The demographic winter: causes and direct consequences

Europe is moving towards equalization of birth and death rates, with the resulting stagnation of natural population growth (zero growth). In addition, it has a proportion of elderly population that will soon exceed 20% of the total population.

If current trends continue, Europe could move to a demographic regression phase, to an increase in mortality as a result of the aging of their demographic structures, to a still lower birth rate, and to an effective loss of population. It is urgent to recover the values ​​of the person and family to counteract and reverse these negative tendencies and thus safeguard Western culture.


The collapse of the European birth It has been a reality for several decades now, applicable to all the countries in our area. For more than thirty years, generations have not been renewed in many European Union States (2.1 children per woman). And, due to the dynamics of demographic phenomena, over the years, this deficit is going to increase, to such an extent that, if it continues for another thirty years, the process of demographic depopulation could become irreversible. Europe.

Direct consequences of the collapse of the birth

The negative implications of all kinds that derive from a situation of this nature are incalculable. The unfavorable repercussions go beyond the limits of the demographic consequences and are fundamentally economic and social. In the strictly demographic, the prolonged downward trend in the birth rate will cause an increase in mortality and an effective decrease in the population, that is, a net loss of millions of European inhabitants in the first half of this century and an alarming aging of the population.


The situation is equally precarious in other countries of the West, whose dependence rates (relationship between the active and passive population) are increasing due to the imbalance in their demographic structures, which has dramatic repercussions for society as a whole. These negative repercussions range from excessive charges for Social Security with respect to pensions and the provision of social services, to serious imbalances in production and consumption structures, as well as to important ramifications with respect to social and economic areas that are closely related to age, such as, for example, education, housing and health care.

Overpopulation and birth control


With the breakdown of fertility in the West and the strong slowdown in the birth rate in the Third World, with a world average of 2.5 children per woman and an annual growth of just over 1%, we can hardly talk today about " population explosion "and less, of" overpopulation ". Those who still maintain this position are not based on science, but on ideology and the promotion of vested interests of all kinds.

In accordance with this, to argue that the many evils and the grave injustices that afflict the third World countries they are due to their high fecundity, and to seek supposed solutions through birth control in all its facets - often in a violent way, contrary to the will of the citizens of those peoples - it contains a strong dose of ignorance or cynicism . To try to make us think that the high level of the birth rate is the cause of the poverty of the less developed countries, is equivalent to the nonsense of saying that the high degree of aging is the cause of the richness of the developed countries.

Economic and social development, which implies more years of schooling and university, and the massive incorporation of women in the labor force, for example, cause marriages to fall behind and the procreative period is, in fact, shorter than in less developed countries. But the Bankruptcy of fertility in the West It obeys, above all, a profound transformation in the way of thinking and acting in terms of human reproduction, in accordance with the so-called "modern mentality", which negatively affects the birth rate.

How did we get here?

The factors of this mentality are of cultural, psychological and ethical nature: they are the new values ​​of society that place other aspirations above and beyond the formation of families. The fall of the birth rate is also related to the institutional promotion and generalization, in the countries of our cultural environment, of demographic policies and actions of anti-natalist approach.

The causes of the collapse of the birth rate in rich countries, then, are rooted mainly in moral and psychological issues, including cultural and religious values. The serious deterioration of these values ​​is what has generated the appearance and generalization of counter values.This is intimately related to the so-called "sexual revolution", which entails formalization and social approval for alternatives to traditional family unions.

The technical possibility of carrying out human reproduction apart from the physical union between a man and a woman - through genetic manipulation, in vitro fertilization and cloning - introduces, with respect to human sexuality, marriage and family, a new and worrying element of personal and collective disintegration.

Does the demographic winter have a solution?

The current dysfunctionality of the family is not resolved by simply reversing the terms of the evolutions and negative situations that are observed in the demographic field, through the contribution of official aid from the State or services to the family from society. These contributions are necessary and indispensable vehicles to remedy many of the ills afflicting the family at the present time, but they are not enough to reverse the demographic trends.

Any reversal of these tendencies can only come from a profound change of attitude towards the reality of the person, sexuality, marriage, procreation and family and, ultimately, before the deeper reality of what the human condition entails as to its very essence and its ultimate ends. Relying on other structures different from the traditional family necessarily leads to the great contradictions and atypical situations that are evident in today's world.

The eradication of these contradictions and these worrisome situations can only be achieved through the recovery of values ​​that reinforce the family as an essential link for the full realization of the individual as a human person and as a basic and natural unit of society.

