Adolescents, why do not we speak the same language?

The same thing happens to all parents: as soon as our children get into the stage Teen, the communication, before simple and fluid, now becomes a task that is very complicated. What happens, maybe We do not speak the same language? Do not panic, you just have to change your approach and strategy.

Adolescence is often considered as an evil that inevitably must pass as if we were talking about a disease. We have this feeling because we consider this stage as a process full of conflicts.

However, if we think of adolescence as a stage of learning, we will discover very positive aspects. In fact, in this period young people have an amazing capacity for absorbing new information and we, as responsible for the child, must cooperate with our model.


It is worth remembering that our way of acting is going to serve them as something to look at. In this way, we can consider adolescence as a period of maximum learning of new concepts, an opportunity for future development and independence.

The deal with teenagers: what has changed?

It is true that when we reach adolescence some elements of the scenario of dealing with our children change. For a good communication it is necessary to empathize with them, since it is a time full of changes, both from a physical and cognitive and emotional point of view. For all this, that they feel understood by their parents is essential for their optimal development.

To begin to understand them it is necessary to recognize the concept of "mourning" that is usually generated in parents before the loss of the relationship of a child that passes from childhood to adolescence. From that moment on, the parents went from being the ones who marked the behavior and the way of thinking of the children, to realizing that we have stopped having a direct influence on them.


For the transition from childhood to adolescence to develop naturally, it is important to promote autonomy and transmit a positive idea about adolescence, without the negative labels that society usually imposes.

The welfare and safety of adolescents depends on their access to the ideas and values ​​of their parents, adolescents need to be able to express their doubts, trust their fears and explore possibilities with an adult who listens to them without making value judgments and helps them to make responsible decisions.

Tolerance to frustration: the challenge of adolescents

One of the most valuable aspects we can teach an adolescent is tolerance of frustration, that is, learning to accept a "no" as an answer. It is a stage in which countless ideas, feelings and projects arise that the adolescent would like to carry out, but whose consequences it is difficult to calculate. Therefore, giving them a "no" answer will help them train their frustration tolerance and to prepare for a world that continually denies us what we want when we are adults.


The "no" should always be accompanied by the logical and rational reasons why we have decided to deny that project to the adolescent, so that he can reflect on them and on the consequences that would have to carry it out. He must know that he is not denied "just because", but because it can be harmful, either directly for them or for the environment.

It is common for the adolescent to interpret the denials as a lack of confidence or as a negative attitude of the parents. It is fundamental that this does not happen and that the adolescent knows and learns that he is denied a project for logical and understandable reasons and on which he can meditate. At the same time that the necessary limits are established, the adolescent has to feel particularly protected and welcomed by his family, he must note that he has family support and that we have full confidence in him, even if we do not agree on some concrete projects .

Raquel García Zubiaga. Psychologist from the Institute of Applied Neurosciences in Education

It may interest you:

- How to make the 6 most important decisions of your life

- Adolescents and responsibility

- 10 mistakes that parents make with our children

- How to establish trust between parents and children

Video: Language Expert: Donald Trump's Way Of Speaking Is 'Oddly Adolescent' | The 11th Hour | MSNBC


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

Jugendliche, warum sprechen wir nicht dieselbe Sprache?

Dasselbe gilt für alle Eltern: Sobald unsere Kinder auf die Bühne kommen jugendlicherDie Kommunikation vor der einfachen und fließenden Aufgabe wird jetzt zu einer sehr komplizierten Aufgabe. Was passiert vielleicht? Wir sprechen nicht dieselbe Sprache? Keine Panik, Sie müssen nur Ihren Ansatz und Ihre Strategie ändern.

Die Pubertät wird oft als ein Übel betrachtet, das unweigerlich vorübergehen muss, als würden wir über eine Krankheit sprechen. Wir haben dieses Gefühl, weil wir diese Phase als einen Prozess voller Konflikte betrachten.

Wenn wir jedoch die Pubertät als Lernphase betrachten, werden wir sehr positive Aspekte entdecken. In dieser Zeit haben junge Menschen eine erstaunliche Fähigkeit, neue Informationen aufzunehmen, und wir müssen als Verantwortliche für das Kind mit unserem Modell zusammenarbeiten.


Es lohnt sich zu erinnern, dass unsere Art zu handeln ihnen als etwas dienen wird, das man sich ansehen kann. Auf diese Weise können wir die Pubertät als eine Periode des maximalen Lernens neuer Konzepte, als Chance für zukünftige Entwicklung und Unabhängigkeit betrachten.

