Sedentary lifestyle increases the risk of death from different causes

What doubt is there that physical activity is very important in the day to day of people? Moving ensures fun and good health by keeping various problems such as obesity or diabetes, as well as cholesterol levels. In the opposite case, the sedentary lifestyle it is a very dangerous option although its risks are not appreciated as usual.

However, in the long term, the sedentary lifestyle it becomes a danger that increases the risk of death from different causes. This is the warning made by the American Cancer Association after a long-term study where the lifestyle of 127,554 people without any chronic illness or other health problem that could put them at risk have been analyzed for 21 years.


More than 6 hours sitting

When is it considered that a person is sedentary and when active? In the first case, the researchers determined that it was possible to determine that a person maintained a lifestyle with little movement when the person was sitting more than 6 hours a day. The opposite case referred to individuals who spent less than 3 hours in their usual days to remain without any activity.

During the 21 years of this study, of the 127,554 participants, they died 48,784. When analyzing the lifestyle of these people it was found that the deceased had presented data of sedentary routines. All of them, even without having shown symptoms of chronic diseases or other health problems at the beginning of the study, presented a higher risk of suffering from different conditions.


Among the problems whose risk increased, cardiovascular diseases were present in all Causes (coronary disease, heart attacks, stroke), cancer, diabetes, kidney disease, suicide, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, pneumonitis due to solids and liquids, liver and other digestive conditions.

At the same time, researchers discovered that sedentary lifestyle increased the risk of other health problems such as Parkinson's, Alzheimer's and other nervous disorders and mortality from musculoskeletal disorders. Among the explanations that were offered by the researchers are the following:

- The time that people spend sitting replaces the activity, even the daily activity levels we recommend for a good state of shape.

- Sitting time can be associated with other unhealthy activities; for example, chop between hours.


- The time you spend sitting has a negative impact on the body's hormone levels and how the immune system works.

Encourage physical activity

The best formula to prevent these health problems is to bet on an active lifestyle from an early age. These are some tips offered by Montserrat Romaguera Bosch, Family and Sports Doctor:

- In infants. Avoid exposure to screens, favor crawling and walking at home, play outdoors and start learning to swim.

- In children. Limit the number of screens in the home and your time of consumption. Sports initiation around 3 years. Encourage active leisure in recreational time and instrumental activity such as walking, climbing stairs walking instead of taking the elevator, walk the dog.

- In distances less than two kilometers and in benign weather conditions, bet on moving on foot instead of using motorized vehicles, otherwise it is recommended to use bicycles and means of transport that involve physical activity.

- Promotion of sport in the family environment as a common element instead of showing sedentarism as fun and making it look like a recommended leisure practice.

Damián Montero

Video: Sedentary Lifestyle | Silent Killer | Remedies & Causes | The Healthiest


Interesting Articles

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Learn to say NO: do you know how to deny yourself?

Say no It can be complicated for many people. If you often answer yes to demands of friendships or work, even if you really know you do not want to do it, if you have a hard time saying no and you...

This develops the baby's sense of balance

This develops the baby's sense of balance

The sense of balance it provides us with a permanent orientation in the three dimensions of space. For this, he uses different structures such as the vestibular apparatus, the eyes and the cutaneous...

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their...

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Toxic relationships: when the couple hurts us

Love in youth is of the utmost importance, since the first couple relationships build the sentimental parameters of the people, that is, if at that age a person lives a healthy love, their subsequent...

Eine sitzende Lebensweise erhöht das Todesrisiko aus verschiedenen Gründen

Welchen Zweifel gibt es, dass körperliche Aktivität im Alltag von Menschen sehr wichtig ist? Umzug sorgt für Spaß und Gesundheit, indem verschiedene Probleme wie Übergewicht oder Diabetes sowie der Cholesterinspiegel aufrechterhalten werden. Im umgekehrten Fall die sitzender Lebensstil Es ist eine sehr gefährliche Option, obwohl die Risiken nicht wie üblich gewürdigt werden.

Langfristig ist jedoch die sitzender Lebensstil Es wird eine Gefahr, die das Todesrisiko aus verschiedenen Gründen erhöht. Dies ist die Warnung der American Cancer Association nach einer Langzeitstudie, in der der Lebensstil von 127.554 Menschen ohne chronische Krankheit oder andere gesundheitliche Probleme, die sie gefährden könnten, seit 21 Jahren analysiert wurde.


