Carpal tunnel syndrome in pregnancy, how to ease your discomfort

Many are the discomfort that pregnant women go through and several problems that cause pain in women. Among all of them, the Carpal tunnel caused by the compression of the median nerve in the carpal tunnel, which is manifested by alterations in the sensory and eventually motor function of this nerve, as indicated by the Hospital Clínico Universidad de Chile.

In pregnant women, the presence of the Carpal tunnel it increases considerably, going from 31 to 62% when the diagnosis is made by clinic and from 7 to 43% if electrodiagnosis is used. When compared with the general population, pregnant mothers have a 2 to 3 times greater risk of developing this problem. As the pregnancy progresses, the possibilities increase.


Causes of this syndrome in pregnancy

The cause of the increased frequency of carpal tunnel syndrome in pregnancy is unknown. However, there are some theories that point to local edema caused by the hormonal change of pregnancy. These alterations cause an increase of the maternal vascular volume, if to this is added the compression of the inferior vena cava by the gravid uterus, makes this situation appear.

As the pregnancy progresses, the edema increases, producing an increase in pressure in the carpal tunnel, compressing the medium nerve and generating the clinical picture. The high pressure generates a focal demyelination and with it a blockage of nerve conduction. If compression continues, the blood flow of the endoneural capillary system is altered, leading to alterations of the blood-nerve barrier and endoneural edema.


To all this, we must add that pregnancy by itself could predispose women to greater hypersensitivity of the peripheral nervous system, making it more susceptible to this group to manifest the symptomatology of carpal tunnel syndrome. Nor should we forget that other conditions of the pregnant that make it susceptible to develop neuropathies, such as diabetes mellitus, hypertension, preeclampsia, smoking, among others.

Treatment

Depending on the severity of the situation, there are different therapeutic options. The pharmacological treatment of neuropathic pain includes opioids and neuromodulators. Since most of these drugs are contraindicated in pregnancy, this therapeutic option is eliminated.


In pregnant patients with mild carpal tunnel syndrome, treatment based on the use of night splints, postural reeducation and physical therapy is recommended. It is described that more than 80% of the patients manifest symptomatic relief.

Damián Montero

Video: Treating Carpal Tunnel Syndrome - Mayo Clinic


Interesting Articles

My son snores: the reason for children's snoring

My son snores: the reason for children's snoring

Your son snores? The truth is that, although we think that snoring is an adult thing, the children do too, and even with a few months of life. We answer some of the possible doubts that can arise...

Karpaltunnelsyndrom in der Schwangerschaft, wie Sie Ihre Beschwerden lindern können

Viele sind das Unbehagen, das schwangere Frauen durchmachen, und verschiedene Probleme, die bei Frauen Schmerzen verursachen. Unter allen, dem Karpaltunnel verursacht durch die Kompression des N. medianus im Karpaltunnel, die sich in Veränderungen der sensorischen und eventuell motorischen Funktion dieses Nervs äußert, wie das Hospital Clínico Universidad de Chile andeutet.

Bei schwangeren Frauen ist die Anwesenheit von Karpaltunnel es steigt beträchtlich an, von 31 auf 62%, wenn die Diagnose in der Klinik gestellt wird, und von 7 auf 43%, wenn die Elektrodiagnose angewendet wird. Im Vergleich zur Allgemeinbevölkerung haben schwangere Mütter ein zwei- bis dreimal höheres Risiko, an diesem Problem zu erkranken. Mit fortschreitender Schwangerschaft nehmen die Möglichkeiten zu.


Ursachen dieses Syndroms in der Schwangerschaft

Die Ursache für die erhöhte Häufigkeit des Karpaltunnelsyndroms in der Schwangerschaft ist unbekannt. Es gibt jedoch einige Theorien, die darauf hindeuten lokales Ödem verursacht durch die hormonelle veränderung der schwangerschaft. Diese Veränderungen bewirken eine Vergrößerung des mütterlichen Gefäßvolumens, wenn dazu die Kompression der unteren Hohlvene durch den schweren Uterus hinzukommt, so erscheint diese Situation.

Mit fortschreitender Schwangerschaft nimmt das Ödem zu, was zu einem Druckanstieg im Karpaltunnel führt und das Druckgefühl komprimiert mittlere Nerven und das klinische Bild erzeugen. Der hohe Druck erzeugt eine fokale Demyelinisierung und damit eine Blockade der Nervenleitung. Bei fortgesetzter Kompression verändert sich der Blutfluss des endoneuralen Kapillarsystems, was zu Veränderungen der Blutnervenbarriere und zu endoneuralem Ödem führt.


Zu all dem muss hinzugefügt werden, dass eine Schwangerschaft allein Frauen zu einer stärkeren Überempfindlichkeit des peripheren Nervensystems prädisponieren kann, wodurch diese Gruppe anfälliger für die Symptomatologie des Karpaltunnelsyndroms ist. Wir sollten auch nicht vergessen, dass andere Bedingungen der schwanger das macht es anfällig für die Entwicklung von Neuropathien, wie Diabetes mellitus, Bluthochdruck, Präeklampsie, Rauchen, ua

Behandlung

Abhängig von der Schweregrad In der Situation gibt es verschiedene therapeutische Möglichkeiten. Die pharmakologische Behandlung neuropathischer Schmerzen umfasst Opioide und Neuromodulatoren. Da die meisten dieser Medikamente in der Schwangerschaft kontraindiziert sind, entfällt diese therapeutische Option.


Bei schwangeren Patienten mit mildem Karpaltunnelsyndrom wird eine Behandlung mit Nachtschienen, posturaler Umerziehung und Physiotherapie empfohlen. Es wird beschrieben, dass mehr als 80% der Patienten zeigen eine symptomatische Erleichterung.

Damián Montero

Video: Karpaltunnelsyndrom - 5 Übungen gegen Kribbeln und Einschlafen der Hände


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...