Fear of being offline, the consequence of the dependence on new technologies

New technologies are a really useful tool that facilitate both the work of adults and the studies of young people. At the same time, they also shorten distances between family and friends who live far away. Although in some cases this pragmatism has become a dependence of these devices that makes the individual does not know how to function in an environment where he is disconnected from the internet and from his digital world.

In fact, in many cases there is a fear of staying offline. A consequence derived more from the dependence of new technologies and that usually rebound in summer. During the summer season, many families make trips to places where it is not possible to access the Internet, something that generates especially in young people a feeling of nervousness when faced with this disconnection of their mute online.


Afraid to miss something

The new technologies have also brought us a new space Where to create a circle of friends: social networks. These platforms serve many young people to interact with classmates or other acquaintances. In these places the new generations share videos, texts, chat through the chat rooms, comment on the material uploaded to the internet, etc.

However, when leaving, the joden may face a trip where he does not have this connection to the internet or where the activities to be performed do not allow him to attend social networks. In these cases, what actually happens is that the young person feels fear of losing something, this is what is known as FOMO, for its acronym in English: 'Fear Of Missing Out' which could be translated as the panic to stay out, not to learn the same as the rest who surf the net.


The young person understands the disconnection of these social networks as a goodbye to your social life. Think that if you do not interact with the rest, they will put you aside or be in a disadvantaged position. As a study from the University of Essex shows, the first symptom of this fear is anxiety, the constant remorse about what the young person will be missing while not participating in social networks.

Social validation

Another result derived from this fear is the sensation of not be validated socially on the part of the young man. By not interacting with the rest, the individual has the feeling of having ceased to exist. Not being in social networks is the same as having lost all contact with your friends and this is the origin of the anxiety and apathy of the youngest.

This in some cases also means that during family trips, young people look for a place where they can connect to the internet, something that worries them more than enjoying their relatives. The objective is to share material of these holidays to get the acceptance of the rest. A dependency that prevents everyone from sharing this time together so hard to repeat the rest of the year.


But holidays can also help young people disconnect in this regard. Here are some tips for this:

- Disconnection plan. Parents should anticipate an activity that does not lead to the connection of young people to these networks. Keeping them distracted is the goal, for this nothing better than to make them participants in the planning of activities.

- Curfew. Family nights should be further enhanced during vacations. After a certain hour, the use of smartphones and other technologies with which to connect must be prohibited.

- Be inflexible. Probably the same anxiety of the young man makes him face his parents at the thought of disconnecting. But parents must be firm and not give in, in the end this attitude will end up happening.

- Lead by example. Parents may also be tempted to send photos to their contacts. We must remember that the time devoted to these matters is not dedicated to the family, which is who is really on vacation. There will be time to show the pictures on the way back.

Damián Montero

Video: Why our screens make us less happy | Adam Alter


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Angst, offline zu sein, die Folge der Abhängigkeit von neuen Technologien

Neue Technologien sind ein wirklich nützliches Instrument, das sowohl die Arbeit von Erwachsenen als auch das Studium junger Menschen erleichtert. Gleichzeitig verkürzen sie auch die Entfernung zwischen Familie und weit entfernten Freunden. Obwohl dieser Pragmatismus in einigen Fällen zu einem Abhängigkeit Von diesen Geräten weiß der Einzelne nicht, wie er in einer Umgebung funktionieren soll, in der er vom Internet und seiner digitalen Welt getrennt ist.

In vielen Fällen besteht die Angst, offline zu bleiben. Eine Folge, die mehr vom Abhängigkeit der neuen Technologien und die normalerweise im Sommer erholen. Während der Sommersaison machen viele Familien Reisen an Orte, an denen der Zugang zum Internet nicht möglich ist, was vor allem bei jungen Menschen ein Gefühl der Nervosität hervorruft, wenn sie die Stummschaltung ihrer Stummschaltung online einstellen.


Angst, etwas zu verpassen

Die neuen Technologien haben uns auch gebracht neuer Raum Wo man einen Freundeskreis aufbauen kann: soziale Netzwerke. Diese Plattformen dienen vielen jungen Menschen dazu, mit Klassenkameraden oder anderen Bekannten zu interagieren. In diesen Orten teilen die neuen Generationen Videos, Texte, chatten durch die Chatrooms, kommentieren das ins Internet hochgeladene Material usw.

