Shopping addiction: the meaning of compulsive shopping

The addiction to shopping is manifested with a need to buy compulsively and even sickly, it is a need to purchase all kinds of items, even without needing them, even without using them. The need to buy, becomes an uncontrollable need that for a few moments produces a certain degree of well-being, control over the ability to possess, to consume, to have articles that supposedly bring us happiness.

But this control is nothing more than a mirage, which leads to the opposite of a lack of control that can have serious consequences.

When purchases become addiction

Shopping addiction is a term we can hear very often, but not by listening to it often we must take it lightly. Addiction to purchases is an addiction, a behavior disorder, a disease that can have important consequences and that therefore should be considered with the appropriate gravity and should be treated.


What is shopping addiction?

Shopping addiction is a type of social addiction, defined by Echeburúa, 1999, as: "a loss of control over behavior, strong psychological dependence, loss of interest in other rewarding activities and, above all, that addictive behavior seriously interferes with performance of the person's daily life or causes him to deteriorate in the labor, social or recreational spheres of his life ".

Delimiting a little more the term in particular shopping addiction could be defined as a maladaptive pattern of consumption, which manifests itself with a loss of control over buying behavior, acquiring unnecessary items, in excessive quantity that can lead to surpass the possibilities economic factors of the person causing indebtedness.


Psychic mechanism of shopping addiction

The addiction to purchases responds to a psychic mechanism similar to that of other addictions. It is no longer the product purchased, but the act of buying that activates the reward circuit of the brain, providing a sense of pleasure and well-being. But this sensation is momentary and generates a dependence on it, which pushes us to buy again, more frequently and more. In a need to fill gaps for the shopaholic.

Beyond addiction, the meaning of compulsive shopping

With the act of buying, of acquiring products, an existential void is momentarily filled. In modern societies, capitalist and individualist, materialist and superficial, we are forced to follow dizzying rhythms, immersed in a continuous competition. We do not have time to cultivate our person, we do not have enough time to interact and meanwhile from different media we are encouraged to consume. The people who have social value, are those that demonstrate that value with their beauty, with their belongings, with their clothes, with cars, etc. By experiencing this emptiness and that need to be valued, that need also to be physically attractive falls into the addiction to shopping.


Consequences of shopping addiction

The addiction to purchases has important consequences for people who suffer from it. The apparent control becomes uncontrolled and the consequences are very serious. Consequences of shopping addiction:

- Economic problems and excessive indebtedness.

- Dependence on the act of buying, So much so that only welfare is achieved by buying.

- Inability to value oneself if it is not for the products purchased. Even damaging self-esteem

- Social isolation, work and family problems.

Symptoms of shopping addiction

When should we be alerted to the presence of this addiction? Let's see some symptoms that should alert us.

1. High levels of anxiety at the desire to buy or acquire an object.

2. Obsessive thoughts with the acquisition of the item, not needed.

3. Excessive purchases, many items not needed.

4. Many purchased items are not even released.

5. Desires to resist the purchase appear, but can not be controlled.

6. Once the purchase is made, feeling of well-being and relief.

7. Feeling guilty after buying an object not needed.

Tips to prevent addiction to shopping

Shopping addiction is a serious disorder that requires prevention and in some cases treatment.

- Avoid shopping centers and places associated with purchases.

- Try to control your impulse, ask for help if necessary, and instead of buying evidence to perform another pleasant activity.

- Before buying think if you really need it, if it really makes you happy, if it really is going to change your life.

- Avoid people who encourage addiction.

- Cultivate other aspects of your life.

- Avoid paying attention to the advertising bombardment of products.

- Learn to set limits based on economic possibilities, keeping track of what is spent each month.

- Avoid credit cards or carry too much money.

- Avoid online purchases.

- Reinforce and nourish your self-esteem.

- If necessary, consult a specialist.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Clinical health psychologist. Specialist in pedagogy and child and youth psychology. Director of Educa and Aprende. Author of the collection Stimulate Reading and Writing Processes.

