6 tips to protect the eyes from the sun

Just as we are aware of the protection of the skin against the sun's rays, in the eyes we must also pay attention to them, and especially, in times of greater exposure, as in summer. A prolonged exposure to the sun without proper eye protection can lead to burns on the cornea (photokeratitis) or conjunctival damage such as photophobia, red eye, tearing, etc. With these 6 tips to protect your eyes from the sun you will avoid these risks

The damage can start at the surface of the eye, the cornea, and in the long term induce the formation of skin cancer in the area of ​​the eyelids and increased risk of developing melanomas in the eye, such as choroidal melanomas. In fact, it has been shown that exposure to UV-B radiation increases the risk of cataracts, explains Dr. María Capote of the Ophthalmology Service of La Milagrosa Hospital in Madrid.


The World Health Organization states that "more than 80% of the exposure to UV radiation that occurs throughout life is reached before age 18." "It is clear that from this evidence and taking into account that the radiation accumulates throughout life, The use of protection from childhood, maintained throughout life, is extremely important, "says Dr. Capote.

Children, like adults, if they are going to spend a lot of time exposed to the sun, should protect their eyes. The use of sunglasses and caps with visor, is essential.

6 tips to protect the eyes from the sun


1. The glass of the goggle must comply with the CE and filter regulations. The color of sunglasses is not synonymous with UV filter. The CE mark (is the minimum guarantee standard) and the filter number they have (from 0 to 4) must appear clearly.

2. Choose the appropriate color of the spectacle lens. A dark glass does not mean that it protects better. In fact, a very dark glass but without the proper filter allows UVA and UVB rays to pass because the pupil is more dilated as the dark glass.

3. Wear sunglasses on cloudy days. In conditions of little sun there is also presence of UV rays.

4. Adapt your protection according to the need of each environment. Filters 2,3 and 4 are the most suitable for outdoor exercise, sun exposure on the beach or mountain and water sports and high mountains. However for a prolonged exposure to the sun, crystals with ultraviolet filter of 400 nanometers are recommended, stops 100% of the UV rays, and polarized crystals are not necessary.


5. Never look directly at the sun. Looking directly into the sun, even during an eclipse, can cause irreparable damage to the eye.

6. Special care with the eyes of children. Children should also protect themselves from the sun's rays and can wear sunglasses at any age.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice: Dr. María Capote, of the Ophthalmology Service of the Hospital La Milagrosa, of Madrid.

Video: Protecting your eyes from sun damage by Kaiser Permanente


Interesting Articles

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

6 Tipps zum Schutz der Augen vor der Sonne

So wie wir uns des Schutzes der Haut vor den Sonnenstrahlen bewusst sind, müssen wir auch in den Augen auf sie achten, besonders in Zeiten höherer Belichtung, wie im Sommer. Eine längere Sonnenbestrahlung ohne geeigneten Augenschutz kann zu Verbrennungen an der Hornhaut (Photokeratitis) oder zu Bindehautschäden wie Photophobie, roten Augen, Tränen usw. führen. Mit diesen 6 Tipps zum Schutz Ihrer Augen vor der Sonne vermeiden Sie diese Risiken

Die Schädigung kann an der Augenoberfläche, der Hornhaut beginnen und auf lange Sicht die Bildung von verursachen Hautkrebs im Bereich der Augenlider und erhöhtes Risiko, Melanome im Auge zu entwickeln, wie z. B. choroidale Melanome. Tatsächlich hat sich gezeigt, dass die Exposition gegenüber UV-B-Strahlung das Risiko von Katarakten erhöht, erklärt Dr. María Capote vom Ophthalmology Service des La Milagrosa Hospital in Madrid.


Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation gibt an, dass "mehr als 80% der UV-Strahlung, die während des gesamten Lebens auftritt, vor dem 18. Lebensjahr erreicht wird." "Es ist klar, dass aus diesen Beweisen und unter Berücksichtigung der die Strahlung sammelt sich im Laufe des Lebens Der Schutz des Kindesalters während des gesamten Lebens ist äußerst wichtig ", sagt Dr. Capote.

Kinder wie Erwachsene sollten, wenn sie viel Zeit der Sonne aussetzen, ihre Augen schützen. Die Verwendung von Sonnenbrillen und Mützen mit Visier ist unerlässlich.

6 Tipps zum Schutz der Augen vor der Sonne


1. Das Glas der Brille muss den CE- und Filterbestimmungen entsprechen. Die Farbe von Sonnenbrillen ist nicht gleichbedeutend mit UV-Filter. Das CE-Kennzeichen (Mindestgarantiestandard) und die Filternummer (von 0 bis 4) müssen deutlich sichtbar sein.

2. Wählen Sie die entsprechende Farbe des Brillenglases. Ein dunkles Glas bedeutet nicht, dass es besser schützt. In der Tat lässt ein sehr dunkles Glas, aber ohne den richtigen Filter, UVA- und UVB-Strahlen durch, da die Pupille stärker ist als das dunkle Glas.

3. Tragen Sie an bewölkten Tagen eine Sonnenbrille. Bei wenig Sonne gibt es auch UV-Strahlen.

4. Passen Sie Ihren Schutz den Erfordernissen der jeweiligen Umgebung an. Die Filter 2, 3 und 4 eignen sich am besten für Bewegung im Freien, Sonneneinstrahlung am Strand oder Berg- und Wassersport sowie hohe Berge. Für eine längere Sonneneinstrahlung werden jedoch Kristalle mit einem Ultraviolettfilter von 400 Nanometern empfohlen, die 100% der UV-Strahlen stoppen und polarisierte Kristalle sind nicht erforderlich.


5. Schauen Sie niemals direkt in die Sonne. Ein direkter Blick in die Sonne, selbst während einer Sonnenfinsternis, kann das Auge irreparabel schädigen.

6. Besondere Vorsicht mit den Augen von Kindern. Kinder sollten sich auch vor den Sonnenstrahlen schützen und können in jedem Alter eine Sonnenbrille tragen.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis: Dr. María Capotedes Augenärztlichen Dienstes des Krankenhauses La Milagrosa in Madrid.

Video: 6 Tipps für gesunde Augen


Interessante Artikel

Ehrgeizig, ist es positiv und negativ?

Ehrgeizig, ist es positiv und negativ?

Ehrgeiz ist gesund und positiv wenn er Projekte entwickelt und als Motor arbeitet, der uns einlädt, sich zu verbessern, zu wachsen oder Fortschritte zu machen, dh Konformismus und Mittelmäßigkeit...