Parents begin to lose control over their children around age 13, according to a study

As children grow they start to win autonomy and the parents are giving up their control. This process ends in the adult stage with the independence of the children, but, at what time this change occurs, from what age the youngest begin to ignore their parents and act under their own criteria, or guided by the point of view of your friends and acquaintances?

A study conducted by Vitabiotics' Wellteen positions the age at which the parents begin to lose the age of around 13 control about their children. A moment of rupture in which those who were once the smallest who let themselves be guided by their parents, are now more independent individuals who leave this circle of influence to enter others.


Concern about the menu

After conducting a questionnaire to more than 2,000 parents of children between 13 and 18 years old, the researchers found that one of the aspects where they began to lose control parents were the youngest children's menu Four out of ten parents said they were worried about what their children ate while they were not present.

This concern arose from the evidence found in his home, for example in the 43% of the respondents found candy or fast food wrappers in their children's backpack or in their room. A situation of lack of control in which also has to do with the new levels of education to which the youngest children have access. Although in the nursery parents can know the menu they will eat, in the institute in the presence of cafeterias and vending machines, it becomes a more complicated task.


The authors of this work indicated that as children grow and gain autonomy, it is normal that they begin to do things that were not allowed at home. The first example is that of feeding. In many homes junk food or the presence of sweets and other products high in sugar are not allowed, so take advantage of your outings with friends for this purpose.

This lack of control also occurred in other fields, such as the friendships of their children. Nearly 40% of respondents acknowledged not knowing the identity of these companies. Ignorance that also extended to the consumption of some substances since 44% of the parents of these adolescents believed that their children had tried alcohol, although they did not have proof.

Close bond with parents

While it is necessary to respect autonomy in adolescents, the mission of parents should be to approach them and strengthen the bond with them to know them better and be aware of their day to day and advise if necessary. These are some of the tips of the Spanish Association of Pediatrics:


- Understanding. Adolescence is change and incomprehension, instead of being away from these problems, parents should be close and willing to address any questions in the children.

- Dialogue and advice. Teenagers have the feeling that they know everything, however experience is a degree. Parents should anticipate possible problems and have dialogues with their children in order to provide information.

- Negotiation. As teenagers grow and their autonomy increases, they leave home chores aside. It is important that parents remember these activities and their importance, both to lend a hand at home and in their school obligations.

- Understanding. Once the adolescence is over, it is difficult for parents to remember that stage, especially after a generational change between parents and children, where many things have changed.

Damián Montero

Video: Parents begin to lose control of their children at the age of 13, study finds


Interesting Articles

How to face the step from Primary to ESO?

How to face the step from Primary to ESO?

For many students this return to school is going to be a very important moment both academic level as in his life. It will be in this year when they leave Primary and begin the Compulsory Secondary...

Alpha generation, beyond the digital natives

Alpha generation, beyond the digital natives

The education of a person is a process is a process where numerous factors influence. To think that all this path depends exclusively on the parents is absurd since the environment in which the child...

Laut einer Studie beginnen Eltern im Alter von 13 Jahren die Kontrolle über ihre Kinder zu verlieren

Wenn Kinder wachsen, beginnen sie zu gewinnen Autonomie und die Eltern geben ihre Kontrolle auf. Dieser Prozess endet im Erwachsenenalter mit der Unabhängigkeit der Kinder, aber zu welchem ​​Zeitpunkt tritt diese Veränderung auf, ab welchem ​​Alter beginnen die jüngsten, ihre Eltern zu ignorieren und nach ihren eigenen Kriterien zu handeln oder geführt zu werden aus der Sicht Ihrer Freunde und Bekannten?

Eine Studie, die von Wellabies von Vitabiotics durchgeführt wurde, stellt das Alter dar, in dem die Eltern das Alter von etwa 13 Jahren zu verlieren beginnen Kontrolle über ihre Kinder. Ein Moment des Bruches, in dem diejenigen, die einst die Kleinsten waren und sich von ihren Eltern leiten lassen, nun mehr unabhängige Personen sind, die diesen Einflusskreis verlassen, um in andere einzutreten.


