Neonatal abstinence syndrome, how to prevent it in pregnancy

The life of the child takes place during 9 months in the womb of its mother. A stage in which women have a great role in the development of baby since she through the umbilical cord feeds the baby and transmits everything she eats or ingests. An example is the taking of medicines or other substances that also reach the fetus, products that can cause problems in them.

It is the case of neonatal abstinence syndrome that makes children experience a dependence on certain products that, although they have never tried them. An effect of the ingestion of the mother during pregnancy of medicines susceptible to generate addiction that is transmitted to the children, who once born can present serious health or psychological problems.


Long-term influence

In Spain, according to data from the Spanish Association of Pediatrics, AEP, between the years 1992 and 2001, approximately 75 out of every 10,000 newborns the mother had been exposed to drugs of abuse during pregnancy. Of all these newborns, 8 out of 10 were diagnosed with withdrawal syndrome. How can this situation affect in the long term?

A study conducted in Australia brought together 2234 children diagnosed with withdrawal syndrome. These cases were compared with the general population. The results indicated that the risk of not reaching the minimum to pass the course was more than double in the children who had this problem than in the rest.


A difference became latent between the third and the seventh course. As the age of the children increased, the influence of the withdrawal syndrome on them became clearer. From the Lucile Packard Children's Hospital of Stanford indicate the following symptoms as the most common in children with this problem:

- Tremors

- Irritability

- Problems sleeping

- Rigid muscle tone

- Hyperactive reflexes

- Convulsions

- Yawning, nasal congestion and sneezing

- Vomiting

Prevention of withdrawal syndrome

The neonatal abstinence syndrome is very easy to to prevent. It is enough to leave aside the addictive substances during pregnancy. At the same time, you will have to talk to the gynecologist about the possible consequences of taking medications in this period. The best in these cases is to establish a diet and decide what is recommended and what is not recommended to ingest in pregnancy.


These are some of the medications that should be communicated to the gynecologist in the case that they are being taken during pregnancy:

- Codeine

- Hydrocodone

- Antidepressants

- Oxycodone

- Tramadol

- Benzodiazepines and other products to facilitate rest

Damián Montero

Video: Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome | Cincinnati Children's


Interesting Articles

4 consequences of working sitting 6 hours a day

4 consequences of working sitting 6 hours a day

To be sitting six hours a day, something that we do during the school phase between classes and study hours, as well as at work, since most people who work in offices or with new technologies must...

8 refreshing water games for summer

8 refreshing water games for summer

With summer comes the heat and the desire to find cool plans to have fun with children. During the holidays, visiting places like beaches and pools allow us to get closer to that feeling of freshness...

Neugeborenes Abstinenz-Syndrom, wie es in der Schwangerschaft zu verhindern ist

Das Leben des Kindes dauert 9 Monate im Mutterleib. Eine Phase, in der Frauen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Entwicklung von spielen Baby da sie durch die Nabelschnur das Baby füttert und alles überträgt, was sie isst oder einnimmt. Ein Beispiel ist die Einnahme von Medikamenten oder anderen Substanzen, die auch den Fötus erreichen, Produkte, die bei ihnen Probleme verursachen können.

Es ist der Fall von Neugeborenes Abstinenz-Syndrom Dadurch erleben Kinder eine Abhängigkeit von bestimmten Produkten, die sie jedoch nie ausprobiert haben. Eine Auswirkung der Einnahme der Mutter während der Schwangerschaft von Medikamenten, die anfällig für die Sucht sind, wird auf die Kinder übertragen, die einmal geboren wurden und ernste gesundheitliche oder psychische Probleme verursachen können.


Langfristiger Einfluss

In Spanien nach Angaben des Spanische Vereinigung für PädiatrieAEP, zwischen den Jahren 1992 und 2001, waren etwa 75 von 10.000 Neugeborenen, denen die Mutter während der Schwangerschaft Missbrauchsmedikamenten ausgesetzt war, betroffen. Bei allen Neugeborenen wurde bei 8 von 10 ein Entzugssyndrom diagnostiziert. Wie kann sich diese Situation langfristig auswirken?

Eine in Australien durchgeführte Studie wurde zusammengeführt 2234 Kinder Entzugssyndrom diagnostiziert. Diese Fälle wurden mit der allgemeinen Bevölkerung verglichen. Die Ergebnisse zeigten, dass das Risiko, das Minimum für das Bestehen des Kurses nicht zu erreichen, bei den Kindern, die dieses Problem hatten, mehr als doppelt so groß war wie bei den anderen.


Ein Unterschied wurde latent zwischen dem dritte und die siebter natürlich. Mit zunehmendem Alter der Kinder wurde der Einfluss des Entzugssyndroms auf sie klarer. Aus dem Lucile-Packard-Kinderkrankenhaus in Stanford geben Sie die folgenden Symptome als die häufigsten bei Kindern mit diesem Problem an:

- Zittern

- Reizbarkeit

- Probleme beim Schlafen

- Rigider Muskeltonus

- Hyperaktive Reflexe

- Krämpfe

Gähnen, verstopfte Nase und Niesen

- Erbrechen

Prävention des Entzugssyndroms

Das Neugeborenen-Abstinenz-Syndrom ist sehr einfach verhindern. Es reicht aus, die Suchtmittel während der Schwangerschaft beiseite zu lassen. Gleichzeitig müssen Sie mit dem Frauenarzt über die möglichen Folgen der Einnahme von Medikamenten in dieser Zeit sprechen. In diesen Fällen ist es am besten, eine Diät festzulegen und zu entscheiden, was empfohlen wird und was nicht zur Einnahme in der Schwangerschaft empfohlen wird.


Dies sind einige der Medikamente, die sein sollten kommuniziert an den Frauenarzt für den Fall, dass sie während der Schwangerschaft eingenommen werden:

- Codein

- Hydrocodon

- Antidepressiva

- Oxycodon

- Tramadol

- Benzodiazepine und andere Produkte zur Erleichterung der Erholung

Damián Montero

Video: Drogenabhängige Babies: Wie Ärzte Neugeborenen beim Entzug helfen


Interessante Artikel

Ehrgeizig, ist es positiv und negativ?

Ehrgeizig, ist es positiv und negativ?

Ehrgeiz ist gesund und positiv wenn er Projekte entwickelt und als Motor arbeitet, der uns einlädt, sich zu verbessern, zu wachsen oder Fortschritte zu machen, dh Konformismus und Mittelmäßigkeit...