Der Deal mit Teenagern: Was hat sich geändert?

Es ist wahr, dass sich in der Pubertät einige Elemente des Szenarios des Umgangs mit unseren Kindern ändern. Für eine gute Kommunikation ist es notwendig, sich mit ihnen einzufühlen, denn es ist eine Zeit voller Veränderungen, sowohl in physischer als auch in kognitiver und emotionaler Hinsicht. Dass sie sich von ihren Eltern verstanden fühlen, ist für ihre optimale Entwicklung unabdingbar.

Um sie zu verstehen, muss man das Konzept der "Trauer" erkennen, das normalerweise von den Eltern erzeugt wird, bevor die Beziehung eines Kindes verloren geht, die von der Kindheit in die Adoleszenz übergeht. Von diesem Moment an wandelten sich die Eltern von denjenigen, die das Verhalten und die Denkweise der Kinder prägten, und erkannten, dass wir keinen direkten Einfluss mehr auf sie haben.


Damit sich der Übergang von der Kindheit in die Adoleszenz natürlich entwickeln kann, ist es wichtig, die Autonomie zu fördern und eine positive Vorstellung von der Adoleszenz zu vermitteln, ohne die negativen Bezeichnungen, die die Gesellschaft normalerweise auferlegt.

Das Wohlergehen und die Sicherheit von Jugendlichen hängen von ihrem Zugang zu den Ideen und Werten ihrer Eltern ab. Jugendliche müssen in der Lage sein, ihre Zweifel auszusprechen, ihren Ängsten zu vertrauen und Möglichkeiten zu erkunden, mit einem Erwachsenen, der ihnen zuhört, ohne Werturteile zu machen und ihnen zu helfen verantwortungsvolle Entscheidungen treffen.

Frustrationstoleranz: die Herausforderung von Jugendlichen

Einer der wertvollsten Aspekte, die wir einem Jugendlichen vermitteln können, ist die Frustrationstoleranz, dh das Lernen, ein "Nein" als Antwort zu akzeptieren. Es ist eine Phase, in der unzählige Ideen, Gefühle und Projekte entstehen, die der Jugendliche gerne ausführen würde, deren Folgen jedoch schwer zu berechnen sind. Wenn Sie ihnen ein "Nein" geben, können Sie sie besser trainieren Frustrationstoleranz und uns auf eine Welt vorzubereiten, die uns als Erwachsener ständig das versagt, was wir wollen.


Das "Nein" sollte immer von den logischen und rationalen Gründen begleitet werden, weshalb wir beschlossen haben, dieses Projekt dem Jugendlichen zu verweigern, damit er darüber nachdenken kann und welche Konsequenzen dies haben muss. Er muss wissen, dass er nicht "nur deshalb" abgelehnt wird, sondern weil er entweder direkt oder für die Umwelt schädlich sein kann.

Es ist üblich, dass der Jugendliche die Leugnungen als mangelndes Vertrauen oder als negative Einstellung der Eltern interpretiert. Es ist von grundlegender Bedeutung, dass dies nicht geschieht und der Jugendliche weiß und erfährt, dass ihm aus logischen und verständlichen Gründen ein Projekt verweigert wird, über das er meditieren kann. Während die notwendigen Grenzen gesetzt sind, muss sich der Jugendliche besonders geschützt und willkommen von seiner Familie fühlen. Er muss feststellen, dass er familiäre Unterstützung hat und dass wir volles Vertrauen in ihn haben, auch wenn wir uns nicht auf konkrete Projekte einigen .

Raquel García Zubiaga. Psychologe vom Institut für angewandte Neurowissenschaften in der Bildung

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Wie Sie die 6 wichtigsten Entscheidungen Ihres Lebens treffen

- Jugendliche und Verantwortung

- 10 Fehler, die Eltern mit unseren Kindern machen

- Wie man Vertrauen zwischen Eltern und Kindern aufbaut

Video: Guckst du Beitrag über Sprache! - XEN.ON TV


Interessante Artikel

So einfach ist es, Optimist zu werden

So einfach ist es, Optimist zu werden

Sie sagen, ein Pessimist sei nichts anderes als ein erfahrener Optimist, aber ist das wahr? Die "traurige Realität" kann uns das Leben glauben lassen es lohnt sich nicht? Natürlich nicht Sein...