Alban D'Entremont. Professor of Geography of Europe, Place and Space in History, and Population, Resources and Environment of the University of Navarra

Video: The Suicide of Europe


Interesting Articles

Spending time outdoors improves the quality of sleep

Spending time outdoors improves the quality of sleep

Who does not like it sleep well. After a day of work and efforts, a well-deserved rest awaits in the bed to recharge the batteries. For this reason, seeking the quality of sleep becomes a very common...

40% of child happiness depends on parents

40% of child happiness depends on parents

The happiness, assure numerous scientific studies, is determined in a 50 percent by the genetics, in a 10 percent by the external circumstances or the context and in a 40 percent it depends on us, of...

Intermediate period, how to avoid health risks

Intermediate period, how to avoid health risks

The beginning of autumn is a stage somewhat strange to what temperatures it means. Sometimes the day asks to wear a short-sleeved shirt, and the next it is possible to go outside and find rain and...

Der demografische Winter: Ursachen und direkte Folgen

Europa bewegt sich in Richtung einer Angleichung der Geburten- und Sterberaten und führt zu einer Stagnation des natürlichen Bevölkerungswachstums (Nullwachstum). Darüber hinaus hat es einen Anteil der älteren Bevölkerung, der bald 20% der Gesamtbevölkerung übersteigen wird.

Wenn sich die aktuellen Trends fortsetzen, Europa könnte in eine demografische Regressionsphase übergehenZu einer Erhöhung der Sterblichkeit infolge des Alterns ihrer demographischen Strukturen, zu einer noch niedrigeren Geburtenrate und zu einem effektiven Bevölkerungsverlust. Es ist dringend notwendig, die Werte der Person und der Familie wiederherzustellen, um diesen negativen Tendenzen entgegenzuwirken und sie umzukehren, um so die westliche Kultur zu schützen.


Die Zusammenbruch der europäischen Geburt Es ist bereits seit mehreren Jahrzehnten Realität und gilt für alle Länder in unserer Region. Seit mehr als dreißig Jahren wurden Generationen in vielen Staaten der Europäischen Union nicht erneuert (2,1 Kinder pro Frau). Aufgrund der Dynamik demografischer Phänomene wird dieses Defizit im Laufe der Jahre so stark zunehmen, dass der Prozess der demografischen Entvölkerung, wenn er weitere dreißig Jahre andauert, irreversibel werden kann. Europa

Direkte Folgen des Zusammenbruchs der Geburt

Die negativen Auswirkungen aller Arten, die sich aus einer solchen Situation ergeben, sind nicht abschätzbar. Die ungünstigen Auswirkungen gehen über die Grenzen der demografischen Konsequenzen hinaus und sind grundsätzlich wirtschaftlich und sozial. In der streng demografischen Entwicklung führt der anhaltende Abwärtstrend der Geburtenrate zu einem Anstieg der Sterblichkeit und einem effektiven Bevölkerungsrückgang, das heißt zu einem Nettoverlust von Millionen Europäern in der ersten Hälfte dieses Jahrhunderts und einer alarmierenden Alterung der Bevölkerung.


Die Situation ist in anderen Ländern des Westens ebenso prekär, deren Abhängigkeitsraten (Verhältnis zwischen aktiver und passiver Bevölkerung) aufgrund des Ungleichgewichts in ihren demografischen Strukturen zunehmen, was dramatische Auswirkungen auf die gesamte Gesellschaft hat. Diese negativen Auswirkungen reichen von überhöhten Abgaben für die soziale Sicherheit in Bezug auf Renten und die Bereitstellung sozialer Dienstleistungenzu gravierenden Ungleichgewichten in Produktions- und Konsumstrukturen sowie zu wichtigen Auswirkungen in Bezug auf soziale und wirtschaftliche Bereiche, die eng mit dem Alter zusammenhängen, wie zum Beispiel Bildung, Wohnen und Gesundheitsfürsorge.

Überbevölkerung und Geburtenkontrolle


Mit dem Zusammenbruch der Fruchtbarkeit im Westen und der starken Verlangsamung der Geburtenrate in der Dritten Welt, mit einem Weltdurchschnitt von 2,5 Kindern pro Frau und einem jährlichen Wachstum von etwas über 1%, können wir heute kaum darüber sprechen " Bevölkerungsexplosion "und weniger von" Überbevölkerung ". Diejenigen, die immer noch diese Position einnehmen, basieren nicht auf der Wissenschaft, sondern auf Ideologie und der Förderung von Interessen aller Art.

