kinder mehr als fünf Stunden pro Tag spielen lassen. Darüber hinaus zeigt der Bericht, dass Kinder durchschnittlich etwa zwei Stunden am Tag spielen oder Sie verbringen ungefähr 15 Stunden pro Woche mit Videospielen im Urlaub.


Es scheint, dass 89 Prozent der Eltern sich der Gefahren bewusst sind, denen ihre Kinder ausgesetzt sind. 71 Prozent sind daher besonders besorgt darüber, dass ihre Kinder vertrauliche Informationen austauschen oder unangemessenen Inhalten wie Gewalt (71 Prozent), sexuellen Bildern (77 Prozent) oder Drogen (63 Prozent) ausgesetzt sind.

Es stimmt zwar, dass viele Eltern das Spiel ihrer Kinder überwachen, aber 9 Prozent geben zu, dass sie überhaupt keine Überwachung durchführen, während 6 Prozent sagen, dass sie nicht mit ihnen darüber sprechen, was angemessenes Verhalten ist oder nicht. Darüber hinaus gestatten 44 Prozent der Eltern ihren Kindern, Videospiele zu spielen, wenn sie jünger sind als das für dieses Spiel empfohlene Alter.


Online-Videospiele, die neue Mode

Dies bedeutet, dass Kinder unter 12 Jahren Spiele spielen können, die für ein erwachsenes Publikum klassifiziert wurden und gewalttätige Inhalte, sexuelle Themen, Drogen oder Glücksspiele enthalten.

"In den letzten Jahren haben Videospiele ihre Popularität deutlich gesteigert und sind für viele Menschen, vor allem für Kinder, eine tägliche Gewohnheit", sagte Gary Davis, Chief Consumer Security bei McAfee. "Videospiele zu spielen hat große Vorteile und kann für Eltern in den Sommermonaten ein großartiges Werkzeug sein, in dem sie ihre Kinder unterhalten müssen, während sie sich um ihre restlichen Aufgaben kümmern, aber es ist wichtig, dass die Eltern die Risiken der Internetsicherheit verstehen. für diejenigen, die ihre Kinder während des Spiels aussetzen, und es ist wichtig, dass die Eltern wissen, wie sie ihren Kindern eine geeignete Anleitung geben können, die es ihnen ermöglicht, sie zu schützen, wenn sie miteinander verbunden sind ", sagt er.


Tipps zum Schutz von Kindern beim Online-Spielen von Videospielen

1. Vermeiden Sie gefährliche Links. Wenn Ihre Kinder online nach Ratschlägen zu Spielen oder neuen Videospielen suchen, können sie mithilfe von Tools gefährliche Websites und Links vermeiden und sie warnen, wenn sie auf schädliche Websites klicken.

2. Verwenden Sie umfassende Sicherheit. Unabhängig davon, was ein Mitglied der Familie beim Verbinden tut, ist die Verwendung von umfassenden Sicherheitslösungen wie McAfee Total Protection ideal. Diese Art von Lösungen schützt Ihre verbundenen Geräte vor Malware. Stellen Sie außerdem sicher, dass Ihre Sicherheitssoftware mit der neuesten Version aktualisiert wird.

3. Kontrollieren Sie, wie viel Zeit Ihre Kinder spielen. Verwenden Sie die Kindersicherungssoftware, um Zeitlimits für die Verwendung Ihrer Kindergeräte festzulegen. Dadurch wird die Gefährdung durch potenziell gefährliche oder unangemessene Websites minimiert.

Ana Torres und Pablo Valencia
Hinweis: Gary Davis, Chief Consumer Security bei McAfee

Video: SUPER NEBENJOBS FÜR SCHÜLER - Geld verdienen als Jugendlicher mit 13,14,15 & 16 Jahren


Interessante Artikel

Lernen Sie gesunde Gewohnheiten in der Schule

Lernen Sie gesunde Gewohnheiten in der Schule

Nach der Rückkehr in die Schule verbringen Kinder einen Großteil ihrer Schultage mit durchschnittlich 792 Stunden pro Jahr. Aus diesem Grund ist dies der ideale Ort, um Wissen über gesunde...

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Wenn Depression zu Hause ansteckend ist

Die Depression Es ist eine der schlimmsten Situationen, die eine Person durchmachen kann. Ein ständiges Gefühl der Traurigkeit, das scheinbar kein Ende zu haben scheint und diejenigen, die diese...