Video: What Does It Really Mean To Be Addicted To Shopping? | Your Brain on Shopping | Racked


Interesting Articles

5 perfect bottle warmers for your trips

5 perfect bottle warmers for your trips

We have already talked about the bottle warmers, that instrument that for someone without children may seem unimportant ... but who has it! Especially when we go on a trip, true? We do not always...

Sport for preschool children

Sport for preschool children

Accustoming our children to perform different physical activities is not only advisable for their health, but also to entertain and relieve tension. Since they are still very small, preschool sports...

Games to enjoy your children on trips

Games to enjoy your children on trips

Traveling is one of the funniest activities we can do as a family when we have young children, but it can also become a nightmare if we do not foresee certain situations in advance, since having...

Kaufsucht: die Bedeutung von zwanghaftem Einkaufen

Die Kaufsucht manifestiert sich mit dem Bedürfnis, zwanghaft und sogar krank zu kaufen, es ist notwendig, alle Arten von Gegenständen zu kaufen, auch ohne sie zu benötigen, auch ohne sie zu benutzen. Das Bedürfnis zu kaufen wird zu einem unkontrollierbaren Bedürfnis, das für einige Augenblicke ein gewisses Maß an Wohlbefinden erzeugt, Kontrolle über die Fähigkeit zu besitzen, zu konsumieren und Artikel zu haben, die uns angeblich Glück bringen.

Diese Kontrolle ist jedoch nichts anderes als ein Trugbild, was zu dem Gegenteil eines Kontrollmangels führt, der schwerwiegende Folgen haben kann.

Wenn Käufe zur Sucht werden

Kaufsucht ist ein Begriff, den wir sehr oft hören können, aber wenn wir ihn nicht oft hören, müssen wir ihn leicht nehmen. Die Kaufsucht ist eine Sucht, eine Verhaltensstörung, eine Krankheit, die wichtige Folgen haben kann und daher mit der entsprechenden Schwerkraft betrachtet und behandelt werden sollte.


Was ist Kaufsucht?

Kaufsucht ist eine Art von sozialer Abhängigkeit, die von Echeburúa, 1999, definiert wird als: "ein Verlust der Kontrolle über das Verhalten, eine starke psychische Abhängigkeit, der Verlust des Interesses an anderen lohnenden Aktivitäten und vor allem, dass Suchtverhalten die Leistung stark beeinträchtigt des täglichen Lebens der Person oder dazu führt, dass sie sich in den Bereichen Arbeit, Soziales oder Freizeit verschlechtert ".

Der Begriff "Einkaufssucht" kann etwas mehr als ein unangemessenes Konsumverhalten definiert werden, das sich in einem Verlust der Kontrolle über das Kaufverhalten äußert und unnötige Waren in übermäßiger Menge erwirbt, was dazu führen kann, dass die Möglichkeiten übertroffen werden wirtschaftliche Faktoren der Person, die Verschuldung verursacht.


Psychischer Mechanismus der Kaufsucht

Die Kaufsucht reagiert auf einen psychischen Mechanismus, der anderen Suchtmethoden ähnelt. Es ist nicht mehr das gekaufte Produkt, sondern der Kaufvorgang, der den Belohnungskreislauf des Gehirns aktiviert und ein Gefühl der Freude und des Wohlbefindens schafft. Diese Empfindung ist jedoch vorübergehend und erzeugt eine Abhängigkeit davon, was uns dazu zwingt, häufiger und häufiger wieder zu kaufen. In der Notwendigkeit, Lücken für den Shopaholic zu füllen.

Jenseits der Sucht die Bedeutung des zwanghaften Einkaufens

Mit dem Kauf, dem Erwerb von Produkten, wird eine existenzielle Leere für einen Moment gefüllt. In modernen Gesellschaften, kapitalistischen und individualistischen, materialistischen und oberflächlichen, sind wir gezwungen, schwindelerregenden Rhythmen zu folgen, die in einen ständigen Wettbewerb eintauchen. Wir haben keine Zeit, unsere Person zu kultivieren, wir haben nicht genug Zeit, um miteinander zu interagieren, und inzwischen werden wir von verschiedenen Medien, die wir konsumieren möchten, ermutigt. Die Menschen, die einen sozialen Wert haben, sind diejenigen, die diesen Wert mit ihrer Schönheit, mit ihren Sachen, mit ihrer Kleidung, mit Autos usw. zeigen. Durch das Erleben dieser Leere und der Wertschätzung fällt das Bedürfnis, körperlich attraktiv zu sein, in die Kaufsucht.