Dementsprechend zu argumentieren, dass die vielen Übel und die schweren Ungerechtigkeiten, die die Menschen heimsuchen Länder der Dritten Welt Sie sind auf ihre hohe Fruchtbarkeit zurückzuführen, und um angebliche Lösungen durch Geburtenkontrolle in all ihren Facetten zu suchen - oft auf gewalttätige Weise, entgegen dem Willen der Bürger dieser Völker - enthält sie eine starke Dosis Ignoranz oder Zynismus . Wenn wir versuchen zu denken, dass die hohe Geburtenrate die Ursache für die Armut der weniger entwickelten Länder ist, ist es dem Unsinn gleichzusetzen, zu sagen, dass der hohe Alterungsgrad die Ursache für den Reichtum der entwickelten Länder ist.

Die wirtschaftliche und soziale Entwicklung, die mehr Schul- und Universitätsjahre erfordert, und die massive Eingliederung von Frauen in die Erwerbsbevölkerung führen beispielsweise dazu, dass die Ehen zurückbleiben, und die Zeugungsphase ist in der Tat kürzer als in weniger entwickelten Ländern. Aber die Konkurs der Fruchtbarkeit im Westen Es gehorcht vor allem einer tiefgreifenden Transformation des Denkens und Handelns im Sinne der menschlichen Reproduktion entsprechend dem sogenannten "moderne Mentalität", die die Geburtenrate negativ beeinflusst.

Wie sind wir hierher gekommen?

Die Faktoren dieser Mentalität sind kultureller, psychologischer und ethischer Natur: Sie sind die neuen Werte der Gesellschaft, die andere Bestrebungen über die Familienbildung hinaus setzen. Der Rückgang der Geburtenrate hängt auch mit der institutionellen Förderung und Verallgemeinerung der demografischen Politik und der Maßnahmen gegen Natalismus in den Ländern unseres kulturellen Umfelds zusammen.

Die Ursachen für den Zusammenbruch der Geburtenrate in den reichen Ländern wurzeln also hauptsächlich in moralischen und psychologischen Fragen, einschließlich kultureller und religiöser Werte. Die gravierende Verschlechterung dieser Werte hat das Auftreten und die Verallgemeinerung der Zählerwerte hervorgerufen.Dies hängt eng mit der sogenannten "sexuellen Revolution" zusammen, die die Formalisierung und soziale Anerkennung von Alternativen zu traditionellen Familiengewerkschaften beinhaltet.

Die technische Möglichkeit der menschlichen Fortpflanzung, abgesehen von der physischen Vereinigung von Mann und Frau - durch genetische Manipulation, In-vitro-Fertilisation und Klonen - führt in Bezug auf die menschliche Sexualität, Ehe und Familie ein. ein neues und besorgniserregendes Element der persönlichen und kollektiven Desintegration.

Hat der demografische Winter eine Lösung?

Die derzeitige Funktionsstörung der Familie wird nicht dadurch gelöst, dass einfach die Bedingungen der Entwicklungen und negativen Situationen, die im demografischen Bereich beobachtet werden, durch den Beitrag staatlicher Beihilfen oder staatlicher Leistungen der Familie aus der Gesellschaft aufgehoben werden. Diese Beiträge sind notwendige und unverzichtbare Hilfsmittel, um viele der derzeit in der Familie lebenden Missstände zu beseitigen, reichen aber nicht aus, um die demografischen Trends umzukehren.

Jede Umkehrung dieser Tendenzen kann nur aus einer tiefgreifenden Änderung der Einstellung gegenüber der Realität der Person, der Sexualität, der Ehe, der Fortpflanzung und der Familie und letztendlich vor der tieferen Realität dessen resultieren, was der menschliche Zustand mit sich bringt in Bezug auf sein Wesen und seine letzten Ziele. Sich auf andere Strukturen als die traditionelle Familie zu verlassen, führt zwangsläufig zu den großen Widersprüchen und atypischen Situationen, die in der heutigen Welt offensichtlich sind.

Die Beseitigung dieser Widersprüche und dieser besorgniserregenden Situationen kann nur durch die EU erreicht werden Wiederherstellung von Werten, die die Familie stärken als wesentliches Bindeglied für die vollständige Verwirklichung des Individuums als menschlicher Person und als grundlegende und natürliche Einheit der Gesellschaft.

Alban D'Entremont. Professor für Geographie von Europa, Ort und Raum in der Geschichte sowie Bevölkerung, Ressourcen und Umwelt der Universität von Navarra

Video: The Third Industrial Revolution: A Radical New Sharing Economy


Interessante Artikel

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Grünes Licht hilft gegen Migräne

Wenige Empfindungen sind ärgerlicher als der Schmerz, der durch verursacht wird Migräne. Das Unbehagen, das durch diese Kopfschmerzen empfunden wird, macht uns schwindelig und gibt sogar den Drang,...