Mehr als 6 Stunden sitzen

Wann wird davon ausgegangen, dass eine Person sesshaft ist und wann aktiv? Im ersten Fall stellten die Forscher fest, dass man feststellen konnte, dass eine Person einen Lebensstil mit wenig Bewegung beibehielt, wenn die Person mehr saß 6 Stunden am Tag. Der umgekehrte Fall bezog sich auf Personen, die weniger als 3 Stunden an ihren üblichen Tagen verbrachten, um ohne Aktivität zu bleiben.

In den 21 Jahren dieser Studie waren von den 127.554 Teilnehmern sie starben 48,784. Bei der Analyse des Lebensstils dieser Menschen wurde festgestellt, dass der Verstorbene Daten über sitzende Routinen präsentiert hatte. Alle hatten, selbst ohne zu Beginn der Studie Symptome chronischer Krankheiten oder anderer Gesundheitsprobleme gezeigt zu haben, ein höheres Risiko, an verschiedenen Erkrankungen zu leiden.


Unter den Problemen, deren Risiko zunahm, waren bei allen Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen vorhanden verursacht (Koronarerkrankungen, Herzinfarkte, Schlaganfall), Krebs, Diabetes, Nierenerkrankungen, Suizid, chronisch obstruktive Lungenerkrankung, Pneumonitis aufgrund von Feststoffen und Flüssigkeiten, Leber und andere Verdauungszustände.

Gleichzeitig entdeckten die Forscher, dass ein sitzender Lebensstil das Risiko für andere Gesundheitsprobleme wie Parkinson, Alzheimer und andere Nervenerkrankungen sowie die Sterblichkeit aufgrund von Erkrankungen des Bewegungsapparates erhöhte. Zu den Erklärungen, die von den Forschern angeboten wurden, gehören die folgend:

- Die Zeit, die die Menschen beim Sitzen verbringen, ersetzt die Aktivität, selbst die täglichen Aktivitätsniveaus, die wir für einen guten Formzustand empfehlen.

- Sitzen kann mit anderen ungesunden Aktivitäten verbunden sein; Zum Beispiel zwischen Stunden hacken.


- Die Zeit, die Sie im Sitzen verbringen, wirkt sich negativ auf den Hormonspiegel und die Funktionsweise des Immunsystems aus.

Ermutigen Sie zu körperlicher Aktivität

Die beste Formel, um diese Gesundheitsprobleme zu vermeiden, ist, von einem frühen Alter an auf einen aktiven Lebensstil zu setzen. Dies sind einige Tipps von Montserrat Romaguera Bosch, Familien- und Sportarzt:

- bei Säuglingen Vermeiden Sie die Berührung mit Bildschirmen, bevorzugen Sie Krabbeln und Gehen zu Hause, spielen Sie im Freien und beginnen Sie mit dem Schwimmen.

- bei Kindern. Begrenzen Sie die Anzahl der Bildschirme im Haushalt und Ihre Verbrauchszeit. Sporteinleitung etwa 3 Jahre. Ermutigen Sie zur aktiven Freizeitgestaltung und zu Instrumentaltätigkeiten wie Gehen, Treppensteigen anstatt mit dem Aufzug zu gehen, mit dem Hund spazieren zu gehen.

- Bei Entfernungen von weniger als zwei Kilometern und bei günstigen Wetterbedingungen sollten Sie lieber zu Fuß gehen als mit motorisierten Fahrzeugen. Andernfalls wird empfohlen, Fahrräder und Transportmittel zu verwenden, die körperliche Aktivität erfordern.

- Förderung des Sports im familiären Umfeld als gemeinsames Element, anstatt Sesshaftigkeit als Spaß zu zeigen und ihn als eine empfohlene Freizeitpraxis erscheinen zu lassen.

Damián Montero

Video: Wenn Sie ohne Cholesterin und ohne Herz-Kreislauf-Probleme leben wollen, essen Sie eine Handvoll


Interessante Artikel

Selbstbeherrschung: Lernen Sie, sich selbst zu fühlen

Selbstbeherrschung: Lernen Sie, sich selbst zu fühlen

Um gut zu sitzen die Grundlagen der Selbstkontrolle In der Pubertät unserer Kinder müssen sie die Gründe, warum sie auf eine bestimmte Art und Weise handeln, assimilieren. Wenn sie jünger waren, als...