Omitting breakfast, especially harmful to diabetics

It is necessary to have breakfast. Experts say it by active and passive, but not everyone makes the case that should. On this occasion, another study puts the issue on the table again, warning of the risks of particular concern for diabetics: lPeople with type 2 diabetes who skip breakfast would have blood sugar spikes during the day.

The study, developed at the University of Tel Aviv, found that when 22 patients with type 2 diabetes did not eat breakfast there was an increase in hyperglycemia between lunch and dinner. Also, there was a loss of organic efficiency to process glucose or the ability to convert blood sugar into energy, explains Scientific American, which has echoed the research.


For the main researcher of the study, Daniela Jakubowicz, the findings of this work come to mean that reduce the amount of starch and sugars at lunch and dinner "They would not influence elevated blood glucose levels if patients also skipped breakfast."

Diabetes

In this regard, in Scientific American remind that the World Health Organization figures in one in ten people with diabetes in the world. "As in the study, most have type 2 diabetes, which is associated with obesity and aging; appears when the body can not produce or process enough insulin, "they say.


So, this study wanted to check the effects of not having breakfast in people with diabetes, and quoted in this university to 12 men and 10 women of about 57 years and overweight. They all arrived on an empty stomach for blood tests and were asked to consume two or three meals a day.

Two meals a day

The authors of the work monitored also these meals, so that everyone ate the same amount of calories at lunch and dinner. Two and four weeks after this first meeting, the researchers repeated the process, but this time eating breakfast.

The result was that the levels of blood sugar The days that participants skipped breakfast were 40 percent higher after lunch and 25 percent higher after dinner than the days that consumed the three meals of the day (breakfast, lunch and dinner).


The explanation of this is given by the main author of the study: By not having breakfast, the pancreas would not have been able to produce the right amount of insulin to control blood glucose levels.

The study, very relevant to defend the need for breakfast and even more so in diabetic people, has now another pending issue: buy those results with other research done with people who do not suffer from this disease to know if this same thing can happen (although to a lesser extent) to those people who do not suffer from this disease.

The importance of breakfast

Already in 2006 from the Ministry of Health warned of the importance of breakfast and the danger of children skipping this essential food. In a campaign launched to promote breakfast in Spanish homes, they encrypted 8% Spanish children who went to school without having breakfast. "It has been shown that the prevalence of obesity is higher in those people who eat a scarce breakfast or omit it," they say from the ministry.

In this regard, it has been found that for 19.3% of the child and youth population (1-24 years) breakfast consists only of a glass of milk, while for 56% the glass of milk is accompanied by a hydrate carbon (bread, cookies, etc.), which is still insufficient. In fact, only 7.5% of children eat a balanced breakfast consisting of milk, fruit or juice and carbohydrates.

"Breakfast is one of the most important times of the day and should cover at least 25% of the nutritional needs of the school", insist the experts, who indicate that the energy contribution of breakfast is of great importance, since it will allow to achieve an adequate physical and intellectual performance, in school tasks and in daily work.

The breakfast admits a varied food offer, But for it to have the best nutritional qualities it must include: dairy (a glass of milk, a yogurt, cheese of any kind); a cereal (preferably bread, but also cereal flakes, cookies, muffins, biscuits ...); a complement fat (preferably olive oil, but without maligning the butter, margarine ...); a fruit or its juice (any variety in season and diverse natural juices); jams, honey and, occasionally, ham or other type of cold cuts.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Does Skipping Breakfast Cause Diabetes and Weight Gain


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Ohne Frühstück, besonders schädlich für Diabetiker

Es ist notwendig zu frühstücken. Experten sagen es durch Aktiv und Passiv, aber nicht jeder macht den Fall, der sollte. Bei dieser Gelegenheit stellt eine andere Studie die Frage erneut auf den Tisch und warnt vor den besonderen Risiken für Diabetiker: lMenschen mit Typ-2-Diabetes, die das Frühstück auslassen, haben tagsüber Blutzuckerspitzen.

Die Studie, die an der Universität von Tel Aviv entwickelt wurde, ergab, dass, wenn 22 Patienten mit Typ-2-Diabetes kein Frühstück aßen, ein Anstieg zu verzeichnen war Hyperglykämie zwischen Mittag und Abendessen. Außerdem sei der Verlust an organischer Effizienz bei der Verarbeitung von Glukose oder die Fähigkeit zur Umwandlung von Blutzucker in Energie zurückgegangen, erklärt Scientific American, was die Forschung bestätigt hat.


Für die Hauptforscherin der Studie, Daniela Jakubowicz, bedeuten die Ergebnisse dieser Arbeit, dass sie die Menge an Stärke und Zucker reduzieren zum Mittag- und Abendessen "Sie würden einen erhöhten Blutzuckerspiegel nicht beeinflussen, wenn die Patienten auch das Frühstück auslassen."

