Physical punishment has no benefits in the education of children

There are many ways to educate children from the most strict, to more permissive and all give rise to different types of parents according to the education model to follow. Recently there have been several studies that highlight the benefits of different parenting styles, and also others that point out the negative consequences that physical punishment can have on children.

Resorting to these practices to try to educate the little ones is a bad decision and this is indicated by studies such as those carried out jointly by the universities of Michigan and Texas. In it is shown that spanking the smallest has no positive effect on the upbringing of children.


Long-term consequences of physical punishment to children

The researchers dictated that not only spanking they do not present any benefit in the education of the smallest, but also have long-term consequences. It is often thought of injuries or other injuries resulting from these practices, but little is thought about the future. With the passing of days, months or years, children manifest these effects.

This long-term study has been checking the evolution of physical punishment over 50 years. Past generations resorted more heavily to slapping and whipping in order to eradicate positive behavior. In what type of adults have those children become? The results confirmed the presence of "involuntary effects" in these cases.


Those adults who had received this type of punishment during their childhood, presented more antisocial behaviors and had to present more cases of mental disorders such as depression. In cases where these people had formed a family, they had a greater tolerance for admitting the scourge or slapping as a response to bad behavior.

Direct effects of physical punishment on children

Although this study has detected these long-term effects of physical punishment, from Save the Children Other more immediate consequences stand out:

- It damages the self-esteem, generates a sense of disability and promotes negative expectations about oneself.

- Teaches them to be victims. Assaults do not "prepare them for life", but more prone to becoming victims.

- Interfere with their learning processes and the development of his intelligence, his senses and his emotion.


- You learn not to reason. By excluding dialogue and reflection, it hinders the ability to establish causal relationships between their behavior and the consequences that derive from it.

- It makes them feel loneliness, sadness, abandonment.

- They incorporate to their way of seeing life a negative view of others and of society, as a threatening place.

- Create a wall that prevents communication between parents and children and it damages the emotional bonds created between both.

- It makes them feel angry and want to get away from home.

- It breeds more violence. It teaches that violence is an adequate way to solve problems.

Damián Montero

Video: Should Teachers Use Corporal Punishment On Students? (HBO)


Interesting Articles

The negativism of the 2 years: no, no and no!

The negativism of the 2 years: no, no and no!

Like a repeating monkey, before almost learning to speak, our little imam of a year and a half already dominates to perfection the exasperating and challenging word "NO". Maybe because we also like...

ADHD, the challenge of making friends

ADHD, the challenge of making friends

What is different always causes something of fear. Leaving the comfort zone and knowing something different costs a lot and that is why when a child does not adjust to the normal canon, he can be...

Körperliche Bestrafung hat keine Vorteile bei der Erziehung von Kindern

Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, Kinder von den strengsten bis hin zu freizügigeren zu erziehen, und alle führen zu verschiedenen Arten von Eltern, je nach dem folgenden Bildungsmodell. In letzter Zeit gibt es mehrere Studien, die die Vorteile verschiedener Erziehungsstile hervorheben, und andere, die auf die negativen Folgen hinweisen, die körperliche Bestrafung für Kinder haben kann.

Der Rückgriff auf diese Praktiken, um zu versuchen, die Kleinen aufzuklären, ist eine schlechte Entscheidung, und dies wird durch Studien angezeigt, die beispielsweise von den Universitäten Michigan und Texas gemeinsam durchgeführt werden. Daraus geht hervor, dass das Spanking der Kleinsten keine positive Auswirkung auf die Erziehung von Kindern hat.


Langfristige Folgen körperlicher Bestrafung für Kinder

Die Forscher diktierten das nicht nur Prügel Sie bieten keinen Nutzen für die Ausbildung der Kleinsten, haben aber auch langfristige Konsequenzen. Es wird oft an Verletzungen oder andere Verletzungen gedacht, die aus diesen Praktiken resultieren, aber wenig wird über die Zukunft nachgedacht. Im Laufe von Tagen, Monaten oder Jahren manifestieren Kinder diese Wirkungen.

Diese Langzeitstudie hat die Entwicklung der körperlichen Bestrafung über 50 Jahre hinweg überprüft. Frühere Generationen nutzten das Schlagen und Schlagen stärker, um positives Verhalten auszurotten. Bei welcher Art von Erwachsenen sind diese Kinder geworden? Die Ergebnisse bestätigten das Vorhandensein "unwillkürlicher Effekte" in diesen Fällen.


Die Erwachsenen, die diese Art von Bestrafung während ihres Aufenthalts erhalten hatten Kindheit, präsentierte mehr antisoziales Verhalten und musste mehr Fälle von psychischen Störungen wie Depressionen präsentieren. In den Fällen, in denen diese Menschen eine Familie gebildet hatten, hatten sie eine größere Toleranz, wenn sie die Geißel zulassen oder als Reaktion auf schlechtes Benehmen schlagen.

Direkte Auswirkungen körperlicher Bestrafung bei Kindern

Obwohl diese Studie diese Langzeiteffekte der körperlichen Bestrafung festgestellt hat, aus Rette die Kinder Andere unmittelbarere Konsequenzen fallen auf:

- Es schädigt das Selbstwertgefühl, erzeugt ein Gefühl der Behinderung und fördert negative Erwartungen an sich.

- Lehrt sie, Opfer zu sein. Überfälle bereiten sie nicht "auf das Leben" vor, sondern neigen dazu, Opfer zu werden.

- Interferieren mit ihren Lernprozessen und die Entwicklung seiner Intelligenz, seiner Sinne und seiner Emotionen.


- Du lernst nicht zu denken. Indem Dialog und Reflexion ausgeschlossen werden, wird die Fähigkeit behindert, kausale Beziehungen zwischen ihrem Verhalten und den daraus resultierenden Konsequenzen herzustellen.

- Sie fühlen sich einsam, traurig und aufgegeben.

- Sie integrieren zu ihrer Sichtweise des Lebens eine negative Sichtweise auf andere und der Gesellschaft als bedrohlicher Ort.

- Erstellen Sie eine Mauer, die die Kommunikation zwischen Eltern und Kindern verhindert und es beschädigt die emotionalen Bindungen zwischen beiden.

- Sie fühlen sich wütend und wollen von zu Hause weg.

- Es bringt mehr Gewalt hervor. Es lehrt, dass Gewalt ein angemessener Weg ist, um Probleme zu lösen.

Damián Montero

Video: Dr. Gerald Hüther: Mädchen und Jungs - wie verschieden sind sie?


Interessante Artikel

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Frauensport: 86% fallen in der Pubertät ab

Üben Sport hat viele gesundheitliche Vorteile und viele Eltern, die sich dieser Vorteile bewusst sind, weisen auf alle Sportarten aller Art hin, dank der Tatsache, dass es heute in jeder Schule oder...