Situations in which parents should say no to their children

In the education of every child there must be certain limits. Rules that indicate to the smallest what they should or should not do, for this reason in some cases the negative sentences must be present in the lives of the smallest. For this reason the word "do not"should be used by adults when establishing standards of behavior in their children.

While it can not be said do not to everything, since we must provide the children with some autonomy and allow them to make mistakes so that they learn from their mistakes, there are other occasions where there is where to oppose the children to perform certain activities. Laura Markham, a child psychologist, proposes some contexts where parents should impose these limits on their parents.


When to say no

These are some situations where the "no" must be present in the lives of the smallest of the house:

- You can not keep playing. Has the child not finished his homework? Do you want to give preference to your fun rather than obligation? In these cases parents should tell their children that they can not continue playing, they should assume their responsibilities before.

- You must not respond with violence. Has the child received a blow from his brother or a partner? If the answer that the son wants to give is to return this blow, we must respond that he can not respond with more violence to this situation.

- You can not watch TV at this time. Should the child be studying or in bed? Is there a series that you want to watch at a time when you should not be in front of the TV? Parents must be inflexible to this requirement and answer no.


- He should not also be present in the tantrums while children do not stop and continue to show nervous behavior, we must show that these attitudes are not going to be spoiled.

- No requests about petitions related to behaviors that they were previously told they could not do. Children must understand that no matter how much they ask for it, they will succeed.

How to say no

At the same time, Markham also gives a series of tips about when and how to say no to the smallest of the house (and the not so small ones):

- Lose the fear of not. Saying "no" to children is not hurting them, it is marking a limit and an opportunity for children to learn what is right and what is wrong.

- It's not personal. With the "no" the children can take it as something personal, parents should make their children see that it is not like that. That is a lesson and that in the end they want to help them.


- Leave the door open to "yes". In some situations parents can make their children see that "yes" is possible even if they hear a "no". For example, if they fulfill their responsibilities, they can watch television (and it's not too late).

Damián Montero

Video: 8 Lessons You Should Avoid Teaching Children


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Situationen, in denen Eltern ihre Kinder ablehnen sollten

In der Ausbildung jedes Kindes müssen bestimmte Grenzen bestehen. Regeln, die dem kleinsten zeigen, was sie tun sollen oder nicht, aus diesem Grund müssen in manchen Fällen die negativen Sätze im Leben des kleinsten vorhanden sein. Aus diesem Grund ist das Wort "nicht"sollten von Erwachsenen verwendet werden, wenn Verhaltensstandards bei ihren Kindern festgelegt werden.

Während es nicht gesagt werden kann nicht Da wir den Kindern etwas Autonomie geben und ihnen erlauben müssen, Fehler zu machen, damit sie aus ihren Fehlern lernen können, gibt es andere Gelegenheiten, bei denen die Kinder gezwungen sind, bestimmte Aktivitäten auszuführen. Laura Markham, eine Kinderpsychologin, schlägt einige Kontexte vor, in denen Eltern diese Grenzen ihren Eltern auferlegen sollten.


Wann nein zu sagen

Das sind einige Situationen wo das "Nein" im Leben des Kleinsten des Hauses vorhanden sein muss:

- Sie können nicht weiter spielen. Hat das Kind seine Hausaufgaben noch nicht beendet? Möchten Sie Ihrem Spaß den Vorzug vor der Verpflichtung geben? In diesen Fällen sollten Eltern ihren Kindern sagen, dass sie nicht weiterspielen können. Sie sollten ihre Verantwortung schon früher übernehmen.

- Sie dürfen nicht mit Gewalt antworten. Hat das Kind einen Schlag von seinem Bruder oder einem Partner erhalten? Wenn die Antwort, die der Sohn geben will, darin besteht, diesen Schlag zurückzugeben, müssen wir antworten, dass er nicht mit mehr Gewalt auf diese Situation reagieren kann.

- Sie können momentan nicht fernsehen. Soll das Kind studieren oder im Bett liegen? Gibt es eine Serie, die Sie zu einer Zeit ansehen möchten, zu der Sie nicht vor dem Fernseher sein sollten? Eltern müssen dieser Anforderung gegenüber unflexibel sein und mit Nein antworten.


- Er sollte auch nicht in den Wutanfällen anwesend sein, während Kinder nicht aufhören und nervöses Verhalten zeigen. Wir müssen zeigen, dass diese Einstellungen nicht beeinträchtigt werden.

- Keine Anfragen zu Petitionen im Zusammenhang mit Verhaltensweisen, von denen ihnen zuvor gesagt wurde, dass sie diese nicht ausführen könnten. Kinder müssen verstehen, dass sie Erfolg haben werden, egal wie sehr sie danach fragen.

Wie sagt man nein

Zur gleichen Zeit gibt Markham auch eine Reihe von Tipps wann und wie ich zu dem kleinsten des Hauses (und den nicht so kleinen) nein sagen sollte:

- Verlieren Sie die Angst vor nicht. "Nein" zu sagen, schadet ihnen nicht, es ist eine Grenze und eine Chance für Kinder, um zu lernen, was richtig und was falsch ist.

- Es ist nicht persönlich. Mit dem Nein können die Kinder es als etwas Persönliches betrachten, Eltern sollten ihren Kindern klar machen, dass es nicht so ist. Das ist eine Lektion und am Ende wollen sie ihnen helfen.


- Lassen Sie die Tür "Ja" offen. In einigen Situationen können Eltern ihren Kindern zeigen, dass "Ja" möglich ist, auch wenn sie ein "Nein" hören. Wenn sie beispielsweise ihrer Verantwortung nachkommen, können sie fernsehen (und es ist nicht zu spät).

Damián Montero

Video: 10 Eigenschaften Von Giftigen Eltern, Die Das Leben Ihrer Kinder Ruinieren


Interessante Artikel

Mein Sohn will ein Piercing, was mache ich?

Mein Sohn will ein Piercing, was mache ich?

Die Pubertät bringt viele Veränderungen bei den Jugendlichen, von denen ihres Alters, zu den Veränderungen, die sie selbst vornehmen möchten.. Es ist eine wichtige Phase des persönlichen Wachstums,...

5 Schlüssel zur Erfüllung Ihrer Zwecke

5 Schlüssel zur Erfüllung Ihrer Zwecke

Erfüllen Sie, was Sie vorschlagen? Vorwärtskommen und Ihre Ziele erfüllen ist eine Aufgabe, die viel Selbst erfordert. Um das zu erreichen, was Sie schon immer wollten, reicht es nicht aus, richtig...