Diabetes

In diesem Zusammenhang daran erinnern, in Scientific American, dass die Weltgesundheitsorganisation bei jeder zehnten Diabetikerin der Welt auftritt. "Wie in der Studie haben die meisten Typ-2-Diabetes im Zusammenhang mit Fettleibigkeit und Alterung; erscheint, wenn der Körper nicht genug Insulin produzieren oder verarbeiten kann ", sagen sie.


Also wollte diese Studie überprüfen die Auswirkungen des Nicht-Frühstücks bei Menschen mit Diabetes, und an dieser Universität zu 12 Männern und 10 Frauen von etwa 57 Jahren und übergewichtig zitiert. Sie alle kamen auf leeren Magen zu Blutuntersuchungen und wurden aufgefordert, zwei oder drei Mahlzeiten pro Tag zu sich zu nehmen.

Zwei Mahlzeiten am Tag

Die Autoren der Arbeit überwacht auch diese Mahlzeiten, so dass jeder das gleiche gegessen hat Menge an Kalorien zum Mittag- und Abendessen. Zwei und vier Wochen nach diesem ersten Treffen wiederholten die Forscher den Vorgang, diesmal jedoch beim Frühstück.

Das Ergebnis war, dass das Niveau von Blutzucker Die Tage, an denen die Teilnehmer das Frühstück ausließen, waren nach dem Mittagessen um 40 Prozent und nach dem Abendessen um 25 Prozent höher als an den Tagen, an denen die drei Mahlzeiten des Tages verbraucht wurden (Frühstück, Mittag- und Abendessen).


Die Erklärung dafür wird vom Hauptautor der Studie gegeben: Ohne ein Frühstück hätte die Bauchspeicheldrüse nicht die richtige Menge Insulin produzieren können, um den Blutzuckerspiegel zu kontrollieren.

Die Studie ist sehr wichtig zu verteidigen die Notwendigkeit zum Frühstück und noch mehr bei Diabetikern, hat jetzt ein anderes ausstehendes Problem: Kaufen Sie diese Ergebnisse zusammen mit anderen Forschungen, die mit Menschen durchgeführt werden, die nicht an dieser Krankheit leiden, um zu wissen, ob das Gleiche den Menschen, die nicht an dieser Krankheit leiden, möglich ist.

Die Bedeutung des Frühstücks

Bereits 2006 warnte das Gesundheitsministerium vor der Wichtigkeit des Frühstücks und der Gefahr, dass Kinder diese lebensnotwendigen Lebensmittel überspringen. In einer Kampagne zur Förderung des Frühstücks in spanischen Häusern wurden sie verschlüsselt 8% spanische Kinder, die ohne Frühstück zur Schule gingen. "Es hat sich gezeigt, dass die Prävalenz von Fettleibigkeit bei Menschen höher ist, die ein knappes Frühstück essen oder es auslassen", sagen sie aus dem Ministerium.

In dieser Hinsicht wurde festgestellt, dass das Frühstück für 19,3% der Kinder- und Jugendlichen (1-24 Jahre) nur aus einem Glas Milch besteht, während das Glas Milch für 56% von einem Hydrat begleitet wird Kohlenstoff (Brot, Kekse usw.), was immer noch unzureichend ist. Tatsächlich essen nur 7,5% der Kinder ein ausgewogenes Frühstück, das aus Milch, Obst oder Saft und Kohlenhydraten besteht.

"Das Frühstück ist eine der wichtigsten Zeiten des Tages und sollte mindestens 25% des Ernährungsbedarfs der Schule abdecken", bestehen die Experten, die darauf hinweisen, dass der Energiebeitrag des Frühstücks von großer Bedeutung ist, da dadurch eine angemessene körperliche und intellektuelle Leistung bei Schulaufgaben und bei der täglichen Arbeit erreicht werden kann.

Die Frühstück erlaubt ein abwechslungsreiches Speisenangebot, Damit es die besten Nährstoffeigenschaften hat, muss es Folgendes beinhalten: Molkerei (ein Glas Milch, ein Joghurt, Käse jeglicher Art); a Müsli (vorzugsweise Brot, aber auch Getreideflocken, Kekse, Muffins, Kekse ...); eins Fett ergänzen (vorzugsweise Olivenöl, aber ohne die Butter, Margarine ... zu schädigen); eins Obst oder sein Saft (jede Jahreszeit und verschiedene natürliche Säfte); Marmeladen, Honig und gelegentlich Schinken oder andere Aufschnittarten.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Haferflocken gesundes Frühstück: Reduziert Cholesterin, reguliert Blutzuckerspiegel, hilft abnehmen


Interessante Artikel

Acht Pläne für die Verfassungsbrücke

Acht Pläne für die Verfassungsbrücke

Die 6. DezemberSpanien erinnert an die Genehmigung seiner Verfassung, etwas, das an jenem Tag des Jahres 1978 erreicht wurde. Ein wichtiges Datum, das wir mit einer Brücke, dh einem Feiertag, feiern....