Sorge um das Menü

Nach der Durchführung eines Fragebogens an mehr als 2.000 Eltern von Kindern zwischen 13 und 18 Jahren stellten die Forscher fest, dass einer der Aspekte, an dem sie zu verlieren begann, eine Rolle spielte Kontrolle Eltern waren die jüngsten Kindermenüs Vier von zehn Eltern gaben an, besorgt zu sein, was ihre Kinder aßen, wenn sie nicht anwesend waren.

Diese Sorge ergab sich aus den Beweisen, die in seiner Wohnung gefunden wurden, zum Beispiel in der 43% der Befragten fanden Süßigkeiten oder Fast-Food-Verpackungen im Rucksack ihrer Kinder oder in ihrem Zimmer. Eine Situation mangelnder Kontrolle, die auch mit den neuen Bildungsniveaus zu tun hat, zu denen die jüngsten Kinder Zugang haben. Obwohl Eltern in der Kinderkrippe wissen können, welche Menüs sie zu sich nehmen werden, wird dies im Institut in Anwesenheit von Cafeterias und Verkaufsautomaten zu einer komplizierteren Aufgabe.


Die Autoren dieser Arbeit wiesen darauf hin, dass es mit dem Wachsen und Selbständigkeit von Kindern normal ist, Dinge zu tun, die zu Hause nicht erlaubt waren. Das erste Beispiel ist das von Fütterung. In vielen Häusern ist Junk Food oder das Vorhandensein von Süßigkeiten und anderen zuckerreichen Produkten nicht gestattet. Nutzen Sie daher Ihre Ausflüge mit Freunden zu diesem Zweck.

Dieser Mangel an Kontrolle trat auch in anderen Bereichen auf, beispielsweise in den Freundschaften ihrer Kinder. Fast 40% der Befragten gaben an, dass sie das nicht kennen Identität dieser Unternehmen. Unwissenheit, die sich auch auf den Konsum einiger Substanzen erstreckte, da 44% der Eltern dieser Jugendlichen glaubten, ihre Kinder hätten Alkohol probiert, obwohl sie keinen Beweis dafür hatten.

Enge Bindung zu den Eltern

Während es notwendig ist, die Autonomie bei Jugendlichen zu respektieren, sollte es die Aufgabe der Eltern sein, auf sie zuzugehen und die Bindung zu ihnen zu stärken, um sie besser kennenzulernen, sich ihres Alltags bewusst zu sein und gegebenenfalls zu beraten. Dies sind einige der Tipps des Spanische Vereinigung für Pädiatrie:


- Verstehen Adoleszenz ist Veränderung und Unverständnis. Statt sich diesen Problemen zu entziehen, sollten die Eltern nah und bereit sein, alle Fragen der Kinder zu beantworten.

- Dialog und Beratung. Jugendliche haben das Gefühl, alles zu wissen, aber Erfahrung ist ein Grad. Eltern sollten mögliche Probleme vorhersehen und Dialoge mit ihren Kindern führen, um Informationen zu erhalten.

- Verhandlung. Wenn Teenager wachsen und ihre Autonomie zunimmt, lassen sie die Hausarbeit beiseite. Es ist wichtig, dass sich die Eltern an diese Aktivitäten und ihre Bedeutung erinnern, sowohl zu Hause als auch in ihren schulischen Verpflichtungen.

- Verstehen Nach der Adoleszenz ist es für Eltern schwierig, sich an diese Phase zu erinnern, insbesondere nach einem Generationswechsel zwischen Eltern und Kindern, in dem sich viele Dinge geändert haben.

Damián Montero

Video: 2016 Lecture 01 Maps of Meaning: Introduction and Overview


Interessante Artikel

Wie man Geschwisterkämpfe handhabt

Wie man Geschwisterkämpfe handhabt

Die Kämpfe zwischen Brüdern von 6 bis 12 Jahren, schädlich und störend im Aussehen, machen wirklich aus ein Hilfsmittel, damit sie in ihrem Gefühl der Geselligkeit ausgebildet werden, Kennen Sie die...

Lancia vertreibt die S-Version von Voyager in Spanien

Lancia vertreibt die S-Version von Voyager in Spanien

Có vô số dịp trong cuộc đời của con cái chúng ta, trong đó chúng ta không thể phân biệt được giữa một sự khẩn cấp thực sự của một nỗi sợ hãi đơn giản. Vì lý do này, thật tốt khi có một số khái niệm...