Folgen der Kaufsucht

Die Kaufsucht hat für Menschen, die darunter leiden, wichtige Konsequenzen. Die scheinbare Kontrolle wird unkontrolliert und die Folgen sind sehr ernst. Folgen der Kaufsucht:

- Wirtschaftliche Probleme und übermäßige Verschuldung.

- Abhängigkeit vom Kaufvorgang, So sehr, dass nur Wohlstand durch Kauf erzielt wird.

- Unfähigkeit, sich selbst zu bewerten wenn es nicht für die gekauften Produkte ist. Selbst schädliches Selbstwertgefühl

- soziale Isolation Arbeits- und Familienprobleme.

Symptome der Kaufsucht

Wann sollten wir auf das Vorhandensein dieser Sucht aufmerksam gemacht werden? Sehen wir uns einige Symptome an, die uns alarmieren sollten.

1. Große Angst vor dem Wunsch, ein Objekt zu kaufen oder zu erwerben.

2. Obsessive Gedanken beim Erwerb des Artikels, nicht erforderlich.

3. Übermäßige Einkäufe, viele Artikel nicht erforderlich.

4. Viele gekaufte Artikel werden nicht einmal freigegeben.

5. Der Wunsch, dem Kauf zu widerstehen, erscheint, kann jedoch nicht kontrolliert werden.

6. Sobald der Kauf abgeschlossen ist, fühlen sich Wohlbefinden und Erleichterung an.

7. Sich schuldig fühlen, nachdem Sie ein Objekt gekauft haben, das nicht benötigt wird.

Tipps, um die Kaufsucht zu verhindern

Die Kaufsucht ist eine schwere Erkrankung, die Prävention und in einigen Fällen eine Behandlung erfordert.

- Vermeiden Sie Einkaufszentren und Orte, die mit Einkäufen verbunden sind.

- Versuchen Sie, Ihren Impuls unter Kontrolle zu halten, bitten Sie gegebenenfalls um Hilfe und kaufen Sie keine Beweise, um eine weitere angenehme Aktivität zu erbringen.

- Vor dem Kauf überlegen Sie, ob Sie es wirklich brauchen, ob es Sie wirklich glücklich macht, ob es Ihr Leben wirklich verändern wird.

- Vermeiden Sie Menschen, die zur Sucht anregen.

- kultivieren Sie andere Aspekte Ihres Lebens.

- Vermeiden Sie es, auf die Werbebombardierung von Produkten zu achten.

- Lernen Sie, basierend auf den wirtschaftlichen Möglichkeiten Grenzwerte festzulegen, und behalten Sie den Überblick über die monatlichen Ausgaben.

- Vermeiden Sie Kreditkarten oder tragen Sie zu viel Geld.

- Vermeiden Sie Online-Einkäufe.

- Stärken und nähren Sie Ihr Selbstwertgefühl.

- Wenden Sie sich gegebenenfalls an einen Spezialisten.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Klinischer Gesundheitspsychologe. Spezialist für Pädagogik und Kinder- und Jugendpsychologie. Direktor von Educa und Aprende. Autor der Sammlung. Anregung zum Lesen und Schreiben.

Video: Everything you think you know about addiction is wrong | Johann Hari


Interessante Artikel

10 Schlüssel, um in Exzellenz zu erziehen

10 Schlüssel, um in Exzellenz zu erziehen

Bei der spannenden Bildungsaufgabe spielen Eltern und Lehrer eine entscheidende Rolle, da die Motivation der Kinder zur Entwicklung ihrer intellektuellen Interessen in hohem Maße von ihnen abhängt....

Steuerreform: Hilfe für große Familien

Steuerreform: Hilfe für große Familien

Wir werden häufig an die Statistiken erinnert: Familien haben zunehmend weniger Kinder, und Ehen, die 3 Ableger (oder mehr) haben, werden immer schwieriger zu finden. Nach Angaben des National...