Beim Verlassen kann der Joden jedoch auf eine Reise treffen, wenn er diese Verbindung zum Internet nicht hat oder wenn die durchzuführenden Aktivitäten ihn nicht dazu befähigen, soziale Netzwerke zu besuchen. In diesen Fällen ist es tatsächlich so, dass der Jugendliche Angst hat, etwas zu verlieren. Dies ist, was als bekannt ist FOMO, für sein Akronym in Englisch: "Fear Of Missing Out", was als Panik übersetzt werden könnte, um draußen zu bleiben und nicht das Gleiche zu lernen wie die anderen, die im Internet surfen.


Der Jugendliche versteht die Trennung dieser sozialen Netzwerke als auf wiedersehen zu deinem sozialen Leben. Denken Sie daran, dass Sie, wenn Sie nicht mit dem Rest interagieren, Sie zur Seite legen oder sich in einer benachteiligten Position befinden. Wie eine Studie der University of Essex zeigt, ist das erste Symptom dieser Angst die Angst, die ständige Reue darüber, was der Jugendliche vermisst, ohne an sozialen Netzwerken teilzunehmen.

Soziale Validierung

Ein weiteres Ergebnis aus dieser Angst ist die Empfindung von nicht validiert werden sozial seitens des jungen Mannes. Indem der Einzelne nicht mit dem Rest interagiert, hat er das Gefühl, nicht mehr zu existieren. Nicht in sozialen Netzwerken zu sein ist gleichbedeutend mit dem Verlust aller Kontakte zu Ihren Freunden, und dies ist der Ursprung der Angst und Apathie des Jüngsten.

Dies bedeutet in einigen Fällen auch, dass junge Leute während der Familienausflüge nach einem Ort suchen, an dem sie sich mit dem Internet verbinden können. Das beunruhigt sie mehr als das Genießen ihrer Angehörigen. Die Ziel ist es, Material von diesen Feiertagen zu teilen, um den Rest zu akzeptieren. Eine Abhängigkeit, die alle daran hindert, diese Zeit gemeinsam zu verbringen, so schwer, den Rest des Jahres zu wiederholen.


Feiertage können aber auch jungen Menschen helfen, die Verbindung zu trennen. Hier einige Tipps dazu:

- Abschaltplan. Eltern sollten eine Aktivität erwarten, die nicht dazu führt, dass junge Menschen an diese Netzwerke angeschlossen werden. Es ist das Ziel, sie ablenken zu lassen, denn es ist nichts besseres, als sie an der Planung von Aktivitäten teilzunehmen.

- Sperrstunde Familiennächte sollten während der Ferien weiter verbessert werden. Nach einer bestimmten Stunde muss die Verwendung von Smartphones und anderen zu verbindenden Technologien verboten werden.

- Sei unflexibel. Wahrscheinlich ist es die gleiche Angst des jungen Mannes, dass er sich beim Gedanken an die Trennung seiner Eltern stellt. Aber die Eltern müssen fest sein und nicht nachgeben, am Ende wird diese Einstellung enden.

- Predigen am Beispiel. Eltern können auch versucht sein, ihren Kontakten Fotos zu senden. Wir müssen uns daran erinnern, dass die Zeit, die diesen Angelegenheiten gewidmet ist, nicht der Familie gewidmet ist, dh wer wirklich im Urlaub ist. Es wird Zeit sein, die Bilder auf dem Rückweg zu zeigen.

Damián Montero

Video: Droge Smartphone: wie abhängig sind wir? - Einstein vom 10.12.2015


Interessante Artikel

Wie man Geschwisterkämpfe handhabt

Wie man Geschwisterkämpfe handhabt

Die Kämpfe zwischen Brüdern von 6 bis 12 Jahren, schädlich und störend im Aussehen, machen wirklich aus ein Hilfsmittel, damit sie in ihrem Gefühl der Geselligkeit ausgebildet werden, Kennen Sie die...

Lancia vertreibt die S-Version von Voyager in Spanien

Lancia vertreibt die S-Version von Voyager in Spanien

Có vô số dịp trong cuộc đời của con cái chúng ta, trong đó chúng ta không thể phân biệt được giữa một sự khẩn cấp thực sự của một nỗi sợ hãi đơn giản. Vì lý do này, thật tốt khi có một số khái niệm...